Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cashiers not putting change in your hands

• 28-04-2009 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭

Does this drive you mental?

You are in a shop and you hand the cashier €10 to pay for something and instead of putting the change into your open hand then purposefully put it on the counter.

If we could only know in advance their intentions then we could have some plan ready to piss them off as well.

I know in other countries(like Latvia) you NEVER hand them the money and they NEVER hand you your change. Their is a little plate or bowl and you put your money in and they put your change in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

What?

I put my money on the counter when paying. It's more open and less like you're trying to hide something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Robxxx7

have to say it is one of my pet hates ..... its courteous to put the money back in your hand if you put the money in their hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Them Latvians know how to do things. We pale in comparison to their advancement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Depends on the hotness and gender of the cashier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah, I kinda find it funny when I put my hand out for the change and they just ignore it and put the money on the counter.

What do they think I'm doing, checking to see if it's raining or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

So why would a cashier want to touch a nose-picking, arse (and worse) scratching hand when giving someone their change?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Scien wrote: »
    Counter is fine with me. I dont want to make any contact with some strangers grubby hands.

I have to say I'd be more worried about where the money has been and how grubby it is. People hide money in strange places....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

So you're sitting at your till all smiley and happy going about doing your job.

The queue is long and you happen to notice a guy having a good auld rummage in his pockets while he's waiting for you to serve him. His hands stay down there a hell of a lot longer than they should, and if you don't concentrate on your work you're going to short change someone.

As he approaches, his hands finally come out of his pocket..ewww, don't touch me. Change on counter please, and i sure as hell won't be touching you!

In a perfect world everyone washes. It's not a perfect. Wont be too far down the line i'd say when people on tills will be asked to wear gloves to stop the spread of germs. All it will take is one case of "man, i got sick from handleing all that money at work".

Far fetched? possibly. But who knows what's next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I always leave my money on the counter while they price all the stuff and i'm always had the money put in my hand and i dont think it would be much of an inconvienience to pick up money off the counter.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So why would a cashier want to touch a nose-picking, arse (and worse) scratching hand when giving someone their change?:eek:

You don't have to shake hands with them! If it's coins they can drop them into your hand without touching you at all. If it's notes they can hold one end, and hand it to you, you take one end and they let go, no touching involved there either.

If it's Notes & Coins... well, you should just count yourself lucky to have so much disposable income in these times of R*****N!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Counter is fine with me. I dont want to make any contact with some strangers grubby hands.

Money.. The cleanest thing on earth.

Eh... no.

If I put it in their hand, I expect the same back.
    Courtesy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

themadchef wrote: »
    So you're sitting at your till all smiley and happy going about doing your job.

The queue is long and you happen to notice a guy having a good auld rummage in his pockets while he's waiting for you to serve him. His hands stay down there a hell of a lot longer than they should, and if you don't concentrate on your work you're going to short change someone.

As he approaches, his hands finally come out of his pocket..ewww, don't touch me. Change on counter please, and i sure as hell won't be touching you!

In a perfect world everyone washes. It's not a perfect. Wont be too far down the line i'd say when people on tills will be asked to wear gloves to stop the spread of germs. All it will take is one case of "man, i got sick from handleing all that money at work".

Far fetched? possibly. But who knows what's next.

Is the dude wearing track suit bottems with the bottems tucked in ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Yeah I think what the OP is saying is that 90% of the time the cashier put out there hand and you give them the money into their hand.

Than when time comes to give back the change they ignore your outstretched hand and place it on the counter. Now not only is this annoying in an ignorant kind of way they are also holding up the queue behind you as it takes longer to scrape the cash of the counter than it does when put in your hand.

If they didn't want to touch your hand why have theirs out in the first place?
    Also they are dealing with cash their hands are going to be full of germs anyway.
    Added to that people are way to concerned about germs anyway cos 95% of people have decent hygiene and by trying to avoid all germs you only put yourself at more risk of being sick in any event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Wasn't there a thread about this the other week where people got annoyed because the cashier DID put the money in their hands? Consider it an invasion of personal space something.

