Interesting words and phrases you've heard today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Magic8

Poxbottle.
    Hadn't heard it in years, overheard it being said today.

And someone on another forum had only today discovered the phrase 'fcukin' A' and thought it was the best phrase ever. I lol'd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,202 ✭✭✭✭Berty

pwned. WTF is wrong with you people?

I pwned him or I owned him.

I heard two guys walking down the street saying "PWN" "PWN" "PWN". I wanted to slap some sense into them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭A_SN

Berty wrote: »

I heard two guys walking down the street saying "PWN" "PWN" "PWN". I wanted to slap some sense into them.
    No need to slap, just call them "noobs" and tell them to "S-T-F-U" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

My friend was telling me about a lady he once had 'relations' with. Apparently, 'She had a fanny like a busted sofa'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Anybody ever hear Dubliners refer to somebody as a 'baluba'?

I've heard it a fair few times, but it was only in that Cathal O'Shannon programme on the Congo some years ago that I found out the Baluba was the name of the African tribe that attacked the Irish UN troops in 1960, killing 9 of them. Story here:

http://www.military.ie/overseas/ops/africa/onuc/index.htm

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Christ on a bicycle.

Try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Seillejet

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Anybody ever hear Dubliners refer to somebody as a 'baluba'?

I've heard it a fair few times, but it was only in that Cathal O'Shannon programme on the Congo some years ago that I found out the Baluba was the name of the African tribe that attacked the Irish UN troops in 1960, killing 9 of them. Story here:

http://www.military.ie/overseas/ops/africa/onuc/index.htm

Ive heard and used the phrase "baluba's drunk" so many times. Never knew where it came from. Great enlightenment :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

"Threw the head"

"Actin the cannister "

"This cnunt was actin the cannister so I threw the head on him !"

Overheard in Talbot Street....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭s-cogan

Berty wrote: »

how is pwned pronounced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

s-cogan wrote: »
    how is pwned pronounced?
    powned i think
    Anyone who talks like that deserves to be slapped....hard.......with a shovel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

hows de moth = how is the girlfriend

FearDark wrote: »
    Christ on a bicycle.

Try it.

Reminds me of 'Look at the head on that fella and the price of turnips'

I haven't heard either of them in years, but they certainly make a conversation more colourful. :)

Oh that fella's as odd as two left feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Anyone who talks like that deserves to be slapped....hard.......with a shovel

That's not a slap, that's...murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Broad

"All mouth and trousers". What the hell does that mean? Kind of think I know ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Broad wrote: »
    "All mouth and trousers". What the hell does that mean? Kind of think I know ......

Reacts emotionally to events rather than processing it through a lovely logistical filter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭C-Shore

i think its "all mouth and no trousers" ie talk the talk but cant walk the walk/back it up yano?

s**temerchant is a personal favourite :)

'All mouth and no trousers' is an excellent turn of phrase, C-Shore. I last heard that maybe five years ago from one of my more cultured elderly neighbours whose descriptions of people and life are unparalleled.:)

Brouhaha and Hullabaloo, both cognate with 'rí rá agus ruaile buaile', are another two you'd hear regularly enough.

Brouhaha has the following interesting etymology according to:
    http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?l=b&p=19

'from Fr. brouhaha (1552), said to have been, in medieval theater, "the cry of the devil disguised as clergy." Perhaps from Heb. barukh habba' "blessed be the one who comes," used on public occasions.'

Hullaballoo has been given this etymology: '1762, hollo-ballo "uproar," chiefly in northern England and Scot., perhaps a rhyming reduplication of hollo (see hello), also according to: http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=hullabaloo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 mr-aido

me and me mate had to go shop me and with his gf she askd him to go get ampons he walked up and roard i cant find the GEE BULLITS
    i broke me billix laughin so hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭deisedude

Munter- is a particular favourite word of mine. For those of you unenlightened it is used to describe someone who has a face like a bucket of smashed crabs.

Love the term "The tide wouldnt take her out" also:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭C-Shore

deisedude wrote: »
    Munter- is a particular favourite word of mine. For those of you unenlightened it is used to describe someone who has a face like a bucket of smashed crabs.

