Have you ever stolen anything from a pub/nightclub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

A pumpkin from a club in Brussels

I once stumbled out of a bar in Balboa onto the beach with a drink in hand, and although my drink was paid for, the 22 oz glass had not been. We were partying pretty hard, and methinks the bartender was glad to see us go, even though carrying full drinks out was illegal. He just conveniently looked the other way as our noisy crowd left. Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Hahaha seeing the title of this thread made me laugh.
    I know a fella who stole a full sized lamp(about 3 feet long) out of a night club.
    Simply unplugged it and placed it inside his trousers and up his tshirt and walked out the door.
    It was comical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

was at a house party once when the guy who lived in the house left for 5 minutes to walk up to the 24hour shop for cigs...next thing ya know he arrives back at his house with a hurse(hurst,spelling??). it was parked beside the shop with keys in it and everything...he dropped it back after a few spins around the road...it was after a nightclub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

NOTE: This is a bit of a rant but there is a point... :D

I used to work in a pub/nightclub/function room in the country.

I was I wasn't even old enough to be drinking it in it either but anyway...

We were paid wages that illegal-immigrants on a mushroom farm would turn up their noses at.

When there were functions happening in the place, you were pretty much expected to work for the duration of it, meaning you would be there in the morning or by midday at least to have everything ready and would still be there to clean up at 4 in the morning or whenever. Any breaks you had were taken out of sight of the owner, as they. I wouldn't give a damn about if we had been paid a fair wage.

The chef would make sure the staff were fed, as he knew we were getting practically nothing for our trouble anyway.

After I had been working there a while, still roughly in my mid-teens I think, myself and a lot of the others would usually just drink and eat what we liked, not alcohol, but just soft-drinks and whatever munchies were available.

Stealing? Yes, but put into perspective, we were being paid less than a quarter of minimum wage.

I have a friend who has worked for the owner of that place since, in another business. He asked him for a "raise" to minimum wage, after having been a good loyal worker for a number of years. The man was shocked and outraged that he could be so bold as to ask for such a thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

One of the coca cola flags from outside the factory in dublin. Numerous traffic cones, did you know you can be arrested for theft for takin one. I do now. I think we've all robbed glasses etc. I once took one of the smoker things where you stub your fag, the ones a bit lower that waist high. Stands proudly outside my back door. Nothin anymore though, baby on the way forces new house so probably a few glasses in a couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

years ago walked into toilet of a bar in limerick, and noticed the condom machine, instead of being flush against the wall, seemed to be at an angle. Lifting it experimentally, a torrent of pound coins spilled to the floor.
    Not wanting to be a litterbug, i promptly cleaned up and put the offending coins into the nearest convenient container.

My pocket.

Think it was about 20 pounds from what i remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I was out with a couple one night and he was a serious clep! Ashtrays were his thing! There was loads in his house. Remember the HUGE benson and hedges ashtray! Well one night he dropped it into the moths handbag. Nothing new there but this time I was with him and sh1tting I would get caught, Anyway. We got seriously drunk that night so did not care much by the end. We left and went home.

He went the other way with the moth. I got a call the next day to say he was in the matter getting stitches. I asked what happened thinking he was jumped on. He told me they eventually got a taxi and on the way home in it he felt sick. He grabbed the moths handbag and got sick in it. It was still wrapped around her wrist so she swung it and hit him. Forgetting the ashtray was in it.

He now has 7 stitches to remind him of a benson and hedges ashtray.

On a seperate note. My brother in law use to bring home pint glasses when he got his first place... He was broke. Tea aint nice in pint glasses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

phill106 wrote: »
    years ago walked into toilet of a bar in limerick, and noticed the condom machine, instead of being flush against the wall, seemed to be at an angle. Lifting it experimentally, a torrent of pound coins spilled to the floor.
    Not wanting to be a litterbug, i promptly cleaned up and put the offending coins into the nearest convenient container.

My pocket.

Think it was about 20 pounds from what i remember.

You were slow... Why not put half back in and get the condoms.

You could have brought the moth for fish and chips and a free ride on the way home....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

just remember, my mate stole 2 bar stools one night. no idea how he got them out past the bouncers. he fell about 20 yards away from the pub and split his head open. so we had to take him home, one of the bar stools was ditched into a bush to hide it, the other was taken with us. neither of the bar stools ever made it home and none of us can remember where we left them. my friend ended upin hospital with 2 stitches in his head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 niallthegreat

Was coming out of a club in dublin and when walkin past the place where you pay something just told me to reach in. Grabbed whatever it was shoved it into my pocket ...... ended up with the club stamper and an earring throw the earring away then the next day was walkin down the same street seen it and had a great moment of pride when I realised it was me who did it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

A few years ago in Spain, we were walking back from a night club & my sister tried to drag a beach goalpost back to the hotel with us.We made it back but she couldnt get it in the door of the apartment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Well one night he dropped it into the moths handbag.

