ROG and the Queen Yesterday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Is he ever NOT smirking? Feckin stupid head on him.

Twatface doesn't have the ability to not look smug it seems! I think he was born like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Some of the Irish players have said before that they are not too bothered about the Queen.They dont see any reason why they should be throwing themselves at her feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

getz wrote: »
    if pics like this go around the world ,this will reflect badly on the irish republic and its people
    1. Anyone who judges all of Ireland's people on a random photo is a twat
    2. Nobody would or should give a **** what someone like that thinks of them

Very funny pic... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

diplomatic crisis over

http://i43.tinypic.com/se24ut.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

diplomatic crisis over

They touched and exchanged smiles :eek:

A British monarch touched an Irish Catholic* and no one burst into flames....it's the end of the world I tells ye

(ROG may or may not be a Catholic, but it is a lot more enjoyable to believe that he is)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Communicationb

Camelot wrote: »
    O'Gara not only let himslef down by acting in such an ignorant fashion, but he let the whole team down too > I wonder what his fellow NI team mates make of his childish behaviour?

O'Gara is a complete wanker for showing Zero respect.

Perhaps if she was a democratically elected head of state he would have had more respect...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

A British monarch touched an Irish Catholic* and no one burst into flames....it's the end of the world I tells ye

(ROG may or may not be a Catholic, but it is a lot more enjoyable to believe that he is)

She was wearing a glove which is the reason that both of them didn't instantaneously combust

He did get married in a Catholic Church...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Apparently the queen is quite a nice old woman. When someone came up to her on the street and said 'Jesus, you look just like the queen!' she replied 'How reassuring.'

She was wearing a glove which is the reason that both of them didn't instantaneously combust

thank god for that, I thought the world was about to fall off it's axis :D

if pics like this go around the world ,this will reflect badly on the irish republic and its people

LOL.....:D:D:D

Some perspective please...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Sure we're all part of the British Isles, whats the big issue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

and i didnt think i could love him anymore. awh ROG you truly are god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ports best

absolutely class pic, go on the rog, id say they had some laugh about it after,class though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Brightened up my already bright day. Excellent pic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Dudess wrote: »

if irish news papers think it looks bad ,just think what other newspapers may say /remember he wasent in the irish republic when he was meeting the head of state-if anybody was meeting the irish president you would expect them to follow protocol and act as expected-thats what civilized people do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭uRbaN

Dudess wrote: »

Dudess beat me to it. Sums up my thoughts on the matter.

Quality pic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

thats what civilized people do

There's nothing uncivilized about his actions, it's not like he shat in his palm and threw it at her while loudly dencouncing the royal family. He simply put his hands in his pockets while talking to her.

I have a whole new respect for the man now, despite my anti-rugby attitude. Anybody who doesn't pander to these false ideals of granduer and class should be commended.

if irish news papers think it looks bad ,just think what other newspapers may say /remember he wasent in the irish republic when he was meeting the head of state-if anybody was meeting the irish president you would expect them to follow protocol and act as expected-thats what civilized people do

Civilised people and nations elect their heads of state..not some medievil hang up about kings and queens. It doesnt say much for your own IQ or self esteem that you see yourself as a subject...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

Well, she wouldn't take off her gloves to shake his hand.

Can't be too careful these days with the swine flu and all :p

Seriously though, the gloves were off when she was shaking hands with McAleese at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

diplomatic crisis over

Ah, thanks for that BattlingCheese, it just goes to show how a pic on the front page of a so called 'quality newspaper' can send out the wrong (deliberate or not)? message. I retract my previous statement about ROG.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Well, what with this talk of a non-existent "irish republic" followed now by a lecture on what "civilised" people allegedly do, is it safe to assume you are British?

Quite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Quite.

No, quiet. Just becuase a poster isn't anti-British doesn't mean he/she's not Irish. At all. At all.

'Ra heads aren't the authority on who's Irish or not becuase that would be silly. And silliness shouldn't be tolerated nowadays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

She's some skanger shaking hands wearing gloves - what's next, a tracksuit? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,373 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Its pretty obvious from the reaction of O Driscoll and Heaslip that the O Gara thing is some sort of dare/bet that the team had going. They've been doing this sort of thing for the last while, remember O Driscoll's press conference there a while back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Apparently the queen is quite a nice old woman. When someone came up to her on the street and said 'Jesus, you look just like the queen!' she replied 'How reassuring.'
    Yeah, I get the impression she'd be a bit of a laugh, with that typical dry British wit.
    if irish news papers think it looks bad ,just think what other newspapers may say
    Very doubtful Irish newspapers (meaning one: The Irish Times) think it looks bad, more that it looks funny. And as for what other newspapers may say? We should give a ****... why? I'd say the likelihood is other newspapers won't care... or even acknowledge/know about it.
    remember he wasent in the irish republic when he was meeting the head of state-if anybody was meeting the irish president you would expect them to follow protocol and act as expected-thats what civilized people do
    Bit of a narrow view of what "civilised" means, no?
    Camelot wrote: »
    Ah, thanks for that BattlingCheese, it just goes to show how a pic on the front page of a so called 'quality newspaper' can send out the wrong (deliberate or not)? message. I retract my previous statement about ROG.
    I doubt they were out to smear O'Gara, their photographer just happened to be on the ball and snap a really funny moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

No, quiet. Just becuase a poster isn't anti-British doesn't mean he/she's not Irish. At all. At all.

'Ra heads aren't the authority on who's Irish or not becuase that would be silly. And silliness shouldn't be tolerated nowadays.

The fact that the poster does not know the correct description of this state, the Republic of Ireland, but instead uses a very common British misnomer "Irish Republic" indicates that they are British. I await his/her views on a 26-county 'Eire' and the "British Isles". The lecture on "civilised" behaviour just reaffirms this view of his/her origins. Not to mention feigning "concern" at the Queen of England being offended by something. All quite Little Englander for me. Quite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

KevIRL wrote: »
    remember O Driscoll's press conference there a while back

I missed that one, what did they get up to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,373 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Trotter wrote: »
    I missed that one, what did they get up to?

Civilised people and nations elect their heads of state..not some medievil hang up about kings and queens. It doesnt say much for your own IQ or self esteem that you see yourself as a subject...:rolleyes:

who does then?

According to my passport I am a British Citizen, not a subject.