Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

At least it not a cold winter morning ergo LSD...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

MCOS wrote: »
    I hit my target but was probably running well within myself. --amadeus-- will attest to that :) I was able to get back into training within a day of the DM.

IIRC you did either an 18 or 20 mile run at PMP in your run up to DCM so you were def running well within yourself! On teh other hand it sounds like you flogged yourself in the tri so it's only natural you'd need more time to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

Is Valentia this weekend?
    Be interested to see what you think of swimming in the wetsuit. I could never see myself doing a warm water tri without one now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Abhainn wrote: »
    MCOS great result in Joey Hannon.

IMO that interval session is a bit soon after Sundays efforts. Recovery is the key. (Impressive session though!)

Ah but you are forgetting MCOS's main goal fo the season.

Overtraining and injury takes work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

MrCreosote wrote: »
    Is Valentia this weekend?
    Be interested to see what you think of swimming in the wetsuit. I could never see myself doing a warm water tri without one now...

Yes its on Saturday. I'm hoping to try the wetsuit out this week though before Valentia.
    tunney wrote: »
    Ah but you are forgetting MCOS's main goal fo the season.

Overtraining and injury takes work!

Seriously! Is HTFU not one of your favourite phrases :p Joey Sunday morning, Rest Monday, 4 mile easy recovery Tuesday, Cross train Wednesday evening, Track thursday.... I was hardly killing myself??

Last night: First OW swim. I'm not sure why but I was a bit nervous. Perfect evening for a dip. The water was lovely but quite choppy. Did about 750m but probably more as I veered off course big time swimming back to the boat into the swells and into the sunlight. Reason being I couldn't see a thing over the waves and googles fogged up! Overall I really enjoyed the experience and the nerves are settled somewhat for Valentia now.

This morning: Track session
    2miles warm up
    1km*5 with 2 mins walk/jog recovery
    1.5 miles warm down on grass
    15 minutes core
    Reps
    3'34"
    3'37"
    3'34"
    3'35"
    3'36"

Perfect morning and felt good too. Improvement on last time I did these. Had --amadeus-- and his dog for company too, so much better than doing track alone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭ladytri

Well done on the OW- How was the new wetsuit?

ladytri wrote: »
    Well done on the OW- How was the new wetsuit?

Thanks ladytri. The wetsuit fits nice an snug, quite tight even so I was surprised when some water got in through the neck and I could feel it around my back and tummy. My friend said this was normal. I suppose I'll get a better idea on how much 'easier' it is to swim in a wetsuit when I swim in more calm water. As I was been thrown about the place yesterday I was just concentrating on breathing and keeping in as straight a line as possible. Overall though, despite getting lost I enjoyed it and beats laps of the pool any day :D Getting the wetsuit off was a chore though. Zip down and stripped to the waist was not an issue, getting over the calves and off the ankles was very slow and I'm trying to figure out how to avoid losing minutes in transition and possibly getting calf cramps :o any tips for getting the thing off the feet?!

A little bit of bodyglide around your ankles and calves might help. As you're getting out of the water, pull the neck of your wetsuit down to scoop up a bit of water which will pull the suit away from your skin, getting it off your feet is all in the flick apparently-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlUyg_-QuVI&feature=related
    Into my third year of doing tris and I'm still in a quicksilver surf wetsuit which takes in loads of water and really slows me down but getting out of it isn't an issue:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,167 ✭✭✭Bambaata

I was advised to use baby oil if you haven't got any bodyglide. Not sure if this could damage the suit though. Valentia is oh so close now!! Im heading down Thursday. Hoping i can keep to within 5 - 10 mins of you MCOS!

Bambaata wrote: »
    I was advised to use baby oil if you haven't got any bodyglide. Not sure if this could damage the suit though. Valentia is oh so close now!! Im heading down Thursday. Hoping i can keep to within 5 - 10 mins of you MCOS!

