Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kid making their communion; what's the going rate for the present?

• 18-05-2009 8:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭

Niece making her communion soon, and frankly some of the cash amounts that are being bandied about sound totally ridiculous to me.

What do you think is a reasonable (or the expected) amount to give an eight year old girl for her communion?

I think I got a total of fifteen quid for mine, mind you that was thirty years ago but I wasn't impressed even then :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

When I was making mine I got min a tenner and max 50. Given that was punts and we have euro now I'd say about 100EUR :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

i was at a family communion this weekend - it seems to be 50 quid for aunts/uncles.

i got £43.50 for my communion 22 years ago - i cant remember what stingy fecker gave me 50p!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I gave my niece €20 last Saturday.
    It's what I've given all my nieces and nephews.
    Only give what you can afford though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

a packet of cheese and ong-yun tayto and a bottle of TK.

I think €20 is very acceptable. If you are a bit rich then €50 would be maximum. They're 8 year olds for flip sake €20 should be a fortune to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

TwoShedsJackson: I'd encourage a Christian based gift of some form, like a Bible or something like that. Something that someone might keep rather than something someone will throw away. It's meant to be about Christianity after all. Things like giving loads of money merely encourage people to see the whole thing as a joke and to miss the point. Idle religion and all that.

Mind you I'm biased in the respect I think quite a lot of elements in the Irish Church need a jolly good spring cleaning. Initiation cermemonies are one of them. People have made them meaningless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Give 'em €50. I got £45 for mine, even then that was a fairly paltry sum. The worse thing was I had to buy whatever I got with it a second time for my brother in case he got jealous.

Stupid spoiled brother...

I pictured you older than that frada!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Get her an outfit in Dunnes for €10. Tell her parents you figured everyone was getting her the same thing :pac:

Seriously. Dressing kids up in miniture bridal gowns and suits is a paedos dream. They should be sent in their school uniforms. And as for this going around to all your relations houses fleecing them, is at the same level of chuggers in my book.

My nephew and nieces are too young yet but when they makes their communion I'll probably get the something sporty or some books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭sub-x

Ah in my day we got a hand taken off our face,poked with a stick and allowed speak in the company of adults,good times ;)

Give your niece the benefit of your wisdom or failing that 20 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jakkass wrote: »
    TwoShedsJackson: I'd encourage a Christian based gift of some form, like a Bible or something like that.

Do you want the man to be overwhelmed in a blizzard of Best Uncle Ever plaudits? All of his nieces and nephews will want one then.

Somebody told me in work that their relative got over a grand for their confirmation? Surely not. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

A cone with a bite out of it, ****in brats...:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

Family and close friends kids 50 Euro max
    All other kids, 20 Euro maybe even 15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I pictured you older than that frada!!!

Nope, I'm a relative infant at 21.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Family and close friends kids 50 Euro max

Family €40, friends kids €20. Dont forget to mention Stephen in the card.

All other kids, 20 Euro maybe even 15
    Oh hai. You haz beautiful kind eyes. Would you like to buy me a new car? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Will ther be an increase in Protestantism linked to the recession?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

obl: There has been an increase in Protestantism between 2002 and 2006 anyway then again there was apparently an increase in Catholicism too, so one can question the accuracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 sml68

Was at a communion on saturday, wife's niece, gave 30 euro in a card, by sat night she had a total 860! Made mine in '85, got 14 quid, fortune then!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I gave my niece €50 for her confirmation last week. I was her sponsor.
    I've only one niece so it's not like I'm setting a standard for myself.

If you've lots of nieces and nephews then €20/30 would be very generous imo. They're only going to spend it on ringtones anyway :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 sml68

sml68 wrote: »
    Was at a communion on saturday, wife's niece, gave 30 euro in a card, by sat night she had a total 860! Made mine in '85, got 14 quid, fortune then!!

SORRY MEANT 1975

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

i thought it was like 500 euro by now inflation adjusted and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I was an asshole and got my step brother a copy of The God Delusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Dankoozy

Overheal wrote: »
    I was an asshole and got my step brother a copy of The God Delusion.

ah i was wondering when the resident shower of practicing atheists would show up.

Im teasing. I got him a card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭V9

I gave the godchild 50 quid. At least she can get what she wants as opposed to being handed some yoke that'll be ****ed into the corner after 5 minutes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

markok84 wrote: »
    a packet of cheese and ong-yun tayto and a bottle of TK.

La-dee-da, we got Score brand orange. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Dankoozy wrote: »
    ah i was wondering when the resident shower of practicing atheists would show up.

Hehe I was about to post the same 'joke' but overheal got there 1st. But I don't consider myself an atheist.

I'm just rational.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭lisaface

stovelid wrote: »
    Do you want the man to be overwhelmed in a blizzard of Best Uncle Ever plaudits? All of his nieces and nephews will want one then.

