Calling a spade a spade

• 11-05-2009 12:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭

Lets be honest guys.

When (not if) FF are voted out by myself and yourself, it will be because of the increased taxes with little useful being done with them.

My question is, Do you vote with your wallet? If your income is getting shattered due to incompetent buffoons at the top, surely you want those responsible to join you/your mates on the dole queue.

Everyones income is down 10% at least. Added to the increased taxes (~10% on fuel, more on flights etc etc), ones wallet appears to be shrinking.

I for one, will vote for any politician who can promise a way of reducing/abolishing the income levy (not necessarily this year, but with a promise to not have it permanent).

I would also propose a "checklist" for candidates of their election promises. Each item with a deadline to be delivered by. Each one met allows the politician a bonus. I have no problem paying people who deliver, that bit extra. In fact, i dont think anyone reading this does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

I for one, will vote for any politician who can promise a way of reducing/abolishing the income levy (not necessarily this year, but with a promise to not have it permanent).

And would you really believe said promise from buffoon canvasing at your doorstep?

All politicians are liars, they will tell you what you want to hear until they are in power then tell you "tough sh1t" if you don't like their decisions. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

I wont be voting FF ever again, but what i dont get is how FG have a golden ticket here to sweep the countries votes for the next election all they have to do is answer the question 'what exactly are you going to do differently and no BS please?' FG wont answer so I cant justify backing them.

Any promises these parties make in the run up to elections are just lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

All of them will promise this, but politicians lie.

They'll come up with every excuse under the sun as to why they can't keep their promises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

We are being delt the same hand over and over, we need a new deck of cards, not just a new dealer.

Things wont change until the people change. I dont just mean names on ballot papers either. We need radical reform, with people actually qualified and competent to do the job. Not just getting it because their dear departed Da had the job before him.

It's not a question of the money going in, it's how the money is going out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'll vote FF as they seem to have a plan. A bad one, maybe, but still a plan. FG will tell you what a bad plan it is, when they see it, but they won't have a better plan themselevs, if any, it seems, unless they get someone with a pair to lead them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

TheZohan wrote: »
    They'll come up with every excuse under the sun as to why they can't keep their promises.

My dog ate my election manifesto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

This thread has nothing to do at all with gardening tools does it?

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I'm actually better off since the recession started. I haven't dropped anything significant in wages but my mortgage payments are lower than ever.

Viva la recession.

P.S I'll be voting FF because better the devil ya know. FG is most likely to win without answering a simple single question as highlighted by Sean Quagmire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Unfortunately, the chances are any politicians knocking at your door will either be standing for the local or Euro elections, and they could say mass on this for all it will matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

i came in here assuming that there would be racism involved with a thread title like so.

I am very disappointed and i bid you farewell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I would never vote purely to increase the money in my pocket. If I thought a party would genuinely improve vital services, I would vote for them, even if my taxes increased as a result.

I have never voted FF/FG/PD, even during the 'good times'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,404 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

I call a spade a shovel

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I vote for Merkel to come in and rescue us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

My income isn't down.

One benefit of 10 hour weeks on minimum wage, there's nothing more to take from me.

I think Terry should stand for election.

He'd have the place sorted out in no time :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Quazzie wrote: »
    I'm actually better off since the recession started. I haven't dropped anything significant in wages but my mortgage payments are lower than ever.

Viva la recession.

P.S I'll be voting FF because better the devil ya know. FG is most likely to win without answering a simple single question as highlighted by Sean Quagmire.

Congrats, its that 'ah sure i might as well vote FF cause even tho theyre raping me, the other guy might have a bigger langer so ill just keep letting them rape me' attitude thats gonna keep them in power and then nothing will EVER change. Good job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,772 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

0ubliette wrote: »
    Congrats, its that 'ah sure i might as well vote FF cause even tho theyre raping me, the other guy might have a bigger langer so ill just keep letting them rape me' attitude thats gonna keep them in power and then nothing will EVER change. Good job
    The alternative is.....????

Answer:
    ... a wild shot in the dark with some of the sneakiest poiticians going who don't have an agenda apart from making FF look bad. FG won't say what they would do to fix things, but instead are perfectly happy sitting back smugly pointing out FF's mistakes. Congrats on falling for their PR machine.

spade

Racist!!!!!!

:p

TERRY!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

OldGoat wrote: »
    This thread has nothing to do at all with gardening tools does it?

Hoe hoe hoe.
    /sorry, that was terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Answer:
    ... a wild shot in the dark with some of the sneakiest poiticians going who don't have an agenda apart from making FF look bad. FG won't say what they would do to fix things, but instead are perfectly happy sitting back smugly pointing out FF's mistakes. Congrats on falling for their PR machine.

