Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Felixdhc wrote: »
    ^ Did that New York, London track also say Amsterdam? As in..

New York, New York, New York, London, Amsterdam :pac: An acid track where the beat etc slows down to almost zero and then speeds up again to something like 1000bpm?!

Been trying to id a track like that for years... it was on a Andy Weatheral mix from about 1994 or so.
    it goes
    New York, London,Paris,Chicago,Rome come on,if this helps man.

es-cee wrote: »
    fair play man, ive a few there meself if ya want them.
    union jack - 2 full moons and a trout (caspar pound remix)
    legend b - lost in love
    floribunda - mothers pride (tall paul mix)
    and a few more i need to upload, nice 1 anyway.
    get those off ya 2moro pal.

have them all man thks anyways.love the caspar pound remix of union jack ones of me favs.

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

aceberg wrote: »
    it goes
    New York, London,Paris,Chicago,Rome come on,if this helps man.

No I know that one now actually... my search continues!

I must check tuneid.com, haven't been on that in ages.

Thanks anyway.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    No I know that one now actually... my search continues!

I must check tuneid.com, haven't been on that in ages.

Thanks anyway.

actually remember meself somebody mention over on ni that those vocals were in a couple of tracks.i think it might of been keno.it's time to call the k-team.i'll give him a shout see if he remembers.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

have them all man thks anyways.love the caspar pound remix of union jack ones of me favs.

killer track, great breaks and build ups in it.
    i have a few good mixes there aswell,
    gravity 1 a&b sides
    gravity 2 a or b not 2 sure
    and a load of oldskool jungle and drum & bass from 'ellis-dee' 'grooverider'
    'slipmatt' 'pilgrim' and a few others if your in2 the music?
    let us know any way can u/l them 2nite if ya want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭DEVOTION

flashmay450.jpg

FLASHBACK returns with those classic sounds we all love to hear!

The ultimate old skool night returns to Bray in a new venue. No big names here; just a bunch of DJs that have all the right records and a fierce dedication to the music you'll be hearing on the night.

Hope you can drop down to show your support.

21.00 - 22.30 - Mark Hughes
    22.30 - 23.30 - Pablo
    23.30 - 00.30 - Mark Fitzpatrick
    00.30 - 01.30 - Daragh Kelly
    01.30 - 02.30 - James Devlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭theasylumdublin

DEVOTION wrote: »
    flashmay450.jpg

FLASHBACK returns with those classic sounds we all love to hear!

The ultimate old skool night returns to Bray in a new venue. No big names here; just a bunch of DJs that have all the right records and a fierce dedication to the music you'll be hearing on the night.

Hope you can drop down to show your support.

21.00 - 22.30 - Mark Hughes
    22.30 - 23.30 - Pablo
    23.30 - 00.30 - Mark Fitzpatrick
    00.30 - 01.30 - Daragh Kelly
    01.30 - 02.30 - James Devlin

first time for me playing in Bray since 1996 ! LOL looking forward to it ! see ya all there !! Pablo .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

daragh_k wrote: »
    probably wrong but sounds a bit like Saturn 5 could be the whole rocket thing :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LviDH7SLgQ0
    No but thats one of my favourites. I use to have it on a tape long time ago I think it was a Mark Kavanagh mix with Rotterdam 93, ringsend, and the like on it id love to have that tape back. Have to say do I must of downloaded about 100 tunes from here, so if im only missing one or two thats not to bad.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Heres another tape from 1993 when we were just getting into the ASYLUM.....recorded on a Saturday night before getting the last bus into town.....i have had a lot of pleasure listening to over the years.....all tracks from the Radio & some great tracks in there i would like ID's on if you have em......

SIDE A
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=BGIOH4WH

1: 4:30 - Voice over on start of this would love to know where it originates from
    2: 7:00 - Got a great buzz of this tripping on Dots
    3: 17:00
    4: 21:00 - This track especially would like to get on MP3

SIDE B
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=F41AHPA4

1: 00:00 - First tune on this side i remember being played in the OLYMPIC regularly
    2: 04:10
    3: 11:20 - This track i heard only once in the OLYMPIC & never again
    4: 22:20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 djsk

HI LADS,

HAS ANYONE GOT A DECENT RIP OF ''CROWD CONTROL 2'' ?
    I LOST MY TAPE, I KNOW IT WAS RELEASED ON CD TOO WASN'T IT?