I was warned off baby oil. Advised to just get a family sized tub of vaseline. I'll be smacking it on the ankles anyway to get it off over my big feet :cool:

I have to drive down on Saturday morning so I'll be leaving Tipp for about 0430 to make registration :eek: Not sure exactly what state I'll be in for the race after that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

why dont you overnight ? seems like a waste if your tired after all your hard training !

Watch out for the vaseline! I once ruined a pair of surfing wetsuits with it.

Babyoil all the way. Plus you can feel like a person going sunbathing in the 70s as you lather it on!

Thanks guys... Baby Oil it is then :D

@Seres I'm looking into the Camping option but the problem is I have to look after my son on Friday night so I could maybe head down at about 10pm pitch the tent and be asleep for 1.30am! That is IF i could find the campsite in the dark. Alternatively, sleep at 10pm, up at 4am and drive down... same sleep

Thanks guys... Baby Oil it is then :D

@Seres I'm looking into the Camping option but the problem is I have to look after my son on Friday night so I could maybe head down at about 10pm pitch the tent and be asleep for 1.30am! That is IF i could find the campsite in the dark. Alternatively, sleep at 10pm, up at 4am and drive down... same sleep
    I hear ya , tough work juggling all , would prob have to do the same crazy assed stuff myself , good luck in valentia :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

I suppose I'll get a better idea on how much 'easier' it is to swim in a wetsuit when I swim in more calm water. As I was been thrown about the place yesterday I was just concentrating on breathing and keeping in as straight a line as possible. Overall though, despite getting lost I enjoyed it and beats laps of the pool any day :D Getting the wetsuit off was a chore though. Zip down and stripped to the waist was not an issue, getting over the calves and off the ankles was very slow and I'm trying to figure out how to avoid losing minutes in transition and possibly getting calf cramps :o any tips for getting the thing off the feet?!

Hopefully the baby oil will get you sorted! Sounds like it went well though which is great.

Any thoughts on what the balance for swimming should be going forward - mainly OW swims, a mix of OW and pool or stick to the pool with the odd OW swim? Not easy to do structure speed work in the pool.

pgibbo wrote: »
    Hopefully the baby oil will get you sorted! Sounds like it went well though which is great.

Any thoughts on what the balance for swimming should be going forward - mainly OW swims, a mix of OW and pool or stick to the pool with the odd OW swim? Not easy to do structure speed work in the pool.

A mix of OW and pool. At least one of each per week and a third swim in either the pool or the lake but I may drop the third swim for more bike mileage and I'm just not doing enough on the bike at all

BTW: Well done on the 5k result the other night, sub 19 is probably the next goal eh? Impressive running pgibbo

Had intended hill running but I was late and missd the rendezvous point so it was an aerobic swimming session instead

700m easy, 400m off RT, 200m*2 off RT, 100m*4 off RT, 600m easy first half and build tempo of 2nd half

2,500m total. Good swim, had the lane to myself :)

Cycling TT league. It was truely miserable out and we were all gathered in cars wondering if it would go ahead, alas it did! 18.4km in 29'59" about 36.8 km/h average. It is an out and back reasonably flat course but felt like a headwind both ways last night. Took showry's approach, head down and buried myself so it was a decent workout. Had the bike loaded quickly and home to a hot shower immediately after though

Best of luck this weekend. Hopefully the weather improves and the mad dash to the race doesn't conspire against you. Looking forward to another good read in the form of your race report.

And yes, sub 19 is the goal. 3 races left to get it. Be nice to achieve but very happy with my times so far. :)

First Open Water Tri done and dusted eh ... or thawed/dried :D

I could not travel down the previous night as I had promised to take my son to the Munster match. Priorities! I did contemplate just leaving it as I had a head cold developing and the nose was running like a tap that day. It was probably for this reason that I slept through the 0430 alarm. I miraculously awoke just before 6am, jumped in the car and tore down to Valentia Island to make registration. Breakfast was a slice of brack, a banana and a couple of fig rolls I had leftover in the car. I went through a box of tissues en route also. Hardly the ideal race preparation :o

The weather had looked ominous through the Ring of Kerry and indeed it turned sour. Valentia Island was cold, wet and windy. The transition area was a mud bath and by the time I got to it I didn't have much choice where I could put the bike. The pre race routine was rushed and as such I felt unsettled. It was busy, a 400-500 entry off in 2 waves all putting on wetsuits early to get/stay warm. It was announced that the swim from the mainland was not going ahead so instead we were to swim around 2 buoys inside the harbour, exit the harbour and swim around to the slip.... eh ok then :confused: I met plenty of friendly and equally shivering faces as half the club seemed to be down for this one.

