Is 1500 enough for engagement ring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

I can't believe the amount of money people spend on rings/weddings.

Save it for a saahhh-wish honeymoon and/or something useful. (car, gaff, holidays, weekends away)

I'm not suggesting bare-bones weddings or elastic bands for rings, just a bit of perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭paper cut

Think i've opened a can of worms. I think i'll bring the cost down. GF always says 'size doesn't matter' so i'll hold her to that. Thanks for advice everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

IIRC, the original point of an engagement ring (apart from the obvious), in the auld days when a man was supposed to be the provider, was so that should the husband cancel the wedding or die or whatever, the woman could support herself (presumably by selling the ring). 3 months of the husband-to-be's salary sounds fair enough (presumably this would be enough for one person to live on for 6 months or so).
    paper cut wrote: »
    I've been told (by gf) thats it's normal to pay 3 months salary for a ring

Well you can't blame a girl for chancing her arm! :p

I don't blame her at all :) but i think i'll buy one for max 5-5.5k. I was looking on line for deals. Anyone dealers on line i should avoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

FruitLover wrote: »
    IIRC, the original point of an engagement ring (apart from the obvious), in the auld days when a man was supposed to be the provider, was so that should the husband cancel the wedding or die or whatever, the woman could support herself (presumably by selling the ring). 3 months of the husband-to-be's salary sounds fair enough (presumably this would be enough for one person to live on for 6 months or so).

It could very well be the historical reason (although how did the girl support herself before she got engaged? And why should this support stop if the engagement is off? And what is she ditched him, does she get to keep the ring?) but the 3 salaries stuff is recent invention, not so long ago it was 2 and even 1 :rolleyes:

I don't blame her at all :) but i think i'll buy one for max 5-5.5k. I was looking on line for deals. Anyone dealers on line i should avoid?

When you propose take her on a romantic weekend to Antwerp or Amsterdam, she'll get to choose the ring in a romantic setting and you'll get a good deal... Win win situation!

I think she twigg it if i take her there. I'm going to do the whole ask daddy for approval before hand. If she pick's it i'm in trouble, so it could be solo trip to Antwerp. I belive they have great lap dancing clubs there. Joking....... i might evening try the North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

Neverwhere wrote: »
    TRADITIONALLY that is the rule. When getting engaged you spend 3 months salary.

These days it would seem excessive, that was the TRADITIONAL rule. No one does it anymore as we can see.

Also -- I'd expect that back in the day, three months' salary was quite a bit less than it is now . . . . (Granted, no one was spending the money on flat screen TVs, but you know. :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

herya wrote: »
    Traditional my *** :) The whole diamond industry thrives on putting these thoughts in girls heads :D With the recession and paycuts it will be 5 salaries soon, they can't lose out!

Well you can't blame a girl for chancing her arm! :p

Actually traditionally that was the way it was. Most older people i know have said it to me, especially after I got engaged.

Like the last poster said....'back in the day', three months salary wouldn't have been as much as it is today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Why don't you "propose" first, then ask her to go ring shopping with you, once she's picked out the ring, buy it and then properly propose a few days later in a romantic setting, or whatever.

Seriously, going ring shopping to a lot of girls is a major part of the fun of a wedding, the trying on, picking out the perfect one, etc. etc. It's not "less romantic" which is what some people might think, I think it's more romantic going ring shopping together - what happens if she doesn't like it, it doesn't suit her or doesn't feel comfortable on her finger.

She might be more thrilled to go shopping with ya :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 507 ✭✭✭bobbbb

I've been told (by gf) thats it's normal to pay 3 months salary for a ring....... which works out at approx e9000 for me. Am i mad paying this? as i'm looking around for one at the moment.

Seriously ... Kick that woman to the kerb right now - before its too late.

Engagement rings are like tips. The % has been slowly but surely inflated over the last few years.

10 years ago it was 10%, then 15% and now 20% tip in the USA.

