Do you stand for the Irish National Anthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I stand and sing it with gusto and pride. It was the way I was brought up. Okay, there are things wrong in this country, but no country is perfect. I am Irish and proud of it.

If I was at a function and another anthem was played, I would most certainly stand for that too (i.e. I wouldn't stay sitting just because it wasn't my National Anthem). I would hate it if someone who wasn't Irish, stayed sitting in a situation when Amhrán na bhFiann was played.

I was at a function recently and at the end of the night the anthem was played. It's only about two and a half minutes long, yet the person next to me, decide now was the time to have a conversation with me. Luckily, I managed to ignore that person and continue singing. Afterwards, the person said to me why were you ignoring me when I was talking to you earlier. She was totally oblivious to the fact that it was our national anthem. Really made me angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭mikethemouth

UpCork wrote: »
    I stand and sing it with gusto and pride. It was the way I was brought up. Okay, there are things wrong in this country, but no country is perfect. I am Irish and proud of it.

If I was at a function and another anthem was played, I would most certainly stand for that too (i.e. I wouldn't stay sitting just because it wasn't my National Anthem). I would hate it if someone who wasn't Irish, stayed sitting in a situation when Amhrán na bhFiann was played.

I was at a function recently and at the end of the night the anthem was played. It's only about two and a half minutes long, yet the person next to me, decide now was the time to have a conversation with me. Luckily, I managed to ignore that person and continue singing. Afterwards, the person said to me why were you ignoring me when I was talking to you earlier. She was totally oblivious to the fact that it was our national anthem. Really made me angry.

fair play fella.

like urself i always stand or shut up for other peoples anthems (even the english one lol). it really pisses me off when i hear another counry boo another's anthem. speaks volumes for the country in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Was at a match recently & all around me ran out of words after the first sentence :rolleyes:

Sinne Fianna Fáil, A tá fé gheall ag Éirinn, bu, ah ahem, cough, humm, la la la, humm ........ sean tir air . . mumble mumble........ Seo Libh canaidh amhrán na bhFiann.

Dunno the words myself, but I would respect it & stand for it (at a sporting event).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

r3nu4l wrote: »
    To me the anthem is a symbol of the sacrifice made by so many to bring freedom to the Irish Republic. I respect that sacrifice that was made so I stand.
    Fair point. It's a shame though that it has been hijacked by scumbags who don't know jack-**** about Irish history and have barely a word of Irish - all they know is how to say "the ****ing ra are maaaaaaad biy!" - for playing at the end of the night in pubs. I know a lot about Irish history, a lot about Irish politics so I'd consider myself much more respectful to Ireland than those muppets who have little but empty gestures to express their patriotism.
    Now I know if there was a Cork anthem ('the banks of the Lee', perhaps?) Dudess would be out of her seat like a rocket, hand on heart, singing at the top of her voice with tears streaming down her face :D
    Damn right! :D
    If you were in England or France and their anthem was playing and everyone else was standing would you still stay in your seat, like a 'disrespectful foreigner'...or would you stand?
    I'd like to think I wouldn't, but I'd probably be pressured into it. As I said, patriotism/respect for a country should be a choice... or how a person expresses their patriotism/respect for a country.
    i stand it is the national anthem of our country and i dont think its too much to ask for people to stand for 3 minute to all the people that do i think ye are great dicks
    I won't stand if I don't ****ing want to, and you can stand if you DO want to. It doesn't remotely affect you whether I stand or not.
    Dub973 wrote: »
    Then your not an real Irish man.
    Eh... he is. He's Irish.
    Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    No surprising, all the mods on this site are Unionists.
    Oh hi Kev. Thanks for your abusive private message the other day - that was most mature of you.
    So anyway, pray tell, how did you come to the conclusion that I'm a unionist? Or indeed, that "all" mods are unionists? Or that "all" mods just suddenly start thinking like each other... because they're mods, as if they don't have an independent brain each...?
    Its about being respectful, Irishmen died for this country and standing for our National Anthem is a just a small thing to do. I would love to give a slap to someone like you Dudess
    Well going by some of the stuff you post, I'm fairly confident I have a far greater knowledge and understanding of Irish politics than you have... It's not too much to ask to learn about your country's history you know. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

