job hunting

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Id do anything if I had too, but I would avoid toilet cleaning services if possible.

I miss working in low paid jobs tho, had the time of my life when I was in college. Working in a cinema was best but I packed shelves and worked a video store too. The social life was awesome!

Now Im too old and too responsible. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

Worst job would be sales.

By that I mean being one of those sleazy, desperate salesmen who will say anything to make a sale. It must be soul destroying. I'd rather clean toilets,at least its honest work.

Agree with faceman, low paid jobs in college rocked. Great craic with co-workers even if the jobs were crappy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Male Model. I get tonnes of offers but turn them all down because I want to be taken seriously for who I am and not just how I look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Mr.Lizard wrote: »
    Male Model. I get tonnes of offers but turn them all down because I want to be taken seriously for who I am and not just how I look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sillyputty

Redpunto wrote: »
    Toilet attendent in a club - can you imagine the amount of **** youd have to put up with and the amount of ****e youd have to clean up.

+ 1
    with you on this one plus i wouldn't be a late night taxi driver on a friday and saturday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

thiose companys who claim to be marketing companys but they really go around knocking on peoples door's..... That job is soul distroying i lasted a week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭Griffin87

xzanti wrote: »
    I worked for a "Marketing" company once while on school holidays, I thought from the advertisement that i'd be doing some sort of telesales or the like, the day I went in I was handed a black gym bag full of cheap dodgy crap and sent out to Malahide on a bus with about 4 other people to walk around an industrial estate trying to sell this cheap sh1t to people on their lunchbreaks in all the factories.. Never again.. Worst. Job. Ever.. Think they were called 'Volcara' or something like that, had offices above Chadwicks on Caple Street.. And they had people doing it all the time cause the day I was there, when we went back to the office some guy came racing in and started ringing this big bell that was mounted on the wall and telling us all how he "reached his target sales" think he'd pocketed about £50 or something for a days slog.. They seemed to have their regular 'employees' brainwashed into thinking this was the best job ever..

BTW the stuff in question was a £5 Fony walkman, only the best.. and some crappy kids books among others from what I can remember.. think there was a little torch aswel..

i done that job for a day too never again, They try to brainwash you in that place.

they start telling you stuff like you will be rich inside 5 years your own boss company car etc.

Yea ill be rich selling dodgy **** to people in industrial estates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

xzanti wrote: »
    I worked for a "Marketing" company once while on school holidays, I thought from the advertisement that i'd be doing some sort of telesales or the like, the day I went in I was handed a black gym bag full of cheap dodgy crap and sent out to Malahide on a bus with about 4 other people to walk around an industrial estate trying to sell this cheap sh1t to people on their lunchbreaks in all the factories.. Never again.. Worst. Job. Ever.. Think they were called 'Volcara' or something like that, had offices above Chadwicks on Caple Street.. And they had people doing it all the time cause the day I was there, when we went back to the office some guy came racing in and started ringing this big bell that was mounted on the wall and telling us all how he "reached his target sales" think he'd pocketed about £50 or something for a days slog.. They seemed to have their regular 'employees' brainwashed into thinking this was the best job ever..

BTW the stuff in question was a £5 Fony walkman, only the best.. and some crappy kids books among others from what I can remember.. think there was a little torch aswel..

I worked up the road from that place on usher quay's some lads where walking out of there with 150 euros a day, Mind youd they sell to grannsy old people hasd absaloutly no standered at all...

i be leave the father company was called the cobra cooperation or something its a pyramid scheme...

The owner of the company was a camp ass hole who thaught he dressed well beacsue he owned top shop clothing :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

I kinda have done them all really
    fast food
    sales
    retail

But the most mind numbing was in accounting practice where I did nothing for a whole summer. Just showed up. That had to be the worst. I left to go into retail, it was that bad.

Id be a cleaner any day - the smell of bleach off a place once Im done
    The germs would be sacared to go near it - mwahhhhhh

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I worked up the road from that place on usher quay's some lads where walking out of there with 150 euros a day, Mind youd they sell to grannsy old people hasd absaloutly no standered at all...

i be leave the father company was called the cobra cooperation or something its a pyramid scheme...

The owner of the company was a camp ass hole who thaught he dressed well beacsue he owned top shop clothing :rolleyes:

€150 a day?? Well I was there around 2000/01 can't remember exactly and it was pounds, I made approximately 8 quid the day I worked there, think I got 50p for every item I sold.. The only reason I didn't feck off was because I had to offload the bag of sh1te back at 'base' and I hadn't the heart to just dump it with the leader cause he'd his own one to carry.. I remember him cause he wore a suit :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

If Dublin Zoo was looking for a human exhibit I'd refuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Svalbard

LouOB wrote: »
    I kinda have done them all really
    fast food
    sales
    retail

But the most mind numbing was in accounting practice where I did nothing for a whole summer. Just showed up. That had to be the worst. I left to go into retail, it was that bad.

Id be a cleaner any day - the smell of bleach off a place once Im done
    The germs would be sacared to go near it - mwahhhhhh

+1 on the cleaning.

I get a strange kick out of it, might be the chemicals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Cold caller, Bailiff, Taoiseach