The Race
    I entered the water gingerly with the rest of the white caps to get 'acclimatised'. I actually wasted too much energy treading water when I didn't need to. The wetsuit was buoyant enough to let you float... once relaxed. After a few minutes of whooping and hollering with the guys, I felt better. There were people all over the place when the hooter went. I just got on with it, put the head down and swam straight for the first buoy. I stayed a little left of the pack and mainly kept out of trouble, however my goggles fogged up so I was reduced to ahem.. feeling my way to the buoys rather than sighting them! The navigation wasn't too bad considering and swimming on top of people and rushes didn't bother me. It was not being able to see anything that did! I know I can swim better and longer if I am just more relaxed. Anyway I found my way to the slip but attempted to stand up too soon, swam a few more strokes until my fingers touched the slip and then got up. The clock was at 11 something but it had felt twice as long as that in the water.

The barefoot run up the hill into transition was plenty of time to get the top half of the wetsuit peeled but transition itself was terrible. I spent ages getting the wetsuit off (even with the baby oil on) and pulled off my timing chip in the process. Helmet on, race belt on and chip re-tied to the ankle and I grabbed the bike off the rack. I had noticed that transition was busy (clearly not concentrating) and thought that I must have exited the water in the pack somewhere. I hopped on the bike with feet on top of the shoes and took off. The problem started when I tried to put my shoes in on the slight incline. I had slowed to a standstill when I felt a push from behind from a friendly local, only he sent me into the curb! At least 10 bikes passed me in quick succession. When I eventually did get moving again I managed to pull the velcro straps out of the shoe buckles and could not get them back in (I got a tip this morning from one of the IM guys to put safety pins on them!). After a minute or two of this ludicrous faffing about I just left the straps hanging out and started pedalling furiously passing all 10 bikes again by the top of the first hill. The initial 8km was all about hills, headwind and hailstones!! It was freezing. My computer fell off at some stage and was hanging on the quick release lever on the front wheel rattling in the wind. The chain was jumping too (I really need to take the bike for a test spin before events). The course was quite technical with some sharp bends but I gave it some welly. I had a good battle with a P2C for the middle section (thanks for this Bambaata ;)) which spurred me on. I thought I had dropped him on the bends but he came passed me again slicing into the tailwind on return leg. A second bike passed me (powerful climber from Waterford) on the last hill before the rapid descent into T2.

T2 was a complete disaster! The 3 racks next to what I thought was mine were empty and all I could see were wetsuits strewn about. I couldn't see my runners anywhere... panic! After a minute of scanning the ground beneath racks I spotted my navy gearbag (note to self... get a different colour bag!) and found my shoes under my wetsuit :o My baby oil covered feet slipped into the shoes easily and I took off again. The half dozen people just in front of me displayed what the transition had cost me. It took a couple of minutes to find a stride and get some concentration back. I passed the posse in front of me and focussed on the big gap to the next guy. The run was out and back which I like as you can see where you are. Halfway was around a parked van of all things! I was just holding my ground on the guy in front when I noticed a few guys behind me looking pretty good. I stepped up the pace and pushed on again down the hill into the finish. The guys ahead kicked too and I didn't catch him. I didn't make up any more places after half way and was pleased not to be passed on the run section at all, however I know I can improve on this. I finished under my 1'10' target in 1'08'41" which turned out to be 24th. I know I could have done better but given the circumstances and how the race went I'm not going to give out about the result. It was another good experience and a taste of what Kilkee could be like. I stole my way into a hotel room for a hot shower afterwards :). Its a shame I couldn't stay down, I heard the craic was mighty that night. Result 1'08'41" 23rd, Swim 11'20" (39), T1 2'56", Bike 35'01" (28), T2 1'20", Run 18'04" (46)

