Kid making their communion; what's the going rate for the present?

• 18-05-2009 09:47PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭

Niece making her communion soon, and frankly some of the cash amounts that are being bandied about sound totally ridiculous to me.

What do you think is a reasonable (or the expected) amount to give an eight year old girl for her communion?

I think I got a total of fifteen quid for mine, mind you that was thirty years ago but I wasn't impressed even then :)

When I was making mine I got min a tenner and max 50. Given that was punts and we have euro now I'd say about 100EUR :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i was at a family communion this weekend - it seems to be 50 quid for aunts/uncles.

i got £43.50 for my communion 22 years ago - i cant remember what stingy fecker gave me 50p!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I gave my niece €20 last Saturday.
    It's what I've given all my nieces and nephews.
    Only give what you can afford though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

a packet of cheese and ong-yun tayto and a bottle of TK.

I think €20 is very acceptable. If you are a bit rich then €50 would be maximum. They're 8 year olds for flip sake €20 should be a fortune to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

TwoShedsJackson: I'd encourage a Christian based gift of some form, like a Bible or something like that. Something that someone might keep rather than something someone will throw away. It's meant to be about Christianity after all. Things like giving loads of money merely encourage people to see the whole thing as a joke and to miss the point. Idle religion and all that.

Mind you I'm biased in the respect I think quite a lot of elements in the Irish Church need a jolly good spring cleaning. Initiation cermemonies are one of them. People have made them meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Give 'em €50. I got £45 for mine, even then that was a fairly paltry sum. The worse thing was I had to buy whatever I got with it a second time for my brother in case he got jealous.

Stupid spoiled brother...

I pictured you older than that frada!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Get her an outfit in Dunnes for €10. Tell her parents you figured everyone was getting her the same thing :pac:

Seriously. Dressing kids up in miniture bridal gowns and suits is a paedos dream. They should be sent in their school uniforms. And as for this going around to all your relations houses fleecing them, is at the same level of chuggers in my book.

My nephew and nieces are too young yet but when they makes their communion I'll probably get the something sporty or some books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭sub-x

Ah in my day we got a hand taken off our face,poked with a stick and allowed speak in the company of adults,good times ;)

Give your niece the benefit of your wisdom or failing that 20 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jakkass wrote: »
    TwoShedsJackson: I'd encourage a Christian based gift of some form, like a Bible or something like that.

Do you want the man to be overwhelmed in a blizzard of Best Uncle Ever plaudits? All of his nieces and nephews will want one then.

Somebody told me in work that their relative got over a grand for their confirmation? Surely not. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

A cone with a bite out of it, ****in brats...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Family and close friends kids 50 Euro max
    All other kids, 20 Euro maybe even 15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I pictured you older than that frada!!!

Nope, I'm a relative infant at 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Family and close friends kids 50 Euro max

Family €40, friends kids €20. Dont forget to mention Stephen in the card.

All other kids, 20 Euro maybe even 15
    Oh hai. You haz beautiful kind eyes. Would you like to buy me a new car? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Will ther be an increase in Protestantism linked to the recession?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

obl: There has been an increase in Protestantism between 2002 and 2006 anyway then again there was apparently an increase in Catholicism too, so one can question the accuracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 sml68

Was at a communion on saturday, wife's niece, gave 30 euro in a card, by sat night she had a total 860! Made mine in '85, got 14 quid, fortune then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I gave my niece €50 for her confirmation last week. I was her sponsor.
    I've only one niece so it's not like I'm setting a standard for myself.

If you've lots of nieces and nephews then €20/30 would be very generous imo. They're only going to spend it on ringtones anyway :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 sml68

sml68 wrote: »
    Was at a communion on saturday, wife's niece, gave 30 euro in a card, by sat night she had a total 860! Made mine in '85, got 14 quid, fortune then!!

SORRY MEANT 1975

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

i thought it was like 500 euro by now inflation adjusted and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I was an asshole and got my step brother a copy of The God Delusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

Overheal wrote: »
    I was an asshole and got my step brother a copy of The God Delusion.

ah i was wondering when the resident shower of practicing atheists would show up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Im teasing. I got him a card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

I gave the godchild 50 quid. At least she can get what she wants as opposed to being handed some yoke that'll be ****ed into the corner after 5 minutes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

markok84 wrote: »
    a packet of cheese and ong-yun tayto and a bottle of TK.

La-dee-da, we got Score brand orange. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Dankoozy wrote: »
    ah i was wondering when the resident shower of practicing atheists would show up.

Hehe I was about to post the same 'joke' but overheal got there 1st. But I don't consider myself an atheist.

I'm just rational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭lisaface

stovelid wrote: »
    Do you want the man to be overwhelmed in a blizzard of Best Uncle Ever plaudits? All of his nieces and nephews will want one then.

Somebody told me in work that their relative got over a grand for their confirmation? Surely not. :(

I got about that ,if not more on my confirmation. Oh what I decent day,

I got wayy too much on my communion day also.

Oh I'd say go for €20, it's enough.
    I was at my lil cousins communion last weekend. My god the amount of money people will give lil 8 year olds this day, is crazy. He also got presents instead of money, the cheeky lil fecker "wheres my next present mammy?" :eek: OMG! But Yes, 20 is plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

They're 8 year olds for flip sake €20 should be a fortune to them!

I think those days are long gone, little feckers now are much more savvy when it comes to the value of money than those of us poor innocent little angels who made their communion during the 70's & 80's.