Remember the Greyhound bus decapitation/cannibal killer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I thought the chances of getting out of the asylum after a crime like this was basically nil. At least if you get sent to prison there's a chance you'll be free again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭Katniss everMean

zuroph wrote: »
    would be pretty hard to "fake" this. Can't see many sane people doing this. if any. also, diagnosed as mentally ill 5 years BEFORE the attack.

Better start setting up my alibi now in case i decide to decapitate a stranger in a few years time. :P

Didn't read the part about him being diagnosed 5 years ago >.> Just meant that lately any crime you hear of in the media, the person being accused is pleading insanity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Jesus-
    After the incident, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) sent an advertisement to the Portage Daily Graphic comparing the murder of Tim McLean to the killing of animals for food. The ad was rejected by the paper. PETA was harshly criticized for attempting to exploit the tragedy in such a manner, but refused to apologize

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Angelkat7 wrote: »
    Didn't read the part about him being diagnosed 5 years ago >.> Just meant that lately any crime you hear of in the media, the person being accused is pleading insanity.
    It's not that easy to prove you insane (though decapitating and eating a man helps). If you take it down the Catch-22 route: if you want to get out of a prison sentence, you have to plead insanity, but by pleading insanity you're showing self preservation, which means that you're not insane at all. In order to be proven insane, you have to claim you're sane, but if you do that then you'll be considered sane. See? Simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Angelkat7 wrote: »

Thats because people with impaired judgement occassionally make very bad decisions. Likewise the young.

However, it would frequently appear to be better if the person pleaded insanity, or was dealt with under those criteria. This fecker here has been given a prison sentence, despite the fact that hes of low IQ and exhibits habitually extreme deviant behaviour....
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/paedophile-gets-13-years-for-abusing-15-children-1663227.html

Now, if he was dealt with under the criteria that he only be let out when he was no risk, he might never be free again. I don't actually understand why they sought to try him as a competent person, but possibly some one with more knowledge might enlighten us.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

humanji wrote: »
    It's not that easy to prove you insane (though decapitating and eating a man helps). If you take it down the Catch-22 route: if you want to get out of a prison sentence, you have to plead insanity, but by pleading insanity you're showing self preservation, which means that you're not insane at all. In order to be proven insane, you have to claim you're sane, but if you do that then you'll be considered sane. See? Simple.

Maybe it was a show I was watching or a documentary on killers (think it was that guy on most evil), but i remember one part saying that if they say the devil told them to kill then they're sane but if they say an angel or god they're insane.

Something to do with they understand right and wrong by associating the Devil to the crime.

Of course that is overally simplified but i think they said it gave clues to the person who was psycho analysing on which way to proceed to test were they indeed insane.

Then again it could be all bull for a TV show to make it look like they have the answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

Rb wrote: »
    Muslims. Unless you want to claim they're insane, which for some strange reason I have a feeling you won't.

Wow thats just a tad sweeping generalisation... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Probably the fact that he did it in plain view was evidence of his insanity. Being diagnosed as mentally ill 5 years before a fact certainly doesn't mean you are insane when commiting a crime. What mental illness was he diagnosed as having?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Wow thats just a tad sweeping generalisation... :rolleyes:

Think he meant just the ones of the militant variety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Tell you one thing, I wouldn't like to be one of the employees
    in that Mental Hospital with thet fruit cake about.

Some whacky kinky psychiatrist will probably have this guy freed in a few
    years and he will most likely kill again. Best thing is to put him down.

Hey, if you heard this guy was released and was sent to your community, would you kill him before maybe he killed you. I actually would strongly
    think about it; purely tp preserve my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

What a load of bollix. So he gets away scot free with it because he has a mental illness? I'm sorry but that doesn't wash. Mentally ill killers are still killers, and should be locked up regardless of their mental health. He gets a few comfy years in a ****in hospital, while the family of his victim has to forever live with the the details of what happened their son that night. Fry the bastard I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Like the couple in UK who adopted an 18 year old ,unaware that he had a histroy of abusing younger kids .He then abused the couples two children .

