Do you not care about Rugby?

• 23-03-2009 12:26PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭

Dont know if its just me,but I just couldnt give a sh*t about a rugby,I dont know anything about the game,who plays it,the rules,I have tried to watch it,but I just couldnt be arsed,I can never even remember hearing about Rugby till I was about 18,it was never something played in school,we were all about the GAA,soccer,athletics and the odd bit of table tennis,never anything about rugby,Im not alone,alot of the boys I grew up in the area with would be the same and they're sprots mad,so are you like me,a rugbyaphobe or are you rugby mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I'm rugby mad but fair play to you for not hopping on a bandwagon just because it's rolling by :)

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Rugby, football, GAA, motorsport - I don't care for any sport. OP some folk just don't have any interest in sports. Or just because you may like one doesn't mean you have to like another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Manhog

People get far too sensitive about the bandwagon jumping thing. If more people get into rugby because of the Grand Slam, great. What's the problem, really?

The only instance where it is problematic is where corporate sponsors grab huge numbers of tickets as the game becomes more popular. But then again these sponsorships are what build stadia and develop players through academies.

I have been into rugby basically since birth, but have no problem with people just getting into it now, or because of the Irish team's success.

Rugby, like any sport I believe, should not be exclusive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

I like rugby alright.

Used to play it from about 14through till I was 16 then started rowing.
    Dunno, tis a fun game really I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

I didn't see the Ireland-Wales game. Didn't even now it was on until after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭raptorman

Yea, I hate it when people jump on the bandwagon with these things. The same happens with GAA when a county starts to do well, suddenly everyone wants tickets for games and if you asked them to name three lads on the pitch they wouldnt have a clue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

If Ireland are winning something, I'll watch it. God knows it doesn't often happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

I care passionately about rugby and am over the moon that we won the Grandslam and am looking forward to a good sizeable Irish contingent in the Lions tour.

Each to their own I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I don't even get the rules.

It's just like Gaelic football except that you throw the ball backwards and you can feel each other up on the pitch, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I have always enjoyed watching Ireland compete since the original 5 nations and never mised a game on tv but would not class myself as your typical rugby fan .I also watch some GAA, ,Athletics ,Snooker and other sports but apart from Soccer would not be die hard fan of the those either .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Agree with Manhog, people getting up themselves because they feel they deserve to enjoy Irelands win more than someone who doesn't watch rugby week in and week out annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Not a rugby fanatic, but I've definitely come to like the game in the last 3 years or so (not a great time to!) I didn't really a understand the game until about 18 months ago, but understand it fairly well and very much enjoy watching it nowadays. I balled my eyes out before England's first time in Croke park too. More patriotic than anything I would say though.

Winning the Grand slam hasn't meant huge amounts to me tbh, well at least not as much as I saw it meaning to some people in the pub on Saturday. I was screaming my head off for them nonetheless and am proud to be Irish anyway, but even more for what they've achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Nope, not in the slightest. There's a false air of superiority about that game I could never get.
    I'm rugby mad but fair play to you for not hopping on a bandwagon just because it's rolling by

Bandwagon? What bandwagon? I never heard anything about a bandwagon. Did it fall vitim to the governemnt cutbacks, maybe?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i enjoy the game of rugby but some sections of the media think everybody was partying because of Saturday's result,only the game of football unites the country. men,women and children from every strata of irish society follow the Republic with a passion when we reach the finals of a major competition and i dont think the game of rugby in Ireland or anywhere else gets that sort of following.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Thank god for this thread. I was beginning to think i was the only one who had no interest in the game on saturday. I did watch the last few minutes though and can totally understand how exciting it must of been for die hard fans, but i just couldnt muster any enthusiasm to fake the excitement everyone seemed to have over it. Its great we're doing so well in sport at the moment but the bandwagon can definitely pass me by thanks very much,i wont be jumping on it anytime soon.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭emy-87

I love rugby myself, all my brothers play it. I think its a great game, and I would enjoy watching any match. I personally don't like football, never have. Like a bit of GAA though. Each to their own I suppose OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Have to say,growing up,I never knew anyone who played it,never heard anyone talking about it,cant remember there being any local teams or facilities nearby were i could be played,as far as we were concerned,it was a snobs game like cricket played in Clontarf,Blackrock and Killiney etc.............................now its everywhere,was it always this popular or is it a new phenomenom???
    ,be honest I still find it a snobby game thats abit up its own rectum and I dont regard it as high up the sports ladder as soccer or boxing

It's a bit like the soccer team .Lots of people ( me for one) were supporting and going to watch Ireland play long before the jack charlton glory days ,when scoring a goal in a match was a big occasion , never mind winning a match :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

raptorman wrote: »
    Yea, I hate it when people jump on the bandwagon with these things. The same happens with GAA when a county starts to do well, suddenly everyone wants tickets for games and if you asked them to name three lads on the pitch they wouldnt have a clue!

