Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help on software development

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭php-fox

They were just an example. You are free to browse amazon and just pick a book you like based on reviews of other people.

In programming, you have to read as much as you possible can. And then practice (code :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Dboy85

php-fox wrote: »
    They were just an example. You are free to browse amazon and just pick a book you like based on reviews of other people.

In programming, you have to read as much as you possible can. And then practice (code :)

My scepticism gets the better of me reading reviews on sale sites I'd prefer to come on boards to annoy people to get their valued opinions;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

The recommended texts for Java in 1st year were :

Java in Two Semesters Charatan - McGraw-Hill 2004

Programming and Problem Solving with Java Nell Dale Jones and Bartlett 2003

If that's any good to you.

Schism wrote: »
    The recommended texts for Java in 1st year were :

Java in Two Semesters Charatan - McGraw-Hill 2004

Programming and Problem Solving with Java Nell Dale Jones and Bartlett 2003

If that's any good to you.

Just saw your post now will have a look...best of luck with exams all;)

Just got accepted into Games development:D does all said before apply to this course or are other languages apply?

First year Games has C then C++ (Programming). There's Assembly too (Computer Architecture). Then you got Maths, Games and Graphics.

This course I'm sure most would agree is harder and needs work from the get go so you don't fall behind. That's all I got for ya but there's a couple of lads on here I'm sure will help you out.

Well im game from the start so i'll see how it goes. Not shy of gettin stuck in tho so hopefully i'll be fine. Just delighted I got it at the minute.
    I learned a good bit of java and basic to get the feel for it and loved it so hopefull C wont be that much worse.

Thanks for all the help lads i'll see ye in sept;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

Seriously guys first year is easy :) just don't skip class I warn you all!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

The problem with the game dev course, from what I've heard - is that it is such a shock.

First year is pretty amazing, you get your hand held as you get introduced to programming and basic programming/hardware theory. You even get to play some games and mess around with some model viewers/editors. But then you get dumped into 2nd year and find that there is a whole host of physics and applied maths required in order to properly program the engines/graphics of your games and thats where the difficulty starts.

Instead of being slowly introduced into the physics, it just kinda all lands on you in 2nd year and most people drop out because it gets really hard really fast.

Still, if you keep it in mind and try to slowly introduce yourself to it; you should be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,522 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Ivan wrote: »
    The problem with the game dev course, from what I've heard - is that it is such a shock.

that and its seriously f**king hard :D
    First year is pretty amazing, you get your hand held as you get introduced to programming and basic programming/hardware theory. You even get to play some games and mess around with some model viewers/editors. But then you get dumped into 2nd year and find that there is a whole host of physics and applied maths required in order to properly program the engines/graphics of your games and thats where the difficulty starts.

Couldn't have put it better myself. First year was a doddle, almost too easy and it's very tempting to develop bad habits from this. DON'T. If you pick a year to doss off, pick first year and put 100% in the others.
    Instead of being slowly introduced into the physics, it just kinda all lands on you in 2nd year and most people drop out because it gets really hard really fast.

Yes and no. The 1st year applied maths is the basics of everything and if you don't understand them, you're screwed. Seriously. The physics we learned in 2nd and 3rd year were mostly not used until one of the last projects in 4th year, at which case we were comfortable enough to do our own research on.
    Still, if you keep it in mind and try to slowly introduce yourself to it; you should be fine.

If you're going to start learning something, learn C++. Not being able to program properly was my problem and believe me, i had to fight tooth and nail to pass the course. And i got crap results. Learn to Program, everything else will follow from that. Oh and don't, for the love of god, don't skip classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭YoungPayters

First year Games has C then C++ (Programming). There's Assembly too (Computer Architecture). Then you got Maths, Games and Graphics.

It's actually C# in first year only and then C++ in second year. C# is handy enough to get project up and running and to show programming techniques quickly.
    Architecture is handy enough in first year (didnt do the end of year project worth 30% and still passed :D)
    I like the maths but thats just me so I had no real problem with that.
    Then second year starts and then the nightmare begins! C++ is some craic!!:rolleyes:

Oh and best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭HaVoC

I did this course a while back, same time as Ivan.

http://www.javaranch.com/ is a good site to get started on Java.

