Delivery tips

• 25-07-2009 11:17AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭

I just had a pallet of tiles delivered, enough floor tiles for the ground floor, so there was quite a few. Anyway a mate of mine got me a good deal on them saved over e400. So I gave hin a few quid for the running around, using his contacts etc. He is out of work, so I though that was apporpriated.

Anyway I gave the delivery guy a lift in with them, it was COD, so I paid him what was due. He hung around a tad as if I was going to throw him a few quid. Normally I would, but with levies pension levies ect, I quite thight on the monies front, so he left empty handed.

So do you normally throw delivery guys a few euro?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Eh, no. Only if it's a food delivery, look after those guys and you're never waiting long for your food!

Tiles though? Fúck em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

Nope, f*cker gets paid anyway. Not your place to sub him - no matter how used to it he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Same here, I'd tip for food deliveries, but not for anything else tbh.

i'd usually sleep with the postman if he delivers more that 4 letters to me in one day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

i'd usually sleep with the postman if he delivers more that 4 letters to me in one day.
    ...bull, i'd say you'd roide a hairy rasher ! :pac:

derby7 wrote: »
    ...bull, i'd say you'd roide a hairy rasher ! :pac:

[athlone knacker accent] i'll ride anything i get! [/athlone knacker accent]

I don't like cod (more of a herring fan), so they can stick their tip.

[athlone knacker accent] i'll ride anything i get! [/athlone knacker accent]

He's got a big chest !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭derby7

He's got a big chest
    of blow up dolls :pac::D

took me a while to get what ya were on about derby lol :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

a couple of years ago i had a big delivery due from b&q in newry, it was arranged to be there at 4.30 on a thursday and i had 3 mates there to help unload it.

it arrived at 3.oo on the friday while i was at work and the wife was on her own. the two big burly men who were on the truck simply used a crane like attachment to dump the pallets in the road,not even the garden,then watched my wife and 15 year old son unload them into a garage.

they moaned about having to wait for the empty pallets and when i arrived home an hour later they asked for a tip!!!

i went mental,the driver then tried to make out he was polish and did not understand.

i went back to b&q the next day and complained about thier service,thier attiude etc. b&q refunded my delivery charge.

then i spotted the delivery man having a chat with one of the checkout girls in perfect english with a northern accent. i just walked away laughing at the look on his face at being caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,911 ✭✭✭towel401

rarnes1 wrote: »
    I don't like cod (more of a herring fan), so they can stick their tip.

I do, especially in a supermacs cod burger

but no srsly don't tip these lads you'll be helping bring in the ****ty part of American culture where everything appears to be cheap but the tips are almost mandatory

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

soups05 wrote: »
    then i spotted the delivery man having a chat with one of the checkout girls in perfect english with a northern accent.

Spot the contradiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

I never let anyone into my house delivering since my neighbour had a guy claim after he fell down the stairs delivering chest of drawers a few years ago,and claimed, he broke his ankle and was only out for 8weeks work but cost the neighbour a nice sum think around €7k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭CutzEr

soundsham wrote: »
    I never let anyone into my house delivering since my neighbour had a guy claim after he fell down the stairs delivering chest of drawers a few years ago,and claimed, he broke his ankle and was only out for 8weeks work but cost the neighbour a nice sum think around €7k
    That sounds like a sham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

it's not, its sound

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Spot the contradiction.

maybe the op is from Norn Iron himself, they're all convinced their pidgin english is flawless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

the pizza delivery guy usally gets a euro or two

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd would definitely give a decent tip.

Something along the lines of carry two loads of tiles at a time and you''ll knock off quicker, mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭terrytrent

I'd mutter something about yellow snow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

towel401 wrote: »
    I do, especially in a supermacs cod burger

but no srsly don't tip these lads you'll be helping bring in the ****ty part of American culture where everything appears to be cheap but the tips are almost mandatory

YES!! in upstate NY on study abraod last year and all the waitresses were a bunch of *****. NOT GETTING MY TIP YOU HAIRY BITCH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

soundsham wrote: »

Serious? How?

The delivery driver would be covered under the companies commercial insurance. Sure if I leave work I'm covered for an hour on it and I work in an office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

genericguy wrote: »
    maybe the op is from Norn Iron himself, they're all convinced their pidgin english is flawless.

no from the south thank god, what i should have posted was speaking in perfect norn iron muck english.

better?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭nitrogen

What's the logic in only tipping food delivers - leave the tipping culture on the other side of the Atlantic.