Rock Am Ring/Rock Im Park 2009

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 16,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

My friend was about to buy tickets on www.tickets-per-post.de for Rock Im Park but she found out you cant buy a ticket with a laser card on the site , just wondering is there anyway around it or has anyone had the same problem or will we just have to find someone with a credit card. Also is that website ok to use , has anyone here used it before?
    Cheers
    FR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

dont know about that site but would she not just use the rock im park site? got the tickets from there within days after booking them the last two years. Most sites dont accept irish debit cards unfortunately so she'll probably have to use someone elses credit card, else she could try using the 3V vouchers which are like temporary visa cards. Not quite sure how they work tbh.

Ive been on the site RIP link to but its all in german so i have to copy and paste everything into a translator but i suppose i would feel more safe since its from RIP. Another question anyone know what a eurocard is ? they have that as a option to pay.
    Cheers
    FR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

eurocard is just a brand like visa. I know it can be kinda annoying to copy and paste into google translate but theres really not that much to figure out, I think its def the best option. Still havent booked travel myself due to lack of credit card.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    eurocard is just a brand like visa. I know it can be kinda annoying to copy and paste into google translate but theres really not that much to figure out, I think its def the best option. Still havent booked travel myself due to lack of credit card.

She ended up finding someone with a credit card and she used the site i was on about earlier and i did the same for my ticket. it came to €151 including postage etc. Cant wait now just gotta find cheap flights to frankfurt now and will be all set :)
    Cheers for the help --LOS--

Another question :). Just wondering what the differences between the Ryan Air's Frankfurt Airport and Aer Lingus's Airport. Atm the aer lingus flight is looking better due to times because the Aer Lingus one leaves 7am and gets in to frankfurt at 10am so that would give me loads of time to get to Rock Im Park. Is there much difference between airports eg getting into frankfurt city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Beekay

Another question :). Just wondering what the differences between the Ryan Air's Frankfurt Airport and Aer Lingus's Airport. Atm the aer lingus flight is looking better due to times because the Aer Lingus one leaves 7am and gets in to frankfurt at 10am so that would give me loads of time to get to Rock Im Park. Is there much difference between airports eg getting into frankfurt city?

I used Frankfurt Hahn to get to RAR last year, Frankfurt Main is actually in Frankfurt where as Hahn is out in the middle of nowhere. I'm guessing if you are looking to get into Frankfurt city then Frankfurt Main is the better option.

Also there are better train connections from Frankfurt Main as it is a much bigger airport than hahn.

Beekay wrote: »
    I used Frankfurt Hahn to get to RAR last year, Frankfurt Main is actually in Frankfurt where as Hahn is out in the middle of nowhere. I'm guessing if you are looking to get into Frankfurt city then Frankfurt Main is the better option.

Also there are better train connections from Frankfurt Main as it is a much bigger airport than hahn.

Cool appreciate it Beekay thanks for your help. Both Ryan Air and Aer Lingus prices are similar but Aer Lingus has better times , so it looks like its AL for me.
    Again cheers for the help :)

Booked my flights earlier wooooo :)

Got my ticket in the post there today . It arrived pretty quick since i only ordered it last tuesday

Running Order is up: These are the times for Rock Im Park (so id say the same times for Rock Am Ring)

Friday

Centerstage:
    Limp Bizkit 21:30-23:00
    Billy Talent 19:20-20:50
    Guano Apes 17:50-18:50
    The Subways 16:30-17:20
    The All American Rejects 15:25-16:05
    New Found Glory 14:30-15:05

ALTERNASTAGE
    Peter Fox 23:45-1:00
    The Kooks 22:05-23:15
    MIA. 20:35-21:35
    Chris Cornell 19:20-20:10
    Kettcar 18:10-18:55
    Peter Bjorn & John 17:00-17:45
    Tomte 15:55-16:35
    The Script 15:00-15:35
    Middle Class Rut 14:10-14:40
    The Kilians 13:25-13:55
    Little Man Tate 12:45-13:10

CLUBSTAGE
    Dir En Grey 1:20-2:20
    Black Stone Cherry 23:55-0:50
    All That Remains 22:45-23:35
    Gallows 21:40-22:25
    Hollywood Undead 20:40-21:20
    Bring Me The Horizon 19:40-20:20
    Buckcherry 18:45-19:20
    The Blackout 17:50-18:25
    Fightstar 16:55-17:30
    The Crave 16:05-16:35
    Pain 15:15-15:45
    SteadlÃ1/4r 14:25-14:55
    Five And The Red One 13:40-14:05
    Nervecell 13:00-13:20

Saturday

CENTERSTAGE
    The Killers 21:30-23:00
    Placebo 19:20-20:50
    Razorlight 17:40-18:40
    Selig 16:15-17:10
    Juliette Lewis 15:05-15:50
    Scouting For Girls 14:15-14:45
    Expatriate 13:30-13:55

ALTERNASTAGE
    Korn 23:45-1:00
    Marilyn Manson 21:50-23:05
    Killswitch Engage 20:20-21:10
    Staind 19:10-19:55
    Papa Roach 18:05-18:45
    Enter Shikari 17:00-17:40
    Shinedown 15:55-16:35
    Dragonforce 15:00-15:35
    Five Finger Death Punch 14:10-14:40
    Hardcore Superstar 13:25-13:50
    Wirtz 12:40-13:05

