A new venue in waterford

• 24-06-2009 03:39PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭

Now, before we go into this I have a few requests.

1. When you ask for "decent" music - please specify. We're not mind readers!
    2. Understand how much it costs to run a club at the weekend. I admit I don't entirely know but there are exemption costs for having a late bar, security, staff etc. It took harveys long enough but they soon realised that they needed to have a charge on the door.
    3. Drink prices - Again, these are venues that are trying to to run a profitable business so be realistic. We all know what's reasonable and we all know when we're being ripped off. Remember, the rent on a place in the centre of John Street is going to be a lot more than, say, Downes or whatever. One thing that really annoys me about the direction these conversations go is that people demand everything without being even a little reasonable.

So, I've had a look at revolution and it looks like they'll have the bar downstairs, a club upstairs, a function room at the back (a new building) and some other bar upstairs somewhere.

Straight off the bat I think there should be seperate music policies and atmospheres. Say a saturday night, where Revolution is now...how about a more chilled out atmosphere with some oldies and less excitable music. Maybe a live band out in the function room and the club upstairs for people who are into that kind of thing.

So...the forum is open to you for suggestions. If the man himself is not banned at this stage maybe he'll reply...if he is banned I'm sure he'll still read...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭rayc

Now, before we go into this I have a few requests.

1. When you ask for "decent" music - please specify. We're not mind readers!
    2. Understand how much it costs to run a club at the weekend. I admit I don't entirely know but there are exemption costs for having a late bar, security, staff etc. It took harveys long enough but they soon realised that they needed to have a charge on the door.
    3. Drink prices - Again, these are venues that are trying to to run a profitable business so be realistic. We all know what's reasonable and we all know when we're being ripped off. Remember, the rent on a place in the centre of John Street is going to be a lot more than, say, Downes or whatever. One thing that really annoys me about the direction these conversations go is that people demand everything without being even a little reasonable.

So, I've had a look at revolution and it looks like they'll have the bar downstairs, a club upstairs, a function room at the back (a new building) and some other bar upstairs somewhere.

Straight off the bat I think there should be seperate music policies and atmospheres. Say a saturday night, where Revolution is now...how about a more chilled out atmosphere with some oldies and less excitable music. Maybe a live band out in the function room and the club upstairs for people who are into that kind of thing.

So...the forum is open to you for suggestions. If the man himself is not banned at this stage maybe he'll reply...if he is banned I'm sure he'll still read...

Fair comment on the cost of running a business, paying security etc. I wouldn't expect the beer to be the same as pubs outside the city centre, but I don't expect to pay what Harveys charge. I've had people visit me from Dublin who said pints were more expensive there than Dublin city centre. On the other hand though how can Twister Vicks afford to charge €4 a pint and still exist?

I think the suggestion for music is probably spot on, really your trying to hit 3 main groups. The 18-23 group would probably want the 'excitable music' ;-), then the 24+ group more chilled/mixed and then the Live Music lovers. If you can cater for those 3 you're doing very well.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

Good idea aboutotbebanned :D

Music - have like 80s and 90s on one floor to draw in the older (25+ crowd) on a particular night at the weekend like they used to do in the forum. Used to be brilliant but the place was huge and only about 200-300 would turn up but the buzz was brilliant. If someone is in the mood for dance, then just go to another floor for throwing shapes and not restrict movement from floor to floor (unless beyond capacity). Have a good sound system, with plenty of bass but not too much

Beer - try to be able to serve the same drinks on each level (like cocktails and stuff coz theres nothing worse than going downstairs to get a jug or round) and having to fight you're way back to you're mates. Try keep the prices the same, a little increase we can cope with but not like €5.00 + for a pint

Smoking area: a decent size where people can bring their drink with them if they want ta stay out doors for a while.

