Cork Hurling Manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

I'd like to see O2 get out too. It's definitely one of the most effective ways of hitting the CCB where it hurts, their back pockets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Orizio wrote: »
    o2 will pull the plug soon.

Nemo voted 185-0 in favour of the players apparently. Agrideen and Valley Rovers voted in favour of the players in large majorities as well. Thats the biggest football club in Cork pro-player, big statement.

Also the Cloyne executive has decided not to have an EGM, unless 12 members demand it. Wonder what they are scared of?

Great to hear that about the Nemo vote. Such a massive club with respect everywhere. I can honestly say there is 100% support for the players in my club. It has really gone beyond the joke at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Add Kilbritain and Courceys to the '08 players block as well. ;)

zudo wrote: »
    Great to hear that about the Nemo vote. Such a massive club with respect everywhere. I can honestly say there is 100% support for the players in my club. It has really gone beyond the joke at this stage.

What club Zudo?

Seemingly Cloyne and Midleton aren't having EGM's (although that can be easily changed by the members), which makes it clear enough that the likes of Jerry O'Sullivan and Fitzgerald doubt the likelihood of their members voting the 'right' way.

Just to get this right...

Nemo - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Senior)
    Agrideen Rangers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Courcey Rovers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Valley Rovers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Killbrittain - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)

What club Zudo?

Small East Cork junior club. Don't want to give away my identity like. Whats the story in Midleton? No show last Sunday at the players meeting and now this. Bit surprised to be honest. Too close in proximity to Cloyne - a few connections there or something?

zudo wrote: »

Small East Cork junior club. Don't want to give away my identity like. Whats the story in Midleton? No show last Sunday at the players meeting and now this. Bit surprised to be honest. Too close in proximity to Cloyne - a few connections there or something?

Same here. You don't have too name the club, just tell me if ye have an EGM planned and where the sympathies lie. ;)

Regarding Midleton, two players on the current panel, the Ryans in particular are prominent down there. Suprised if both clubs don't have a vote eventually, executives trying to stall.

Same here. You don't have too name the club, just tell me if ye have an EGM planned and where the sympathies lie. ;)

Regarding Midleton, two players on the current panel, the Ryans in particular are prominent down there. Suprised if both clubs don't have a vote eventually, executives trying to stall.

There is an EGM this week and there is total support for the players. Reckon Midleton and Cloyne will eventually vote too. Hopefully next Sunday will be the writing on the wall for the CCB. The protest and players meeting with the clubs - it should be an interesting day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭spillcoe

Just to get this right...

Nemo - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Senior)
    Agrideen Rangers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Courcey Rovers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Valley Rovers - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)
    Killbrittain - Hurling (Intermediate) Football (Junior???)

Valley Rovers and Courceys are Intermediate in both codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭spillcoe

deise59 wrote: »
    I was reading about that on PROC actually. Well...I was up until I decided to never visit the site again. Some of the comments about Gerald McCarthy on that place are absolutely dispicable.

PROC seems to attract the more extremist opinions alright, stick to Rebelgaa for a more balanced view and a lot less bandwagon-jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

Lads,
    I have taken this report from the PROC website. It was posted by someone who attended last nights Nemo SGM. I think the highlighted text below is the most damning for the CCB..

http://www.peoplesrepublicofcork.com/~peoplesr/forums/showthread.php?t=143238&page=1090

Hi guys,

Thought I'd clear a few things up about the Nemo meeting last night. First off, the crowd there was unreal, you couldn't get a parking spot and for those of you who have been to Trabeg you'll have noticed parking in never an issue! I'd also like to point out early that we have no problem in our vote results coming out in the public domain, part of the sickness in Cork GAA is the "behind closed doors" (bunker!) attitude. We want to show other clubs this is how we feel, and as one esteemed member put it "help gather momentum because enough is enough".

This meeting was incredible. Members spoke passionately about the rotten core of Cork GAA, how it was let fester for too long, and how at last it was time to come together as the grassroots and stand up and be counted. I had expected some pro-board or pro-GerMC sentiment but none was forthcoming. Even the lads who would be against everything (every club has at least 1!) spoke vehemently against the Board Exec, and outlined incident after incident of how they have come down against us as a club. People have mentioned Billy in previous posts, he near brought me to tears the way he spoke. I want this brought to the public domain as Billy stated "I see that the Board are saying the outgoing manager always has first refusal. Well I didn't have first refusal. Frank Murphy went on hols and told Mick Dolan to ring me to say I wasn't needed anymore." This is a damning indictment and a clear example of CCBLaw.
    The two motions proposed were and to be taken by secret ballot. These were the ones issued by the '08 hurlers. One was a motion of No Confidence in GMc as manager and the other was that 'Delegates must seek instruction from their club as regards voting on issues other than the mundane (fixtures,venues, times etc.). The No Confidence vote was carried 185-0 with 3 spoiled votes. The delegate vote went 168-17 (3 spoiled). This in itself carries a lot of weight and it points out our unity on this issue.

