Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft Doesn't Sleep (Off-topic MADNESS!!) Mod warning in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

bikecrash.jpg

This would happen too much with that bike:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

thermo wrote: »
    There is no vickers there lad!! The closest thing would be the wheeled maxium machinegun,,,,,,,,,
    t:eek:

Actually, you're half right. Maxims were made by Vickers. The one in the picture is the export variant for the Russian market, called the 1910. The Vickers that flashes into most peoples minds when the name is mentioned is the .50cal version, this one is 7.62mm. The give-away is the lid on the water cooling jacket, something that's not so common on British and European versions which had a tube-fed water system on the jacket.
    Everything on the list I mentioned of bits that I wanted was Russian. Though I incorrectly said the mortar was 81mm, it's actually 82mm. Pure habit saying 81mm these days.

I got to have a gander at a de-act PPSh at last years Salute and it was even better than I expected. Very seriously want one. I'm surprised noone has made an airsoft one given it was in such heavy use by the Russians, and even the Germans ditched their MP40's in favour of it if they found one or nicked one from a dead ruskie.
    Then again, we've been waiting this long for the Stg44 and it's only just been released in the last month and an FG42 isn't even in the pipeline yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

NakedDex wrote: »
    I got to have a gander at a de-act PPSh at last years Salute and it was even better than I expected. Very seriously want one. I'm surprised noone has made an airsoft one given it was in such heavy use by the Russians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

NakedDex wrote: »
    Actually, you're half right. Maxims were made by Vickers. The one in the picture is the export variant for the Russian market, called the 1910. The Vickers that flashes into most peoples minds when the name is mentioned is the .50cal version, this one is 7.62mm. The give-away is the lid on the water cooling jacket, something that's not so common on British and European versions which had a tube-fed water system on the jacket.
    Everything on the list I mentioned of bits that I wanted was Russian. Though I incorrectly said the mortar was 81mm, it's actually 82mm. Pure habit saying 81mm these days.

quote]

this is the Russian Pulemyot Maxima a russian copy of the maxium the lid on the cooling jacket is so snow could be put in! the vickers is a copy of hiram maxiums design, albert vickers part funded the maxium company and later vickers steelworks took over maxium and then made the vickers machinegun but the maxium was around first!

Wikipedia ftw eh? Vickers owned the Maxim company before the 1910. The design was still known as the Maxim, just as the HK416 is regarded as an "Armalite style" rifle. Different manufacturer, same product.
    Also, it's Maxim, not Maxium.
    Flecktarn wrote: »

Yeah but, you see, the problem with that is that it's actually made from a real PPSh. It's an Ashai classic and it's bloody hard to find. It also costs a fortune. If I was willing to spend Ashai money on something, it'd most likely be an FG42.
    What I mean is that it's a shame noone's doing an affordable one. Marushin's M1 Garand is about as much as I'd be willing to spend on WW2 kit, and I'd struggle to justify the €600 for that. I can't see why an AEG version couldn't be made for around the €200-250 mark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭Flecktarn

Orite I see, quiet a lot of $$$ indeed. Theres a FG42 on WGC but it doesnt shoot............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

Just because I miss spell does not take from the fact I'm right!!
    My original point was it's not a vickers and it's NOT!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,323 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Just because I miss spell does not take from the fact I'm right!!
    My original point was it's not a vickers and it's NOT!!

Congratulations you won an argument online:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,124 ✭✭✭moggser

Blay wrote: »
    Congratulations you won an argument online:rolleyes:

threw his toys out the pram more like

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

He has a good point though., :D lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

retard.gif

Moggy, you should com onto IRC, theres good craic on here at the moment., :D

Masada wrote: »
    He has a good point though., :D lol

yeah but arguin with Dex is like a good friday ..............
    no pint (point) lol

Moggy, you should com onto IRC, theres good craic on here at the moment., :D

link me up and im in like flynn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,323 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

Everybody shut up, drop everything you're doing, and go see Drag Me To Hell.

It's awesome.

Going on Saturday with a friend. Wasn't too keen on the idea of another mid-summer horror flick until I heard who directed it. Raimi ftw.

Sounds good, if it at least prevents people from wasting their money on that farce of a terminator, it can only be a good thing. :D

ah here we go again did we not finish that earlier on?
    stick a fork in that richie ITS DONE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

It's an absolute blast. Anvil was great, and I still insist you all go and see that, but Drag Me To Hell was the most fun I've seen in years.

Gory, scary and funny in all the right measures. Absolutely cracking.

moggser wrote: »
    ah here we go again did we not finish that earlier on?
    stick a fork in that richie ITS DONE

haha., no feck that., there was no melty robots, no fine lookin blonde female cranky lookin robots and 2hrs of Cristian Fail..
    i might as well went to to monsters vs aliens....

haha., no feck that., there was no melty robots, no fine lookin blonde female cranky lookin robots and 2hrs of Cristian Fail..
    i might as well went to to monsters vs aliens....

i refuse to do the melty robot thing with ya again

maybe tomorro or next day or who knws what might happin in the year 2038
    but not now
    you got that so drop it like a bad habbit:):)

yeah but he shot a terminator with a gun and it died. thats bleedin stupeh! its a terminator....

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Depends on the caliber i supose. If its a machine a rail gun might kill it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭+*EliteSniper*+

Bored, Tired and can't get to sleep :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭kevteljeur

moggser wrote: »
    you got that so drop it like a bad hobbit

Fixed that for you.

yeah but he shot a terminator with a gun and it died. thats bleedin stupeh! its a terminator....

lol

Basically, when you got home you couldn't get off on Christian Bail despite trying, where as the surly pneumatic blonde with the built-in dremel was a good bit easier, right? And so, you're disappointed. It's understandable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

kevteljeur wrote: »
    the surly pneumatic blonde with the built-in dremel was a good bit easier, right? And so, you're disappointed. It's understandable.

Wow, hold the phone, she has a built in dremel? Who is this angel and where do i find her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Tommy_NDX

Found her for ya.
    67b9d1f8-abdf-4eba-9d93-99f202debd29_kristanna_loken-as_t-x-terminator_3.jpg
    me like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Toasty113

That arm is a bit too metallic for my taste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Toasty113 wrote: »
    That arm is a bit too metallic for my taste

Molybdenum Sulphide should prevent chaffing.