Culchie Music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

I thought this thread was going to be about Journey, Phil Collins, Queen and the Wolfe Tones.

/Puts hatred back in pocket and exits thread

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

ooh ooh, can i have a go, I've got some good "Folk" music...

runs off to google screwdriver - no surrender to the IRA...

then hides..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

funk-you wrote: »
    I thought this thread was going to be about Journey, Phil Collins, Queen and the Wolfe Tones.

/Puts hatred back in pocket and exits thread

-Funk

I strangely like the Wolfe Tones - with the slight disadvantage being I'm English :/:p

And I'm obsessed with Irish folk music.. I'm really not a normal teenage lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

inner city Dublin songs = culchie?

huh? gimme 7 drunken nights over most of the bullshi't on the radio anyday

Lady Gaga me hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Trilla wrote: »
    Lady, Gaga me hole!

Said the Bishop to the actress :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭mickos

Knew a few lads that thought this was the best dance tune ever. Country fucks. they give us all a bad name. Facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

I don't know why people think the original poster was a troll, it's about time the spud song got some recognition. A classic by anyones standards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

Oh....I am a savage for bacon and cabbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

muse are better than any irish culchie music ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

That Ritchie Kavanagh type stuff is a load of bollocks but I do like a bit of decent trad... yep it's out, I'm a culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

A Neurotic wrote: »
    F*cking Rathlin bog or whateverthef*ck it is does my head in.

"With the bird in the nest in the tree in the field..." or some shít.

[Chorus:]
    Oh ho the rattlin' bog
    The bog down in the valley-oh
    Oh ho the rattlin' bog
    The bog down in the valley-oh

Now, in this bog,
    There was a tree,
    A rare tree,
    A rattlin' tree,
    The tree in the bog,
    And the bog down in the valley-oh!

[Chorus]

Now, on this tree,
    There was a limb,
    A rare limb,
    A rattlin' limb,
    The limb on the tree,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

Now, on this limb,
    There was a branch,
    A rare branch,
    A rattlin' branch,
    The branch on the limb,
    And the limb on the tree,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

On this branch,
    There was a twig,
    A rare twig,
    A rattlin' twig,
    The twig on the branch
    And the branch on the limb,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

On this twig,
    There was a nest,
    A rare nest,
    A rattlin' nest,
    The nest on the twig,
    And the twig on the branch,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

In the nest,
    There was an egg,
    A rare egg,
    A rattlin' egg,
    The egg in the nest,
    And the nest on the twig,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

On the egg,
    There was a bird,
    A rare bird,
    A rattlin' bird,
    The bird on the egg,
    And the egg in the nest,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

On the bird,
    There was feather,
    A rare feather,
    A rattlin' feather,
    The feather on the bird,
    And the bird on the egg,
    And the egg in the nest,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

On the feather,
    There was a flea,
    A rare flea,
    A rattlin' flea
    The flea on the feather,
    And the feather on the bird,
    And the bird on the egg,
    And the egg in the nest,
    And the tree in the bog,

[Chorus]

And the bog shall live in the valley-oh!

A drunken tune myself and a mate always sing. We always just get as far as the end of the highlighted part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭PhysiologyRocks

Anyone know Bob's Song?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭bakkiesbotha

Quazzie wrote: »
    I can't decide if you are a troll or just ignorant. I'm guessing the latter.
    Latter means the second one ;)

WTF?

Thanks for your contribution. Any time you're struggling with a decision do let me know about it. I'm very interested in your thought processes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The 'culchie songs' are deadly, at least ya can sing along ta them and make up your own words when your to drunk ta remember the proper ones:D

Rebels songs are brilliant, catchy tunes and meaningful words, what more could you ask for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I thought the OP was referring to Summer of '69, Living On a Prayer and Sweet Child O' Mine.

Seven Drunken Nights a culchie song? No way! Trad and folk aren't necessarily culchie-ish at all (e.g. The Dubliners, Dublin City Ramblers, Chieftains).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭culchienator

finally a forum about my music :P

Sorry for my ignorance, I think I've been told this before actually but can't remember

What's a culchie? :/:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The Dubliners are as far from culchie-music as you can get. I hate that attitude towards classics like The Dubliners actually, if an American 'indie-folk' band came out with half them songs they'd be packing out Vicar Street, as far as folk music goes The Dubliners lead the pack. Nothing bugs me more than hearing young Dubs I know lump them in with what I consider 'Aer Lingus' music, especially when its youngsters who 'party hard' but wouldn't last half a night with that lot, or floppy haired young lads who make what they consider "folky music, like Bob Dylan and Wilco and sh/t" Suppose if they were Irish they wouldn't listen to 'em either :rolleyes:
    What's a culchie?

I've gone for a very simple colour code here, basically the white ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Is this kind of thing still a part of country culture?

PrivateEye wrote: »
    The Dubliners are as far from culchie-music as you can get. I hate that attitude towards classics like The Dubliners actually, if an American 'indie-folk' band came out with half them songs they'd be packing out Vicar Street, as far as folk music goes The Dubliners lead the pack. Nothing bugs me more than hearing young Dubs I know lump them in with what I consider 'Aer Lingus' music, especially when its youngsters who 'party hard' but wouldn't last half a night with that lot, or floppy haired young lads who make what they consider "folky music, like Bob Dylan and Wilco and sh/t" Suppose if they were Irish they wouldn't listen to 'em either :rolleyes:

I've gone for a very simple colour code here, basically the white ones.

