Best and worst tourists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

I work in a hotel so I come across many nationalities. I used to think that the Americans were the friendliest people alive but since I started working in the hotel I have realised they are the biggest whingers under the sun and they NEVER tip. The germans/noweigans think they are hilarious and laugh at their own jokes but they are friendly enough. The English are okay. The Japanese/Chinese/Spanish ask questions but more or less dont really bother me. I think though in all fairness most of the tourist are more or less the same but from a complaints perspective the Americans are the biggest grumps EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

the_syco wrote: »
    Interesting. The english site puts the British yobs as better than the Irish. You have to wonder where they go to get this view?

Is it an English site or a British site ?

To quote Brenda Fricker if I can :
    "When you are lying drunk at the airport you're Irish. When you win an Oscar you're British."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Parisiens feel the rest of France are made up of rural inbred hicks.

Like how Dubliners feel about the rest of Ireland. Except the Dubliners are correct in this assumption.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

PeterLT wrote: »
    Was in Paris this year, nobody spoke english (exept hotel receptionists and one bus driver) so I agree with french being arrogant.

french people take pride in not being able to speak english , a very small percentage of french people can speak english , much smaller than germany , the nordic countries and of course the netherlands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

I speak French but my accent always gives away the fact that I'm a native English speaker. After I start off with 'Bonjour, ca va' etc. the person I'm dealing with speaks back to me in English (or tries to, anyway). They're always astounded when I just keep on speaking French and refuse to speak English :D

I've come across plenty of French people who claim to speak English but then I put them to the test and they blatantly can't string a sentence together. (I'm sure this applies to plenty more nationalities than the French, but I'm just talking from my own experience)

I agree though that it is the height of ignorance to go to a foreign country and not even make an effort with the local language. In Spain a few years ago, I felt awful not being able to communicate with the locals, all I had was 'gracias' 'hola' and 'donde esta'...I need to brush up before I head back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

The worst here are definetely the English 'lads' that descend upon Temple Bar every weekend and are generally loud and obnoxious knobheads who can't handle a drink. Unfortunately a lot of young Irish people (wear English football jerseys) now think this is also acceptable behaviour in foreign countries. It's what you expect of drunk people I suppose.

I've been to most countries in Europe and you get a frosty reception in most when people think you're English - taxi drivers ignore you etc. so you have to make it clear to them. :p

The Polish really don't like them, but surprisingly have a lot of time for the Irish.

Older English people are grand in my experience, never had any problems with them.

The Scots are great - always up for a good time, but don't feel the need to scream and shout about it.

Americans are generally friendly, but expect you to bend over backwards for them. At least they will talk to you.

Dutch and Swedish also stick out as being very friendly.

Haven't come across too many Asian tourists, so can't comment on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

My tolerance for Italian and Spanish tourists extends to those who a) aren't a bunch of unsupervised teenagers on a school trip roaring "HI HOW ARE YOU!" and then giggling when you try to weave your way through them on a narrow footpath and b) don't have small children. Not every country in the world loves kids enough to give them the fukcing run of the place, your toddler is absolutely gorgeous, but please for god's sake keep her away from the waitress with the tray of hot drinks, and in general assume that people don't expect a small crying child to appear two inches from their hurrying feet.

British tourists never appear to be just alright, they're either complete manky, complainy, leery lager louts or, very polite, chatty, interesting individuals.

French and Germans can be very rude but I think it might just be a cultural thing-what seems rude to us doesn't to them-but that said, most of the downright rude, arrogant kunts I've met in my life have been French. And the women eat NOTHING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

I live in France, and there are about the same proportion of people up their own arses as back home. In fact, the majority I have met are lovely and laid back. (But then, this is the south, and they tell me Parisians are horrible :rolleyes: )
    The South as in the Riviera, or the South as in Perpignan to Marseille? If it's the latter, I can't comment. But if it's the former, I disagree. I used to live in Nice, and there are a lot more people "up their own areses" there than in Dublin. And that was just the French. The majority of the tourists it attracts are even more obnoxious (especially the British). It's like a magnet for rudeness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

Acacia wrote: »
    Like how Dubliners feel about the rest of Ireland. Except the Dubliners are correct in this assumption.

some people from the country think a lot of dubs have awful big noses. I guess we all have a stereotype

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The Japanese are very pushy-shovey when it comes to getting pictures. :mad:

irish_bob wrote: »
    french people take pride in not being able to speak english , a very small percentage of french people can speak english , much smaller than germany , the nordic countries and of course the netherlands

Of course they do. Nikolas Sarcozy can't speak English.

