It's great being a priest!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Is there anything to stop someone working as a priest for, say, 20 years and during that twenty years save like mad and once 20 yrs have passed just quit the priesthood with all the savings, find himself a piece of skirt, move abroad or to another part of Ireland and set up a business, invest in property etc. ?
    Nope. But some orders take a vow of poverty whereby the pass all of their income over to the order to go into a communal fund which is used for funding projects and overall feeding everyone else, regardless of what they do or do not work at. It's socialism on a small scale. They get a certain chunk for expenses but can also dip into the fund for extra expenses such as going out for dinner or somesuch. Also, anything gifted to them, belongs to them. There was a priest when I was a kid had a huge brand new Merc every 3 years because his millionaire brother used to buy it for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

anplaya wrote: »
    says in the paperr today that they can earn 2,500 euros:eek: a month
    but are taxed as self employed

30,000 per annum would be more than the minimum wage Min ;)

Still, 30k with no mortgage or any nightlife expenditure would equate to some nice savings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭badgerbadger

you get black socks not just very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very, very dark blue socks like in a normal shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Naos wrote: »

Still, 30k with no mortgage or any nightlife expenditure would equate to some nice savings!
    STFU ;)
    wow, does this 30k include room and board?
    Thats a decent wage alright, if it doesn't include rent and food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

anplaya wrote: »
    says in the paperr today that they can earn 2,500 euros:eek: a month
    but are taxed as self employed

Stop reading the mirror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Job Details:
    •Good Salary
    •Free House
    •Job For Life
    •Trips to Rome!!!
    Free Placards!!!

(Job requirments: Men only. No sex or Dan Brown books.

Yes. The Church are in need of more priests. They held a recruitment fair to get more men into the church.

is that not abit hevanisitic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,776 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I wonder what would happen if a priest was see going out and getting drunk and hitting a few clubs, whilst maintaining his integrity throughout.

Would there be any backlash from anywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

giggsy664 wrote: »
    Stop reading the mirror

i can read what i like ya hypocrite:D still though if it was true,thats a decent wage,plus the free accomodation and meals.tempted?feck no :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

How do you know they get paid less than the minimum wage?

AFAIK one of the reasons that priests cannot get married is that they get paid nearly nothing (given the intelligence and dedication it takes to become a priest) and if the got married and had kids then the church would have to pay them all allot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Quazzie wrote: »
    I wonder what would happen if a priest was see going out and getting drunk and hitting a few clubs, whilst maintaining his integrity throughout.

Hahaha, imagine your local priest in Coppers-gas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Actually, the primary reason that priests cannot marry heralds back a long time where priests were indeed getting married and as part of their dowry or as part of their inheritance, they would receive land. When the priest died, this land passed to his widow and/or children, so the Pope of the time decided that this wouldn't do, the church deserved this land and so outlawed the marriage of priests. Thus when the priest died, all of his assets including any land he had inherited would pass to the church.

Preists are married to God, they don't need women.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

rarnes1 wrote: »

Yeah who needs an orgasam when you're rolling with Jesus...

Celibacy is the new sleeping around anyway.:)

Keep your dick in your pants, Father

rarnes1 wrote: »

Yeah but, women actually exist. It's quite the incentive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

I can't resist telling the old joke:

A young seminary was given the task of copying some ancient texts from the Bible by hand. He said to the abbot "Why do we keep copying copies, when we have the original in the vaults? All we are doing is compounding errors."

The abbot thought about it and said he would consult the originals. Off he went, but never came back. The young seminary went to look for him and found him in the vaults, crying pitifully.

"Oh holy father, what's wrong?"

Through his deep sobs the elderly abbot groaned "The word was 'celebrate'"

Totally off topic. Humble apologies mods. Can I get off with ten Hail Marys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

How do you know they get paid less than the minimum wage?

father ted? :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You mention good salary: How much would they be on?
    The basic is fairly low but they get time and a half every Sunday , guaranteed and and double time on Christmas day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Why are priests not allowed to have sex again? Sorry I wasn't paying attention at mass or in religion class well .... ever tbh.
    as said before it's all about keeping the churches assets

I know a man who left the seminary with only a few month's to go.
    Drop out rate is about 50% or so I've heard. For every priest there is one how didn't make it. Our old parish priest told me a story about a lad that dropped out , Iosif Vissarionovich or something , always wondered what happened to him.

Has there been an increase in vocations since money got scarce ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Less than minimum wage for sure! Btw do they pay taxes?

My dad's a priest - and yes, they pay taxes!
    Jesus can't defend people from everything, you know!
    :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

Why do priests have to be celibate by the way?

Is it so the church can take all his belongings once he passes away, thus adding to their astounding wealth? If he had a wife and kids, they'd surely get everything in the will. No wife & kids = lots of $$$$$ for the Vatican.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Quazzie wrote: »

My local priest used to do that, used to be out every saturday night and was often seen in the local nightclub, was also known to have a few house parties in the parochial house, he moved to a different parish last year though. He didn't wear very black priest trousers either, he used to wear black jeans/cords from jack and jones, bench, road etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Is there anything to stop someone working as a priest for, say, 20 years and during that twenty years save like mad and once 20 yrs have passed just quit the priesthood with all the savings, find himself a piece of skirt, move abroad or to another part of Ireland and set up a business, invest in property etc. ?
    javaboy wrote: »
    Sexual frustration?

Indeed.

Imagine the utter frustration of officiating at all those first communions and knowing it's no longer socially acceptable to bags all the hottest lads for yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Theoretically they could have had sex before being a priest...but logistically I'm sure most of them beat their meat just like the rest of us

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Why are priests not allowed to have sex again? Sorry I wasn't paying attention at mass or in religion class well .... ever tbh.
    Overblood wrote: »
    Why do priests have to be celibate by the way?

The only reason Preists can't have sex is because sex is forbidden before marriage and Priests can't marry... as far as I know anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

JC 2K3 wrote: »
    Theoretically, a Catholic priest would never experience an orgasm. (consciously anyway)

It seems so weird and fúcked up when you think about it.

i try not to think about things like that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

i try not to think about things like that :(

Haha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

Theoretically, a Catholic priest would never experience an orgasm. (consciously anyway)

It seems so weird and fúcked up when you think about it.

I agree, I mean it doesn't seem human!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

And they say the Catholic Church is anti-womans rights:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

b28 wrote: »
    I agree, I mean it doesn't seem human!
    they could get it out of the way before becoming a priest