OK, so it's just someone who's not from Dublin?

I'm not quite sure what 'Culchie music' is really.. but I really do honestly thing the Dubliners are true, real legends... Luke, Ronnie, Ciaran, Barney, John, Jim, Sean, Eamonn, Patsy (even Bobby who was only with them a short time RIP; and Paddy Reilly.. who I'm not too fond of).
    They managed to completely reform a whole genre of music - before they (and others; The Clancys, Andy Irvine, Christy Moore etc.) revived Irish folk music, it was elitist/snobby... they returned it to what it's meant to be, music of the people, no bull****.
    Great songs, fun or thoughtprovoking, great voices, and great people

I only wish I could have been alive to see the 'Original' Dubliners back in the day but even now, 47 years later, they're still managing to sell out venues throughout Europe.

How anyone can knock them is beyond me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

PrivateEye wrote: »
    if an American 'indie-folk' band came out with half them songs they'd be packing out Vicar Street
    Totally. It's like that alt country stuff much of which is just unfathomably dreary... but Uncut magazine says it's cool so let's start liking it. :)

Something tells me a lot of new Johnny Cash "fans" would have considered him awfully hillbilly muck before he died. I still think lots of his songs are awful hillbilly muck (even if the man himself was pretty cool and he did record some good songs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

Dudess wrote: »
    Totally. It's like that alt country stuff much of which is just unfathomably dreary... but Uncut magazine says it's cool so let's start liking it. :)

Something tells me a lot of new Johnny Cash "fans" would have considered him awfully hillbilly muck before he died. I still think lots of his songs are awful hillbilly muck (even if the man himself was pretty cool and he did record some good songs).

It was shortly after the release of Walk the Line, that I began noticing a trend on peoples bebo pages. Their taste in music would consist entirely of Tiesto, and countless DJ whatevers, and at the end of the list Johnny Cash would be recently addded. Yeah I'm sure you're a lifelong fan and like other music of a similiar nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

I love the Seven Drunken Nights song when you're drunk. Nothing beats banging the pub tables and graciously throwing your drink everywhere whilst waving your arms to the beat of the song.

The Saw Doctors are a brilliant culchie band with song topics that range from bailing hay to a red cortina car.

Not a fan of the country and western music though tha is constantly played on the regional radio stations. You know when you hear a name like Big Tom, that the song that follows can't be promising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Oh jesus, oh jesus, I apologize in advance :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I love the Seven Drunken Nights song when you're drunk. Nothing beats banging the pub tables and graciously throwing your drink everywhere whilst waving your arms to the beat of the song.

The Saw Doctors are a brilliant culchie band with song topics that range from bailing hay to a red cortina car.

Not a fan of the country and western music though tha is constantly played on the regional radio stations. You know when you hear a name like Big Tom, that the song that follows can't be promising.

Good old Mike Denver is the best ;)

RonMexico wrote: »
    Oh jesus, oh jesus, I apologize in advance :eek:

I see you're Cotton Eye Joe remix and raise you this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Good old Mike Denver is the best ;)

Don't know much about his music but he is GORGEOUS.

Culchie anthem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERq3uN_hly0

Dubliners,etc isn't culchie music exactly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Well I have been a pilot now for fifteen years or more
    Of beam rifles and m-warheads I thought I knew the score
    Now we have a weapon that we've never used before
    The Zeons are looking worried and they're going to worry more

Watash1tachi no nichi ha kuru, sing up the 'EF
    Gundams in the sky

I started out with incoms and throwing beams and bits
    There were a hundred more lads like me I never was alone
    Soon I learned that beams and bits won't drive the Zeons away
    It wasn't very long before I joined the IEF

Gundams in the sky

Then there came internment in the year of UC'71
    The Zeons thought we were beaten that we were on the run
    On that early august morning they kicked in our white base
    But for every man they took away they missed twenty more

Gundams in the sky

I spent eight years in the cages had time to think and plan
    Although they locked away a boy I walked out a man
    There's only one thing that I learned while in a cell I lay
    The Zeons will never leave us until they're blown away

Gundams in the sky

All through the days of launcher strike I watched my comrades die
    And in the streets of Earth you could hear the women cry
    I can't forget the massacre that Friday at Rub' al Khali
    I salute my fallen comrades as I watch the mobile suits fall

Mobile suit Gundams in the sky

Fixed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭anthony4335

The OP is a "benighted" fool (although I had to google the word myself, so I am not feeling much better).
    I would love to know what it means to be a culchie, I have been classed as one growing up ,even though I have rarely set foot on a farm. As for the culchie music ,there is no such genre. As for mocking any form of music it shows little appriciation for music as a whole. As you will find out when you grow up, genres of music you could not stand as a kid, can quite easily grow on you ,and stuff that you though was the only good music sometimes becomes like chalk on a blackboard. As some one pointed out about Johnny Cash , now been consisdered cool, while only a few years ago his music was confined to your fathers record collection, and before that he was the original bad boy rocker and would make most rockstars today question the cool/hard status. As for the Dubliners all you need to know about them is the names of the greatest who have payed tribute to one of ireland's greatest bands, and call themselfs fans, ie Dylan.