No surprising, all the mods on this site are Unionists. Its about being respectful, Irishmen died for this country and standing for our National Anthem is a just a small thing to do. I would love to give a slap to someone like you Dudess

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

♠Jay♠ wrote: »
    If the english version still exists and is used however, the sentiment of it is much the same.
    First time I read the Soldier's Song was yesterday or the day before, whilst I learned Amhrán na bhFiann when I was a child. It doesn't even feel the same in English to be honest, and in the version I learnt in Irish it doesn't mention saxon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 LittleGemma

A lot of people would*. ;)

*In the bottom.

I'm not sure about that. I think a lot of people would simply like to knock the degraded bitches teeth out.*

*Joking of course.

Hey there re-reg/duplicate account holder! ;)

I'm "degraded" (whatever the **** that means)? Interesting...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

No surprising, all the mods on this site are Unionists. Its about being respectful, Irishmen died for this country and standing for our National Anthem is a just a small thing to do. I would love to give a slap to someone like you Dudess
    We are not all Unionists, I can only laugh at that comment.
    A lot of good men gave their lives to win us the freedom to stand or not, as we choose, when our National Anthem is played. To threaten to slap Dudess for exercising that freedom is an insult to those men.

My own opinion is that everybody who is capable of standing should do so when the Anthem is played. If you choose not to that is your right but you should show respect by remaining silent while it is being played. Not too much to ask really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Depends on the context really

I won't be standing to attention if it comes on at the end of a night in a club/pub, that's for sure.

Hardly the best way to demonstrate your national pride... Try to keep upright while one hand clutches your heart, the other, a pint, and mumble out every second line until the end, when you scream SEO LIBH CANAÍDH AMHRÁN NA BHFIANN!!!

At a 1916 memorial or somethin... sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

fair play fella.

like urself i always stand or shut up for other peoples anthems (even the english one lol). it really pisses me off when i hear another counry boo another's anthem. speaks volumes for the country in question.

I'm a gal, but thanks for the comment ;)

From the day I could stand of my own accord, I remember my mother telling me, you stand up, with your back straight and pride in your heart when the anthem comes on. I have also been known to stand when watching a match on t.v. and the anthem comes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I always do no matter where it is played, but the amount of people who mumble through the words even when they are not intoxicated is disgraceful. Everybody should at least know the anthem.

I bet the most dumb "up the ra", "I hate da Brits", "you're all a bunch of west Brits" types are the ones who know the lyrics least...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Nothing worse than at the end of a night out this comes on... I stay sitting. Not cause I want to be disrespectful.... but I'm not going to stand to please a bunch of drunk eejits sheep who:

1. Don't even know the words
    2. Don't have a word of Irish
    3. Don't have a clue about the history of the country

... but suddenly get all patriotic on hearing the anthem.

I'm not an Irish speaker, I only know a few lines from the national anthem, and I wouldn't have the broadest range of knowledge of our country's past, so why pretend to suddenly be 'Proud to be Irish' :confused:

I'm proud to be me

And it is true what Dudess said, the 'up da Ra, I hate da Brits' brigade are probably the least informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

Hagar wrote: »
    The State is the people of Ireland not the sorryarse Government.
    I'm well aware of the difference and my statement still stands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

I stand and sing, but rarely in a pub.

I also start trying to sing the french national anthem, usually when I'm drunk, and just hum the tune when I don't know the words.

Usually to see who else will join in.

Nothing worse than at the end of a night out this comes on... I stay sitting. Not cause I want to be disrespectful.... but I'm not going to stand to please a bunch of drunk eejits sheep who:

1. Don't even know the words
    2. Don't have a word of Irish
    3. Don't have a clue about the history of the country

... but suddenly get all patriotic on hearing the anthem.

I'm not an Irish speaker, I only know a few lines from the national anthem, and I wouldn't have the broadest range of knowledge of our country's past, so why pretend to suddenly be 'Proud to be Irish' :confused:

I'm proud to be me

And it is true what Dudess said, the 'up da Ra, I hate da Brits' brigade are probably the least informed.
    How do you know all these things? ie points 1,2 and 3 ?
    You can tell this from looking at people?
    Are you implying that the only people who stand for the National Anthem are "the 'up da Ra, I hate da Brits' brigade"? Do you not think that's very insulting to ordinary Irish people who stand for the Anthem?