Cashiers can't win. Glad I'm not one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

I personally give a person their change into their hand if they have the courtesy to give me money into my hand. If a person just slaps it onto the counter then thats where i return that persons change to. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

I personally give a person their change into their hand if they have the courtesy to give me money into my hand. If a person just slaps it onto the counter then thats where i return that persons change to. Simple as.

What if they stuff the cash down your top?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I have to say I'd be more worried about where the money has been and how grubby it is. People hide money in strange places....

Switzerland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 rhys2

cant ever remember a time that a cashier returned my change to the counter if i gave it to them in the hand. actually hang on yes barmen do it a lot but then again there the ones with the bad attitudes (fewer and fewer now days!!!

think though if somone did it its the height of ignorance, there are no more germs on somones hands than there is on the money, simple as!!!!!

The worst were the old farmers who came in and just opened their coin filled hands and expected you to wade through the bits straw, bolts, cow nuts and assorted muck to find €7.20.

COW NUTS!!! Probably a vet then, surely??? And one with massive pockets, eh???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I just don't like it when they hand me my receipt, bills, and change all in one big handful.

Then I have to sit there like an idiot trying to put everything in the correct compartment in my purse, probably drives the people behind me mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

liah wrote: »
    I just don't like it when they hand me my receipt, bills, and change all in one big handful.

Actually, I prefer that. I got one hand and it's big enough for more than one thing.

But I also can't believe I've thought about this in this level of detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

I was in a shop in the states that had a chute for change, notes left on the counter. I laughed at the novelty, she laughed at me laughing at the novelty, put on me best Irish accent and said "jaysus, that's mad".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

Berty wrote: »

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

This is the norm in Germanland as well. Hard to get used to, but makes a lot more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

In quite a few countries its considered impolite to place money in the person's hands, on the counter i think is fine,(dosn't bother me either way tbh) its open, you see how much your giving/getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

What's worse is when they put a load of change on the counter and while you're trying to pick it all up they go ahead and start serving the person behind you, talk about rude.

Beef nuts: http://www.awennis.ie/Images/Products/e318.jpg

I always put out my hand for change its a right pain gathering up change from the counter when in a rush or holding shopping in your other hand etc. I put my hand well in over the counter so they dont have much choice but almost everybody puts change in my hand anyway and I always hand change to the attendant. I actually thought it would be considered rude if I put the money on the counter for the attendant to pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭Loomis

I worked in a very busy 24hr garage for 2 yrs when i was in college and can totally understand the cashier not putting it in your hand.

Some people are just filthy and are devoid of all standards of personal hygiene.
    The worst were the old farmers who came in and just opened their coin filled hands and expected you to wade through the bits straw, bolts, cow nuts and assorted muck to find €7.20.

Again, counter is fine with me.

If they're that visibly manky that you can identify them and avoid putting money in their hand then fine. But then you must be able to notice the people who aren't unwashed miscreants. So put it in their hand with some manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

What annoys me is the way the put the receipt under the notes/change. I just bought a flippin Icecream/can of coke/20 Marlboros. What the hell makes you think I want a receipt for that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

liah wrote: »

Then I have to sit there like an idiot trying to put everything in the correct compartment in my purse, probably drives the people behind me mental.

no, then you have to take a few steps to the left or right before you start putting your change away. Women really need to learn the joys of just shoving your money into a pocket and walking away from the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

This absolutely wreaks my head. If I put the money in your hand when you held it out, you put the feckin change back in mine!!!!

*killing spree*

Also I do just shove a load of coins in various pockets about my person. The result is that all the money in my pockets starts pulling my trousers down, running for anything is pretty much out of the question as it will look like im leaking money, and of course, I forget which feckin pockets I have what in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

no, then you have to take a few steps to the left or right before you start putting your change away. Women really need to learn the joys of just shoving your money into a pocket and walking away from the counter.

I usually move around to where I put stuff in my shopping bag, but even then it's an added amount of time that is really irritating.

