RSA absolutely taking the piss

• 10-07-2009 07:44PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭

I've just heard an advert on Today FM, and I'm now practically boiling over with rage. Its called "Slow down boys" and features different women talking about how getting into a car with a male driver could get you killed. They then go on to say "enough of this about bad female drivers, the real danger is males". At this point in the advert I very nearly killed a small group of scumbags crossing the road as my eyes began to glaze over with rage.

"Its time for us females to put the foot down" the sexist cretin bawked through my speakers. "Male drivers blah blah blah" and then "slow down boys". Slow down? After you twisting my **** sideways with your ****ing pig ignorant 30 seconds of ****ing sexist nonsense ****? **** right off. Got home and straight away lodged a complaint with the ASAI.

I've asked them to pose these questions to the RSA:

1: Indicate all facts and figures where a female has been killed in an RTA, where a male has been the driver.

2: Women are safer drivers. Please prove this point using solid facts and figures.

I've said it a thousand times and I'll say it again - I am ****ing sick to death of this female sexism being seen as acceptable. Sick to ****ing death of it. How blatantly sexist can you get by putting out an advert basically saying if you get into a car with a man driving, you're dead?

The ****ing cretinous goons who made this advert should get into reality and go observe the roads. Watch how many women ignore traffic which has right of way on roundabouts - watch how many women pull out of side roads on their mobile phones - watch how many women cut in from bus lanes just to skip traffic - watch how many women are happy to run red lights nearly smashing you to bits. And then come back and call women the safer drivers you pack of insufferable sexist clown bastards.
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I betcha women can't steer with their knees while writing a text message with their right hand and eating a McFlurry with their left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭NewApproach

At the very least let the lads do the parking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Young males are the highest risk group on roads. There's plenty of stats online.

But I do agree that they overplay that card in safety campaigns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Women are far from better drivers they just don't drive fast enough to do any damage. They have 100s of small crashes while we have one major one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭x in the city

DarkJager wrote: »
    I've just heard an advert on Today FM, and I'm now practically boiling over with rage. Its called "Slow down boys" and features different women talking about how getting into a car with a male driver could get you killed. They then go on to say "enough of this about bad female drivers, the real danger is males". At this point in the advert I very nearly killed a small group of scumbags crossing the road as my eyes began to glaze over with rage.

"Its time for us females to put the foot down" the sexist cretin bawked through my speakers. "Male drivers blah blah blah" and then "slow down boys". Slow down? After you twisting my **** sideways with your ****ing pig ignorant 30 seconds of ****ing sexist nonsense ****? **** right off. Got home and straight away lodged a complaint with the ASAI.

1: Indicate all facts and figures where a female has been killed in an RTA, where a male has been the driver.

2: Women are safer drivers. Please prove this point using solid facts and figures.

I've said it a thousand times and I'll say it again - I am ****ing sick to death of this female sexism being seen as acceptable. Sick to ****ing death of it. How blatantly sexist can you get by putting out an advert basically saying if you get into a car with a man driving, you're dead?

The ****ing cretinous goons who made this advert should get into reality and go observe the roads. Watch how many women ignore traffic which has right of way on roundabouts - watch how many women pull out of side roads on their mobile phones - watch how many women cut in from bus lanes just to skip traffic - watch how many women are happy to run red lights nearly smashing you to bits. And then come back and call women the safer drivers you pack of insufferable sexist clown bastards.

wimmins cant drive for ****

end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

It's not discrimination if it's against white men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

That is f*cking bullsh1t, if it was the other way around the feminism groups would be all over it raising hell. Who the f*ck says one gender are automatically safer, pure sexism and idiotic bullsh1t.

I'm sending a complaint to the ASAI right now, that is just unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Young males are the highest risk group on roads. There's plenty of stats online.

Yes but you can't just come out with a statement calling women better drivers without factoring in the amount of time spent driving, weather conditions, road conditions, vehicle condition etc.
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Women are far from better drivers they just don't drive fast enough to do any damage. They have 100s of small crashes while we have one major one.

They cause a lot of accidents too, mainly due to them not paying full attention while driving. That never gets mentioned though. In the 5 years I've been driving, every near fatal situation I've encountered on the road has been a woman behind the wheel. Particularly on roundabouts where they have a habit of looking the other way and pretending the traffic already proceeding around it isn't there at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

It's been going on for months, I think I heard it first in maybe March? Load of bollix if ye ask me, girls are just as likely to speed/drink and drive/text/make phone calls as male drivers.

That is f*cking bullsh1t, if it was the other way around the feminism groups would be all over it raising hell. Who the f*ck says one gender are automatically safer, pure sexism and idiotic bullsh1t.

I'm sending a complaint to the ASAI right now, that is just unbelievable.

I said that to them in my complaint. If it was an advert about females, there would be a storm about it. This should not be any different. Equality and all that ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Lies, damn Lies and Statistics

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

Equal rights when it suits them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

FYP
    ScumLord wrote: »
    Women are far from better drivers they just don't drive fast enough to do any damage. They have 100s of small unreported crashes while we have one major one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Damn it, this is back on the air? It was used for a brief stint about 4 months ago and then disappeared...I figured someone had complained to the right people and got it pulled, I know I felt like complaining when I heard it. Instead I just put the foot down :pac:
    What a bunch of patronising morons. Fix the f*ckin' roads and speed limits then come back to us with your descriminatory bullsh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Yeah they do....very rarely hear it mentioned about older people who cause accidents due to stubbourness.