For engagement rings the TRADITIONAL rule was 3 WEEKS salary. Not 3 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭MonicaBing

Yep, my bro spent €1600 on his ring for his ex fiancee, when they broke up he asked for ring back and cant sell it anywhere!

But anyway off topic, that sounds about right i suppose, although it shouldn't depend on the cost, she'll love it anyway pet!
    And whoever's thinking about spending €9000 on a ring? Are ya fecking mad??:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭DARKIZE

Mickah wrote: »
    3 months salary?!!?!? Tell her to go and sh1te.

I heard 2 months. Which means that Brian O'Driscoll is being paid 15k a month. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Emerald Lass

On all the good advice i'll stick to max 6000. Any suggestions on where to buy?

papercut - I know of an excellent jeweller in Dublin. He is a 'proper' trained jeweller - i.e a proper craftsman. he can make any style or design of ring you want. She can get involved in the design process. Would be nice to go in, pick a design, and then when its ready don't let her know, take her out to dinner and pop the question - that way she gets the ring she wants, but will not know when you will actually propose so you can still have a bit of a surprise moment!

of course he also has ready made rings which you can take there and then if you want.

He really is good - can't recommend him highly enough. PM me if you are interested.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Neverwhere wrote: »
    TRADITIONALLY that is the rule. When getting engaged you spend 3 months salary.
    Whose tradition ?
    De Beers ?

Nothing says “I love you” like a superficial and overvalued rock clawed from the guts of the Earth by African slave labour :P
    IIRC, the original point of an engagement ring (apart from the obvious), in the auld days when a man was supposed to be the provider, was so that should the husband cancel the wedding or die or whatever, the woman could support herself (presumably by selling the ring).
    The law on this or the other side of the Atlantic says that it's a promise to marry and if the woman breaks the promise she has to return the ring.

Propose with a cheap and cheerful ring and then together go to a real jeweller to get a unique one made.

regarding generic high street jewellers, there is a huge markup on the wholesale rate, remember this guy http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gerald_Ratner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭MysticalSoul

I just bought a bottle of diet coke, and won a diamond that way last summer, in their win a diamond promotion :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭Kenmare

I would struggle with this.

Part of me would want to make a big investment for the girl of my dreams. (If I was ever contemplating marriage, it would be a girl who I would honestly die for (something rare for me :D:D:D)).

I would want to get her something nice obviously, but this is reasoned out with letting her make a choice. I wouldnt want to spend 5k on a ring just for it to be nice (even though she would say its lovely :rolleyes:;)), and would rather save up 5k and spend it with her.

Personally I think it can become to financial. I would hope that at the end of the day, a girl would love me for being me, not a bigass ring. If we were poor I would be more than happy with a simple wedding, with the priests blessings. If I could afford it, I would give her a lovely wedding.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Kenmare wrote: »

Part of me would want to make a big investment for the girl of my dreams. (If I was ever contemplating marriage, it would be a girl who I would honestly die for (something rare for me :D:D:D)).
    Augmentation ? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Neverwhere

jaaaaaysus!

your all a bunch of grumpy bastards aint ya? lol

myself and this guys girl were only pointing out the tradition...i dont think either of us said we wanted a ring that expensive!

Actually...my engagement ring isnt even real, and i love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

If you guys are really in love why would the ring price matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭cobweb

Highsider wrote: »
    If you guys are really in love why would the ring price matter?

totally agree my e ring cost 9 euro as we were both students, he proposed and we later bought a silver claddagh ring from a stall (my idea) as it was what the ring stood for rather then the price which for me was and is the important thing.

but i would let her choose as she could have her own ideas as to what suits her

good luck with the proposal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 galwayfotogrfr

memaul wrote: »
    Hey there,

Going to be popping the question in a few months time and i'm wondering will i be able to get a nice ring for around the 1500-2000 price range. Any help greatly appreciated.

Yes. Its plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,550 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

Kenmare wrote: »

Not for long more perhaps...

Part of me would want to make a big investment for the girl of my dreams.

You wouldn't be making an investment. Whereas the gold/platinum part of the engagment ring retains value (because gold and platinum are a rare metals) it's but a fraction of the total cost of the ring. The main cost of the ring is the diamond(s) and diamonds aren't worth even a tiny fraction of what you pay for them. The notion that they have intrinsic worth is the result of a highly successful myth propagated by the cartel which controls the worlds diamond business (De Beers) which is aimed at convincing the public that this is the case. In fact diamonds are so plentiful that their real worth is nominal - but try telling that to someone who's fallen for the myth..

Google "have you ever tried to sell a diamond" and read what is in reality, a fascinating story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭MariMel

I was able to pick my own ring......told to get anything i wanted.
    I choose something for €300.....! and a wedding ring for under that too.

This was because I personally couldnt justify to myself spending or even allowing someone to spend more than than on me and I just wouldnt feel comfortable wearing that amount of money on my hand everyday.

But each to their own..... I would rather spend the money on my wedding in a few months so that we can have it paid for before the day.

The notion that they have intrinsic worth is the result of a highly successful myth propagated by the cartel which controls the worlds diamond business (De Beers) which is aimed at convincing the public that this is the case. In fact diamonds are so plentiful that their real worth is nominal - but try telling that to someone who's fallen for the myth..

Google "have you ever tried to sell a diamond" and read what is in reality, a fascinating story...

Fabulous article, thanks for this! I especially love how eternity rings were "invented":
    DeBeers devised the "eternity ring," made up of as many as twenty-five tiny Soviet diamonds, which could be sold to an entirely new market of older married women. The advertising campaign was based on the theme of recaptured love. Again, sentiments were born out of necessity: older American women received a ring of miniature diamonds because of the needs of a South African corporation to accommodate the Soviet Union.

That was fascinating! Another reason to avoid diamonds then I guess :)

herya wrote: »
    Fabulous article, thanks for this! I especially love how eternity rings were "invented":

Fantastic isn't it! There's nothing particularily sinster about it really - DeBeers have been doing the only commercially sensible thing to be done under the circumstances - all the way down the line. Creating a market for your product is done everyday by all sorts of businesses (Think Nivea and Mens cosmetics)

It starts to become uncomfortable though when you see folk being put under (severe) pressure to spend significant portions of their income on something that is intrinsically worthless. Or, as I saw recently on some wedding board or other; a person in the diamond trade suggesting that 3 months wages was a fitting figure for an engagement ring. Shameless..

Here's the e-book by the same author. You already know basic workings of the diamond myth, this goes into it and the surrounding business in a bit more depth. Again, a fascinating read.

The full story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 tinytina

Ah yes. What about the newly created market for 'push presents' i.e. women who pop out babies are meant to get a diamond ring to thank them.

My hubby just wasn't falling for that one :D:)

tinytina wrote: »
    Ah yes. What about the newly created market for 'push presents' i.e. women who pop out babies are meant to get a diamond ring to thank them. My hubby just wasn't falling for that one :D:)

...and you? :)

Interesting move this. The "psychology" behind the creation of the eternity ring market mirrored the psychology used for the creation of the diamond engagement ring market. The diamond acted so as to provide a punctuation mark in the story of ongoing love (the bigger the punctuation mark the better too:)).

Engagement in the beginning of the love story, eternity towards the end. Now child bearing - another key love event. Same m.o. thus.

Do you suppose the De Beers have an eye on the current trend towards partnerships not involving engagement/marriage. It's a huge market: meaning we shouldn't be surprised if a ring is invented to cater for it sometime soon

Watch this space....

I'm reminded of an advertising push by Irish retailers on RTE about 20 years ago. The ad campaign exhorted us to "..get your Easter Presents soon!!"

The family all looked around at each other "....Easter presents what the hell??...."

Creating a market for your product is done everyday by all sorts of businesses (Think Nivea and Mens cosmetics)

Yes I was aware of this one but the diamond thing was marketed so well in the "tradition" aspect...

BTW there is still huge and largely untouched "diamond gifts for men" market :cool: