garda fleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Onkle wrote: »
    The structural integrity of a car wouldn't be affected with mileage.

What if a car was in at least 4 collisions one of which (the first collision) the car could have been deemed to be written off and where the engine came of its mounts after it was fixed up?

It is very likely that patrol cars will be involved in RTCs due to the mileage and sheer amount of time on the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

TheNog wrote: »
    What if a car was in at least 4 collisions one of which (the first collision) the car could have been deemed to be written off and where the engine came of its mounts after it was fixed up?

Collisions and dodgey repairs are a different ball game altogether.... And next time I get flagged down for speeding I think I'll do a runner cos I'm sure my car could outrun a car with a bent chassis leg :pac:

If the car is a write off because a repair would be unsafe then the repairer should be shot for undertaking the job and the fact that the Guards lives and the lives of the public are being put at risk is a disgrace

But a car is also deemed a write off when the cost of the repair reaches around 35% of the value of the car, for a Garda car to be written off for this reason if it has light damage would be crazy when you consider the cost of branding the car, fitting radios etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

I've found the chancers...

Transport Section
    Garda Headquarters
    Phoenix Park
    Dublin 8

Tel: +353 1 6662104
    Fax: +353 1 6662105

...these presumably are the people who buy the cars.

donvito99 wrote: »
    I've found the chancers...

Transport Section
    Garda Headquarters
    Phoenix Park
    Dublin 8

Tel: +353 1 6662104
    Fax: +353 1 6662105

...these presumably are the people who buy the cars.

Cant go blaming the lads and lassies in the Transport Section. The same way I cant go blaming the Super for telling me there is no money for OT. The blame for this goes straight to the top man and his party in this country of ours. Thats where the buck stops or at least where it should stop if they had the balls to take the responsibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

If members keep driving cars that they feel are unsafe then the unsafe cars will never be changed..... ground the car.... no one can make you drive a defective patrol car, so why are you driving/being observer in it???????
    No point moaning about cars being unsafe if your still going out in it for a tour of duty.
    I would definitely not drive a patrol car i felt was not road worthy.
    If you are in an accident in a patrol car that is clearly not up to the job it is intended for, the job will not cover you and you are leaving yourself wide open to court actions and prosecution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

If members keep driving cars that they feel are unsafe then the unsafe cars will never be changed..... ground the car.... no one can make you drive a defective patrol car, so why are you driving/being observer in it???????
    No point moaning about cars being unsafe if your still going out in it for a tour of duty.
    I would definitely not drive a patrol car i felt was not road worthy.
    If you are in an accident in a patrol car that is clearly not up to the job it is intended for, the job will not cover you and you are leaving yourself wide open to court actions and prosecution.

+1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have told on good authority the mileage limit has been increased from 300k to unlimited. Basically cars will be repaired until they no longer run or are unfixable. At this stage any car that cannot be put back on the road will not be replaced.

So any criminals out there reading this all you have to do is steal alot of clapped out cars and ram patrol cars until they are written off. Once ye get rid of all the half decent cars we have and we are driving around in 1.4L Focus', just steal a high powered car and thieve all ye want.

To the General Public, whatever level of protection we provide for ye will soon be reduced to practically zero. Expect our country to be raped and pillaged before this Government gets what it deserves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

I have told on good authority the mileage limit has been increased from 300k to unlimited. Basically cars will be repaired until they no longer run or are unfixable. At this stage any car that cannot be put back on the road will not be replaced.

So any criminals out there reading this all you have to do is steal alot of clapped out cars and ram patrol cars until they are written off. Once ye get rid of all the half decent cars we have and we are driving around in 1.4L Focus', just steal a high powered car and thieve all ye want.

To the General Public, whatever level of protection we provide for ye will soon be reduced to practically zero. Expect our country to be raped and pillaged before this Government gets what it deserves.
    Unless they plan to purchase Volkswagen Beetles for general squad car use, the idea of unlimited mileage is insane.
    A car reaches a certain point where it just physically cannot take anymore, much like a disgruntled employee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭jmccoy

It is already being raped and pillaged by said government. :mad:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

All you need now is the brick wall to bang your head against. That is truly appalling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Invent a serial killer by tying ribbons round the wrist of homeless people who expire naturally. Then blackmail the lead detective to let you use his budget to hire some new cars. I saw a documentay on it before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Expect our country to be raped and pillaged before this Government gets what it deserves.

You mean a fat pension, no comeback for years of mismanagment, a decent Gaff somewhere and a subscription to the independent so he/she can say how it was never like that when we where in power.

Sadly I cant imagine anyone who can fix that mess.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Question folks, there was a press report a while back that said a number of new cars were warehoused while they awaited branding and equipment installed etc. Are these cars still holed up despite being paid for while districts still drive clapped out cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭source

delly wrote: »
    Question folks, there was a press report a while back that said a number of new cars were warehoused while they awaited branding and equipment installed etc. Are these cars still holed up despite being paid for while districts still drive clapped out cars?

Yeah, the lights, sirens, radio and markings all cost a pretty penny to install.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

foinse wrote: »
    Yeah, the lights, sirens, radio and markings all cost a pretty penny to install.

If they bought proper police spec cars they wouldn't have this problem.:mad:

I don't think that the major companies do a "police spec" car anymore due to the high quality on the standard build.