CLUBSTAGE
    Polarkreis 18 1:00-2:05
    Basement Jaxx 23:30-0:30
    2raumwohnung 22:15-23:05
    Milow 21:10-21:50
    Hockey 20:05-20:45
    Esser 19:00-19:40
    Kitty, Daisy & Lewis 17:55-18:35
    Martin & James 17:00-17:35
    TBA 16:10-16:40
    Chester French 15:25-15:50
    Silvester 14:40-15:05
    Aktives Kupfer 14:00-14:20

Sunday
    CENTERSTAGE
    Slipknot 21:15-23:00
    The Prodigy 19:20-20:35
    Machine Head 17:50-18:50
    Volbeat 16:30-17:25
    Flogging Molly 15:20-16:05
    Trivium 14:20-15:00
    Sevendust 13:30-14:00

ALTERNASTAGE
    Mando Diao 23:50-1:00
    Jan Delay & Disko No. 1 22:10-23:20
    Bloc Party 20:40-21:40
    Reamonn 19:20-20:10
    Madness 18:10-18:55
    Phoenix 17:00-17:45
    The Rifles 15:55-16:35
    White Lies 15:00-15:35
    Sugarplum Fairy 14:15-14:40
    VV Brown 13:35-14:00
    The Intersphere 13:00-13:20

CLUBSTAGE
    Dredg 0:45-1:50
    And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead 23:25-0:15
    The Gaslight Anthem 22:10-23:00
    Biffy Clyro 21:00-21:45
    Alexisonfire 19:55-20:35
    Duff McKagan's Loaded 18:50-19:30
    The Soundtrack Of Our Lives (OEOC) 17:50-18:25
    A Day To Remember 17:00-17:30
    Madina Lake 16:10-16:40
    Red Jumpsuit Apparatus 15:25-15:50
    YouMeAtSix 14:40-15:05
    TBA 14:00-14:20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Iceberg

Times for Rock Am Ring: (printable version)

http://www.rock-am-ring.com/schedulePrintPreview.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

Getting really excited now about RIP now that the college year is over. 4 of us heading to Munich for 3 days first then getting the train to Nuremberg on the Thursday morning. Did RAR last year and it was amazing, had the time of me life over there.

Unfortunately one of the lads has had to pull out of the trip, and its a pain in the arse trying to get rid of his ticket with only a few weeks to go.

Festival being closed by Machine Head then The Prodigy the Slipknot, fantastic stuff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Beekay

- bo - wrote: »
    Getting really excited now about RIP now that the college year is over. 4 of us heading to Munich for 3 days first then getting the train to Nuremberg on the Thursday morning. Did RAR last year and it was amazing, had the time of me life over there.

Unfortunately one of the lads has had to pull out of the trip, and its a pain in the arse trying to get rid of his ticket with only a few weeks to go.

Festival being closed by Machine Head then The Prodigy the Slipknot, fantastic stuff..

Thats a good ending to the fest alright, RAR has Limp Bizkit to finish it for me, not great but will be fun to go see them after some good drinking time!!

I'm looking forward to Korn headlining the second stage!

Yup MH,Prodigy and Slipknot closing will be unreal , cant wait now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Elaineinchains

Hey Bo
    If your havin an bother gettin rid of your spare RIP ticket I'd happily take it off your hands. Was there last year and its an absolutely awesome festival!

If not, can anyone tell me what the link is to buy tickets off the official page? Can't seem to find it at all. Bought my tickets off metaltix.com last year its a great site for all the Europe festies but they seem to have every other one except RIP!

So whose heading to RIP this year? Its getting close now cant wait :)

I am!

6 more sleeps to go! 7.15am flight to Munich Monday morning, and I just booked a place a few hours ago called Jaeger's Hostel for the 4 in our group for 3 nights. It's only 50 metres from the central train station in Munich and happy "hour" lasts from 5.30-8pm apparently, good times :cool:

Been stressed out as hell organising it, last year I had everything sorted out early but this year I'm paying rent and have been skint the past few months so I only booked the flights yesterday and hostel today and chasing people about for money has been a pain in the hole at times. Trying to sort trains between Munich airport/city centre/Nuremberg. And I'd to find a last minute buyer for one of the lads' tickets who pulled out of the trip. Add to this that my passport got damaged and I didn't want to risk not being let go so I'd to spend all this morning in Dublin in the passport office getting an emergency one sorted. Plus trying to get bits of work here and there to scrape together some spending money has been tough!

Don't think I've been looking forward to it as much as Rock am Ring last year but I'm sure by Sunday night/Monday morning I'll be hopping about the place like a mad thing :pac:

I am!

