Does your job make you want to kill yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

not having a job makes me want to kill people (idiot managers in particular) with a spoon so it hurts more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

I've always kinda liked my job so no.
    I am lucky to have it considering the industry I'm in too.
    I'd be unbelievably bored without a job anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 theforeigner

Irlbo wrote: »
    I know you all are sick of hearing about the recession,and I dont blame you,but has anyone noticed how horrible it is in work at the moment,like recently my job was uncertain,but semi good news came that we were taking a pay cut,and a reduction in hours,not too bad at least I have a job I thought,but since then work has become unbearable,the tasks we are being given are so tedious,pointless and hard,and the targets we are expected to achieve are impossible to do,theres no more buzz about the place,it is so painfully boring and annoying,that I actually sit up all night dreading going to work,and Im sick of everyone telling me least you have a job,its so annoying,my mate are sitting at home on the dole living the life of reilly,sleeping in till 12,watching telly and playing playstation all day,going for pints at night,but all the while complaining about not having a job,and envying me for having one,Well tell you what I rather be on the dole,I wouldnt mind sitting around during nothing,lots of spare time on my hands,they can have my job

There's a friend of mine who thinks that having a job takes your freedom AWAY nothing more nothing less.
    He is very quiet and VERY AGGRESSIVE at times (some people would say he is a depressed LOSER) when he is asked something like: why dont you get a job? his reply to that is: i dont want a job.

He is then asked Why?

His reply again would be:

I dont want to be on someone elses time clock
    I dont want to be told how many holidays i can take a year
    I dolnt want to be slaving away for the rest of my life
    I dont want to die old with PENNIES
    I DEFINITELY DONT to be getting up in the morning for someone else
    whether or not you are payed well and then excepting paycuts then 40 years later you sit back and CROKE IT and have NOTHING to show for it
    SO WHAT'S THE POINT?

What a life wasted that is.

That would be his reply to that paticular question if you know what i mean.

The only thing he does with himself when he gets out of bed at about 12 or 1 0 clock in the day (sometimes LATER) he just smokes hash and browses on the internet every day of the week and dosent regret one second of not having a job

Any suggestions from anyone PLEASE?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

There's a friend of mine who thinks that having a job takes your freedom AWAY nothing more nothing less.
    He is very quiet and VERY AGGRESSIVE at times (some people would say he is a depressed LOSER) when he is asked something like: why dont you get a job? his reply to that is: i dont want a job.

He is then asked Why?

whether or not you are payed well and then excepting paycuts then 40 years later you sit back and CROKE IT and have NOTHING to show for it
    SO WHAT'S THE POINT?

The only thing he does with himself when he gets out of bed at about 12 or 1 0 clock in the day (sometimes LATER) he just smokes hash and browses on the internet every day of the week and dosent regret one second of not having a job

Tell him I wish I was in his situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

I'm only working part-time so can only slightly identify with the Op...

But yes work has become far less enjoyable since the recession. It's not just the people who have lost their jobs that are suffering, its the people in them as well. Full-timers in my job are over-worked, and now seem less happy with the job. There is NO buzz/craic around the place anymore. No one has a spare minute to stand around chat and have a laugh anymore, plus part-time hours have been cut so there's just not as many people about the place anymore. The full-timers are all working 9-6 5 days a week for about 100e more than the dole. Don't know how they do it to be honest.

Does anyone think some employers might be using the recession as an excuse to exploit their staff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭googlehead

i've just done my first bit of work in months, argeed price, did it for alot cheaper than I normally do(half price for standard rates). guy was fine with work and everything, then when I go to get paid he started trying to get me to cut a few euro of it, I mean maybe 20 euro over a week. bloody wound me up.:mad:

would'nt mind either but the guy is worth 10's of millions

miserable b*st*rd:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

I know you all are sick of hearing about the recession,and I dont blame you,but has anyone noticed how horrible it is in work at the moment,like recently my job was uncertain,but semi good news came that we were taking a pay cut,and a reduction in hours,not too bad at least I have a job I thought,but since then work has become unbearable,the tasks we are being given are so tedious,pointless and hard,and the targets we are expected to achieve are impossible to do,theres no more buzz about the place,it is so painfully boring and annoying,that I actually sit up all night dreading going to work,and Im sick of everyone telling me least you have a job,its so annoying,my mate are sitting at home on the dole living the life of reilly,sleeping in till 12,watching telly and playing playstation all day,going for pints at night,but all the while complaining about not having a job,and envying me for having one,Well tell you what I rather be on the dole,I wouldnt mind sitting around during nothing,lots of spare time on my hands,they can have my job

masturbate and **** yerself in front of everyone while crying,then do the same in dole office-no job and no long wait for dole.

your welcome.