There was an article in the Sunday Times a good few years back about a UK company who kitted out the cars and they said that they used to upgrade breaks, suspension and engines. Now they only fitted electrics for radios and sirens.

And sorry, no link. It was at least five years ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

foreign wrote: »
    I don't think that the major companies do a "police spec" car anymore due to the high quality on the standard build.

Volvo have designed and built police spec cars.
    delly wrote: »

that was an article completely blowing things out of proportion. in anycase they are all gone out now due to that article :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad: and guess why they were "warehoused" ????

miju wrote: »
    Volvo have designed and built police spec cars.

Do you mean specialist cars like the RSU Volvo's?

There was an article in the Sunday Times a good few years back about a UK company who kitted out the cars and they said that they used to upgrade breaks, suspension and engines. Now they only fitted electrics for radios and sirens.

And sorry, no link. It was at least five years ago.

I remember that article! It was a lady who was being interviewed. They said that it is becoming more and more difficult to modify the cars due to the computerisation of everything. Apparently they took the rear view mirror off a Volvo S60 so they could fit two effective mirrors. Taking the mirror off resulted in the car not starting.

All they seemed to be doing was lights, sirens, dot matrix led, radio and comms, the power for that, markings and a system to allow the engine to run with no keys to power the extra equipment but that would shut the car off as soon as an attempt was made to drive it off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

Do you mean specialist cars like the RSU Volvo's?

nope "bog standard" patrol cars too

All the gucci units in ags will always have gucci cars like bmw,volvo, audi, range rover etc and the regular units will always have crappy family saloon cars until ags management get their heads out of their ar*es and start to buy a standard decent patrol car/jeep/van for across the whole organisation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭sdanseo

All the gucci units in ags will always have gucci cars like bmw,volvo, audi, range rover etc and the regular units will always have crappy family saloon cars until ags management get their heads out of their ar*es and start to buy a standard decent patrol car/jeep/van for across the whole organisation

Don't like the idea of a "standard" car...look at the states, bloody everything is a crown vic and they're horrible. Knowing the government they'd probably let Eamon Ryan pick te carand you'd all be driving priuses. :pac:

I think a 2.5 mondeo or volvo xc70 is a good car for across the board of AGS.
    "Gucci" units dont respond to priority calls... so why in the name of god do they have the best of cars
    i think all units should have the same standard top level car.

No point in one station having a 1 litre toyota yaris and the station up the road having a 2 litre ford mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

"Gucci" units dont respond to priority calls... so why in the name of god do they have the best of cars
    p.s (for posters that dont know me, im in a so called "gucci" unit, nice guy always, no smart comments from you :D) so before people start slatting me, i think all units should have the same standard top level car.

No point in one station having a 1 litre toyota yaris and the station up the road having a 2 litre ford mondeo

Authentic%20Gucci%20Sunglasses%202590SBMC.jpg

:D:p:D:p:D:p:D:p:D:p:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

There should be a Gucci Gucci Coup.

p.s (for posters that dont know me, im in a so called "gucci" unit, nice guy always, no smart comments from you :D) so before people start slatting me, i think all units should have the same standard top level car.

I think the 2.5 V6 or the XC70 are a bit excessive.

London police seem to have diesel Astras for normal beat cars, BMW 5 Series for specialist cars and Transits for vans. Very little deviation. Dogs in Passat estates, red Zafiras. All of which do the job well, I am sure.

But are 5 series a bit excessive for police work?

Why not save money on buying Mondeo instead of 5 Series and spend the savings on upgrading the Astras to Mondeo?

Diesel engines, standard spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭pa990

Bmw, Volvo and some others make police spec cars.

They come with baton / torch holders. Additional internal lighting for reading maps , documents etc.
    Different seats (washable)
    They also can come with lights, sirens , stickers etc

BMW had such a model on display at the Frankfurt motorshow a few years back

pa990 wrote: »

They come with baton / torch holders. Additional internal lighting for reading maps , documents etc.

If you look through the extras directory for the Audi A2, they used to be available with a safe for storage of firearms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,291 ✭✭✭sdanseo

XC70 for armed units and Traffic. Then I think Kent Police have the right idea with Volvo S40/60, but I'd use the S40 where all mondeos are used at the mo. Volvos are sterling cars and give good mileage and great build quality.

Same goes for unmarked except I'd use S40/S60 for unmarked TC too because an XC70 is gonna be too obvious. Get rid of those bloody bumper LEDs too, integrate them into the door mirrors instead.
    I think the 2.5 V6 or the XC70 are a bit excessive.

A little bit for beat use yeah.
    London police seem to have diesel Astras for normal beat cars, BMW 5 Series for specialist cars and Transits for vans. Very little deviation. Dogs in Passat estates, red Zafiras. All of which do the job well, I am sure.

But are 5 series a bit excessive for police work?

Why not save money on buying Mondeo instead of 5 Series and spend the savings on upgrading the Astras to Mondeo?

Diesel engines, standard spec.

I like the astra, but I hate the roof straighteners. They should be avoided at all costs, and the met lightbars are puke inducing.
    pa990 wrote: »

Only problem was that it was for German cops so probably had a two foot tall dark green roof bar with two XXXXL revolving lamps at the sides?
    If you look through the extras directory for the Audi A2, they used to be available with a safe for storage of firearms!

No danger of that here for a while yet, hopefully :)

Is it really ovious yet what I wanna do for a living? :P