Maddison wrote: »
    they NEVER tip.

Probably because they can't get over the extortionate prices in Dublin. Most of them seem baffled.. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Ruu wrote: »
    The Japanese are very pushy-shovey when it comes to getting pictures. :mad:
    Just smile the next time they want to take a photo of you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Asking the French people if they speak English will get a very frosty answer. Asking if they speak Irish, then English, gets a better response. Was in Clisson and Nantes in France a few weeks back, and once they found you're from Ireland, all smiles.

Example: trying to get a French dude to ring the taxi with our phone, to get a taxi to pick us up, and goto the local town wasn't easy. Once we let it slip that we were Irish, his attitude changed, he insisted that all four of us go into his car, and he drove us over there. Seems his brother has been in Cork for the last 2 years. Also, he refused any attempts we made to give him petrol money.

Every single French person was rude to us, if they thought we were English. When they found out we were Irish, they would tell us of a brother, son, daughter, nephew that is living, or stayed in Ireland, and how much they loved it there, and they would be very friendly to us. We quickly found out that introducing us as speaking "Ireland", instead of speaking "english" got a much better response.

b28 wrote: »
    some people from the country think a lot of dubs have awful big noses. I guess we all have a stereotype

How silly of them to think that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

Was in Paris this year, nobody spoke english (exept hotel receptionists and one bus driver) so I agree with french being arrogant.

That's not the French being arrogant - you're the one being arrogant for assuming and expecting the French to speak English!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭steo87

french, IMO are arrogant, because they even didn't bother to speak with me in English

Why should they!!11!!oneone!!1!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

steo87 wrote: »
    That's not the French being arrogant - you're the one being arrogant for assuming and expecting the French to speak English!:mad:

Ahh Jaysus, stop that. Read all posts. I did a mistake and didn't elaborate my initial post. I assume that you don't know many foreign languages and wouldn't be much of assistance for tourists in Ireland? Would ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I fucking hate these surveys. You cannot possibly define a whole country this way, its the most retarded generalisation ever. I don't find the French rude. I find them to be formal and respectful people.

PeterLT I can understand your perspective on speaking english, although I can see why it would have been a problem in Paris. As the saying goes though, when in Rome, do as Rome does. You live in an English speaking country, and with all the different nationalities living here it is probably handiest to use English as the base language, (hope that make sense).

Whenever I go abroad, I always put in the effort to speak their native language, and if I've ever run into trouble normally someone will help me about a bit if they have the English. I think its respectful to try.

And when I go away, I always eat the native food rather than ordering the 'safe' chips and burger. I've often seen Irish and English doing this while away on holiday, broaden your horizons folks =P

It’s a bit of tl;dr, so you’re all welcome to do that.

I totally agree with you Abigayle, thanks for that.

Wherever I go I try to feel the culture and customs in that country by any means.
    Like ordering national dishes in restaurant using my broken language, try to speak language when buying something in shops, I always ask first met local person how you say this or that in local language... That's what makes your holiday trip exiting and more interesting that soaking in hotel pool or relaxing in the beach. I like active holidays, hence I try to integrate and to learn about local culture as much as I can.

Another aspect is local people, who will help you to know the culture, or not. If you’ll go popular location where local people are used to tourists (and making their living on it) you’ll be warmly welcomed, but go to some distant
    and not so attractive location and it will be: ”What the fcuk do ya want from me?”

I went to Paris on my own, I booked flights and hotel. That was it. I knew what I want to see, but I hadn’t a clue how to get there, how much do I have to paid for public transport, where to eat or where to drink. So I hadn’t much support from local people as they were minding their own business. When I was in different parts of Spain and Portugal (and again it wasn’t very popular locations) I have had much much more welcoming appearance that in Paris, even my Spanish is real sh1te.

Due to my passion to travel and learn different culture and customs I can compare mentality of different nations and so far the French are at the bottom of the list. Probably I’ll have to go to France couple times more and visit popular, attractive locations where tourists are welcomed to change my opinion, but so far I’m not changing it and random posters won’t make me to reverse it.

There is one more thing, where I would like to dispute accusations that I’m arrogant. You weren’t there, you weren’t in my shoes, so don’t talk. I was working at petrol station on a busy road ages ago. There were tourists on daily
    bases and many of these weren’t speaking English. So I was trying to help them whatever I could. I recalled German (have been learning it for 5 years), tried to speak Italian etc., but never was “up my own arse”

Anyway, I have learn my lesson and next time I’m posting something I’m elaborating my thoughts to not to confuse other readers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

PaterLT: next time you're in France, ask if they speak "Irelande", as opposed to speaking "English". They (local people, hotel staff, bar staff, homeless people, etc) hate the English, but if you let them know you're from Ireland, you'll get a better response. We got turned away from hotels by simply asking if they speak english, but have gotten free lifts, invited to lock-ins, etc, if we asked if they spoke english like "Irelande"...