Now imagine your sitting next to a guy in a pub ,or a fotball match , unaware that he has previously hacked sombody to death and released as a 'former ' mental patient into the community ? .It has happend before were they went on to murder again. These people should never see freedom again imo but then our society lets all kinds of ' human **** ' free from jails before their time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Jesus-
    YEah but PETA are twats. I mean I love animals but theyre just idiots.I hope the animals kill them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Nodin wrote: »
    Why would a sane person cut off a random strangers head on a bus, and eat parts of the body? Just as a matter of interest.

Boredom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭ceegee

Nodin wrote: »
    Hint...it's a favourite bar made by Cadburys...
    CAD02.JPG
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

YEah but PETA are twats. I mean I love animals but theyre just idiots.I hope the animals kill them
    PETA don't care about people. FACT!!!!!111

http://www.southparkstudios.com/episodes/103888/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Maybe he'll look for a transfer to Ireland to shack up with the scissors sisters.:D

DarkJager wrote: »
    What a load of bollix. So he gets away scot free with it because he has a mental illness? I'm sorry but that doesn't wash. Mentally ill killers are still killers, and should be locked up regardless of their mental health. He gets a few comfy years in a ****in hospital, while the family of his victim has to forever live with the the details of what happened their son that night. Fry the bastard I say.

Hmmmm. And what planet did and does all that happen on?
    galwayrush wrote:
    Maybe he'll look for a transfer to Ireland to shack up with the scissors sisters..

Fair enough he's off his rocker, but I doubt he's far gone enough to slip the lad to them two....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

latchyco wrote: »
    Like the couple in UK who adopted an 18 year old ,unaware that he had a histroy of abusing younger kids .He then abused the couples two children .

Now imagine your sitting next to a guy in a pub ,or a fotball match , unaware that he has previously hacked sombody to death and released as a 'former ' mental patient into the community ? .It has happend before were they went on to murder again. These people should never see freedom again imo but then our society lets all kinds of ' human **** ' free from jails before their time .
    I know an axe murderer (his dead) and someone how's hacked someone's head off. The guy who got his head cut off was a child molester who went into 3rd world prision, but the guy who did it is amongst us AND YOUR WOULDN'T THING FOR A SECOND THAT HE WAS CABABLE OF IT. I didn't mean to do CAPS but I'm not going back over it.

The point is you don't know ****. Your nesxt door neighbour could be a n axe murderer and you wouldn't know becuase your looking out for the weird looking ****er, when it's the normal looking ****er that you should be worried about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Stay_in_Kampuchea

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Maybe their just Sadistic, Charles Manson is a good case because he murdered, tortured and mutilated many people yet he can still be classed as sane. By the way dose a Psychopath fall into the catagory of the Insanity Case, because i'm sure that there are quite a few psycopaths who are just serving normal jail sentences

No he did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

ScumLord wrote: »
    I know an axe murderer (his dead) and someone how's hacked someone's head off. The guy who got his head cut off was a child molester who went into 3rd world prision, but the guy who did it is amongst us AND YOUR WOULDN'T THING FOR A SECOND THAT HE WAS CABABLE OF IT. I didn't mean to do CAPS but I'm not going back over it.

The point is you don't know ****. Your nesxt door neighbour could be a n axe murderer and you wouldn't know becuase your looking out for the weird looking ****er, when it's the normal looking ****er that you should be worried about.

How do you go to prison with no head?

EDIT: No wait, i think i get you now, i think...

m83 wrote: »
    How do you go to prison with no head?

EDIT: No wait, i think i get you now, i think...
    Fair play, cause I haven't a clue.

Well roughly, we can agree that somebody cut off somebodys head with an axe, and this somebody would not look like the type you'd associate with those kind of shenanigans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

They made a dogs dinner of the whole thing.

What? WHAT?

Ok..

/taxi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

No he did not.

Yes he did, he had people killed and tortured, and he shot Bernard Crowe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Yes he did, he had people killed and tortured, and he shot Bernard Crowe.

You said that he killed and tortured people himself when according to all information I have found on the net he did not, if you can prove otherwise please do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

orestes wrote: »
    I would imagine not criminally responsible is the same as being found not guilty by reason of insanity, which usually means that at the time of the rome he was either A: not aware of the nature of his acts, or B: not aware that what he was doing was wrong.

Since he wasn't legally sane, he can't be found guilty, but he gets sent to a mental institution until he is deemed cured and eligible to re-join society.

Im sure that will make the familly of thge guy who was killed feel so much better