Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cashiers not putting change in your hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

What annoys me is the way the put the receipt under the notes/change. I just bought a flippin Icecream/can of coke/20 Marlboros. What the hell makes you think I want a receipt for that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

liah wrote: »
    I just don't like it when they hand me my receipt, bills, and change all in one big handful.

Then I have to sit there like an idiot trying to put everything in the correct compartment in my purse, probably drives the people behind me mental.

no, then you have to take a few steps to the left or right before you start putting your change away. Women really need to learn the joys of just shoving your money into a pocket and walking away from the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

This absolutely wreaks my head. If I put the money in your hand when you held it out, you put the feckin change back in mine!!!!

*killing spree*

Also I do just shove a load of coins in various pockets about my person. The result is that all the money in my pockets starts pulling my trousers down, running for anything is pretty much out of the question as it will look like im leaking money, and of course, I forget which feckin pockets I have what in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

no, then you have to take a few steps to the left or right before you start putting your change away. Women really need to learn the joys of just shoving your money into a pocket and walking away from the counter.

I usually move around to where I put stuff in my shopping bag, but even then it's an added amount of time that is really irritating.

I hate money in my pocket. It's fine if you're a bloke and have loose fitting jeans but it's a hassle to get it in and out of tight or fitted jeans, plus the bulges are hideous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

In Aldi at the weekend the cashier tried to drop my change into my hand. Thing was, he wasn't looking anywhere near me and dropped the change all over the floor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Berty wrote: »
    Does this drive you mental?

Yes, I hate it. Especially so if I have my hand out there the recieve the money and they just plonk it on the counter.

When I was working in Dunnes, I never once did the money on the counter thing. It's just plain rude imo.

I did have a bottle of hand sanitizer I'd use, after a long day of touching money though. I hate the smell of coins your hands would get.
    Berty wrote: »
    I know in other countries(like Latvia) you NEVER hand them the money and they NEVER hand you your change. Their is a little plate or bowl and you put your money in and they put your change in it.

It's pretty much like that in Japan too. They have a money tray that you put the money on and then hand it to the person behind the counter, and they do the same in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I worked in a bookstore during college. Counter is fine for me; the amount of unhygienic people out there is really something. Sweaty hands, clammy bank notes, dirty coins. Eww.
    In Japan you put your money into a little tray, hand it to the teller, who puts your change on the tray and hands it back to you. No skin on skin contact. Thank you!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,673 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I like to rub my fingers against theirs as they drop the change into my hands. Sometimes I lick my lips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

Oh it wrecks my head. Especially if:
    The cashier plonks the cash on the counter and looks to the next customer while u pathetically try and scoop up the coins with your hand while trying to hold bought items.
    Coins flat on a surface can be a bu.gger to pick up.
    I used 2 work at a till (damn recession) and always put money in customers hand notes first then coins.
    Its just decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,177 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Darkbloom wrote: »
    No.

Nothing else to add...................:rolleyes:
    11811 wrote: »
    In quite a few countries its considered impolite to place money in the person's hands, on the counter i think is fine,(dosn't bother me either way tbh) its open, you see how much your giving/getting.

We are not in those few countries though.

People mentioned about cutomers being dirty. What about the rest of us who are clean or smell clean, neat and polite. Why dump our change all over the counter?

Makes you think though about smelly and dirty people handling money. My €50's are crisp and new looking(snob) but the €5 note looks like it has had many "adventures". :D *Shudders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

realcam wrote: »
    What annoys me is the way the put the receipt under the notes/change. I just bought a flippin Icecream/can of coke/20 Marlboros. What the hell makes you think I want a receipt for that?

Its company policy in most places. I used 2 find when i didnt give a receipt people got really "Eh can i have my receipt?!". You're entitled to it. Annoying yes, but necessary in the "ill sue you" mentality in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I don't use cash so avoid this whole hornets nest altogether. :)

Ruu wrote: »
    I don't use cash so avoid this whole hornets nest altogether. :)

What if you're buying something for less than €5, most shops don't accept cards if you don't spend a minimum of €5/€10

OP:

No this doesn't bother me unless they slam it on the counter (which happened once before)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

COW NUTS!!! Probably a vet then, surely??? And one with massive pockets, eh???

Ah the bould bag of Erin. I used to eat some of them as a kid.

Really you're grand if it's nuts but if it's meal it's rotten cos it's all sticky.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

We were always told not to when I worked as a cashier, hygiene reasons.
    I always put it into their hands though. One day a local man threw the money at me though, I threw it back, was absolutely hilarious. He had no problem with me having to bend down and pick it up but it was a big deal when he had to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Rabies wrote: »
    Courtesy.
    No, it's being anal. It's not something that ever bothered me anyway. Once they give me the right change i don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Serena08

I Agree wit OP this does my head in I just find it so damn rude:mad: what happened to treating people with a little respect for god sake :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

I hate when they do that! especially if theres alot of change - it can take a while to pick up a dozen coins lying flat on a counter!

Also hate when they try to drop it in your hand (from a few inches above) without touching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Drives me nuts. If I place my money into the cashier's open hand I expect the same in return when getting my change. Not to have him/her chatting away to their mate on the next till and firing the change down on the counter. Also cashiers that give me a vacant stare when I say hello to them. There's nothing wrong with small pleasantries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

I always place a customer's change on the counter, so they can count it as they put it back into their purse/wallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,484 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I hate when they do it..
    So I sneakily pick at my hole and go back in and order something useless and hand them the money with that hand. Servers em right :pac:

it annoys me anyway.. like in fairness, if ya get 5 coins back on a flat counter, it can be awkward to pick them all up.

next time it happens, im gonna go back and glue a euro coin to the counter.. then everytime she does it, the customer is gonna try nd pick....

ya see where i'm going with this.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i put the money into peoples hands, but the odd person actually refuses it.

i put the money into peoples ahnds, but the odd person actually refuses it.

Keep it.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i meant they refuse to take it into their hands :rolleyes:

And I meant:

"Well If you dont want it then I will have it"

or

Dump it in the charity box's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

As a mechanic sometimes my hands will be less than perfect.

In those cases i will place the money on the counter and expect the same when getting change.

Otherwise it should be handed to ya. The germ theory is just nonsense. Who in their right mind would not scrub their hands after handling money all day?

As kids there was a dwarf/pygmy/little person (delete as appropriate) who had kinda stumpy fingers and virtually no nails. We used to always put the money on the counter for laughs. In the end she got a slot cut in the edge of the counter so she could sweep the money off into her other hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I'm a cashier, I've become skilled at handing back change without touching the person's hand but I don't dump it on the counter unless I'm holding out my hand for quite a while and the customer is too busy talking on the phone to take it from me. I do lash out the receipt notes and coins together though because it's so much faster, but I'll put the receipt in the customer's shopping bag if they want me to..it's dodgy to do that without asking because some people want to store receipts in their own handbags.. hard to please everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I hate it when it's loads of coins! cos I'm crap at picking up coins off flat surfaces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So why would a cashier want to touch a nose-picking, arse (and worse) scratching hand when giving someone their change?:eek:

That's what I thought straight away too - how many times have you been washing your hands in a public toilet and seen the random, splashy, nose-picking, arse-miner bypass the sinks......?

- Cashiers, ye should avoid hand-to-hand contact with the public at large as a strict rule.

In between times I'd advise ye to rest your hands in a bucket containing a domestos, milton, dettol and strychnine solution.