He is then asked Why?

SO WHAT'S THE POINT?

why not? he has strong feelings on the matter and lives his dream.more power to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Tell him he should do my job because I spend most days not really waking up until midday though I'm in the office at 8:30 and I spend most of my time on the web :D. Not a joke by the way - this really is true!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭gary the great

He is then asked Why?

SO WHAT'S THE POINT?

Good luck to him if thats how he wants to live his life, but I hope hes not getting paid jobseekers allowance and scrouging from tax payers to fufill his "dream lifestyle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

wtf is this stephen stuff about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

In our company, they let 14 people go earlier this year and outsourced loads of departmental function tasks out to India.

A few months down the line, project margins have taken a fair ol' dent because the Indian office is overworked and don't have time to do all the QA checks they're asked to do => client complains about quality and pushes for a discount.

So what have they done? Taken on two of the ex-employees back as freelance contractors to clean up the mess. Penny wise, pound foolish, as they say.

Personally, I am lucky enough to be working in a growing department that has recently won a lot of new contracts. My skills would be very difficult to replace, so I am, touch wood, pretty safe for now.

I couldn't get a decent job during the boom years, being an Arts grad with unremarkable work exp. So I'm bloody delighted to have a job that I like and am good at. I hated being on the dole while my friends were getting cushy numbers in the civil service and IT. I've done enough ****ty go-nowhere jobs since university to appreciate the job I've got now.

But if the worst comes to the worst, I'm out of here. I don't see the point in hanging around here on the dole if there's a chance of getting a job abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

When my work load increased not so long ago, my union rep told me that if there is an increase in workload for an employee, the employer has to provide the employee with extra help/assistance. Also, asking someone to do impossible tasks is unfair, and if an employee's job is causing them additional of stress, its a matter for management, and also falls under Health Safety, and Welfare Act. Recession or no recession, it costs an employer nothing to follow laws and legislation.

My job at the moment is killing me.....and effecting my health.
    All I can say is my two favourite words at the moment are "Legal Proceedings".......yippee!!!!!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

swingking wrote: »
    stop calling it the Stephen !!:mad:

Yea! It's "Stephen", not "The Stephen"!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

I spent a very short time out of work after finishing exams. For the first week it was great, Xbox during the day, pints in the evening, sleep till 2pm. But by the second week I was crawling the walls with boredom... there's only so many times you can walk the dog, hit the gym, clean your place, etc. It was nice to catch up on some reading but that was about the height of it.

I came to the unsatisfying conclusion that the only thing worse that having to get up and go to work is never having to get up for work. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

Yea! It's "Stephen", not "The Stephen"!:mad:

i repeat

wtf is this stephen stuff about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I know exactly where you are coming from OP.

Since the turn of the year the atmosphere in our office has changed dramatically. My boss seems too stressed about everything. Now in fairness, he had a lot of money tied up in property and in bank shares recently so he probably lost a fair few coins, as well as it being very quiet with us. It has taken an affect on the overall morale of the place though.

Whats worse, he has now introduced this new database, where we have to record and log EVERYTHING we do throughout our working day, and how long it took!! Fckin horrible. Its a job in itself maintaining the thing. He's already pulled me for not filling it in correctly during its first week.

Just this evening at 6.15, I was driving home and I got a call from him. Since I was driving I told him i'd give him a ring when I got home, but this was certainly odd I thought. I rarely get calls from him, let alone after hours on a friday evening. Anywho, he reckons he needs to let someone go from the office (apart from me and him, there is another lad and two girls).

He hinted that its pretty much going to be one of the two girls, seeing as they are both in sales, and zero is happening at the minute and for the foreseeable future.

One thing he asked though was if I intended to 'stick around' for a while! As in, if he was to leave one of them go, that I wouldn't leave him in the lurch a few months later by hitting the road, seeing as i'm the youngest in the office, and have no strings currently attached to me like wife/family! Of course I replied saying I've no intentions, but since then I've been freaking thinking that i've signed my life away for a few years! LOL

The joys of it! Jesus I'm looking forward to my few drinks tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Morzadec wrote: »

But yes work has become far less enjoyable since the recession. It's not just the people who have lost their jobs that are suffering, its the people in them as well. Full-timers in my job are over-worked, and now seem less happy with the job. There is NO buzz/craic around the place anymore. No one has a spare minute to stand around chat and have a laugh anymore, plus part-time hours have been cut so there's just not as many people about the place anymore. The full-timers are all working 9-6 5 days a week for about 100e more than the dole. Don't know how they do it to be honest.