6 more sleeps to go! 7.15am flight to Munich Monday morning, and I just booked a place a few hours ago called Jaeger's Hostel for the 4 in our group for 3 nights. It's only 50 metres from the central train station in Munich and happy "hour" lasts from 5.30-8pm apparently, good times :cool:

Been stressed out as hell organising it, last year I had everything sorted out early but this year I'm paying rent and have been skint the past few months so I only booked the flights yesterday and hostel today and chasing people about for money has been a pain in the hole at times. Trying to sort trains between Munich airport/city centre/Nuremberg. And I'd to find a last minute buyer for one of the lads' tickets who pulled out of the trip. Add to this that my passport got damaged and I didn't want to risk not being let go so I'd to spend all this morning in Dublin in the passport office getting an emergency one sorted. Plus trying to get bits of work here and there to scrape together some spending money has been tough!

Don't think I've been looking forward to it as much as Rock am Ring last year but I'm sure by Sunday night/Monday morning I'll be hopping about the place like a mad thing :pac:

Ha sounds like your having fun :) . We fly out at 7am on the thursday into to frankfurt and then train it down to Nuremberg and fly out from frankfurt at 9pm on the monday. Cant wait for it

We flew to Frankfurt on our RaR trip last year and spent a night in it before we headed to the fest. 5 lads and 2 wimmin' in our group and little did I know our hostel (which I booked) was slap-bang in the middle of Frankfurt's red-light district which of course they all thought was pre-planned...

We only met one Irish lad at RaR last year so I'm hoping there's more of us about at RiP, we'll have the obligatory tri-colour I'm sure to try get noticed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 leothedrummer

Gday people!

I'll be making the trip to Rock am Ring this year, all the way from Australia. After getting tickets though, had a bit of an awkward situation come up, with the fella I was going with not being able to make the first 10 days of our trip. Meaning I won't be meeting up with him 'til the day after Download Festival in England.

So now I'm stuck with a spare ticket and no use for it. I've posted a similar thing on a drumming forum that I frequent and had an Irish member there (username sparkie, real name Mark) point me over to this thread, saying that a few here might be interested in a ticket.

So yeah, anyone want a camping ticket to Rock am Ring?

I don't want money for it, I really have nothing that I can do with this ticket. So if anyone wants to meet up, have yourself a free ticket. The most I would ask for is something as simple as a lift to the festival, or even just a few people to hang out with so I'm not completely alone for 3 days!

Later on in our trip (probably early-mid July), we were thinking of heading up to Ireland, so it would be nice to meet up with some people who wouldn't mind showing a pair of backpackers where the good pubs are!

Anyway, that's where I stand. I'd much rather someone have a good time at the festival with me than leaving it in my bag for 2 months.

Cheers,
    Leo

We only met one Irish lad at RaR last year so I'm hoping there's more of us about at RiP, we'll have the obligatory tri-colour I'm sure to try get noticed :)

Yea were gonna get a tri-colour aswell and possibly a leinster flag :)

If I've a few beers on me and see you with a Leinster flag don't expect me to be very nice to you ;)
    I found a plain tri-colour from last year and drew the same as this for when we go see Korn on the Saturday. That one was nicked off us by b*stard security at Download in '07

If I've a few beers on me and see you with a Leinster flag don't expect me to be very nice to you ;)
    I found a plain tri-colour from last year and drew the same as this for when we go see Korn on the Saturday. That one was nicked off us by b*stard security at Download in '07

Ha Munster fan them :) . Thats one hell of flag anyways , thats pretty crappy that the security took it off ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Elaineinchains

Yeah! Flying out this day week from Kerry to Frankfurt for Rock Im Park..cannot wait!
    Went on my own last year but was due to meet up with a gang from college who went on a different flight but we never ended up meeting. Instead I joined up with a gang from Kilkenny and Meath and a few English guys and had the best craic ever!

We had a few spare tent poles so raised the tricolour up on that about 10 ft high and a load of people just flocked to our tent it was class!

Will definitely be doing the same this year so if ya see us come over for a beer! Couldn't get over the amount of Irish at RiP last year so hope this year is the same! ;)

Also...just been looking up Slipknots setlist from their last couple of gigs and its lookin sexy! Finally get to see them for the first time after bein a fan for a good six or seven years!!!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 leothedrummer

We had a few spare tent poles so raised the tricolour up on that about 10 ft high and a load of people just flocked to our tent it was class!

Nice.

I'll be hoisting the Aussie flag as a welcome invitation for anyone who wants a drink, and I'll keep a look out for yours as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

and just to prove leo is not some random creep trying to trick people into meeting him in germany, i am mark and i am on a drummers forum with leo.

have fun at rock am ring!

Got rid of my spare ticket yesterday, happy days.

Last time on here before I head so I'll jsut say safe journey to all of ye heading to Germany over the next few days, have a good one! I'm off to Dublin later for a few scoops and on out to the airport for 5am to check for a 7.20 flight to Munich :cool:

Enjoy :)

When is everyone heading out to Germany , were heading to the airport tomorrow night around 12 or 1 am to get the 7 am plane to Frankfurt. Then i was reading about getting a ICE train from the Airport to Nuremburg , anyone ever use this? is there actually a train station in the airport?

Greetings from Munich :cool: where happy hour lasts 4 hours and its 3 quid for a litre glass of beer :pac:

Furiou-Red, yep theres a train station in Frankfurt Airport. Enjoy yer trip mate!