He went the other way with the moth.
    Why not put half back in and
    You could have brought the moth for fish and chips and a free ride on the way home....

What the hell is a moth?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

I know a guy that got one of those big old clunky CCTV cameras out of a nightclub under his Cavan jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Probably not the same as everyone else because I actually worked in a few bars but jesus I borrowed quite a few bits and bobs.

A whole box of 24 Carlsberg Pint Glasses

About 50 other various pint glasses

Branded bar trays

Branded ashtrays

Spirit measures (Double, Single)

Ice buckets

Shot glasses

Whiskey, Vodka, Gin branded glasses

Branded rubber drink mats for resting pints on

Lots of free promo stuff from suppliers

Best must have been some rather expensive Crystal Whiskey Glasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

My friends had a stealing competition from the local one night. (When we were young'ns) The usual stuff appeared as we judged each other's attempts i.e.
    candles
    lights
    glasses
    posters
    traffic cones
    signs
    toilet roll holder?
    But the best result was a massive parasol that we would place in a picnic table. This one threw it over a 10 foot wall in into the adjacent town carpark without the many bouncers noticing.

ALl I managed to steal was a Erdinger glass!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Vain wrote: »
    What the hell is a moth?:confused:

The Mott (Mot?), ....dublin slang, vernacular for female of the species...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Porterhouse do have some nice glasses :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

ive got a sprite glass that has " i stole this glass from the pub" written on it!!!
    also have a really cool martini glass from tgi fridays and a couple of those frosted smirnoff ice glasses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭LD 50

Who hasn't nicked something from a pub?!
    I've taken many pint glasses, beer mats, one of those yellow wet floor signs. One of my mates actually managed to walk off with a bar stool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

robbed a fire extinguisher from a nightclub one time. had a pretty good laugh in the chipper with it till got booted out (probably twenty seconds later:P) Used to rob the condom machine nearly every week as well. (might of been the same one the earlier poster was talking about (LImerick rock/metal club)Also doesnt really count but took a few walkie talkies from a building site when hammered. Nice few days communicating with the builders and got pretty good at impersonating the foreman which pissed him off no end:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

couple of pint glasses but only because i wasnt finished at home time and paid good money for the contents so there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

I actually haven't taken anything! Seems I must change that lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Dart board...although I did work there and had to bring it back the next day when I sobered up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I stole this massive pepper grinder that was displayed on a shelf from this pub in Australia cos I was staying with my cousin and I couldnt afford a birthday present for her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Besides glasses and all those small free things like candles....
    Do you ever think about the staff, they always are the first to be suspected. Stealing for the craic is just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Bar Stools, Bins, an Outdoor wooden picnic table with attached seats, a round table (which used to hold telephone cable), beer mats, assorted glasses etc.
    In many cases we just "borrowed" the items.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭carefulnow99

many many glasses now i mean my press has approx. 30 pint glasses (various brands) now in fair ness not all mine but my bro helped.

same story really all the little nick naks out of the pubs usual stuff really.

stole 1 a dem park benches one night ya know da ones u sit into from da local walked home with it (once again me and my bro plus a mate) must be 3 year ago now and they only used to take it out on really sunny days haha!!

so now if we stand on it we can see the local over the wall :D:D

dad wolk up with this bench in his garden..he knew der was somethin fishy when he heard da pubs manager
    "and you wouldnt belive people would just nick it like i dont mind ya know its not expensive like,,,ah sure its probally dem forigners (goes and serves someone...reappears) ah sure look if someone is gettin a bit of use out of id prefere that to some young lads robbn it and breakin it up ya know..

dad was pissed off but said the manager sounded kinda happy by the end of the convo that someone was gettin use out of it haha legend..

dads excuse for weeks was that he was 'paying for a new table'

he sill hasnt paid the debt off haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,168 ✭✭✭✭L1011

A mass of gig posters from nightclubs. Usually ones for the night I've just been at. I've a mini-billboard sized one somewhere which I have a feeling I might actually have somehow got out of a bus shelter but I've no idea when sober how to open one, so... :confused:

Over the years a few glasses have made it home somehow. Mostly shot glasses but there's a few pint glasses and some surreal random ones. I think other people are bringing them back, as I've never drunk Courvoisier in my life for instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

yes. a top of the range phone after some lad basically handed it to me in the toilet after breaking up with his gf over the phone( which i heard )

looked for him for a hour or so and after i cudent find him, was a stuffed sock job.