Not saying they are not aggorant, but it seems if they think you're english they'll treat you like sh|t on their shoes, if they think you're irish, they'll be all smiles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

An Irishman walks into a French bar and says to the barman "Do you speak English"....

Only on boards.ie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

The best: The Chinese, generally nice pleasant folk to deal with, rarely give hassle and aren't afraid to spend their money. The British, Canadians and Australians are dead on too. The worst: A tie, between the Americans (for being so incredibly tight with their money), the French (for being somewhat obnoxious and rude) and the Spanish (for having no English and being very LOUD!).

The Japanese are lovely. I remember a Japanese couple asking if they could take a picture of me and my friends with them. They're very polite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

i speak a little japanese and when i do, they normally bend over with laughter and tell me i have a tokyo accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

the best....the nice well mannered middle-class english, they usually travel as a family or retired elderly couple

the worst
    ....the loud loutish drunken aggressive working class english, the type you see in ibiza, costa del sol, greek islands and Temple Bar at the weekends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭SuperDude87

Speaking their own language. The cheek of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭SuperDude87

It’s a bit of tl;dr, so you’re all welcome to do that.

I totally agree with you Abigayle, thanks for that.

Wherever I go I try to feel the culture and customs in that country by any means.
    Like ordering national dishes in restaurant using my broken language, try to speak language when buying something in shops, I always ask first met local person how you say this or that in local language... That's what makes your holiday trip exiting and more interesting that soaking in hotel pool or relaxing in the beach. I like active holidays, hence I try to integrate and to learn about local culture as much as I can.

Another aspect is local people, who will help you to know the culture, or not. If you’ll go popular location where local people are used to tourists (and making their living on it) you’ll be warmly welcomed, but go to some distant
    and not so attractive location and it will be: ”What the fcuk do ya want from me?”

I went to Paris on my own, I booked flights and hotel. That was it. I knew what I want to see, but I hadn’t a clue how to get there, how much do I have to paid for public transport, where to eat or where to drink. So I hadn’t much support from local people as they were minding their own business. When I was in different parts of Spain and Portugal (and again it wasn’t very popular locations) I have had much much more welcoming appearance that in Paris, even my Spanish is real sh1te.

Due to my passion to travel and learn different culture and customs I can compare mentality of different nations and so far the French are at the bottom of the list. Probably I’ll have to go to France couple times more and visit popular, attractive locations where tourists are welcomed to change my opinion, but so far I’m not changing it and random posters won’t make me to reverse it.

There is one more thing, where I would like to dispute accusations that I’m arrogant. You weren’t there, you weren’t in my shoes, so don’t talk. I was working at petrol station on a busy road ages ago. There were tourists on daily
    bases and many of these weren’t speaking English. So I was trying to help them whatever I could. I recalled German (have been learning it for 5 years), tried to speak Italian etc., but never was “up my own arse”

Anyway, I have learn my lesson and next time I’m posting something I’m elaborating my thoughts to not to confuse other readers.

Something confuses me there.

You say that you are passionate about travelling but because you didn't speak a word of their language you needed help getting to the places you wanted to see. Fair enough. But if you were such a passionate traveller why didn;t you invest in a guide before you left. It speaks your language gives you critical advice and furthermore is dirt cheap.

Just because you don't mind making an effort in a foreign language doesn't mean that everyone feels the same. The French see themselves as really bad at English or any language full stop thus they don't want to speak it for love nor money. This is despite the fact that their English is much better than Irish people's French!

In the future plan more effictively it'll save you the hassle

Remembered a joke.

A tourist is asking local lads for directions. Lads don't speak any foreign language. Tourist asks in one language, than another, third one and fourth one. Lads don't understand him. Tourist gives up and walks away. One lad:

"He must be very smart, he knows so many languages..."

Other replies:

"And? Whats the point of that?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Aard wrote: »
    The South as in the Riviera, or the South as in Perpignan to Marseille? If it's the latter, I can't comment. But if it's the former, I disagree. I used to live in Nice, and there are a lot more people "up their own areses" there than in Dublin. And that was just the French. The majority of the tourists it attracts are even more obnoxious (especially the British). It's like a magnet for rudeness.

Oh no I live in Montpellier, totally not like Nice at all! Very laid back atmosphere (it helps that Montpellier is a university city so it's full of young people/students).