And congrats to you again for helping keep the worst shower of incompetent cretins to ever set foot in Leinster house in power.
    And did i say i was voting FG? No, dont think i did, but nice for assuming so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

When (not if) FF are voted out by myself and yourself,

Lol. Dream on buddeh. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I also have not declared any party allegiances

Look lads and lassies. The point is that those in power have royally screwed up. Cowen is a good politician IMHO, but not a good leader. He had a decent cabinet which he bafflingly reshuffled as soon as he took over. I remember seeing Lenihan interviewed the day he took office in Finance and thinking "Oh god no". Dont think i ever saw someone more unfit to do his job, his PR skills are awful too. What a promotion for a guy who was basically a back bencher previously, and TBH should have stayed there

Yes someone else elected might feck up too, but i think the time has come to give them a chance. And no im not talking about FG (not with their party leader anyway), but there are decent politicians out there who have surely earned a crack of the whip.

FF need to be shown that the public wont stand for this sh1t. And IF it continues with the next government, whoever they may be, then THEY will also be given a quick goodbye.

People power may never elect the perfect government, but it CAN kick out the ahem, less than perfect one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Lol. Dream on buddeh. :pac:

Tell that to the bookies.

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SPECIALS&disp_cat_id=56&ev_class_id=33&ev_type_id=694&ev_oc_grp_ids=46674&bir_index=

http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action=go_type&category=SPECIALS&disp_cat_id=56&ev_class_id=33&ev_type_id=694&ev_oc_grp_ids=88128&bir_index=

By looks of things its a foregone conclusion that we will have a change by years end.

Put your money where your mouth is that FF will survive. I wouldnt...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

To be honest I don't think there's any hope, we probably will get dragged out of recession by other counties economy's. But the fact is we're screwed now, we're giving everything to the banks so they can hold debt over all our heads for the rest of our lives. We've already given them billions and they thank us by raising charges like a €2.50 transaction fee on all atm and debit card transactions.

No matter who we elect into power all their going to care about is their own careers. They'll become so far removed from the average citizen by hob nobing with big business (for our benefit of course) that they won't have a clue what's really happening in the country.

I have absolutely no faith in government or any of the current systems and I've no faith that anyone will take the time to fix it, we'll just continue to go around in circles chasing money and getting nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭omyatari

to be honest with yous all, i dont have a clue what to do for voting.
    i have to go over to Belgium to vote (its manditory there with jail penalties if you dont) but because i work and live here do i have to go vote here aswell? ( eventhough its not an obligation here)

and if so, i dont keep track of what who stands for... i really should sort that s**t out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭eddie.fandango

the_syco wrote: »
    I'll vote FF as they seem to have a plan. A bad one, maybe, but still a plan. FG will tell you what a bad plan it is, when they see it, but they won't have a better plan themselevs, if any, it seems, unless they get someone with a pair to lead them.

Enda Kenny is a far better leader than Cowen, he's just not as good a "politician". Whereas the like of Cowen will stick their nose into everything in a bid to appear that they are single handedly saving the country, Kenny allows his representatives to do their job; you won't hear him commenting on financial issues for example, he has Richard Bruton to do that.

The fact that Kenny doesn't do these things is why people have this perception of him as a clueless wimp. Brian Cowen runs this country as a dictator, "I will run this country as I see fit!!" etc. I would be more than happy to see Kenny as Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

themadchef wrote: »
    We are being delt the same hand over and over, we need a new deck of cards, not just a new dealer.

Things wont change until the people change. I dont just mean names on ballot papers either. We need radical reform, with people actually qualified and competent to do the job. Not just getting it because their dear departed Da had the job before him.

It's not a question of the money going in, it's how the money is going out.

+111111111111 :cool:

Id love to put you in a fight cage with harney :D

not but serously your dead right,....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

IIMII wrote: »
    Unfortunately, the chances are any politicians knocking at your door will either be standing for the local or Euro elections, and they could say mass on this for all it will matter

I have had three local election and one euro canditate at my door.

One of the canditates when I questioned her about her ideas etc started off on national topics(edcuation, tax etc) and i asked her about local this and local that and her explaination was "I never knew that better look into it"

now what i was referring to was local roads and water which the local council have control over yet so its not something she could have over looked.

I told her to concentrate on local issues not national as she could do nothing about them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I voted FF previously, but there is only 1 thing I am sure of! that you cannot make mistake after mistake and not get punished, there have to be consequences. If that shower dont get hammered in any short to medium term elections, we only have ourselves to blame. In relation to the tax rises, as is constantly correctly repated in the Indo, they are not the way to go, they are going to be far more damaging than good. Cutting expenditure is the way to go. Making those that are earning a wage reluctant to spend any of it, is not the way forward. There is so much waste it is unfathomable!