Does anyone think some employers might be using the recession as an excuse to exploit their staff?

I have no doubt at all about this :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 tommyfitz

Morzadec wrote: »

Employers would never do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 rightso

Yes, and everyone else in the place. We are all a bunch of insufferable C*nts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

Bloody Employees!

I'm gonna draw this up in a diagram eventually and send it to the Government :P, but obviously some employees could use it too:

Imagine this as a spiral:
    1. A recession happens for many reasons, but one large characteristic of recessions is that people have less money to spend (disposable incomes)
    2. When people have less money to spend, business make less money. They often have to take cost-cutting measures like cut jobs or reduce wages.
    3. The people (consumers) effected by 2 worsen the state of number 1, and if something doesn't interrupt, this spiral spins ad infinitum

So when organisations come along, and do things like in number 2 for no good reason other then "We'll get away with it!", they accelerate this spiral. There is a good chance that even though they may more money in the short term, it's going to effect their bottom-line in the long-term because eventually people will spend less on their products*.

I'm getting dizzy!

Cost-cutting alone won't fix a recession! Spending (in a more responsible manner then years past) needs to be encouraged, not depleted. We're not going to save our way out of a recession!

* Unless they are one the few industries that are generally recession-safe.

</rant>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭scanlas

Fizman wrote: »
    I know exactly where you are coming from OP.

Since the turn of the year the atmosphere in our office has changed dramatically. My boss seems too stressed about everything. Now in fairness, he had a lot

asdfg

The joys of it! Jesus I'm looking forward to my few drinks tonight!
    wwer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

If you are going to dispatch yourself please take one, some, or all of your bosses with you leaving clear information as to why the penny pinching, cruelty officers had to be done in for the greater good of the human race.

Thanks in advance from one of your fellow suffering workers.
    The example though I am sure short term will have some effect on other cruelty officers. This may offer a brief respite to fellow sufferers(workers) and we may even honor you in perpetuity for your glorious pointless sacrifice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

SV wrote: »
    Grrr..

It's people like you that make me want to kill myself

You should seek medical help, your suicidal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

,it is so painfully boring and annoying,that I actually sit up all night dreading going to work,and Im sick of everyone telling me least you have a job,its so annoying,

I've already been on R & R about this so yes, my job does make me want to kill myself. I still feel on a Sunday evening that horrible anticipation I used to feel before going to school when I was being bullied. They've given everyone pay cuts and are now moaning about the smell of food coming from the canteen because people have to now bring in lunch and heat it up. The f*cking cheek :mad:. And lots of other stuff. So, yes, my job does make me want to kill myself. And then I remember I could lose it really soon, which gives me hope, and I don't do it. I am planning a way of getting out in a year's time to keep myself occupied and take my mind off the Koolaid.

I am going to put 50 garlic bulbs in the microwave on full power for 20 minutes during the AGM. Well it beats studying law for 4 yrs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

I don't mind my job at all, except on Mondays like everybody else. In fact, I quite enjoy it. :P The majority of people I know with a 'career', hate their jobs with a passion. Far too many w*nkers in those jobs, nobody could ever enjoy it. What did they expect?

I've worked at jobs in the past which I felt similar about, so I know where you're coming from. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Yeah, employers are bástards aren't they, providing you with a job in the first place and demanding you actually work and not spend the day arsing about on boards. You should get on to your union and get striking and get the place shut down.

The work ethic of a lot of Irish people on boards makes me sick to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

My job makes me want to kill other people who haven't paid me and the revenue people for giving me a hard time because i can't pay them because of the others who didn't pay me,.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I like my job for the most part, except any of the time I have to spend out in the warehouse. I'm grabbing a thermometer so I am, but I can tell you the Heat Index in that bastard is well into triple digits. Thats 40 degrees, to you people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭dmcg90

No... it dosen't make me want to kill myself... just makes me want to kill other people. The people I work with are idiots...

Working in a summer job in a hotel. Examples of the stupidity:
    - I ask someone if they want coffee (I'm holding a huge teapot in my hand at this moment) and say no il have tea... Yes sir Il get my MAGIC FECKING TEAPOT shall I?
    -Staff who do **** ALL while the minority run around like theyre on fire, and give out when we go on our break at the right time!
    -Overemploying, so you get feck all hours.

Seriously, give me a gun and i'm there!