Somebody told me in work that their relative got over a grand for their confirmation? Surely not. :(

I got about that ,if not more on my confirmation. Oh what I decent day,

I got wayy too much on my communion day also.

Oh I'd say go for €20, it's enough.
    I was at my lil cousins communion last weekend. My god the amount of money people will give lil 8 year olds this day, is crazy. He also got presents instead of money, the cheeky lil fecker "wheres my next present mammy?" :eek: OMG! But Yes, 20 is plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

They're 8 year olds for flip sake €20 should be a fortune to them!

I think those days are long gone, little feckers now are much more savvy when it comes to the value of money than those of us poor innocent little angels who made their communion during the 70's & 80's.

Bloody hell, some of the sums are mental E1000 for a communion or confo?
    They'll need security with them.
    Id like to mug them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

I got a total of £40 back in 1989. I thought I was loaded - couldn't believe my luck. I can still remember my Aunt's ex-husband discreetly handing me a ten pound note and my mother freaking out that it was too much - "That's not green that's purple...ah you've given her far too much" whilst I was happily grasping onto my tenner for dear life and begging Jesus to not make me have to give it back. Stupid mother. This is the same woman that told the family that I babysat for when I was 14 that they were paying me too much money and were only to give me half the amount (five feckin pounds) for 7 hours work.

It was only the following year when we moved down the country from Dublin and everyone was talking about getting hundreds for their communions that I realised I was somewhat screwed by the lack of community spirit in cities!

In fairness though, I went to a very small school where only four of us made our communion together so were shipped off to do it with another school. Obviously as we didn't know any of the other kids or parents we weren't going to be getting money off them.

I did get a bible from my Uncle though, which I thought was the meanest present ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Think I got something like 100 pound when I did mine in '87.

Christ! '87! :(

Old.

^
    (Old)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

-_-

I'm watching you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

TwoShedsJackson: I'd encourage a Christian based gift of some form, like a Bible or something like that. Something that someone might keep rather than something someone will throw away. It's meant to be about Christianity after all. Things like giving loads of money merely encourage people to see the whole thing as a joke and to miss the point. Idle religion and all that.

Mind you I'm biased in the respect I think quite a lot of elements in the Irish Church need a jolly good spring cleaning. Initiation cermemonies are one of them. People have made them meaningless.
    i went last sunday[kicking and screaming]to my niece;s confermation the wife gave her dresses ect other family members gave her £20 notes-the big supprise i got was the change in one year in the catholic church,it was so different from last year ,gone was all the statues of the saints the church was painted in a light cream, 35 children were being confirmed so the place was full with people standing at the sides of the building, next shock ,out came the priest and he dident have a red nose and wasent irish ,he then explained about the service to the children, and told every body that because they dident have a choir it was up to all to sing the hymns ,he said he was going out to put on some thing red and we could start the service[all very relaxed and friendly] the piped music started not organ type,and out he came from the back of the church,next shock ,leading him carrying the cross was a young lady with a white robe on , she [not him]called the order of each hymn and prayer,he read only the prayers and blessings,shock three, all the hymns were pop type the kind of thing you would find only in gospel/protestant churches foot tapping stuff made every one want to sing, this was the catholic church of st marys raddcliffe ,bury lanchashire, comes under the bishop of salford,no covering of heads for woman here,i am no a lover of the catholic church but this time i can say ,;yep that was good; looking forward to the next stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭WithCheesePlease

bnagrrl wrote: »
    They're only going to spend it on ringtones anyway :rolleyes:

Ha, love it.

Gave my friend's kid 50 euro last year - crazy! But it's what the rest of the lads were giving so would have been incredibly tight not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

It really all depends on who you're giving to or how close you are. My son made his Communion recently. Close relatives gave him €50, an odd one gave €20, some who we met on the day handed him €10. His Godmother was really generous, along with €50 in a card, she gave him a credit union savings book with money she'd been saving for him since he was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Eh, WTF does an 8 year old need with €50? If 20 people give him/her that kind of cash, that's €1000. WTF do they need with that? It's not like it's a landmark important part of their life like getting married or something, where you're "sending them off" into life and giving them cash to help them along. They're 8. €10 can buy a lot of sweets and ringtones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

On the stand in Easons for Confirmation/Communion gifts they had a white money box in the shape of a cross with one of those religious pictures on it. Much more practical than the rosery beds and white prayer books.

Edited to add: Are prople aware of the confirmation day out about a week after when they put the clothes on again and go to the nearest city/big town to spend the cash. Saw a big group of them with Meteor and Game bags in my local shopping centre last week. I belive River Island gets a lot of the girls cash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭GlindaGale

It's my Godsons communion this weekend. I've bought him his medal and watch and giving him 50 quid but this is only because of my so called "spiritual" obligation to him. If it was any of the other children in my family, I would probably give them 20.