Toilets: Have more than 1 cubicle or 3 urinals...Nothing worse than almost p1ssin yourself waiting to go into the toilet

Condiments (not condoms but a must neways) - not have someone making you feel guilty for paying someone for a squirt of hugo or Calvin

Cloakroom: Be very handy as I lost another jacket two weeks ago

I'm sure I'll think of some more :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

The thing is Ray...Twister Vics is only open a few weeks. He may not be there in 6 months time and he may regret not being so liberal with his pricing. I hope I'm wrong there but I've seen a lot of pubs come and go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

The thing is Ray...Twister Vics is only open a few weeks.

Where is Twister Vics?

Ah yeah I was just trying to use it as a yardstick. To be honest I don't really understand, given the location and the late license, how they can afford to charge €4 a pint. Thats cheaper than 99% of the pubs in Waterford city, even those in the suburbs.

Personally if a city centre pub could manage say around 4.50-4.60 a pint or somewhere close I'd be happy, thats still roughly a euro cheaper than Harveys.

fricatus wrote: »
    Where is Twister Vics?

Used to be Fletchers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

I think it's fair to say it'll never be as expensive as harveys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Music: Old Skool. Anything from Yazz, Black Box, Technotronic, 2 Unlimited, Dr Alban, Culture Beat, all the way through to the late 90's stuff from Paul Van Dyk, Darude etc. There's nowhere else plays this stuff, yet a lot of people love it. It's cheesy and fun and gets the heart-rate up.

Clientele: Don't care! Anyone who likes the music above. The Old Stand worked well with a diverse age-group.

Beer: Large selection of lagers, not just the usuals. Throw in some Fosters, Furstenburg and Kronenburg and I'll be happy. Have happy hours with two for the price of one.

Toilets: Large and plentiful, like Mason's upstairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

Right lads I have being reading this thread and the Harvey’s one.
    Have to say some good ideas, I am working in clubs in the Uk and Ireland at the moment and there is a major difference in prices when it come to drink, In the Uk a lot of clubs run promotions in Ireland as far as I know they are banned, basically but one get another free, price drops on certain nights, and a cover charge but free drinks for the night, basically what you see on holidays.

Back to venue, The club I play in the uk, has 4 different zones or levels as they call them Live band on one, 80’s and 90’s on the other and your commercial and chart stuff on the other, It costs a fortune between bands and djs all on the one night, I wont say what bars I play in Waterford, but if you have a mixed crowd from your kids to the older crowd, you try to keep them all happy, trying to play to a mixed crowd in one venue is very hard without different levels, you have the kids coming up looking for Britney and lady gag a while the older crowd are looking for abba…etc you really earn your money personally I totally agree with you about Yazz, Black Box, Technotronic, 2 Unlimited, Dr Alban, Culture Beat, all the way through to the late 90’s I include all these in my set but the kids look at you like you fell out of the sky when these are being played, they really don’t have a clue.
    Someone said about dance music, I don’t mean commercial stuff, more your harder stuff is a big NO in a commercial club doesn’t work as top name djs cost a fortune and sometimes brings a bad name to the club, where is ten now?

Harvey’s is not really in a bad location, it’s not a 30mile walk lol but some people prefer everything on the one strip, but in Waterford everything is about location.
    As I said before twister Vicks is a rock bar, caters for one sort of crowd, but if Rev has different music on each level and a live band it could clear up it’s just a wait and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Elabotated from my other post:

If we are gonna suggest a few things i'd go for:

Over 21's: i know in this climate its dodgy but its one of the reason i like harveys, Nothing is woorse these day's IMO then seeing the "ruby's crowd" coked off their tits floating around and acting the maggot.

Compeitively priced drinks: say no more you only have to read the other thread to see what we think about the price of drink elsewhere. I'm aware of the costs of running a place and their main rev espically in the summer months is only friday and sat nights but I think €4.50 for a drink is more then exceptable unless you are running a very very swave place.

No cover charge: Or at least don't run one before 12.30 give people a chance to have one bewteen the house and Rev's

Enough staff so getting a drink isn't a nightmare.

No exception of scumbag behaviour of any kind from patrions IMO this should include people who are too pissed to stand.

Decent music: i know this is subjective but some places the music is just cat. I'm more into rock but I know its a very small market but I can live with chart music, The idea of two different kinds of music on different floors is very good.

