That's "Irish" alright

• 15-06-2009 01:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭

Did anyone happen to see Traffic Blues last night on RTE1?

A coulpe of strange incidents and ones of real concern I thought.
    A garda stops a car on a motorway or dual carriageway and in it is a woman
    with 5 young children in the back, none were strapped in at all. She
    was on a provisional and had no accompanying driver. The garda didn't even check her insurance; but the best was the lecture he gave her and how it's
    so not safe to do what she was doing, and then he lets her drive off, after she wails about on the ground.

Another incident was a big coach carrying schoolchildren. The cop pulls it over and notices one of the tyres is in a bad condition and is badly worn. What does this mug do? He lectures the driver on how a child could scratch his/her hand off it:rolleyes:. He then allows the driver to continue on?

Why the hell would this be allowed when both incidents were serious and were an obvious danger and accident waiting to happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Soulja boy

walshb wrote: »

was on a provisional and had no accompanying driver. The garda didn't even check her insurance; but the best was the lecture he gave her and how it's
    so not safe to do what she was doing, and then he lets her drive off, after she wails about on the ground.

Another incident was a big coach carrying schoolchildren. The cop pulls it over and notices one of the tyres is in a bad condition and is badly worn. What does this mug do? He lectures the driver on how a child could scratch his/her hand off it:rolleyes:. He then allows the driver to continue on?

Why the hell would this be allowed when both incidents were serious and were an obvious danger and accident waiting to happen?

Just shows the quality of police who get stuck with traffic duty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

Would it happen in england do you think? I seen it too and was laughing my head off haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

She got to drive off because she got out of the car and went on her knees to beg for forgiveness from him. We should all take a leaf from her book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

WindSock wrote: »
    She got to drive off because she got out of the car and went on her knees to beg for forgiveness from him. We should all take a leaf from her book.

She got to drive off because the Gardai had no powers to take the vehicle off of her. Unless its a revenue/money offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Would it happen in england do you think? I seen it too and was laughing my head off haha.

Paddy, I have seen many similar shows in England and I have seen them impound dangerous cars and trucks and vans and people and NEVER allowing them to continue on

She got to drive off because the Gardai had no powers to take the vehicle off of her. Unless its a revenue/money offence.

Surely they have powers if the situation is a danger to her and her kids and other road users. This was clearly the case, as the cop was lecturing us on how dangerous it was. Was he simply playing to the cameras?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

They should have taken the car and arrested her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Chewing gum? There are bigger fish to fry. I love the portentious narration of these programmes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

Paddy, I have seen many similar shows in England and I have seen them impound dangerous cars and trucks and vans and people and NEVER allowing them to continue on
    I have too. I think the prick was so delighted to be on camera he forgot what his job was.
    I think there is still a small bit of ireland left in this country.But when it comes to things like this, it's obviously retarded of the guard....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

I saw this too. Shouldn't the main priority in this case not have been the children's safety? i.e. keep the car there until the woman can organise for a family member/friend to collect the kids, with the proper child seats needed.

It is so dangerous to have:

1. Five kids where there should only be 3 people
    2. All the kids not wearing seatbelts / in child seats

He basically said "don't do it again" and let her on her way. What if she was involved in a crash 100m down the road after the Gardaí let her off....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

It's like Road Wars, except they dont bother to arrest anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Until they start tasering grannies on it I ain't watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Surely they have powers if the situation is a danger to her and her kids and other road users. This was clearly the case, as the cop was lecturing us on how dangerous it was. Was he simply playing to the cameras?

she can be given the 80euro fine and two penalty points for the seatbelts. She can be given the fine and penalty points for driving unaccompanied. But he cannot take the car off of her or stop her from driving away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Same here & proper order too - if your car is not road worthy or if you are taking the piss they will take it off you on the spot whether there is a sobbing woman on the ground or not.

What if she was involved in a crash 100m down the road after the Gardaí let her off....?

Is the answer a lawsuit ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

This is being discussed oin liveline now for those that are bothered...

