When is the Queen coming to Eire??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

I know we've our fair share of problems with certain taxes but can you imagine being british in a recession and knowing your paying tax into that sh1te, lol

"That ****e" attracts millions of tourists to the UK each year. One of several things, but I live in London, and you should see the amount of tourists that'll trek out to Buckingham Palace and pay money for all kinds of crap memorabilia.

I believe, though I may be wrong, that the queen also pays income tax.

I'd have a bigger problem with the current Pope or Thatcher tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭wylo

Darkbloom wrote: »
    "That ****e" attracts millions of tourists to the UK each year. One of several things, but I live in London, and you should see the amount of tourists that'll trek out to Buckingham Palace and pay money for all kinds of crap memorabilia.

I believe, though I may be wrong, that the queen also pays income tax.
    Does british royalty actually generate a profit from tourism etc? If so fair enough, no harm done,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

You'd think we'd have finally moved on from all that 800 years bullshit, but no the visit of an elderly woman apparently drives most people into frothing frenzy.

It's not like she'd be coming over to give a speach along the lines of "Look, this independance thing was a bit of a giggle, but funs over, back in the union with ya"
    I'd settle for Hey, I know my great grandmother was a complete cuntbag, but sorry about her overseeing the deaths of over 1 million Irish people under her reign. We really should have left you with the untainted crops.

luckylucky wrote: »
    It's all in the context. For me I'd call it a very minor pet hate. I mean if you are speaking English to someone even a Spanish person you don't just start calling Spain Espana so why do it when speaking to an Irish person, it just doesn't sound right for one thing. I dunno it's like sort of a way for a certain British element to differentiate between N.I and the Republic, but anyway no realllllll big deal I suppose.

Anyway it's not half as bad as someone refering to Britain as the mainland
    Do none of you have any money?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_euro_coins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Before reading this thread I had never heard of someone being offended by Ireland being called Eire

Its not so much offensive as stupid. Even if the only name for Ireland ( in Irish) was Eire a person with an IQ greater than 40 should use Ireland in English. However Ireland actually has an offical name in English, The Republic of Ireland - or Ireland for short.

The Queen can no more go to Eire, then she can go to Roma, Or Deutsland, or La Republic De Francais, or Espana. In English, all that sounds stupid.

As stupid as it is English person to make this mistake, the OP - who is presumably Irish - must have had consanguineous parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭englander

Yeah right page 5... and counting and no-one gives a 'shoite' about the Queen ?!
    To quote a member of the Royle family....'MY ARSE'

I think over here (Eire ! - that actually annoys me too) more people have an interest in the Queeen and Royal Family than over in the UK.

At least Queeny contributes 'something' unlike your unelected foreign president.
    What does your president do exactly ? (The last I saw she had a new hair-do and frock and was tw@atting about China with her hubbie 'generating trade' - she's done a good job there then!)
    How much does she get for doing whatever she does ?
    And what is the unemployment rate at the moment ?

I think her role needs to be looked at before criticising elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

englander wrote: »
    Yeah right page 5... and counting and no-one gives a 'shoite' about the Queen ?!

I think over here (Eire ! - that actually annoys me too) more people have an interest in the Queeen and Royal Family than over in the UK.

At least Queeny contributes 'something' unlike your unelected foreign president.
    What does your president do exactly ? (The last I saw she had a new hair-do and frock and was tw@atting about China with her hubbie 'generating trade' - she's done a good job there then!)
    How much does she get for doing whatever she does ?
    And what is the unemployment rate at the moment ?

Was that a troll post or are you really that upset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Darkbloom

wylo wrote: »
    Does british royalty actually generate a profit from tourism etc? If so fair enough, no harm done,

I'm not too sure. According to this (four year-old!) article they cost the UK £37m a year.
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4119194.stm

This site says the value of tourism to the UK economy is £86.bn
    http://www.tourismtrade.org.uk/MarketIntelligenceResearch/KeyTourismFacts.asp

There's no real way of knowing how many people came with the intent of visiting the royal family/related sites, but even if only 1% did, that would still turn a profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭markok84

your unelected foreign president....

just because she's from Belfast she's foreign is that it? She holds an Irish passport ergo she's Irish get over it. She's our head of state, she can do as she pleases and I think she does a damn fine job of it too. I'd rather her represent us abroad than that fat mess Clowen, or Queeny for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

The English had a Republican tradition that predated the more famous French and American versions by 150 years, it was called the Commonwealth and led by that stern gentleman and mass murderer, Oliver Cromwell.
    Olly may have ran amuk in Ireland killing all non conforming Irish and pro royal people that he encountered but he also did the same in England causing a hatred for republicanism which lasts to this day.
    While we Irish have no regard for the royal political system it is not the case in England where there is great regard for the institution among the ordinary people.
    Unfortunately our experience of political transition to a republic differs so fundamentally from the English one that it has become a source of great hatred, distrust and fear between the two islands and will need a lot of patience, contact and dialogue to sort out.
    We can learn from them and they can learn from us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Agreed.
    Don't know about that - can't say I'd hear people talking about the royal family other than extremely occasionally. There's possibly more interest in hating them here, but then again, lots of British people have an interest in hating them. I personally couldn't give a toss about them - genuinely.
    At least Queeny contributes 'something'
    What?