Very good smoking room, It's the onlt way you have any chance agaist harveys I'm afraid.

PITCHERS OF BEER, nowhere in town does this and for the life of me I have no idea why.

If Flash is reading this he'll know how to run a decent drinks promotion (I remember the place in my student days was fairly epic)) so get some good ones going for early on a sat or friday nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Anyone see the Loyalty Membership Harveys are offering now in the Waterford Today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭larchielads

if we are using revolution as the example with 3 floors or even 2 here's my idea.
    1. no cover charge
    2. seperate toilets for all floors
    3. 1st floor should be catered for the younger crowd 18-23 for safety reasons as its usually the younger crowd in fights and that sort of carry on. Easier for security to deal with no stairs involved straight out the door wit em!! 2nd floor should cater for 23 and up, music would be live band or half decent dj that knows what the're doing or maybe could do both, dj comes on after band.
    4.late licence
    5.reasonably priced drink 4.50-5.00
    6.2 doors one for each level, younger crowd thru one door, older crowd thru the other. that way crowd is more manageable for security
    7. decent size smoking area. its the only time the seperate crowd would mix unless they all decided to go for one floor which is highly unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

if we are using revolution as the example with 3 floors or even 2 here's my idea.
    1. no cover charge
    2. seperate toilets for all floors
    3. 1st floor should be catered for the younger crowd 18-23 for safety reasons as its usually the younger crowd in fights and that sort of carry on. Easier for security to deal with no stairs involved straight out the door wit em!! 2nd floor should cater for 23 and up, music would be live band or half decent dj that knows what the're doing or maybe could do both, dj comes on after band.
    4.late licence
    5.reasonably priced drink 4.50-5.00
    6.2 doors one for each level, younger crowd thru one door, older crowd thru the other. that way crowd is more manageable for security
    7. decent size smoking area. its the only time the seperate crowd would mix unless they all decided to go for one floor which is highly unlikely.

I would've assumed that a mixed crowd would be less likely to cause trouble. If you have too many of the same sort, something will trigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭larchielads

gscully wrote: »
    I would've assumed that a mixed crowd would be less likely to cause trouble. If you have too many of the same sort, something will trigger.

maybe so but people would be free to use either floor, just with the taste of music on each floor they'd probably tend to stick to their own age groups.

I see the CSO released their latest survey on Consumer Prices, just said I'd post some of the prices of alcohol here as an add-on to this topic.

Pint of Draught Lager:

In Dublin
    Lowest Average Price = 4.53
    Highest Average Price = 5.19
    Average = 4.85

Outside Dublin
    Lowest Average Price = 3.98
    Highest Average Price = 4.80
    Average = 4.33

Also for Vodka dublin averaged 4.05, think it's around a €5 here?

Now I'm not sure whether their samples included late-bars, and also they say that Outside Dublin = Regional cities and towns with population less than 20,000.

Even with that in mind it's interesting to see that most late pubs in Waterford are still 60-70c over the Dublin average. Also note that the Highest Average Price means the average of the 5 highest prices they took...

its here if you want to see it http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0626/csoprices.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

The thing is Ray...Twister Vics is only open a few weeks. He may not be there in 6 months time and he may regret not being so liberal with his pricing. I hope I'm wrong there but I've seen a lot of pubs come and go...

tis not a fella that owns it,its a woman,her boyfriend runs the place for her i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭foxylad

ziedth wrote: »
    Elabotated from my other post:

PITCHERS OF BEER, nowhere in town does this and for the life of me I have no idea why.

If Flash is reading this he'll know how to run a decent drinks promotion (I remember the place in my student days was fairly epic)) so get some good ones going for early on a sat or friday nights.

Revolution do Pitchers of Beer & Cider - promotions if and when i can!
    cant say too much --- im threatened with being banned for promotion of free events! sorry

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

foxylad wrote: »
    Revolution do Pitchers of Beer & Cider - promotions if and when i can!
    cant say too much --- im threatened with being banned for promotion of free events! sorry

sales@boards.ie tbh. Ill ask them to give you a good rate if you like. ;)