I hate money in my pocket. It's fine if you're a bloke and have loose fitting jeans but it's a hassle to get it in and out of tight or fitted jeans, plus the bulges are hideous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

In Aldi at the weekend the cashier tried to drop my change into my hand. Thing was, he wasn't looking anywhere near me and dropped the change all over the floor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Yes, I hate it. Especially so if I have my hand out there the recieve the money and they just plonk it on the counter.

When I was working in Dunnes, I never once did the money on the counter thing. It's just plain rude imo.

I did have a bottle of hand sanitizer I'd use, after a long day of touching money though. I hate the smell of coins your hands would get.
    I know in other countries(like Latvia) you NEVER hand them the money and they NEVER hand you your change. Their is a little plate or bowl and you put your money in and they put your change in it.

It's pretty much like that in Japan too. They have a money tray that you put the money on and then hand it to the person behind the counter, and they do the same in return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

I worked in a bookstore during college. Counter is fine for me; the amount of unhygienic people out there is really something. Sweaty hands, clammy bank notes, dirty coins. Eww.
    In Japan you put your money into a little tray, hand it to the teller, who puts your change on the tray and hands it back to you. No skin on skin contact. Thank you!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I like to rub my fingers against theirs as they drop the change into my hands. Sometimes I lick my lips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

Oh it wrecks my head. Especially if:
    The cashier plonks the cash on the counter and looks to the next customer while u pathetically try and scoop up the coins with your hand while trying to hold bought items.
    Coins flat on a surface can be a bu.gger to pick up.
    I used 2 work at a till (damn recession) and always put money in customers hand notes first then coins.
    Its just decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Darkbloom wrote: »
    No.

Nothing else to add...................:rolleyes:
    11811 wrote: »
    In quite a few countries its considered impolite to place money in the person's hands, on the counter i think is fine,(dosn't bother me either way tbh) its open, you see how much your giving/getting.

We are not in those few countries though.

People mentioned about cutomers being dirty. What about the rest of us who are clean or smell clean, neat and polite. Why dump our change all over the counter?

Makes you think though about smelly and dirty people handling money. My €50's are crisp and new looking(snob) but the €5 note looks like it has had many "adventures". :D *Shudders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭naasface

realcam wrote: »
    What annoys me is the way the put the receipt under the notes/change. I just bought a flippin Icecream/can of coke/20 Marlboros. What the hell makes you think I want a receipt for that?

Its company policy in most places. I used 2 find when i didnt give a receipt people got really "Eh can i have my receipt?!". You're entitled to it. Annoying yes, but necessary in the "ill sue you" mentality in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I don't use cash so avoid this whole hornets nest altogether. :)

Ruu wrote: »
    I don't use cash so avoid this whole hornets nest altogether. :)

What if you're buying something for less than €5, most shops don't accept cards if you don't spend a minimum of €5/€10

OP:

No this doesn't bother me unless they slam it on the counter (which happened once before)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Ah the bould bag of Erin. I used to eat some of them as a kid.

Really you're grand if it's nuts but if it's meal it's rotten cos it's all sticky.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

We were always told not to when I worked as a cashier, hygiene reasons.
    I always put it into their hands though. One day a local man threw the money at me though, I threw it back, was absolutely hilarious. He had no problem with me having to bend down and pick it up but it was a big deal when he had to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Rabies wrote: »
    Courtesy.
    No, it's being anal. It's not something that ever bothered me anyway. Once they give me the right change i don't mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Serena08

I Agree wit OP this does my head in I just find it so damn rude:mad: what happened to treating people with a little respect for god sake :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭skywalker_208

I hate when they do that! especially if theres alot of change - it can take a while to pick up a dozen coins lying flat on a counter!

Also hate when they try to drop it in your hand (from a few inches above) without touching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Drives me nuts. If I place my money into the cashier's open hand I expect the same in return when getting my change. Not to have him/her chatting away to their mate on the next till and firing the change down on the counter. Also cashiers that give me a vacant stare when I say hello to them. There's nothing wrong with small pleasantries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭Amy33

I always place a customer's change on the counter, so they can count it as they put it back into their purse/wallet.