So somehow you magically knew everything about the sport before having an interest in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

If the Wales v Ireland game was on in my back garden, Id close the curtains!
    Have tried to watch rugby and understand the rules, was at the World Cup in Australia a few years ago, went to a few games an Lansdowne but overall I just dont get it or have the slightest interest in it!

Amazing the amount of people I seen on Sunday wearing Ireland rugby jerseys ... more than a few still had tags on them :P

Great quote from RTE/TV3/one of the Irish channels yesterday about the "homecoming" ... Its like Italia 90, but for posh people :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Yes.

That is, I do indeed not care about Rubgy. My Irish OH told me they won some tennis competition in rugby at the weekend. I wasn't there, I was drinking. Now it's Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Great quote from RTE/TV3/one of the Irish channels yesterday about the "homecoming" ... Its like Italia 90, but for posh people :pac:

Reading about this in the Metro this morning, the irony of it being held on Dawson street - home to some of the toffiest celtic tiger rip-off establishments - wasn't lost on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Manhog

stovelid wrote: »
    I don't even get the rules.

The rules (purists insist on calling them the laws) are the worst part of rugby, but also what make the game unique. They serve to make the sport very difficult to grasp and inaccessible.

There are too many laws in the game, but that seems unlikely to change, as it's a technical game, with specific skill sets unique to distinct positions.

Your best bet is to watch a few games with someone who can explain the rules effectively. Note that I don't mean someone who has detailed knowledge necessarily - just someone who can communicate the essentials effectively is all.

It's a great and satisfying sport once you get beyond the confusion of why the referees are whistling away about some minor technical detail.
    stovelid wrote: »
    It's just like Gaelic football except that you throw the ball backwards and you can feel each other up on the pitch, right?

You have, however, grasped the essentials of the game already. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭s_carnage

I think a lot of the people who are "jumping on the bandwagon" are supporting Ireland more than the actual Irish rugby team. Only got into watching rugby in the last 10 years because it wasn't a sport that was going on in my locality. There's nothing wrong at all with not liking the sport, sure there are thousands in Ireland who hate football and other sports alike.

I know some die hard rugby fans who dont understand all the rules .Apart from referees and some Commentators , who does ?

It's open to interpretation of the rules .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

consultech wrote: »
    Reading about this in the Metro this morning, the irony of it being held on Dawson street - home to some of the toffiest celtic tiger rip-off establishments - wasn't lost on me.

If you are to buy into all the inverted snobbery in this thread, then surely it would be ironic if the reception wasn't in a "posh" street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

latchyco wrote: »
    I know some die hard rugby fans who dont understand all the rules .

Well then they're not as die hard as you/they think! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,540 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Couldn't give a rat's ass about the rugby. Watched it alright and cheered them on but after the match I was only interested in Newcastle's match against Arsenal.
    Also no one person talked about the match afterwards..which just proves to me they're all bandwagon supporters..it was all talk about Man U's loss against Fulham and how happy the scousers were.
    If it was an Irish soccer match in Euro 2010 or WC2012 then the whole night and the day after people would still be talking about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭Hrududu

only the game of football unites the country
    But only the game of rugby actually unites the country. In soccer we play as two teams, in rugby we play as one.

I'm not surprised at all the inverted snobbery that goes on about rugby. I'm just waiting for someone to throw the "west Brit" phrase out there.

I've been a rugby fan for years but I don't care if people are just getting into it now. Why should anyone care how or when someone comes to like a sport? We have an international team that are a force in sport. Surely we should celebrate that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm a big sports fan but the whole Irish rugby thing does nothing for me, particularly at province level.

Congrats on the achievement and all that but I couldn't give two shits if they won or lost.