CHEERS,

SEAN [djsk]

heres a few oldskool jungle and hardcore sets from back in the day
    over in england.

grooverider & sasha - energy eclipse 1991

http://www.mediafire.com/?moluzmmrjzy

dj ellis-dee & dream @ fantazia 1 step beyond 25/6/92

http://www.mediafire.com/?jtnylymzmtt

topbuzz @ raindance & big bad head nye '91

http://www.mediafire.com/?mjhynhhuxdt

let us know wat yis think, have more on the way if yis want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭derra

djsk wrote: »
    HI LADS,

HAS ANYONE GOT A DECENT RIP OF ''CROWD CONTROL 2'' ?
    I LOST MY TAPE, I KNOW IT WAS RELEASED ON CD TOO WASN'T IT?

CHEERS,

SEAN [djsk]

Here ya go sean :)
    http://www.mediafire.com/?njgzlzn2jmm

Heres another tape from 1993 when we were just getting into the ASYLUM.....recorded on a Saturday night before getting the last bus into town.....i have had a lot of pleasure listening to over the years.....all tracks from the Radio & some great tracks in there i would like ID's on if you have em......

SIDE A

1: 4:30 - Voice over on start of this would love to know where it originates from
    BLACK POLISHED CHROME (Latino Chrome.)
    The music was new black polished chrome And came over the summer like liquid night. The DJ's took pills to stay awake and play for seven days They went to the studio And someone knew him Someone knew the TV showman
    He came to our homeroom party and played records And when he left in the hot noon sun and walked to his car We saw the chooks had written F‑U‑C‑K on his windshield He wiped it off with a rag and smiling cooly drove away He's rich. Got a big car.
    My gang will get you Scenes of rape in the arroyo Seduction in cars, abandoned buildings Fights at the food stand The dust the shoes Open shirts and raised collars Bright sculptured hair.
    Hey man, you want girls, pills, grass? C'mon... I show you good time. This place has everything. C'mon... I show you.
    THE DOORS LYRICS 99% SURE !

2: 7:00 - Got a great buzz of this tripping on Dots NOT A CLUE ! MICK WALSH TRACK !
    4: 21:00 - This track especially would like to get on MP3 AMAZING TRACK!

SIDE B

1: 00:00 - First tune on this side i remember being played in the OLYMPIC regularly - http://www.discogs.com/Mad-Sound-Disease-MoonBoom/release/466379 cracker !!

2: 04:10 http://www.discogs.com/Sublime-TGV/release/54071 im 99% sure

http://www.discogs.com/Plastikman-Spastik/master/37372 one of my all time fav set starters !

4: 22:20 not a clue !!! lol nice track !

SIDE A

The music was new black polished chrome And came over the summer like liquid night. The DJ's took pills to stay awake and play for seven days They went to the studio And someone knew him Someone knew the TV showman

He came to our homeroom party and played records And when he left in the hot noon sun and walked to his car We saw the chooks had written F‑U‑C‑K on his windshield He wiped it off with a rag and smiling cooly drove away He's rich. Got a big car.

My gang will get you Scenes of rape in the arroyo Seduction in cars, abandoned buildings Fights at the food stand The dust the shoes Open shirts and raised collars Bright sculptured hair.

Hey man, you want girls, pills, grass? C'mon... I show you good time. This place has everything. C'mon... I show you.

Cheers for that man got two MP3's.....more tapes on the way for a good while.....might be some sh.it on em but a lot of good tracks to;)

Just checked that track 'Mad sound disease' .....its not the first track on SIDE B boss......listen to it again it has a kind of indian chanting in it like this......

ayayayayayayayayayayayayoooooooo!

if ya get me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭antoinb

I have recently started buying and selling cds,mostly old skool but some newer releases.
    I have been ripping my vinyl collection and allthough I now have it sussed its very time consuming to get them to the standard of a cd rip,20 years of dust doesnt help.So I started buying the odd cd to save me some time and sure enough the sickness returned "Im strung out on buying music again".
    To combat this Im trying to make "a f*cked up buisness model" as my wife calls it,in so far as I have done an awful lot of buying and not a lot of selling.
    So some is on Discogs,I will be posting more each day,cds that arrive and vinyl I rip(I intend to have my whole collection as mp3s sometime in the future,its the only way I listen to them nowadays)
    Anybody off this board who wants anything ill try and cut them the best deal I can,euro=pound and a discount if possible.
    http://www.discogs.com/user/antoinb
    Keep an eye on it if interested,choice items showing up daily
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

