Day of reckoning for the nightclubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

darkman2 wrote: »
    It begins.....

?

It began over a year ago mate. Came to the fore with TR Group in November, and continues at local level.

http://www.rte.ie/business/2008/1128/thomasread.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

You're very depressing this lovely Easter Sunday morning Darkman, did someone piss in your Cornflakes or something? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

If they close (but I don't think they will), will they be a great loss to society and life.
    Like do they hold together the social fabric of an area - i think Not!

Silly admission and drink prices.
    Surly staff.
    Wanker Bouncers.
    Smell of wee in the jacks and flatulance in the common areas.
    Sticky Carpets.
    Gee bags.
    Poxy DJ's.
    Drug Pushers.
    Violent punters.

Whats to miss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Must be great, opening up your swanky nightclub, only for some local knuckle-dragger to threaten you with a sticky end if you don't allow him to use the place as a drugs hyper-market.

Too much like hard work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

There's still a lot of denial out there. You know, people who have lost their jobs but still go out clubbing using their credit card to pay for their night.

I know a lot of people who think they're characters out of sex and the city living in some sort of rich town, but the reality is Ireland has a smaller economy than Southampton in the UK. We were never rich. We just thought we were because we had near unlimited access to credit.

I don't think the recession will mean its the end of days for Ireland, but I do think we have decades of recession ahead of us.

Unless pubs and clubs dramatically drop their prices, they are going to close.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

That's so Irish - don't complain. Be happy to be ripped off:rolleyes:

If your willing to pay the prices how can you complain?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,289 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

GiftofGab wrote: »
    Did you get laid???? How much did she cost???

I couldnt remember my own name let alone how much it cost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Silly admission and drink prices.
    Surly staff.
    Wanker Bouncers.
    Smell of wee in the jacks and flatulance in the common areas.
    Sticky Carpets.
    Gee bags.
    Poxy DJ's.
    Drug Pushers.
    Violent punters.

Copper Faced Jacks?

Mr.S wrote: »
    Nightclub's during the week = cheap prices.

Nightclub's during the weekend = raped.

Anally!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I think that a few years ago, Listowel had 62 pubs - absolutely un-feckin-believable!:pac: I think that they're down to about half that figure now, and it's still absolutely un-feckin-believable for a population of 4000+ in the town!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 861 ✭✭✭KeyLimePie

What I can't wait is for the entrance fees to be screwed :\
    In mala it's ten euro to get into the only nightclub in town, and it's a dingy hole to be honest, where was if I were to go to cork on a saturday it'd be the same thing, for a better club, and i'd get a free bottle out of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭Placid_Casual

The OP's not really a glass half-full kind of person, is he?

Has he ever been to anywhere in South America, Africa or Asia...there's plenty of poverty-stricken countries in those areas that have thriving nightlife scenes.
    People will always like to go out and have fun and wealth doesn't always have to have a whole lot to do with it. Have a few drinks at home on the cheap, get in somewhere early before they start charging...a great night out can be had without it costing an arm and leg. Night clubs have to be seen for what they're supposed to be in the first place, somewhere to go and meet people, have a dance and a bit of craic. Not throwing money around or getting ****-faced.
    Some pubs and nightclubs will close, no doubt, but many will remain. Those that do will be the ones that adapt to the changing situation, just like their clientele will have to.

As to going back to the '40s and people starving...on what basis can you assume that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nightclubs have for more then 15 years ripped off gullible and pissed young people after a night in the pub and prompted and abetted a sub culture of violent drunkeness that has turned all cities in this country into an open sewer after midnight, the results of which can still be seen on the Monday morning commute frequently.

But, alas, they are in trouble and the recession will surely see the closure of most of these clubs in the coming years as their clientel base shrinks as more and more young people and graduates face the dole queue with an uncertain future.

Do you still spend as much as you did in nightclubs? Has the recession hit the nightclub you frequently would go to yet? Have you noticed a drop off in numbers - perhaps even desperate drink promotions?

Would you be sorry to see most of them go under?

It would be hard to believe most of these clubs will still be around in 3 years time IMO.

Jaysus! And I have the reputation for bring anti-Irish...? There is no justice...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Last Angry Man

And just the minor matter of the reintroduction of collage fees aswell. Though it's game, set and match in terms of unemployment for students. Look at the 500 people, most of them Irish, who queued outside a new McDonalds for hours on end in Co Galway hoping to land one of 50 jobs last week.

And like I say dole payments are going to be slashed with many more cut or means tested in future.

This does not bode well particularly for the nightclubs - the skangers and the students both being hit.

As a matter of interest - how old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Bakers in Limerick is free in and does 2 pints for a fiver and 2 Jd and cokes for a fiver on thursday nights, so long going out at weekends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

AARRRGH wrote: »

I know a lot of people who think they're characters out of sex and the city living in some sort of rich town, but the reality is Ireland has a smaller economy than Southampton in the UK. We were never rich. We just thought we were because we had near unlimited access to credit.

smaller than southampton i find that hard to believe considering ireland's ecomomy is more than twice the size of nevada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

And just the minor matter of the reintroduction of collage fees aswell. Though it's game, set and match in terms of unemployment for students. Look at the 500 people, most of them Irish, who queued outside a new McDonalds for hours on end in Co Galway hoping to land one of 50 jobs last week.

And like I say dole payments are going to be slashed with many more cut or means tested in future.

This does not bode well particularly for the nightclubs - the skangers and the students both being hit.

Firstly the pedant in me has to say it's college not collage, I'm not spending years of my life in a work of art.