Also is the issue of foreign drivers a sensitive one because there seems to be no mention of them when it comes to road safety. Even though a lot of accidents that you hear mentioned on the radio include the term "foreign national".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yes but you can't just come out with a statement calling women better drivers without factoring in the amount of time spent driving, weather conditions, road conditions, vehicle condition etc.

Well no, unless the campaign is about determining who the better driver is.

But its not, its about trying to save lives, and according to statistics, young men claim more lives than any other group on the roads.

Well no, unless the campaign is about determining who the better driver is.

But its not, its about trying to save lives, and according to statistics, young men claim more lives than any other group on the roads.

Trying to save lives by scaremongering? Telling women that if theres a man driving you could be killed? That isn't useful to any one, its just female ego stroking bull****.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

yeah its taking the piss alright. I heard it earlier on 2fm, thought it was just me hearing it differently, was on again an hour later and i was shocked, absolutely shocked to hear that such an advert got passed by the ASAI.

now, if you dont mind. im parked at a roundabout here and must continue home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Ddad

I agree with most of the above but as regards fatalities young men are the kings, they kill and are killed in RTAs more than all other segments of the population combined. I don't like the tone of those adds much but it's a side issue, road deaths is what its about.

The point has been made; which is true, that women have more accidents. The point was also made that men have fewer accidents, also true. However, as said by an earlier poster men have them faster, guess what kills people? The fast ones.

The cost of insurance doesn't lie, the road deaths statistics don't lie and the actuarial mortality graphs on young men don't lie.

The point of driving is to get from point a to point b as safely as possible. The group of people that manage that the most are the winners. Young lads aren't the winners.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭35notout

Trying to save lives by scaremongering? Telling women that if theres a man driving you could be killed? That isn't useful to any one, its just female ego stroking bull****.

Eh, they use the same logic by using drink drivers - if there is a drunk person driving you could be killed.

Facts prove that more fatal accidents are caused by young male drivers than female ones - its not sexist, its fact.

And scaremongering has always been a part of any road safety advertising :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Can't you just upgrade to 2048 bit RSA or 3072 bit? (Seriously though, I also agree with OP)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Sexist *****. No wonder they are headed by "Gay" Byrne.

White males are ruined in the current society. We can't be discriminated against.

Ddad wrote: »
    The cost of insurance doesn't lie, the road deaths statistics don't lie and the actuarial mortality graphs on young men don't lie.

The point of driving is to get from point a to point b as safely as possible. The group of people that manage that the most are the winners. Young lads aren't the winners.:(

How are young male drivers ever going to get a break in insurance costs when there is fantastical bull**** nonsense like this advert being broadcast? They can keep trying to reinforce this idea that women are the safest drivers, but the people who actually drive know much different.
    35notout wrote: »
    Eh, they use the same logic by using drink drivers - if there is a drunk person driving you could be killed.

And its logical to tarnish a sober male with the same brush?
    Facts prove that more accidents are caused by young male drivers than female ones - its not sexist, its fact.
    Its bull****. How many accidents are caused by the actions of female drivers who don't realise it, leaving the male driver to take the blame and bump the statistics?

fekin wimmins. not lettin them cycle my bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Rosser

Assuming you're really worked up over road saftey here are some absolute facts

In Ireland women drivers as a % of overall drivers

1 are involved in fewer accidents i.e have a lower frequency
    2 the average value of claims settled for female drivers is lower

In a nutshell they crash less and when they do it's fender bender stuff. Build a bridge and get over it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

"Black people are twice as likely to cause fatal crashes as whites. Whites: do not allow a black person drive you. Darkies, slow down: it's not as if you have to drive to work!"

Yeah, I don't see that being broadcast...

Rosser wrote: »

In a nutshell they crash less and when they do it's fender bender stuff. Build a bridge and get over it.

Absolute facts? You're joking right?

Involved in fewer accidents - does it occur that male drivers may have a higher frequency of driving than females due to work etc? If it was reversed, the female accident stats would be higher, so that proves nothing.

The average value of claims can be bluffed by not going through the insurance. A minor scratch can be covered by a credit union loan. Again, you go back to the frequency of driving here, and again it would be females higher if the situaion was reversed.

It is simply not fair to call women safer drivers unless they are driving with exactly the same amount of frequency as males.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,114 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Rosser wrote: »

I'd like to see the actual statistics to back this up. I thought women are involved in more crashes than men but there claims are lower.

hate this shlt. i'm a massive sexist when it comes to driving..

women can't drive, stop fuking making adds like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

Big rant:

First reply:
    markok84 wrote: »
    I betcha women can't steer with their knees while writing a text message with their right hand and eating a McFlurry with their left.

AH or what? It's hilarious.:D

Seriously, I totally agree with DarkJager. I've had it upto my tits (*cough* irony *cough*) with all these so called feminists, seeking "equality". Look at the accident reports and I have a very strong suspicion that you'll find the percentages for cause shift towards the "fairer" sex.