Do you pick up accents or local phrases easily?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

I moved to Dublin 12 years ago to go to college. There was noone else from home on my course and most of my classmates happened to be from Dublin and surrounding counties. By the end of first year, I sounded like I was in Fair City. :D (a hint to tone it down, if ever there was one!)

I can't even remember what my original accent was like and I wouldn't be able to speak in a proper Limerick accent now without a Dublinese tinge, if I were to move back now. My parents were "culchies", but we went to school in Limerick city and there is a big difference between the Limerick County and City accents, so I suppose mine would have been a mix of both.

I've worked with many non-native English speakers here and abroad over the years and I had to train myself to speak slowly and clearly, otherwise I would have to repeat myself. I've been told over the years that my accent is quite neutral; people can't tell where I'm from exactly, unless they're able to pick up certain regional accent characteristics.

One thing is for sure, if I get agitated for whatever reason, the high fast Limerick pitch comes right back! :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Was having a few cans last night with my family and I left out a big "You caaaan't!" in a big dirty cork accent.. No idea why. I felt a little dirty :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭fkt

Yes, and I've never been away for that long to anywhere. People always point it out to me when I come home. Weird.

mikemac wrote: »
    I'm from the midlands, pure bogger accent :p

But my job sent me to England for six weeks and I returned asking for a "half" of Carlsberg and saying "alright mate?" on greeting people

And while I'm not from Dublin I rent in a pretty ordinary area where a lot of people say "love" to each other.
    Here's your change love or Got a Tesco clubcard love as examples

And now I catch myself doing it :eek:

So do you have an accent or do you pick up other accents on your travels?

Some accents are more infectuous than others. The likes of Donegal, Kerry Cork and Dublin are very pervasive, I think. The midlands one is quite flat and I don't think a non-local couldn't tell the difference between someone from Offaly and Westmeath.

A friend of mine is a real TrueBlue Dub and he had to move to the English West Country for work. After a few months, he was like "awight mate", "daaaahn the mo'ahwaaaay". Glottal stops were soon thing of the past after a months in Ingerland. You had to hear it to believe it really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

When I was in Wales I picked up a Welsh accent..which confused me cause whenver I try to do 1 i cant:D

The Dub accent is the worst though.. cant have a conversation with a Dub without mimmicking there accent..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭irishturkey

as far as i know, and thats not saying much, there's such a thing as a musical ear. some people have it more than others. it basically means that you pick up on sounds and incorporate the into your own accent, dialect and vocabulary easier than another person might. i've a friend from dublin and she moved to philadelphia about 20 years ago. if i talk to her on the phone today it'll be the all american accent but if she came home and spent a few days here, she'd be the dub she was before she left.

i moved to ennis myself about 5 years ago and often find myself saying "tis boy" as opposed to "yeah". or "well skin" as opposed to "hey hows things"

people with a musical ear tend to find it easier to learn musical instruments too. but as i say... i dont know much

Maybe there is a link, though I'm not sure of the science behind it.
    I can do some pretty good accents if I work on it, but my musical ability is rubbish :D People just absorb these things in the environment they're in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I pick up words or phrases, not accents. Mine stays the same, but I generally speak slower to the person I'm talking to. Irish people speak very quickly apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Yes, specially a lot of dubliners who tend to break down the words to say what they mean much quicker ( if that makes sense )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I couldn't have been more embarrased when getting off a bus in Malahide, my mom was talking to the driver in her Birmingham accent, but gradually getting into more of a Dublin accent as the conversation went on.

She said "Sure that's grand" in an accent that'd put Damien Dempsey to shame..

According to my music teacher, my "ear for music is outstanding" but I don't notice me doing it? :confused: I've been asked if I was Irish before but none of my family think there's any hint of an irish accent? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

I must admit i pick up accents pretty easily.

Im 20 now, lived in Limerick all my life before i went to Dublin for college, been in dublin for pretty much 2 years now and i do have a slight Dublin accent, everyone points it out when im back home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Im 20 now, lived in Limerick all my life before i went to Dublin for college, been in dublin for pretty much 2 years now and i do have a slight Dublin accent, everyone points it out when im back home!

I hear ya! You should have heard the slagging I got at home one time when I said "youse" instead of "ye" !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I'm absolutely horrible with accents. Horrible. The odd time I can't even distinguish an American accent from an English accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

I pick up phrases more readily than accents....
    I'm one of the few East Clare dwellers with a Yorkshire accent, but phrases like "giving out" and "thanks a million" are creeping into my day-to-day vocabulary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Wez wrote: »
    I could be talking like somebody by the end of the conversation, kinda annoying at times, nearly sounds like I'm immitating them, which they must all question..

My bro's GF is the same, I always notice it whenever she's over, but whenever we're out and she's there, it'll always be her own..

Weird! So it's not just me anyway!

Sounds like me hook line and sinker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭AMixedBag

I have a Cork accent. Wonder why? :rolleyes:
    Although I do have a tendency to put an American thing to my voice sometimes when I've never even visited the place..?
    I guess I've been watching too much movies.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I lived in Yorkshire for two years and picked up a few phrases like "uni" or "trainers" but my accent and inflection didn't change a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Do that all the time! From Kildare but living in Dublin now and often finding myself not pronouncing the t at the end of words and things like that, whereas before I would never, ever do that! It's only when I''m speaking to someone with a Dublin accent as well. I'll say "Alrigh'". So annoying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TriceMarie

Oh I totally pick up accents and slang.
    If I'm with my friends from Wexford or Dublin,I come home with all their slang and accent lol.It's mad!

And since I've been up in Dublin twice a week for the last month,someone enformed me the other night that I'm getting a Dublin accent..lol,I have to say,I have noticed it at times too..

But as I'm an aspiring actress,I look at it as quiet a good thing to be able to pick up accents quiet quickly

AMixedBag wrote: »
    Although I do have a tendency to put an American thing to my voice sometimes when I've never even visited the place..?
    I guess I've been watching too much movies.:o

I had a friend when I was younger,whos little brother spoke with a profound american accent!!!:eek:
    It was wild like,none of them had ever been to America lol!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

i heard that the rate in which an accent changes is all to do with how inteligent you are..some people might move to usa for 3 months and have a really strong accent and some might be living over there for 10 years and only have expressions that are american.

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    i heard that the rate in which an accent changes is all to do with how inteligent you are..some people might move to usa for 3 months and have a really strong accent and some might be living over there for 10 years and only have expressions that are american.

So if your accent DOES change,does that mean that you are intelligent??:p
    *hopes hopes*:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

TriceMarie wrote: »
    So if your accent DOES change,does that mean that you are intelligent??:p
    *hopes hopes*:p

Probably means that you're easily influenced.:(

Some people assume I'm from a completely different part of Ireland than I actually am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Some people assume I'm from a completely different part of Ireland than I actually am.

You sound like you're from the past... the recent past... like 2009ish.

cantdecide wrote: »
    You sound like you're from the past... the recent past... like 2009ish.

It's my thread bump experiment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

Wow what stupid questions people asked in AH back in 2009. Thankfully it has matured in the time since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,363 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

It's my thread bump experiment :)

Fine. I'll take the bait.

I picked up the 'eh?' from when I lived in NZ. That's the only way I've debased my wonderfully neutral beautiful soft Irish accent.

I should probably have found a better thread to bump. I have absolutely nothing to add to this one. But please all of you do continue.

:p