Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Anyway, questionable terrifying decision by Wenger to play Silvestre.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Yeah when I saw on the site that Wenger was waiting on Silvestre's fitness, I was worried... and now he's in there... and Rooney and Tevez both start.

Bleedin' hell, this is nerve-wracking

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

My faith in Wenger is vanishing almost as fast as our chances of making the CL final...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I'm pinning my hopes that Wenger has adopted Ali's rope a dope tactic and that we'll get 6 or 7 goals in the last 20 minutes......

I think Wenger's losing the plot altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

I think Wenger's losing the plot altogether.

Yeah, he's sticking to the 4-3-2-1 thing which I have yet to see work....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Very disappointing.

Though Man U weren't all that amazing, we were thoroughly second best and 1-0 is better than we deserve.

Well done Almunia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Fair play to Gibbs after his first half showing. Defence generally did well second half.

What is Wenger playing at with that awful formation and Fabregas in the hole. You waste Fabregas, isolate Adebayor and generally just play shit. It's awful and I will hunt him down and shoot him if he tries it again.

The formation we played tonight destroyed us.
    Fabregas is wasted playing in the hole, he may aswell not have been on the pitch. From the start it should have been

Ade
    Eduardo

Nasri
    Fab
    Song
    Nasri

Song had a great game once again

It was probably the worst performance from Cesc I've ever seen.

If Wenger plays him there again in the second leg, then...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Frisbee wrote: »

Ade
    Eduardo

Nasri
    Fab
    Song
    Nasri

Nasri is good, but he isn't that good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

It was probably the worst performance from Cesc I've ever seen.

If Wenger plays him there again in the second leg, then...

I thought cesc was pretty good. I thought Diaby was fairly awful and was raging when he took Theo off and put Diaby on the left. The game changed when he brought Bendtner on, even though he was muck. The players prefer to play 4-4-2. Probably because that's the formation we play domestically. SUPRISINGLY. Anyway, hopefully Wenger will have Ade/Edu/VP up top in the return leg. I'd give my left testicle to have Arshavin allegible. :(

Frisbee wrote: »
    The formation we played tonight destroyed us.
    Fabregas is wasted playing in the hole, he may aswell not have been on the pitch. From the start it should have been

Ade
    Eduardo

Nasri
    Fab
    Song
    Nasri

Song had a great game once again

+1 on song.

So clone Nasri for the second leg? :D
    To be honest it would be worth a go considering Diaby was so rubbish. why the hell was a man who left gibbs absolutely exposed tonight left on 94 minutes? imagine we could be heading out of europe again over 1 bloody player!! Last year it was senderos, 04 and 06 Lehmann.
    Funnily enough i think we still have a great chance. We will score at the emirates but wenger MUST get it right!!

If we start the return leg with anything other than a 4-4-2, I will be extremely peeved.

We simply do not have enough good midfielders for a 4-5-1.

GuanYin wrote: »

He is though......:D

My mind boggles at how anyone could have been impressed with Cesc tonight. Passing, tackling, tracking, all terrible.

Cesc was very poor. Not good to see.

It looked like everyone didn't know where they were meant to be......Every time we went forward everything stopped instead of moving forward.

It wasn't a great Arsenal performance but 1-0 was a great result based on it.

United to score early next week then we'll score 3 or 4.......anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

Disappointed we couldnt get Walcott into the game at all tonight and in the end i think we have to settle with the result we got as we didnt really look like scoring. Maybe switching Walcott and Diaby could have proved more successful but it wasnt to be.

When i saw the starting the line-up which was the one i called i was pretty happy with it but didnt want to see Fabregas ahead of Nasri like everyone esle here.

I thought Diaby could do a decent job for us on the left hand side but he didnt and seems to be finding it very hard to get going in games and tonight was continously drifting inside and exposing Gibbs who imo had an outstanding 90minutes considering the players he was up against and the lack of protection.

Silvestre who seems to be getting slated continously here and in the match thread also played well tonight imo.

Finally i cant understand how anyone would think that wenger would play 4-4-2 away to utd with no RVP in the squad. Eduardo was never going to start that game after not seeing him for the past few weeks on the field.

Cesc really did have a bad day at the office and i know adebayor was isolated but when you want your striker to hold the ball up untill support arrives he failed on almost every occasion to do that so that was also a disappointment for me.

In the end 1-0 and we're far from out of this tie, next week at home 4-4-2 and hopefully we can score early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

Lads, reading the posts. Are ye mental. Fantastic result. this isnt a league game, this is a 2 match knockout. were well in it. Formation will change in emerates. After watching Barca chelsea last night, were playing the top team with all their top players fit. We could have being 3 nill down. Thanks to almunia, and even sylvestre played well. We need clichy back. and, i question diabys contribution tonight. Song was my man of the match. Toure up there as well. things will open up in emirates. if we can score one and not conceed were still in there. i watched it with fellow supporters in the west, i said after 20 mins, ill take 1 nil and they all agreed. u look at uniteds team tonight, they put on carrick, the scots man and the brazilian to basically stop Cesc. Evra didnt pass half way line...to stop Walcott. Were well in this lads. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭itsjaybud

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Guys got a notification to join the Arsenal group earlier, can't find the link though, anyone have it tks.

Private messages, then notifications thats where my invite was anyway,

then the link there should bring you to the group and top right handside click join this group!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

itsjaybud wrote: »
    Private messages, then notifications thats where my invite was anyway,

then the link there should bring you to the group and top right handside click join this group!!:)

tks mate, found it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Disappointed with not getting an away goal cause i can't see us not conceding at home. But from how the game went 1-0 isn't too bad, Almunia was superb in keeping us in it. Also agree on Song being great again.

For the return leg we have to go back to 442 with Fabregas back where he should be and Eduardo or Van Persie up top with Ade.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    tks mate, found it :)

For reference:

1st rule of Arsenal club is, we do not ta.....

....ah ya know where I'm going with it.....Don't forget to show your appreciation of Diouf.

GuanYin wrote: »

My bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Song is turning into a top quality player.

I did not see that coming

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Crap performance but a good result.

Still to play for but if Arsenal and Wenger perform like that again then its curtains.

Diaby is awful, just awful. Too many average players in the team tonight. Thing is we don't have the quality to replace them.
    The team needs more energy and craft.

I suppose we do have 4th!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,475 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I think Arshavin really makes a massive difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

playa3 wrote: »

For the return leg we have to go back to 442 with Fabregas back where he should be and Eduardo or Van Persie up top with Ade.

Adebayor done nothing last night to make me think he deserves a place in the starting line up for the second leg. I do agree with Eduardo or Van Persie having to start though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

We're really fortunate still to be in this. My faith in Le boss is at an all time low at the moment, in our 2 biggest games this season he has picked the wrong team, and not bothered his a*se to change it until its too late. The midfield was non existant, for far too long. Was Walcott even playing??? So frustrating.

Next week we HAVE to start with 2 strikers, and they have to be playing up front Arsene, not on the right wing (as Bendy was) or on the left. We've nothing left to play for except this trophy, so why not just go all out?