How do you know all these things? ie points 1,2 and 3 ?
    You can tell this from looking at people?
    Are you implying that the only people who stand for the National Anthem are "the 'up da Ra, I hate da Brits' brigade"? Do you not think that's very insulting to ordinary Irish people who stand for the Anthem?

I'll admit that it's a generalising statement; but when saying that I was thinking about people I'd be out with - so I would know them and their linguistic capabilities!

I'm implying that there are more 'Up da Ra - I hate the Brits' sh**ebags around the place, especially after a few drinks.

Also, even if you know the anthem and want to sing along, why do you have to stand? Just sing it sitting down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 951 ✭✭✭sorrywhat

I only stand for it when Im at a match GAA and the likes. Not in the pub though cos you'd look like an eegit.

Also, even if you know the anthem and want to sing along, why do you have to stand? Just sing it sitting down.
    Why bother singing at all ? Why not just tap it out in morse code with the bottom of your glass? :rolleyes:

Why bother singing at all ?

I don't, i'm just saying that if you do want to..... why do you need to stand?

You're dead right Hagar. Of course not all people who stand for it are as steviecakes described, but there are plenty of them... and they've taken Irish nationalism and ****ed it over in a despicable way. I think they're the real "traitors" (for want of a better word).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Dudess wrote: »
    You're dead right Hagar. Of course not all people who stand for it are as steviecakes described, but there are plenty of them... and they've taken Irish nationalism and ****ed it over in a despicable way. I think they're the real "traitors" (for want of a better word).

Personally I would suggest reclaiming Nationalism in the name of normal decent people then, why surrender it to the thugs and bigots?

I love nationalism and as long as people respect each others nationalism then i think it can be a great thing.

Yes of course, out of respect, it's only right to stand to it where ever it's being played.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I remember about two years ago a singer in a Dublin pub contacted, I think, Damien O'Reilly on RTÉ Radio 1 to tell him that he had been instructed by the owner of the pub he had been singing in to not end the night with the usual Amhrán na bhFiann as, apparently, foreigners had been complaining (which I don't believe).

I listened keenly to find out the name of the pub in question and it was the Portobello, owned by James O'Donnell brother of Daniel O'Donnell MBE and the haunt for thousands of UCD students on the Wednesday GAA Colours nights out.

Knowledge is a wonderful weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Rebelheart wrote: »
    I remember about two years ago a singer in a Dublin pub contacted, I think, Damien O'Reilly on RTÉ Radio 1 to tell him that he had been instructed by the owner of the pub he had been singing in to not end the night with the usual Amhrán na bhFiann as, apparently, foreigners had been complaining (which I don't believe).

I listened keenly to find out the name of the pub in question and it was the Portobello, owned by James O'Donnell brother of Daniel O'Donnell MBE and the haunt for thousands of UCD students on the Wednesday GAA Colours nights out.

Knowledge is a wonderful weapon.

My wife asked for it not to be played at our wedding not because she thought "Foreigners" would compalin, she was embarrassed by the thought of it being played in front of foreigners, most of whom would be looking at each other saying "Why the **** are they playing the national anthem at the end of a wedding party?".

My wife asked for it not to be played at our wedding not because she thought "Foreigners" would compalin,
    When in Rome...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Drakmord

Our national anthem is lame.
    Just doesn't sound great, in comparison to other national anthems.
    Maybe that's why Jack stood for the French national anthem, the anthem just brings you to your feet.
    For the Irish anthem, I feel nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

My wife asked for it not to be played at our wedding not because she thought "Foreigners" would compalin, she was embarrassed by the thought of it being played in front of foreigners, most of whom would be looking at each other saying "Why the **** are they playing the national anthem at the end of a wedding party?".

Well, it hasn't been unknown for the English to massacre an entire wedding party in Irish history so now that you mention it I can see the merit in playing the Anthem there as well....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

French and Russian anthems are exceptional. Ours is quite good. The Italian one is terrible. I'd stand for all of them