And I disagree people here don't have a "right" to criticise her based on the fact the Irish president doesn't do much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd like to see her come just to see people like you flip out about it.

Yep -- stupid posts like those make me want to hand write her a letter and deliver it personally !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,229 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

ScumLord wrote: »
    I'd like to see her come just to see people like you flip out about it.

So you'd support a sectarian, undemocratic, out-dated and inbred institution just to wind up some people?

Jesus, there really are some dinosaurs in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Is it really that big a deal for many of you?
    Jesus, build a bridge and get over it!
    How is it more of an outdated institution than our current system? The only difference is we vote in our outdated tradition, and they keep theirs in the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

So you'd support a sectarian, undemocratic, out-dated and inbred institution just to wind up some people?

Jesus, there really are some dinosaurs in this country.
    Where did anyone say they'd "support" it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭JayeL

Eire annoys me no end, it's a prime example of that dozy lip-service Gaelgóirism that pervades so much of Irish life. We speak English here, lads. Sorry to have to break it to ye.

And as for QE2 visiting, while it could be as cathartic at God Save Herself in Croker, it'd be hijacked by the 800 years brigade, in a melee of discarded Bud cans with a chorus of the Wolfe Tones, 2Pac and Scooter.

I'm not sure we're ready anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

It'll be a great occasion for the Gardai to recoup all their recent lost overtime to patrol this visit.
    Listen, the country is nearly broke and yet we are to foot a gigantic bill for a contentious visit by a foreign head of state?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

S.I.R wrote: »
    *loads his steyre *

When you can't even spell it..I don't think anyone is worried.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

phasers wrote: »
    I invited her, I got out the fancy tea towels and all. Bitch never came :(

As long as you did, that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

Do I hear people talking about me? Sure don't I live here already - had enough of those england t*ssers.

I have me a lovely little kingdom called Lein-ster now. My corgis love running about that big hill where those RTE masts are.

/sorry, couldn't resist the temptation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭ahara

Heard a shinner local elction candidtate on the radio the other day talking about 900 Years. Do I have any takers for rounding it off to an even 1000?

deco05ie wrote: »
    Before reading this thread I had never heard of someone being offended by Ireland being called Eire:confused:
    Well it's a bit of a burden losing a fada ;)

ábhairín fada?

**Hi DB!**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,607 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    Do I hear people talking about me? Sure don't I live here already - had enough of those england t*ssers.

I have me a lovely little kingdom called Lein-ster now. My corgis love running about that big hill where those RTE masts are.

/sorry, couldn't resist the temptation

They're talking about Helen Mirren silly! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭dimejinky99

I think it'd be good for us &act as a cathartic experince. We need to get over it and the people who think otherwise need to then stay out of every third or fourth shop in Dublin 'cos we may have independence as a nation but we sold them the high street as soon as we got independence.
    I'd like to imagine we'd show maturity and dignity were she to visit but we wouldn't I don't think. She has said one of her lifes great ambitions is unfulfilled and that would be to attend the races here. I'd say welcome her and show the world we're mature enough to do so.

The Queen and the Pope are on stage together a huge charity event.Obviously, they've both done this sort of things many times before, so to make it a little bit more interesting the Queen says to the Pope, "How about a wager? I bet I can make every British person in this crowd go wild with just one little wave of my hand."
    The Pope agrees and the Queen waves her hand. Sure enough, the Royal wave elicits rapturous applause and cheering from all the Brits in the crowd.
    The Pope, not wanting to be outdone by smeone wearing a worse frock than him, says to the Queen, "That was impressive. How about another wager? I bet I can make every Irish person in this crowd go crazy with a nod of my head. But it won't just last for a minute. This joy will last for months and be talked about for years."
    The Queen is sceptical. "One nod of your head? Show me."
    So the Pope head-butts her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭polishpaddy

id love to punch her in the stomach reallllly hard... dirty old ****.
    :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

ahara wrote: »
    Heard a shinner local elction candidtate on the radio the other day talking about 900 Years. Do I have any takers for rounding it off to an even 1000?

LOL somebody needs to explain to them that the Normans were French and ordered in by the Pope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Elizabeth aka Lizzy will be here when thin lizzy reform(reuters)

pigs fly(garda go on strike lol)

seriously though ffs I wish we could just accept it if she wants to visit,it would be a sign of our maturity as a 26 county state&recognition that the Island of Ireland voted overwhelmingly for the good friday agreement,

give us the power to know what we have to accept and the knowledge to know what we cannot change(for now)

Peace Rocks!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

don't really care either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Heads of State visit each other all the time, even between countries that don't particuarly get along too well. Ireland and the UK get on very well together though but unfortunately Ireland would just shame itself by having a riot of some description if the figurehead from their nearest neighbour even contemplated visiting for a quick cup of tea in the Phoenix Park. Security for such a visit really wouldn't be much of an issue as she'd just hop on a helicopter and land in the park, cup of tea, couple of pictures shaking hands with a few people and straight back out again.

O'Connell Street would no doubt get trashed at the same time though by a bunch of idiots.