antoinb wrote: »
    I have recently started buying and selling cds,mostly old skool but some newer releases.
    I have been ripping my vinyl collection and allthough I now have it sussed its very time consuming to get them to the standard of a cd rip,20 years of dust doesnt help.So I started buying the odd cd to save me some time and sure enough the sickness returned "Im strung out on buying music again".
    To combat this Im trying to make "a f*cked up buisness model" as my wife calls it,in so far as I have done an awful lot of buying and not a lot of selling.
    So some is on Discogs,I will be posting more each day,cds that arrive and vinyl I rip(I intend to have my whole collection as mp3s sometime in the future,its the only way I listen to them nowadays)
    Anybody off this board who wants anything ill try and cut them the best deal I can,euro=pound and a discount if possible.
    http://www.discogs.com/user/antoinb
    Keep an eye on it if interested,choice items showing up daily
    Cheers
    Not cheap for secondhand stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭antoinb

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Not cheap for secondhand stuff

not as if they are for sale in Abbey Discs!:)

ya don't have rachel auburn - machine man
    timewarp - new style or
    soup - new york, london (the mix off the ormond)
    do ya by any chance?

here ya go m8.i finally got it to u/l

Rachel Auburn - Machine Man

http://www.zshare.net/audio/60322870744d4b6f/

VINYL VANDALS - NEW YORK NEW YORK

http://www.zshare.net/audio/603228427e4f9af6/

here ya go m8.i finally got it to u/l

Rachel Auburn - Machine Man

http://www.zshare.net/audio/60322870744d4b6f/

VINYL VANDALS - NEW YORK NEW YORK

http://www.zshare.net/audio/603228427e4f9af6/

good stuff man, lookin 4 these 2 tunes 4 a while now on mp3.
    give us a shout if ur lookin 4 anythin urself. might have somethin in me bag of tricks.:D

[/b]

Cheers for that man got two MP3's.....more tapes on the way for a good while.....might be some sh.it on em but a lot of good tracks to;)

Just checked that track 'Mad sound disease' .....its not the first track on SIDE B boss......listen to it again it has a kind of indian chanting in it like this......

ayayayayayayayayayayayayoooooooo!

if ya get me:D

I get ya buddy ! but its the other tune on the label !! oop s!! my mistake !
    http://www.discogs.com/Mind-Over-Music-Unity-Jacobs-Ladder/release/64316 i have it on mp3 one sec and i will up it to mediawank

http://www.mediafire.com/?ndzdz30zeyw

let me know if that works !

heres a few oldskool jungle and hardcore sets from back in the day
    over in england.

grooverider & sasha - energy eclipse 1991

http://www.mediafire.com/?moluzmmrjzy

dj ellis-dee & dream @ fantazia 1 step beyond 25/6/92

http://www.mediafire.com/?jtnylymzmtt

topbuzz @ raindance & big bad head nye '91

http://www.mediafire.com/?mjhynhhuxdt

let us know wat yis think, have more on the way if yis want them.

not letting me d/l at the moment.i'll try again later.

SIDE A

2: 7:00 - Got a great buzz of this tripping on Dots NOT A CLUE ! MICK WALSH TRACK !

SIDE B

1: 00:00 - First tune on this side i remember being played in the OLYMPIC regularly - http://www.discogs.com/Mad-Sound-Disease-MoonBoom/release/466379 cracker !!

http://www.discogs.com/Plastikman-Spastik/master/37372 one of my all time fav set starters !

will give these a listen to later on man in work see if i can id any of the tracks 4 ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭keenc

SIDE A

SIDE B

1: 00:00 - First tune on this side i remember being played in the OLYMPIC regularly
    2: 04:10
    4: 22:20

Side A @ 21:00 id This http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bHtEdFL5BDs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

SIDE A

Only listening to this track the other day, Have a good copy of it on my EX HD, not a youtube copy, will find and upload it for you,

:DSlam - Intensities In-Ten-Cities:D

should be workin, tried it there meself.
    heres a few more.

dj pilgrim, mc devious and mc sniper. back to the oldskool 2006

http://www.mediafire.com/?1nond202dni

dj unity & ellis-dee @ stevenage arts & recreation centre 1994

http://www.mediafire.com/?midoizbmajm

dj hype @ dreamscape 26/11/93

http://www.mediafire.com/?zanjgkyz2qz

some serious scratchin on the dj hype mix.

give us a shout and let us know how ya get on, they should be workin fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

Her you go, enjoy.