A proposal came from the floor from a member who have given over 60 years to Nemo. This proposal would be that Nemo write to CCB requesting a special convention and criticising the Board as their actions have brought Cork GAA into disrepute. Another speaker went further requesting an idependant investigation into all CCB Exec activities. The proposal was seconded and a show of hands vote was taken. I did not see one hand left down.

Finally, the issue of the footballers was brought up. Let me make this clear as this was the message in the room. We, as Nemo, will stand by our players should they go on strike. We will NOT supply and development squad with players.

Lads, I dunno if I've been able to put in words the emotion that was in that room last night but all I'll say is on leaving that room, I've never been as proud to be a Nemo man.
    We've made our position clear and so the question is, who else is with us?

Roll on Sunday.

While yes, the people on PROC are definately pro 08 players I think the statement above from Billy Morgan has blown away any argument that the CCB had for appointing GMC.
    To my mind at this stage, the whole getting rid on GMC is a moot point at this stage. I believe that Frank Murphy should go along with his inner circle. And while people say this can only happen if the clubs want it, after last night with such a large club like Nemo leading the way for other clubs I think the writing is on the wall.

Add Brian Dillon's to the 08 panel's columns.

Clonakilty having a meeting on Friday night regarding the impasse with delegates of every club in the county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭autograph

If Gerald was initially reluctant to take on the post of Manager, what or who is now making him stay on? Is it the same as the Teddy Holland case? I sincerely hope that Gerald is not being used as a pawn but I fear that he is.

spillcoe wrote: »
    PROC seems to attract the more extremist opinions alright, stick to Rebelgaa for a more balanced view and a lot less bandwagon-jumpers.

PROC is gone. Served with an injunction last night from the Cork County Board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Typical. Plenty of nasty things said about some of the players on AnFearRua but you don't see them sending in solicitors. The debate on PROC has been going on for months. I find it very suspicious that this happens this week when the main people there are involved in organising another protest march for this weekend.

KerranJast wrote: »
    Typical. Plenty of nasty things said about some of the players on AnFearRua but you don't see them sending in solicitors. The debate on PROC has been going on for months. I find it very suspicious that this happens this week when the main people there are involved in organising another protest march for this weekend.

Spot on. There was nothing slanderous on the site. The majority of anything said was in the public domain.

It has everything to do with the protest next Sunday.

If I was them I'd rehost on a US server like Politics.ie did. Free speech over there is much better protected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 donkeyford

do we know when it will be back?? i contacted the hosting company in the uk but they wouldn't give me any info.. seems very suspicious to me given that i the week of another big protest... How come the CCB didn't move before??

donkeyford wrote: »
    do we know when it will be back?? i contacted the hosting company in the uk but they wouldn't give me any info.. seems very suspicious to me given that i the week of another big protest... How come the CCB didn't move before??

The first protest in town caught them on the hop and they never expected 10,000 to 12,000. The prospect of another 10 - 12 thousand protesting inside the ground next Sunday in front of radio & TV cameras was too much for them I think.

They are a bit like The Borg in Star Trek. First time you shoot them they fall, but they get up again and the next shot is merely deflected.

With this protest, the ongoing Club EGMs and SGMs, Clonakilty calling a club meeting on Thursday, Croke Park meeting this week to what looks like enforce a solution on the CCB and the players meeting the club again on Sunday, you can understand them lashing out in desperation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

Its no surprise the PROC is gone, there was some scandalous comments and insinuations by some posters there regarding certain people, very childish and actionable comments were allowed to stand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Langer Dan

The_Banker wrote: »
    This is a joke right?

The server is down I thought.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

^ I think that is quite likely, and people are jumping to a conclusion. That being said, it would not surprise me if it was the truth.

How would people know if the site was served with a writ? Either they know someone working in PRC, or in the CCB. Or indeed the solicitors involved.

Langer Dan wrote: »
    This is a joke right?

The server is down I thought.....

I don't ever remember the server being down for so long..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 Langer Dan

The_Banker wrote: »

Wheres your source for this Bankey?

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    Its no surprise the PROC is gone, there was some scandalous comments and insinuations by some posters there regarding certain people, very childish and actionable comments were allowed to stand

See the bankers post above.. There was nothing actionable said on the site about the Cork County Board or any of its members...

Its gone alright lads, CCC served them with a writ last night

See the bankers post above.. There was nothing actionable said on the site about the Cork County Board or any of its members...

so suggesting that certain members of CCC were breaking the law or engaging in lewd sexual practices is not actionable!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Hawk Wing wrote: »
    Its gone alright lads, CCC served them with a writ last night

Source? Until we get a reliable source, this is all speculation