The whole thing has descended into madness with a meal in a hotel and a big party back in the house with a bouncy castle and caterer. The whole thing is costing his Mam about 1000 Euro.

Ridiculous!

sunnyside wrote: »
    On the stand in Easons for Confirmation/Communion gifts they had a white money box in the shape of a cross with one of those religious pictures on it. Much more practical than the rosery beds and white prayer books.

I find that oddly sad...why dont they just give out account books too, with a cross on the front?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I ended up with around €50 or so for my communion.

My confirmaton was mad, I ended up with about €200. I felt absolutely minted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Abigayle wrote: »
    Get her an outfit in Dunnes for €10. Tell her parents you figured everyone was getting her the same thing :pac:

Seriously. Dressing kids up in miniture bridal gowns and suits is a paedos dream. They should be sent in their school uniforms. And as for this going around to all your relations houses fleecing them, is at the same level of chuggers in my book.

So seeing all the kid's dressed in minature bridalgowns is snypers dream is what your trying to say lol:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

SFA. That's what they'd get from me. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

obl: There has been an increase in Protestantism between 2002 and 2006 anyway then again there was apparently an increase in Catholicism too, so one can question the accuracy.

'Twas a joke, possibly stemming from my bitterness at watching all my friends make a killing for going to church, while I sat at home being the only prod in the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

lol @ religion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Just thought I'd stick this on the end here. Extravagance on acid.:eek:

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/why-cant-my-little-lolita-have-diamonds-at-her-communion-1752275.html

Why can't my little Lolita have diamonds at her Communion?

2705_lolita3_herald_325785t.jpg

A mother who bought a Communion dress encrusted with diamonds and laid on a horse-drawn carriage for her daughter's Lolita's Communion has defended the lavish expense.
    Tracey Hannifin (31) hit back at comments from Minister Mary Hanafin who criticised Communion 'brides' who attend their religious event in high heels and arrive in carriages.
    However, despite the Minister's shock at the trend, Tracey insisted that families should be allowed to celebrate the day in any way they wish.
    Tracey added that she wanted to treat her daughter Lolita on the special day and denies that her plans were excessive.
    She added that she had been planning the day in her mind for years, and has worked since January to get the theme right for Lolita's big day.

Horseshoes
    "I knew from a long time ago that I was going to go all-out, but my full decision came around January.
    "I made the first trip over to Liverpool to get the dress made then, and it was the week before the Communion that I got the dress," says Tracey.
    "I got it made with diamond horseshoes all over the dress, and the hat went with the dress then.
    "She's a big fan of horses. We have a lot of horses at home because my husband breeds them, so I decided to get a carriage.
    "And we saw the Jordan carriage and loved it," she added.
    "I wanted the pumpkin carriage and I was trying so hard but I couldn't come across the carriage in England.
    "Eventually I got it in Dublin.
    "I wanted a crown on top of the carriage because Lolita's dad got her a Rolex which also has diamonds on it," revealed Tracey.
    Tracey, from Edgeworthstown, Co Longford, says all her hard work was worth it when she saw the reaction on Lolita's face, and all the spectators.
    "She couldn't talk. It was a surprise for her.
    "She was just waiting to get into the jeep with us when she saw the carriage.
    "My family thought it was hilarious because they know she's crazy about horses."
    Tracey said that her efforts caused a great stir in Longford town on Saturday, May 9.
    "People enjoyed it. At the church we had people taking photos. One gentleman was 80 years of age and he had a photo taken on it. I had no problem with people enjoying it.
    "No one beeped at us on the way but there were cameras galore -- there was even a couple of people recording the whole thing.

Crowded
    "She went around the town a second time so the street was well-crowded then."
    However, such spectacles recently led to Mary Hanafin questioning if something could be done to define what was in the best interests of the children, after a child constituent went to the church is high heels and a horse and carriage.
    Tracey said she disagreed with people who discourage flamboyant efforts on their children's Communion day, because she said it's up to the individuals themselves.
    "For anyone turning around and saying that people shouldn't go to such lengths, I don't think that's fair. People can be very judgmental.
    "I think if people are judging me and they're saying 'she's going overboard,' I honestly recommend that they come and talk to me first.
    "Lolita is not spoiled, I didn't bring her up that way.
    "If someone wants to fly an airplane into a church, they can, or if they want to go in limos they can, I think they're brilliant.
    "The photos are brilliant, they're something that a child will have for life."
    A spokesperson for Pavee Point said: "It's a very special day for all Catholics. The Minister is entitled to her own views and the children are entitled to celebrate their Holy Communion whatever way they want, whether they're Travellers or settled people."
    - Geraldine Gittens