:DSlam - Intensities In Ten Cities:D

http://www.mediafire.com/?oynoxjmfoay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

SIDE A

SIDE B

Realy good mixes there !!

the first track on Side A is Cracker but cant remember the name.

the next track with the doors sample is - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhODfz6OWXA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 djsk

derra wrote: »

Thanks Derra for that,

By the way I found my Crowd Control Volume 1 in it's case, I can put up the original cover/artwork if anyone wants it??

More stuff on the way from me....watch this space..

Sean

any1 know the name of the tune off side b (the god of life/light?)
    its 2 tunes after union jack.
    was out in the vaults a couple of months ago and ed case had the place rockin with that tune!
    if any1 has it on mp3 or knows the name of it give us a shout.
    thanx in advance.

any1 know the name of the tune off side b (the god of life/light?)
    its 2 tunes after union jack.
    was out in the vaults a couple of months ago and ed case had the place rockin with that tune!
    if any1 has it on mp3 or knows the name of it give us a shout.
    thanx in advance.

here's the tracklist for hp3.

Pressure - House Pressure 3

Side A

1.Vision Masters & Tony King - Keep On Pumpin' It ---> http://www.discogs.com/Vision-Masters--Ton.../release/154227
    2.Sonexuno - Alchemy ---> http://www.discogs.com/Sonexuno-Alchemy/release/466465
    3. D.o.p - Lion ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/74944
    4.JX - Son Of A Gun ---> http://www.discogs.com/JX-Son-Of-A-Gun/release/35418
    5.Grid, The - Swamp Thing ---> http://www.discogs.com/Grid-Swamp-Thing/release/45805
    6.Joe Inferno - Tribal Church ---> http://www.discogs.com/Joe-Inferno-Tribal-.../release/130458
    7.D'Enrico - It Was Meant To Be ---> http://www.discogs.com/DEnrico-It-Was-Mean.../release/100079
    8.Atlantic Ocean - Waterfall ---> http://www.discogs.com/Atlantic-Ocean-Wate...l/release/14158
    9.Pangalactic - Na-Na ---> http://www.discogs.com/Pangalactic-Na-Na/release/216884
    10.Nikolai - Ready To Flow ---> http://www.discogs.com/Nikolai-Ready-To-Flow/release/67192
    11.Visions Of Shiva, The - Perfect Day ---> http://www.discogs.com/Visions-Of-Shiva-Pe.../release/151858

Side B

1.Datura - The 7th Hallucination ---> http://www.discogs.com/Datura-The-7th-Hall...n/release/98255
    2.Luxor - Perpetuum Mobile ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/195539
    3.Whitestorm - Bongos And B-Line / Ride The Whitestorm ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/221435
    4.Union Jack - Two Full Moons & A Trout (Remixes) ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/46909
    5.Leroy - The First Flight ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/172597
    6.Dee Rex - The Garden Of Life ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/218466
    7.Voodoo Posse - Totem Vibes EP ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/169493
    8.Mo-Tune - Infinite Climax ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/53501
    9.Cosmic Baby - Fantasia ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/109509

it must be dee rex your after the garden of life.top track indeed.

I get ya buddy ! but its the other tune on the label !! oop s!! my mistake !
    http://www.discogs.com/Mind-Over-Music-Unity-Jacobs-Ladder/release/64316 i have it on mp3 one sec and i will up it to mediawank

http://www.mediafire.com/?ndzdz30zeyw

let me know if that works !

Worked fine chief thanks for that.....always got a great buzz off this in the olympic when it was played.......also never a truer word spoken regarding mediawank ........a lot of failed uploads latley:mad:
    will give these a listen to later on man in work see if i can id any of the tracks 4 ya.

Fair play man have enjoyed them on tape for years but the tape is getting a bit thin a this stage:D
    keenc wrote: »
    Her you go, enjoy.

:DSlam - Intensities In Ten Cities:D

http://www.mediafire.com/?oynoxjmfoay

Gentle men both of you......have always loved this track but can never recall ever hearing it played out.....that can change now:pac::):D
    the next track with the doors sample is - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhODfz6OWXA

Good stuff will search for em this morning & if i get any good copys will fire em up here;)