Surname Pronunciation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Me-Hun probably. I've an english accent though.

edit: heh fitting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

brummytom wrote: »
    I shouldnt have laughed at some of those posts (can they be reported for personal abuse?)

And i've no idea what a bogger is - will anyone enlighten this poor child?

BrummyTom, anyone from outside of Dublin would be considered a bogger. Sometimes the other word of endearment used is culchie. These would be similar to the word yokel in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Ohh so a sort of farmer/country type?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

brummytom wrote: »
    Ohh so a sort of farmer/country type?

the kind of people who may very well drive a tractor through your haystack last night, or even throw a pitchfork at your dog to be quiet.

I feel dirty for getting that reference, moreso with the fact I'm sitting here wearing a flatcap with a banjo at my feet (wish I was joking)

I'm from Englands 2nd City though, city boy through and through.

In England, the social divide is between northerners and southerners. In Ireland the social divide is Dublin and everywhere outside Dublin. Dubliners would refer to those outside Dublin as culchies or boggers and culchies/boggers would use the name jackeens to refer to people from Dublin.

Oh right, i've heard the term jackeen before, but not bogger or culchie - Jesus, they're great words.

Seeing as I'm right in the centre of England, I probably don't notice the divide too much -northerners are poor, all drink 'ale' out of big thick glasses are fight a lot,, southerners are soft as sponges

MEE-n for me

friend has the surname "abe" pronounced abbay - must be an annoying name to have

Reminds me of a story (funny to me, probably not to anyone else)

My mom's friend's a headmistress, one day a mom came in to register her son at the school.
    Headmistress: "What's his name"
    Chav Mom: "It's Gew-ey"
    Headmistress: "Erm, how's that spelt?"
    Chav Mom: "G-U-Y"

That kid hasn't got a hope

Ok cheers,, is it just me who thinks those words are great fun to say?
    I'm gonna have to start using them

Brummytom, the most effective way to use these words is to use them on people who will understand them. There's no point in slagging someone off if they don't "get it". I would imagine that Birmingham would have a sizeable population of Irish extraction so they would probably be your best audience. Although they are supposed to be derogatry terms, you would want to be pretty thin skinned to be insulted by any of these words.

I have the build of a dragonfly.. the irish people who frequent Brum's many irish bars, and the 'irish centre' tend to be terrifying looking; I might think twice before insulting any of them.

Ahh I'll give it a bash tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

chughes wrote: »
    In England, the social divide is between northerners and southerners. In Ireland the social divide is Dublin and everywhere outside Dublin. Dubliners would refer to those outside Dublin as culchies or boggers and culchies/boggers would use the name arseholes to refer to people from Dublin.

FYP:pac:

RonMexico wrote: »
    In England, the social divide is between northerners and southerners. In Ireland the social divide is Dublin and everywhere outside Dublin. Dubliners would refer to those outside Dublin as culchies or boggers and culchies/boggers would use the name polish to refer to people from Dublin.

FYP:pac:

Surely?

Brummy, as I said in a previous post, you would want to be pretty thin skinned to be insulted by any of these terms. I should have said most people would take it in a lighthearted spirit but there are some who would be touchy about the slagging. If you say it with a smile you can get away with lots.

Well I wear braces so when I smile it looks like I want to grate their face,, but i'm in digbeth tomorrow (the real irish-y part), I must try and use those words

Brummy, as I said in a previous post, you would want to be pretty thin skinned to be insulted by any of these terms. I should have said most people would take it in a lighthearted spirit but there are some who would be touchy about the slagging. If you say it with a smile you can get away with lots.

We have lots of insults over here, many not commonly used - such as yokel, gyppo, twozzer.. even christian names have historical connotations. Apparently, those of my own name, 'Tom' dates back to 1347, when an invading tribe was led by two twin brothers. When these were defeated, Tom meaning Twin, the insult was rife "Ye Tom" "Ya Big Hairy Tom" "You Stupid Tom, I'll kill ye". Luckily, with the rise of prominent 'Thomas's' the term became more used as a nickname, even used to affectionately describe army officers (Tommy's) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

kevmy wrote: »
    Someone from Tipperary

I guffawed. No, seriously. Mayo? Ah g'wan aura dat! ;)

OP - Dubliners consider anyone from outside Dublin to be a bogger. It's usually countered with the term Jackeen as in, small John, coming from John Bull. (Then again, they're pretty much West Brits, and the jealousy of boggers / culchies is a burden they have to bear. They're nationally pitied, really.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Terry wrote: »
    I'm right. Everyone else is wrong.

Not at all, I know a guy who is most definitely a Mee HAN

I'm glad no one's compared my surname to 'Tarzan Talk' - "You Jane, Me Han" bloody annoys me

Trouble is, I never hear it getting pronounced, the only Meehan's I've ever heard of are a NI Drug Dealer and a paedophile over here... I can't say I pay attention to the pronounciation :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Ash_M

Me-hin. It's how it's meant to be said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Lickarse1

There was a Billy Meehan on Fairly ****ty RTE 1
    it was pronounsed me han