Compensation - You get much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Just over €110000 when I got it! Didn't get it when I was 18 because I was crazy then and would have completely blown it all! Happy mam didn't tell me about it then though!

Ya knee is fine now! Just have no feeling in it!

Kick ass party tricks eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

2,000 punts

Working in a hotel and doing service for a wedding.
    Was carrying a tray with bowls of soup. Now there would be 20 plus bowls stacked on these trays so they were damn heavy.

We had swinging kitchen doors and didn't the manager come in the wrong side, hit my tray and spill soup all over me.
    2nd degree burns on my hand and arm and couldn't work for 5 weeks.

But I was part-time staff and used to work 50 plus hours a week every summer. No entitlement to sick pay either.
    So 400 punts by 5 weeks is what I got from the hotel.

Maybe I could have gotten more if I pushed this with a solicitor but I didn't and that was that.

Oh, I told www.apache.ie that they had an incorrect phone number on their website last week and got a 10 euro voucher. Score!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

When I was 6 weeks old I was getting a check-up and the doctor snapped my thigh bone in 2.

Mum was in there with me and she said she would never forget the sound of me screaming :(
    The doctor/ nurses then ushered mum out while they tended to me.

The first few days were worrysome at best when they tried to make sure I would be able to walk again.

Luckily, 18 years and a few months on, no problems.
    The lawsuit was done in my name, when I was about 18 months, and an out of court settlement was set at €4,000 in an account, with interest.

Come last October and Busi Girl was greated with the nice sum of €7,500:D
    Great success!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Rod & Reel

87500, 32 stitches in left arm. no feeling in 3/4 of hand and very little movment of thumb due to slash.

i actually went to work for 3 days after i came out of hospital and stayed in the car as i wanted to go work, ****ers said i wasnt insurable on the premises.

last thing on my mind was compo at time.

took 3 and 1/2 yrs.

15 yrs later and arm still plays up like ****.

money no good to help that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Have never claimed, nor will I unless Ive genuinely been put out of pocket.

I know of a few people who have jumped at any chance, and even put themselves in the way of harm to gain from it.

It is the way of someone miserly, and of little intelligence to resort to such measures.

I despise greed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭artnotort

my bro gets 18,000 pounds for an accident he had in a creche when he wasnt being supervised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Berty wrote: »
    Jesus, some people are such welcome mats.

What do you want me to do?

Let the hotel give me a bed with dried blood on the sheets?
    Let the car valeters steal my camera?
    Let the hotel take €156 out of my credit card?
    Let the airline charge me €796 extra for no reason?

Oh yeah, Im the nightmare!!!!!!

Of course you don't have to let them do it, but you don't have to make money from their mistakes either. (although obviously not everything on that list was a mistake, but just in general)

I'm sure you realise how certain people will get annoyed with this type of thing what with the current state of everybody sueing everybody for everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Rod & Reel

1 lawyer for every 5 people in america. maybe we're heading that way.
    sueing and hedgeing

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Technically broke my neck in a car crash.... should have claimed for something...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My ex is taking an action for damages against me for leaving her with worthless genitals.

Who'd want to go where snyper was for 8 years?

The insurance assessor said it was a write off.

Im fighting it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

snyper wrote: »
    My ex is taking an action for damages against me for leaving her with worthless genitals.

Im fighting it

Dont worry Snyp. Harney doesnt stand a a chance. You left her the way you found her.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

i think that's a perfectly adequate payment.. if someone offered me 38k to go through what you did, i wouldn't take it like..

God damn government getting rid of jury trials for personal injuries cases, and subsequently getting rid of personal injuries cases to be replaced by PIAB.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

snyper wrote: »

Im fighting it

The fancy term for it is damages for loss of consortium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

the claims mentioned in here are only mickey mouse sums of money for the most part and most of the claims seem totally legit

i could tell you a story about a postman who dropped a bunch of phone books on his foot which resulted in the guy being able to move from a 3 bed bunglaow to a 5 bed two story with 50 meter driveway and a few acres out the back
    but its late and im off to the local for a quick game of pool and a pint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

Ive got about 1000 euro waiting for me when im 18 from food poisoning from some ham i ate when i was 3 years old.

Jeeez I got food poisioning from a "quite well-known multi-national fast-food chicken outlet" and never went looking for a penny off them. more fool me I guess. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 993 ✭✭✭pajodublin

was in a crash about 5-6 years ago
    i was on a motorcycle and a fella pulled out in front of me and hit the car
    Dislocated shoulder is all that happened at the time
    was told by people to claim against him blah blah but i only wanted to get what damages were done and money i'd spent etc.

I got a phonecall from the mans wife a few days after the crash and she said her husband couldnt sleep and was cryin all the time sayin that he couldve killed me.
    He got on the phone to me then apologising which left ME feeling guilty for even thinking of filing an personal injury suit.
    So i didnt and now i have a trapped nerve in my shoulder which bothers me all the time and sometimes the pain is unreal....

would money have made a difference.......YES, Yes it would.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

next time (though I hope there isn't a next time ) direct all those calls to your solicitor.

I'm not saying look for compo payout but now you have a trapped nerve and now at a loss.

The guilt trip got laid on here.
    You don't talk to people in claims, you write letters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Numerous car crashes, got knocked down by a moped (I'm still getting slagged over that one) and a truck crash.
    Never claimed for any of them because I wasn't injured.
    A little sore ofter the moped one, but nothing major.
    Ambulance chaser tried to get me to claim for emotinal distress after the truck crash (I was a passenger in the truck. We hit a merc. ****er broke the lights.), but I'm not up for that crap.

I did claim after my father was knocked down by a motorbike (driver got back up a ****ed off, never to be seen again). ~€120,000. ~€85,500 went on hospital bills, about €20,000 on the house and then I got drunk. I thought that was fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I got compo from a bank!!! An ATM machine defrauded me outta 100 eur years ago (took out 600 but got 500). I wrote to the financial regulator and copied my branch. The bank mgr rang me up and offered me 200 hundred eur compo. I gladly took it and the case was forgotton :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

My missus was on a fair ground ride last year when the fecking thing broke and sent her crashing to the ground (it was the ride with 4 arms that spins around and the arms go up and down at the same time).
    Her neck was sore for ages after and the doctor told her to claim against them as it might give her problems in the future, she does have some next ache now and again, but i always worry that it could give her a lot of pain in later life.
    Anyway she wont claim as she thinks she does not deserve it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

A woman scratched the side of my car once and drove off, I tracked down the CCTV tape and identified the plate and with the help of the Gardai, I sued her for the repair bill of my car which amounted to €1,500 plus the Gardai fined her for leaving the scene of an accident.

I also scored €50 of Meteor after complaining and got free stuff off Microsoft and got a person fired for telling me lies also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BattyInNZ

I was in a car that crashed out near Strandhill back in the 80s - the driver was a maniac and there were 4 of us in the car - all selling encyclopedias :D Anyway, we're going into this corner and I'm thinking 'I'm going to kill this barsteward as soon as we get around this corner' but we didn't get around it! We ended up about 30ft under the road on the roof and had to climb out through the back window where I got my only blood injury (had me sister's white jeans on and was freaking about that :D) but by the end of the following day I couldn't move. Whiplash was a big thing at that time and I felt really embarrassed about saying I had it because it was like shorthand for a 'claim'. The company told me to go to a solicitor (I argued I didn't believe in compo but the MD was adamant) so I did but then I went to England and forgot all about it. A year later I got a letter to go see the insurance doctor so I came back and even told him that I wasn't usually in so much pain but it was because I'd been carrying a heavy case - anyway he seemingly said I was ok but I still got 10k (Pounds) in the hallway of the Four Courts ;) I didn't want it - one of the guys in the car that night was killed in another crash a few months later and it all felt dirty somehow - so I spent it on everyone I knew in six weeks :D And I've never regretted it :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BattyInNZ

mumhaabu wrote: »
    A woman scratched the side of my car once and drove off, I tracked down the CCTV tape and identified the plate and with the help of the Gardai, I sued her for the repair bill of my car which amounted to €1,500 plus the Gardai fined her for leaving the scene of an accident.

I also scored €50 of Meteor after complaining and got free stuff off Microsoft and got a person fired for telling me lies also.

You're lovely. I'd love to meet you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

mumhaabu wrote: »
    and got free stuff off Microsoft and got a person fired for telling me lies also.

I obviously don't know the circumstances, but a lot of companies encourage their employees to lie, as part of the environment of competition and ease of operations to keep customers in the dark. So the fault is probably more so the employers who can easily use him or her to take the fall for their unwritten dodgy policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

I was hit by a car... but didn't sue. I got the **** out of there because I'd left one hell of a dent in the bonnet, and cracked the windshield.... And I'd bolted between cars across the road, so any court would plainly find it to be my fault, and that would get expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

I complained about an unsatisfactory stay i had in a hotel last month. In two weeks time i'm staying there again complimentary of the hotel inc upgrade, dinner, drink!

Boo yaa :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

Dartz wrote: »
    I was hit by a car... but didn't sue. I got the **** out of there because I'd left one hell of a dent in the bonnet, and cracked the windshield.... And I'd bolted between cars across the road, so any court would plainly find it to be my fault, and that would get expensive.

I did the same sort of thing, ran across a bridge on a blind spot and got hit by a 5 series, buckled the bonnet and smashed the windscreen along with three of my fingers and a hearty concussion later on.
    You'd be surprised how the courts would go on that, especially since the BMW was definitely speeding.

But I blame myself for my own foolishness and speeding or not, I shouldn't have darted out in front of that car. I'm sure there's quite a few people who have posted in this thread would have been licking their lips but I despise the society of blame we live in and will not perpetuate it unless I get seriously injured through no fault of my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Rod & Reel wrote: »
    1 lawyer for every 5 people in america. maybe we're heading that way.
    sueing and hedgeing

Ireland has one of the highest cases of litigation in the world, much higher than America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Yup i hate the compo culture in this country, its unreal :mad:
    People getting thousands and in most cases they don't deserve it.
    We should save the money for people who are actually seriously injured rather than 'emotionally injured' for breaking a nail or some other bullsiht!

/rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I do, and I'm getting it in the post in the next couple of weeks.

10 grand :D