Wow, Liveline must be the AH for the computer-less people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Joe Duffy is playing his usual common gobbeen "ah they aren't so bad unlike those nasty UK traffic police types" angle. Maybe his has an outstanding fine to pay.

I heard it on Joe Duffy and I hear some saying, "It's great to see the gradai are showing
    discretion.":rolleyes:

Hey, I am all for discretion under certain situations, but blatant dangerous situations
    like what was shown the other night should have a ZERO tolerance.

I really think the gradai on this show are just playing to the cameras instead of actually
    enforcing the law.

That school coach incident was appalling. The freaking tyre was in bits and the dopey
    copper allows the man to continue on with his journey with a coach full of children:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Watch it next week, i hear that there is some incident with a girl and a mobile phone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Jesus christ... ^^^^ye actually listen to joe duffy???? I thought this was AH not the geriatric forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

WindSock wrote: »
    She got to drive off because she got out of the car and went on her knees from him. We should all take a leaf from her book.
    FYP?:pac:

But Gardai loooove lectures.If you just stand there and listen and maybe give a little bit of cheek they'll lecture you all night then let you off!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

togster wrote: »
    Watch it next week, i hear that there is some incident with a girl and a mobile phone.
    In Ballymun?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Very Irish indeed.

You could also imagine that the story would be different if this dozy cooze wrapped the car around a lamp post and killed them all. Every paper would have something along the lines of 'Tragic mum in tot death smash horror', rather than 'stupid bitch reaps what she sows'.

That's another 'Irish' thing, excusing peoples stupidity once someone dies as a result of their actions. It becomes 'tragic' somehow instead of just being a thinning of the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

They need to put Jerry Lynch in it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

That's another 'Irish' thing, excusing peoples stupidity once someone dies as a result of their actions. It becomes 'tragic' somehow instead of just being a thinning of the herd.

Katy French??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Whats the point in having all these ad campaigns and warnings and Gay Byrne flaping about safety when we let a BUS full of children drive on - in bad condition, after the tragedy not three years ago in similar circumstances.

Too many people die on our roads, **** them if they beg and plead - get tghem off the road for a bit until they learn their lesson. And go to town on mobile phone users when they're driving - it's so dangerous.

Very Irish indeed.

You could also imagine that the story would be different if this dozy cooze wrapped the car around a lamp post and killed them all. Every paper would have something along the lines of 'Tragic mum in tot death smash horror', rather than 'stupid bitch reaps what she sows'.

That's another 'Irish' thing, excusing people stupidity once someone dies as a result of their actions. It becomes 'tragic' somehow instead of just being a thinning of the herd.
    Forget her killing herself, it's the children and OTHER motorists that I will feel
    sorry for. No insurance check on the car. He didn't even ask if she had insurance and even if there was a sticker on the car, that doesn't mean that she is the person insured.

It was so lackadaisacal and unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

I brought a car into Ireland from Sweden a couple of years ago, immediately got Irish Plates, Irish Insurance and paid the Irish Motor tax, why are so many foreign registered cars tolerated on Irish roads, when you look at the plates it is obvious that they are residents here in the republic, all don’t have motor tax and IF they are insured the insurance is not as comprehensive as Irish policy holders, I can’t understand why it is accepted, yet Irish drivers without any of the above will be penalised.

mehfesto2 wrote: »
    Whats the point in having all these ad campaigns and warnings and Gay Byrne flaping about safety when we let a BUS full of children drive on - in bad condition, after the tragedy not three years ago in similar circumstances.

Too many people die on our roads, **** them if they beg and plead - get tghem off the road for a bit until they learn their lesson. And go to town on mobile phone users when they're driving - it's so dangerous.

Hey, did you hear that stupid cops reasoning about the tyre?

He said that the threads and metal protruding from the tyre
    could cause someone to scratch their arm? I mean, this is carry on stuff.

Don't be worried that the freaking tyre will explode while the bus
    is travelling at 60 or 70 km per hours and that dozens of people
    may die, it's the scratches a person could get that are the main issue:rolleyes: