IRA issue threat to Dublin Drug gang

• 07-07-2009 11:23PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭

The front page of the Evening Herald today claims that the Provisional IRA in Dublin have issued a threat to a major drug & crime gang located in the west of the city following the murder of inocent dad Wayne Doherty. The threat was made last Sunday and coes after local residents have called on the IRA to take action against drug dealers.

Supposedly the man responsible for the murder has gone into hiding and the parents of Wayne Doherty have asked for "no retaliation" for their sons murder. A senior police officer from Dublin is quoted as sayig "They [the IRA] want to use it to take a stand against drug dealers in the local community". The police also said that senior members of the IRA have threatened to shoot the trigger-man (who is well known) on sight. The Gardai have said they will not tolerate IRA vigilante activity in the area and have called for the Provisionals to withdraw it's threat.

Evening Herald, Tuesday 7th July, City Final, Vol188 No160, Pgs1 & 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Sir Molle

Business must be dwindling for the IRA so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The PIRA in Dublin is just the opposing gang of utter scum

It'll be worse than Compton in no time

The Herald are fcukwits for publishing it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭marco murphy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

The front page of the Evening Herald today claims that the Provisional IRA in Dublin have issued a threat to a major drug & crime gang located in the west of the city following the murder of inocent dad Wayne Doherty. The threat was made last Sunday and coes after local residents have called on the IRA to take action against drug dealers.

Supposedly the man responsible for the murder has gone into hiding and the parents of Wayne Doherty have asked for "no retaliation" for their sons murder. A senior police officer from Dublin is quoted as sayig "They [the IRA] want to use it to take a stand against drug dealers in the local community". The police also said that senior members of the IRA have threatened to shoot the trigger-man (who is well known) on sight. The Gardai have said they will not tolerate IRA vigilante activity in the area and have called for the Provisionals to withdraw it's threat.

Evening Herald, Tuesday 7th July, City Final, Vol188 No160, Pgs1 & 4

Yet the Guards haven't arrested him eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

The IRA's new way of drumming up support so they can go at it again

and half of the daft ****es in this country will believe it and give them their support ffs :rolleyes:

Stev_o wrote: »
    Yet the Guards haven't arrested him eh?

Correct :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

What's the threat?

That they'll undercut the gang's prices?

A drugs price war in West Dublin would be a most welcome recessionary measure, what with the world cup coming up.

Tiocfaidh Ar Lar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 305 ✭✭upthedub

Its about time somebody took care of the drug dealers:D

Correct :)

Finders keepers i guess then.

stovelid wrote: »
    What's the threat?

That they'll undercut the gang's prices?

A drugs price war in West Dublin would be a most welcome recessionary measure, what with the world cup coming up.

Tiocfaidh Ar Lar!

Are you insinuating IRA involvement in drugs?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Interesting thread, I wonder will the people on other threads who talk about wanting to shoot all the gangland criminals now pledge their support or even go join them?

I hope the parent's wishes are respected and the gardai are allowed to do their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I can't see why this is such a big issue, scumbags are killing scumbags all the time, what makes the IRA different from your ordinary average scumbag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

The man who was killed is far from a scumbag.

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I can't see why this is such a big issue, scumbags are killing scumbags all the time, what makes the IRA different from your ordinary average scumbag?
    Can you exactly what you mean by your comment???:rolleyes:

Are you trying to say the man that was killed a few days ago was a scumbag???:confused:

That they hide behind history and heritage to carry out their criminal activities.

At least the blatant Westie scum don't try to hide the fact that they're scum

That has been debating thousands of times.

People are crying out for help on the radio, local people.

That they hide behind history and heritage to carry out their criminal activities.

How are they hiding???Maybe read the headlines of the herald..:rolleyes:

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

There is no evidence whatsoever of this so called threat. And if they did, who gives a monkeys? One less scumbag on the street. The PIRA has decommissioned, and any acts of violence would be seriously frowned upon by SF as it has worked hard to implement a peace process on the Island.

Yes

Give me one shred of evidence or a name of an IRA volunteer convicted of such involvement, please.

No

Yes

Bull****. I could just as well insinuate your involvement in drugs. The PIRA are long involved, along with many Republicans from ridding drugs from the streets. Unless you can provide evidence that the PIRA are involved in drug-running, keep your unfound comments to yourself.

No
    You havent a clue really do you !

No

Back under your bridge then. You'd be a fine anchor for Fox News.

No

Course you can't. Epic fail gtfo

Sure nothing changes that's the sad truth.

The media get involved for about a month, pour their hearts out on the story then leave and generally no resolve is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Great, hope they make a lot of them go away, permanently.

Gardai can't do feck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭Carlow52

All crap:
    this is the work of DA and the other FF'ers to have the new Criminal Justice bill rammed through.

The whole episode has been carefully choreographed

Carlow52 wrote: »
    All crap:
    this is the work of DA and the other FF'ers to have the new Criminal Justice bill rammed through.

The whole episode has been carefully choreographed

Could well be