I always like the Ditel & Dietel books , they explain stuff pretty clearly.

I was horrible at maths , managed to drag myself through, got to love attempt marks :p, 4th year was hellish looks like there is no dedicated maths subject but AI, Graphics & Formal methods are all maths. still passed though so i wouldn't worry about it if ya put in the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭RealistSpy

I want a job programmi9ng AI or else I will start my own company Callled AIBot its trademarked so don't dare steal it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭onzlo

im only goinng into 6th yearr atm but would i get by the maths if im at ordinary level with an average grade of B? im really considering this course

What i found with maths in college is that it's easier to understand WHY you're learning them and therefore they are easier to get your head around. When your learning geometry in 2nd level school, you learn the x and y axis because your told to. In the games course you learned them to make your character move left and right and jump up respectively.

With anything, if you work at it in college, you shouldn't have any problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 MarkS1

Most course start of with giving you a tast of web development.

live HTML CSS PHP

Then go on to more harder which is either java then C++ or in reverse. But dont worry when the course gets started you will have plenty of work to do :eek:

RedXIV wrote: »
    What i found with maths in college is that it's easier to understand WHY you're learning them and therefore they are easier to get your head around. When your learning geometry in 2nd level school, you learn the x and y axis because your told to. In the games course you learned them to make your character move left and right and jump up respectively.

With anything, if you work at it in college, you shouldn't have any problems

Thats why I changed my mind to do games at the last minute. I taut everything would roll in together better when you can see the results moving on screen...That an the fact I get to make games as part of college rather than doing the software course and making games in my own time.
    Have any of ye had success in Ireland working for games developers or did ye cross over into software/immigrate:p

I'd imagine their arent many oppertunities in Ireland for a games developer or am I wrong? I know a lot of the times its easier to find software dev jobs than games.

Dboy85 wrote: »
    Thats why I changed my mind to do games at the last minute. I taut everything would roll in together better when you can see the results moving on screen...That an the fact I get to make games as part of college rather than doing the software course and making games in my own time.
    Have any of ye had success in Ireland working for games developers or did ye cross over into software/immigrate:p

I'd imagine their arent many oppertunities in Ireland for a games developer or am I wrong? I know a lot of the times its easier to find software dev jobs than games.

Games is very tricky to break into in ireland.

Thats why we set up our own company ;)

Games is very tricky to break into in ireland.

Thats why we set up our own company ;)

I think its the aspirations of everyone doing this course :pac: Hope ye get a break!
    Have ye anything finished yet?

I think its the aspirations of everyone doing this course :pac: Hope ye get a break!
    Have ye anything finished yet?

nothing major released yet, still in development for some projects, still in talks in others. lots to do still but has been very exciting

I'd imagine so! Be nice to be a couple of steps away from financial security:rolleyes:
    If you release anything holla on the forums here...I'll BUY it out of support :P If your looking for a beta tester i'll kick the sh1t out of it for ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 red_river

I'd imagine so! Be nice to be a couple of steps away from financial security:rolleyes:
    If you release anything holla on the forums here...I'll BUY it out of support :P If your looking for beta tester i'll kick the sh1t out of it for ya

red_river wrote: »

Nice contribution. :confused:

red_river wrote: »

I think hes lost :pac:

Anybody got the c# for students book? I buy it from ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭YoungPayters

Anybody got the c# for students book? I buy it from ye
    sure man, ill have it for ya monday, pm me.

Pm sent there! :pac:

What time of year and for how long is the work experence in 3rd year? Is it a summer placement or is it one day a week kind of thing?

Work experience starts in March and is for 4 to 6 months full time. They start to get you thinking about work experience after a few weeks. Interviews are going on now for placement in March.

If you can't get work / don't want to do placement there's a project that can be done between March and June, also full time.

Interviews are going on now for placement in March.
    Is there a set list of companies to pick from or can you choose yourself?
    Can you head over seas if you wish