Why is underage smoking tolerated?

• 13-06-2009 02:24PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭

So the legal age for drinking and smoking is 18 yet if anyone under 18 was caught drinking the lightest thing to happen would be the drink removed and they'd probably be brought to there house in the car aswell. I've seen this happen to friends brothers who were stupid enough to get caught. And yet if anyone under 18 is caught smoking nothing is said or done. Its just let go because its accepted now. How did this happen tobacco is the biggest killer in America right now and I'd assume here aswell I just dont have the numbers for here. Has our society become so short sighted as to only see the immediate effects it has on you?

Rant over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

I'm pretty sure you can smoke when you're sixteen.

Stop me if I'm wrong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Because it's what all the cool kids do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackgold>>

tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Well what exactly do you expect people to do?

Also legally and can smoke whenever, you just cant buy smokes until you're 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Why is underage smoking tolerated? Because we live in Ireland. We're the most relaxed country in the entire world when it comes to the law. Plus it's cool!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

Because smoking is regarded as lesser than drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

Well dont expect people to do much really I mean they never did when people underage drink but I'm sure guards could. Anyone looks like I'm wrong bout the age thing as a few people pointed out its 16. My bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Because if you were to arrest every underage smoker you would waste too much police and court time, at the end of the day the rascals would only get a stern talking to.

Personally I prefer having the police sorting out real crimes.

The Government love taxing people.

Blacktie. wrote: »
    Well dont expect people to do much really I mean they never did when people underage drink but I'm sure guards could. Anyone looks like I'm wrong bout the age thing as a few people pointed out its 16. My bad!
    No problem.

Good thread guys! We really pulled together on this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why is Nick O' Teen such a weed?

because he doesn't smoke hash

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Anyone remember that ad, "I'll get it if it kills me?" Little girl from the North smoking. Used to p!ss myself laughing at it all the time.

But I don't care. If young wans want to light up it's their problem. Once I'm not the one putting the fags in their hands I couldn't give two sh!ts.

But here's a fact that you probably don't know and I can't wait to tell you.........drumroll.....brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrp non-smokers die everyday. HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHH! (Bill Hicks)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It used to be when I smoked, but I think they put it up to 18..

chin_grin wrote: »
    But I don't care. If young wans want to light up it's their problem.

Not necessarily. In years to come they'll be the ones taking up hospital beds and racking up hospital bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Not necessarily. In years to come they'll be the ones taking up hospital beds and racking up hospital bills.

And dying. :D

EDIT: Before anyone would like to get on their high horse and say "oh, that's awful" My Granddad died of cancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭wobzilla

a few year's back when i'd just turned eighteen, i went into an off licence and asked for a bottle of southern comfort and 20 malboro. i'd no id on me and your one behind the counter goes "i can give you the cigarettes but not the drink". and there's signs plastered up all over the wall saying not to sell tobacco to under 18s

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

because the garda knows that it cost them like 4 euro a pak in tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

How the hell do some people still think that you can legally buy cigs when you are 16?? They must be walking around with their head up their arse.

YOU HAVE TO BE 18 TO BUY TOBACCO PRODUCTS!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

wobzilla wrote: »
    a few year's back when i'd just turned eighteen, i went into an off licence and asked for a bottle of southern comfort and 20 malboro. i'd no id on me and your one behind the counter goes "i can give you the cigarettes but not the drink". and there's signs plastered up all over the wall saying not to sell tobacco to under 18s

Cause you can't get drunk on 20 marlboro.

RonMexico wrote: »

YOU HAVE TO BE 18 TO BUY TOBACCO PRODUCTS!!

Buy. Yes, Buy.

If somebody over 18 buys them for you however, that's different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Why? Because underage drinking is tolerated part of Irish culture more-so than the Irish language is at this stage. Allowing one and not the other is just highly hipocritical, and there's no way the nation of drunks is going to give up drinking underage, so smoking underage is also acceptable.

Also, there's ~700 students in my school. Out of that, I'd estimate that probably 300+ smoke. Going by school smoking routines, a box of 20 (between smoking 5 during/before school, handing out many more, and more in the evening) would last a day or 2 at max. So every 2-3 days, you've about ~200 boxes of ciggies purchased. 8€ something a packet, that's €1600 euro in 3 days give or take, out of which, a lot of that is going to the government. And I only live in a pretty small town, and that's one school.

In the whole of Ireland, that's a very large amount of revenue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

phasers wrote: »
    Buy. Yes, Buy.

If somebody over 18 buys them for you however, that's different.

Not really though. It's still illegal. It's not the same as the loophole that you can drink at home with your parents under 18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,158 ✭✭✭✭Degag

The more the little fcukers are told they can't do something, the more likely they are to do it. I don't see any problem with 16 or 17 year olds smoking or drinking and in fact, if you took the stigma away from doing it, alot less of them would. If i had kids i'd be alot happier with them drinking a few pints beside me in the pub than flooring a naggin of vodka in a field somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 TonyBlair

the united kingdom is kind of messed up in this section. you are not allowed to smoke until the age of 17, but yet you can buy them at 16

weird isin't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

who gives a ****?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Gaillimh1990

People are going to always smoke in the country... I started when I was sixteen and there was no peer pressure involved...just expirimenting.... still smoke today at 18... not every min. but i do enjoy a marlboro now and again... a pack a week...

as far as I know you can smoke in Ireland at the age of sixteen but you cannot buy them till 18... but underage people will always find somewhere to serve them :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Used to be that way.. then about 8 / 9 years ago that got changed...

- Drav!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Easy really. It would be a waste of police time.

Underage drinking is seen as a leading cause of anti-social behavior in teenagers. That is why the Gardai are willing to tackle it at least a little bit.

Underage smoking is not seen as a cause of anti social behavior and therefore why should the Gardai bother doing anything about.

Enough crap going on this country way more serious than underage smoking or drinking. Gardai should be spending there time elsewhere and not parenting kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭lol5605

I'd say a reason why it would be if lets say a 14-15 year old is our on the knack pissed off his tits hes going to be a danger, if hes having a fag hes grand like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭shaner

Blacktie. wrote: »
    How did this happen tobacco is the biggest killer in America right now

Leave them to it. Next time you see someone underage smoking here take the cigarette off them. See how productive it is.