Secondary School evicts junior cert student for parents not paying fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

This just in: Bank in "refusing to give out free money" shocker!

(edit: seriously... they owe the school 20 ****ing grand. There's no argument here, she shouldn't be in a private, fee paying school if her mother isn't in a position to pay fees)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭tolteq

well...........why not,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Alexandra College kicks a junior Cert student out of school (in front of classmates) with three weeks to go to the junior cert.

Naked Capitalism gone wrong or the right treatment for people who don't pay their bills on time?

Discuss...

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0528/1224247598081.html

And i bet the schools excuse is that they NEED the money because of all the cut backs,joke:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

This is the kind of thing i wished would happen when i was studying for the J.Cert. The kids probably over the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭culchienator

you honestly believe that there is something wrong with the fact that she was evicted? Its a fee paying school and her family did not pay them, therefore the schools decision to evict her is 100% justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

mle1324 wrote: »
    And i bet the schools excuse is that they NEED the money because of all the cut backs,joke:mad:
    No they need the money because they were owed €20,000!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Fairly harsh, but like, they supplied a service for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

I could be wrong here,yes its embaressing for the child.it probably could have be handled more sensetively,however,cant the girl just do the junior cert somewhere else like you can do for the leaving cert(as in the rds or something)??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Alexandra College kicks a junior Cert student out of school (in front of classmates) with three weeks to go to the junior cert.

Naked Capitalism gone wrong or the right treatment for people who don't pay their bills on time?

Discuss...

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2009/0528/1224247598081.html
    Nah, they were biding time, and the bolting after the Junior Cert to the Institute leaving the bill unpaid. 3 weeks is close enough, feck them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

The school isn't at fault here it's the busy body mother.
    I'm sure she can survive in a public school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

whats the betting the parents sue the school for emotional trauma causing the kid to mess up the exams and ruin her future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

sorry for posting again, but the kid is 14 doing her junior cert ? that can't be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I think the school where to easy on her. Jaysus its bloody 20000, its not as if the mother didnt see it coming. The school where very fair, leaving the little one stay until as close to the Junior Cert as possible.
    The mother wanted to send her other child to the school in September. What kinda eejit is she. She cant afford to keep one going so decides to send another one. She obvisouly didnt go to one.
    also by highlighting it and running to the papers I can only see bad things for her kids when they have to go to a "normal" school. Kids will bully for anything. The mother is a fooking muppet.
    I fart in her general direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭ninjasurfer1

Do you not think they should have either done it months ago or left it until after the exams? Regardless of the rights or wrongs, the poor kid has to face her former classmates to sit the junior cert!! Can't be good for her mental state!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

They were right to throw her out but it's still pretty stupid of the school to do it now. They must of known it would be bown up by the media. The school are letting her sit the JC there anyway so why not just let her stay in class the extra 3 weeks rather then dragging their name through the mud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Do you not think they should have either done it months ago or left it until after the exams?
    Nah, they reckoned she would bolt after the Junior cert, and this was brinksmanship. Bet the mother is a tough cookie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Do you not think they should have either done it months ago or left it until after the exams? Regardless of the rights or wrongs, the poor kid has to face her former classmates to sit the junior cert!! Can't be good for her mental state!!

They kept her until she(?) was taught the complete curriculum, that's pretty lenient tbh. Can't be good for her mental state, but neither can having a debt dodging ma who puts her daughters' education in jeopardy. We have free education for a reason, I've no sympathy for people who send their kids to private schools and stretch themselves unnecessarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭445279.ie

she was asked to leave before Easter yet the mother only goes to the press about it now!

Smacks of wanting to sue for mental distress for the child before the exams :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Story was in Sunday Times last Sunday. We pay the teachers wages so don't think kid should have been taken out until after examns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

They were right to throw her out but it's still pretty stupid of the school to do it now. They must of known it would be bown up by the media. The school are letting her sit the JC there anyway so why not just let her stay in class the extra 3 weeks rather then dragging their name through the mud.

Bad PR management alright.

Sensible thing would have been to keep her in til the summer, then kick her out after the JC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

jdivision wrote: »
    Story was in Sunday Times last Sunday.

Wut, when did the sunday paper start coming out on sunday?

/giggles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

seanybiker wrote: »
    Wut, when did the sunday paper start coming out on sunday?

/giggles

Last Wednesday

/titter titter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

jdivision wrote: »
    Story was in Sunday Times last Sunday. We pay the teachers wages so don't think kid should have been taken out until after examns.

Not all the teachers in the school, only a certain ratio which is less than public schools. Taxes don't pay for all the facilities and extra supervision for costs ect. When you consider she was a border, there is food, cleaners, cooks ect. Its a 20k bill for that, because that wasn't paid, they obviousely had to dip into other funding to pay for it. They owe money at the end of the day.

Really feel bad for the kid, must be incredibly embarassing. Her mum is a disgrace putting her through that in the media, take the kid out of the school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some of the lads in university (all from fee-paying schools too) used to refer to Alexandria College as Virgin Megastore.

If the story is true that the parents let the debts build up over a significant amount of time, they are to blame for possibly using the emotive case of the kid's exams to try and force the school's hand.

If you can't afford to send your kids to a private school, there are plenty of free schools as Brianthebard said. It didn't do the majority of the country any harm to have attended them.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

€16000 a year? **** that.

Oh well. There's still hope for the girl that she won't turn out like a stuck up bitch like her mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I've had extensive dealings with Alex over the years and I can categorically state that that isn't the way that they operate. I think that the way that the mother is trying to blackmail the school through the media tells you exactly what sort of person she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

I went to a non fee paying school and I got on fine...

...I sometimes even post on AH now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Both the parents and the school acted in their own benefit here.

The school held on as long as they could, but to take the girl out of class and shame her in front of her class mates and friends like that was unforgivble. They did it purely to send out a message to other parents "keep paying or this will be your child next". Just tell her not to come back tomorrow.

The mother, well. she's a fool. She is the one responsible for emotionally traumatising her child in the first place. Why the fcuk keep sending her? she knew in September she couldint afford it? I heard her on the Gerry Ryan show, saying she offered monthly installments. She was very unclear about how much she offered and it came across like she offered to pay some of it, just to look like she was trying. I have no sympathy for this woman, or for the school either for the way they handled it.

Who was looking after the intrests of the child here? No one. Each party wanted a win situation and the only loser was this kid, shamed beyond belief weeks before her exams. A teenager bullied by adults :mad:, traumatised by adults :mad: and let down by adults who should have known better.

Upper class me hole, give me a porta cabin with teachers who give a sh1t and a mother who puts ME first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Well, if the parents owed the school 20k then i guess the school was pretty nice to let her stay for so long.