More importantly, yes it's all very bad news but nightclub closures would be the least of your worries if you fell into that category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

Haven't been a to club in ages, I have been to an increased number of house parties. But perhaps that's just my cash-strapped social circle (mostly graduates).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i think its important that people still party in the days of ression's....

too right............it's depressing enough right now:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Nightclubs have for more then 15 years ripped off gullible and pissed young people after a night in the pub and prompted and abetted a sub culture of violent drunkeness that has turned all cities in this country into an open sewer after midnight, the results of which can still be seen on the Monday morning commute frequently.

But, alas, they are in trouble and the recession will surely see the closure of most of these clubs in the coming years as their clientel base shrinks as more and more young people and graduates face the dole queue with an uncertain future.

Do you still spend as much as you did in nightclubs? Has the recession hit the nightclub you frequently would go to yet? Have you noticed a drop off in numbers - perhaps even desperate drink promotions?

Would you be sorry to see most of them go under?

It would be hard to believe most of these clubs will still be around in 3 years time IMO.
    okay you don't like dance music get over it, go to gig

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

I'm with Darkman on this.

I can only speak about Galway, but the numbers attending clubs in Galway have dropped dramatically. Galway was never a city with good clubs anyway, but the numbers going to them have changed a lot. The most noticeable change is the decling queue for Central Park (CP's). Most nights there's no queue at all. A few years ago the queue would nearly always have gone down the street and around the corner.

Clubs in Ireland will either have to provide more value for money or drop prices. The former is highly unlikely as club owners in Galway in particular have little or no imagination when it comes to putting on a show.

For the same money on the continent, you would be entertained for the whole night with cheaper prices at the bar for drink too.

Thus, prices will have to come down. And I think they will, apart from the select few in each major town/city around the country. They will get away with it, but the majority will have to change something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

i was at wax a few weeks ago on a friday night and there was literally about 10 people there.

Im not sure if it was just coz there was no big name DJ or the recession but last year i was there a few times and it was completely packed, took about half an hour to get to the toilet to take a piss.

And 7 euro for a vodka and blackcurrant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

We could soon see an entrance discount for the "unwaged"

Just "touch" your national ID card for proof. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

A lack of money will. Im not saying people will not still go to the pub but things are changing in the country. The dole will have to be cut (though if your on the dole and going to nightclubs with a family at home or whatever you really should have a good look at yourself)...all these welfare payments will have to be cut. Those lucky enough to have a job will value it a hell of alot more and think twice about blowing money we have. I use to go to nightclubs but since the recession started caution has become the order of the day for me and alot of other people who would frequently have gone. I know alot of friends who you use to go that have almost lost everything at this stage and are struggling on welfare. This is repeated up and down the country.

Im all up for a laugh and a drinking session in the pub or whatever but, nightclubs, those days are over for me even though im still young. Id rather be cautious. Everyone has to make cuts somewhere. I can live without the nightclub.

Dear god talk about gloom and doom view point, let me guess your first recession? We've been trough tough times before and we still had nightclubs and the like. Yes those that don't knock down their prices will find themselves shutting shop but most places are already starting to alter - alot of the nightclubs down the country have switched to free admission and maybe opted to close during the week and just open thursday to sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

going for a sh*t in a nightclub

- always hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭biggus

Rj's in churchtown used to be mcgowans now only open friday and saturday night. €3 for shots and shorts/bottles and pints €4 .been this way since January and seems to be full both nights free before 11 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,535 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

ztoical wrote: »
    Dear god talk about gloom and doom view point, let me guess your first recession? We've been trough tough times before and we still had nightclubs and the like. Yes those that don't knock down their prices will find themselves shutting shop but most places are already starting to alter - alot of the nightclubs down the country have switched to free admission and maybe opted to close during the week and just open thursday to sunday.

ya, I'd agree, and it makes going out that bit cheaper. I was in the Basement/Murtagh's in Carrick on Shannon last night. The last time I was there was about 6 months ago and it was €10 to get in and it was always DJs they had there. It's been free since around Christmas I think but I haven't been there. When we went in last night - for free - there was a live band playing which was a nice change. And a vodka and white only cost me €5 in comparison to what I paid a few months ago. I have no idea what it was then, but I was shocked to get a €5 note back as change out of €10 instead of a few coins. The taxi drivers have dropped their prices, I used to have to pay €20 to get home, now it's only €15!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Peadar06 wrote: »
    Last night, I went to my first nightclub in maybe two years in Ireland, and saying this I won't be going again. €6 for a Heineken and €17.20 for 2 jagerbombs, Also €15 at the door, :mad::mad: and we are supposed to be in a recession. A joke of a country. In Liverpool a month ago, I got 4 pints and 4 jagerbombs for less than £20:eek::eek:. I think I will going over to the UK more often.

Peter
    sunnyjim wrote: »
    I was in Quinns last week - 2 vodka redbulls and 2 bottles of beer cost 12 euro. 2 beers for a fiver, 2 vodkas and a rebull for 7 quid!

That is why Quinns is busy, and other clubs are doing ****e - they've copped on the good days are over. It's good to see it's doing business if it's dropped its prices. People have started voting with their hard-earned.

EDIT: In my local, 4 bottles of beer would cost me about 20 euro. 4 pints would cost about 18 euro. And that is cheap for a pub! If Quinns can afford to do it, others can. I've started mentioning these prices to the staff at my local, I'm hoping they'll squeez in a few offers!

When was this you were getting these prices in Quinns ?
    http://pintofplain.com/quinns-lounge-210

Was Bertie subsidising the drinks ?

Mr.S wrote: »
    Nightclub's during the week = cheap prices.

Nightclub's during the weekend = raped.

End of the Nitelink's sorta put a dampener on niteclubbin durin the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Everythings great, no recession, people have plenty of money, celebrate, go to nightclubs.

Everythings bad, recession, people have far less money, drown the sorrows, go to nightclubs.

If this thread was about mortgage brokers, it would make more sense.