Love the term "The tide wouldnt take her out" also:p

haha im going to list my favourite of these
    • she wouldnt get a kick in a stampede
    • if i had a bucket of mickeys i wouldnt give her one
    • i wouldnt ride her into battle
    • face like a bucket of melted lego
    • i wouldn't even take her out with a rifle
    • face like a painters radio

I could go on for along time with those

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭babaloushka

'Eaten bread is soon forgotten' Got shafted by a work colleague today despite months of helping her above and beyond the call of duty. I was feeling pretty bitter until my husband came out with this pearl of wisdom - so appropriate :D

C-Shore wrote: »
    haha im going to list my favourite of these
    • she wouldnt get a kick in a stampede
    • if i had a bucket of mickeys i wouldnt give her one
    • i wouldnt ride her into battle
    • face like a bucket of melted lego
    • i wouldn't even take her out with a rifle
    • face like a painters radio
    I could go on for along time with those

Brilliant, brilliant. There's a book in it! As they say around the midlands when describing a rather rotund lady: 'beef to the heels like a Mullingar heifer'

OK, you're probably going to have to be above 60 and from the midlands to appreciate that!:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Plethora.

I'd like to find the person who invented this word and shake their hand. Such a sophicated word just to describe a lot of something. Well done person! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Trev M wrote: »
    Palarva ...Pulava whatever the fcuk , loadsa of people are saying it , personally Ive never come across it before...where has it come from?
    Lots of older Liverpudlians use that phrase meaning '' a load of ( pulava) nonsense '' or '' all that ( pulava ) jazz '' .I remember john lennon used it in an early beatles interview to .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Which is very like '' all fur coat and no knickers '' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

Mad as a bag of spiders
    Rough as a bag of cats/a badger's arse
    Tight as a duck's arse

A local one from round my parts is to call someone a dul amú, meaning literally someone who has gone astray, really meaning some fella acting the fool.

I was just thinking of the GAA phrasebook from a few years back. It should give all you dodgy culchie types a good laugh on your tractors if you haven't seen it already:
    GAA Phrasebook
    GAA language may be defined by the following terminology:

HOLLY -- e.g. "I gave it holly"---I put a fair bit of effort into it.

B0LLIX----Pat Spillane or any kerry players or supporters.

MIGHTY---Very good.

HAMES---A right ****e-e.g.-"He made a hames of that chance".

TIMBER---Intimidation of a hurling opponent - e.g.- "Show him some timber".

LAMP----A good thump---e.g.-"I swung for the sliotar, missed by 3 feet and lamped the full back".

A CROWD---A gathering of people who watch a match and hope for random acts of violence -e.g-Meath supporters.

SCHKELP---To remove living tissue in the absence of surgical procedures -- e.g. "That hoor from Tipp took a schkelp outta me leg".

HATCHET MAN---Mountainy type, uses hunter/gatherer instincts.

BULLIN'---Angry-e.g-"The centre half was bullin' after I lamped him".

BULL THICK---Very angry-e.g.-"The centre half was bull thick after I lamped him again".

JOULT---A push-e.g.-"I gave him ! a joult and he has to wear a neck brace for 2 weeks".

THE COMM-A-TEEE---Local GAA bullsh*tters in general.

BUSHTED---An undefined soreness-e.g.-"Jayz me arm is bushted".

THE BOMBER---Popular name for a fat hairy GAA player (includes Laois defenders).

A HANG SANGWIDGE---Consumed with "tay" on the sides of roads after matches in Croker or Thurles, usually contains half a pound of butter.

RAKE-A great amount of anything, usually pints of Guinness the night before an important match.

INDANAMAJAYSUS (in-da-nama-Jaysus)--! -What was that for referee?

YA B0LLIX YA---Corner back's formal recognition of a score by his opponent.

LEH-IT-IN-TA-FK-WUD-YA---Full forwards appeal to a midfielder for a more timely delivery of the pass.

MULLOCKER---Untidy or awkward player released for matches.

BURST THE B0LL*X---Instructions from the sideline to tackle your man.

ROW---Disagreement involving four or more players.

MASSIVE ROW---Disagreement involving both teams, including goalies, substitutes and supporters jumping fences.

ALL-HELL-BROKE-LOOSE---A massive row that continues out in the parking area or dressing room areas, usually resolved by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭destroyer

Two phrases I heard recently to describe well endowed males..

When limp..

"a baby's arm"

When erect..

"He had a horn on him that would bate an ass out of a boghole"