Learnings - things to improve for Kilkee.
    • get to transition early and get a good bike position
    • get new goggles and get some gels too
    • practice swimming OW with long strokes
    • practice putting feet into shoes on the go
    • be organised about pre race breakfast
    • check all bike mechanics the night before
    • focus on bike climbing and hill running
    Took yesterday off as I wasn't well and went for an easy swim this morning.

great report, well done , enough to turn anyone off triathlons though ! , sounds like the bad start(waking late ) really set the standard for the day , great learning experience though ;)

Great read MCOS. Well done on another cracking race. :cool:

That's some 5k time for your run. Very impressive.

Lots of valuable lessons learned for your A races too.

Hope your son enjoyed the match. Lots of tries scored anyway! :)

2 words for ye - incredible...&...jealous!

Nice one MCOS. Tough race by the sound of it! Good times though, and even better- a cracking race report!

pgibbo wrote: »
    Great read MCOS. Well done on another cracking race. :cool:

That's some 5k time for your run. Very impressive.

Lots of valuable lessons learned for your A races too.

Hope your son enjoyed the match. Lots of tries scored anyway! :)

Thanks pgibbo, he roared his head off and then fell asleep just before half time. Evern with 'fields of athenry' blaring he still conked on my shoulder so I had to bring him home before the tries rained in unfortunately. Valentia was tough, I know I could have gone better so focussing now on what I learned before the next one. The run was less than 5k, maybe 4.6 or something. Good experience overall.

Easy workout yesterday, 10 minutes ergo at 1'49.8@/500 and 7 miles on indoor track slow incorporating 10*50m strides. Short core routine afterwards. Got on scale at 79.4kg. I realised this morning that I am overeating recently (eg 2 bowls of cereal after dinner) as my body is craving something. Time to get some sort of supplement onboard methinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

It was the first time my two had been to a big live sports event and they are hooked I reckon. Although JnrMsA misheard "heave!" as "booo!" which caused some confusion...

Well done on another good performance - considering how well things are going and the ease that you'll be able to correct mistakes (eg transitions) are you revising your goals yet?

[edit] Did you get my mail about the swim btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Hey MCOS just read your race report now- excellent stuff- well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭baza1976

Hi MCOS,

I've reading this training log as well as others here a lot... I don't see you mention anything about preventative maintenance!!! You are putting in a serious amount of training and effort I'd like to hear you plan a sports massage... It'd be shame after all that effort to end up on the side lines... I'm speaking from personal exper....

Just because you are not feeling any niggles does not mean there is noting there.. remember pain is the last thing to appear and the first thing to leave...

maybe you'll blow my post away by telling me you go every month:o

Congrats on your recent tri's.... I could't even comtemplate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Heh impressive performance there MCOS. Big field, great placing.

See you're signed up for Tri Athy. Hopefully weather will be more favourable.

considering how well things are going and the ease that you'll be able to correct mistakes (eg transitions) are you revising your goals yet?
    [edit] Did you get my mail about the swim btw?

Just got your email this morning thanks. I was off sick yesteday. What do you mean about revising my goals exactly?
    baza1976 wrote: »
    Hi MCOS,
    I don't see you mention anything about preventative maintenance!!! You are putting in a serious amount of training and effort I'd like to hear you plan a sports massage... It'd be shame after all that effort to end up on the side lines... I'm speaking from personal exper....

Booked in for 1 hour of physio next Wednesday! I just wonder if that is too soon before a race (race is on Saturday)
    Abhainn wrote: »
    See you're signed up for Tri Athy. Hopefully weather will be more favourable.

Hi Abhainn are you doing it too?