Cork Hurling Manager?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,248 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

pvt.joker wrote: »
    Can you tell me why its always Cork striking, always them whinging year on year about some alleged grievance that they have. They're hurlers ffs, just go out and play :rolleyes:

Because since the first strike, the players have had to look over their shoulder at a county board that wants to take the legs from under them at the first opportunity they could. A county board that is vindictive, wanting to get back at the players who made them a laughing stock in 2002. In KK, the manager, players and county board work together, in Cork they don't and have not, there was no changes at CCB level since 2002, so it was to be expected that the proverbial hits the fan

Clinging to the rule book for dear life is all they're at. Their credibility as a democratically functioning organisation has completely gone out the window.
    Lane only served to rile the clubs up again tonight which i think will be one of the crucial forces in the imminent demise of these bitter, incapable old men.

A lot of the junior clubs are quite annoyed, since they only get two delegates for their division, and the change will start from there.

Also a number of clubs have been quite annoyed with their delegates, and have relieved them of their duties due to the delegates voting in opposition to the clubs stance on the matter. In any other county, the votes would have been done by secret ballot.

The vote of confidence in Gerald McCarthy was completely biased, with Gerald and two selectors, besides others speaking for Gerald. The vote should have been ruled out of order as it was proposed by Bob Honohan of the Bishopstown club, who is not the Bishopstown delegate, but the CCB delegate to the central council. Of course the vote was going to be biased after that presentation, and many of the delegates don't have the liathroidi to vote with their clubs and against the CCB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

Seems to me lately the players are losing support around the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭spillcoe

Marse wrote: »

Where are you getting this vibe from? From what I'm reading on rebelgaa and talking to people both from my own club and others it seems like the players are gaining support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

spillcoe wrote: »
    Where are you getting this vibe from? From what I'm reading on rebelgaa and talking to people both from my own club and others it seems like the players are gaining support.

He said country not county and quite frankly he's right the general concensous in the rest of the country is 'feck em who cares'

Agree!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

...and? Does this matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Orizio wrote: »
    Ha no. Screw the rest of the country. They have it easy compared to the ****e players in Cork have to put up with from the CCB exec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Of course support for the players in the rest of the country is going to be extremely low. Its the Cork people who know exactly what the CCB are like, not non-Cork traditionalists like Eddie Keher who can only view it in black and white.

I was interested to read of Liam Griffin coming out in support of the players. I don't have a link since it was an interview done with DCU, but he basically said that no matter how the players react, the CCB shouldn't have pushed through the appointment of Gerald in the first place.

I don't mean to be disrespectful to anyone outside of Cork, but at the end of the day they aren't the ones who have to deal with seeing the GAA in their county being torn apart, nor do they have to deal with the cack the CCB serves up. Its the opinions of the members of the GAA in Cork, and by extension the clubs, that matter, that are actually relevent.

As for non-Cork people coming on here saying the whole thing is irrelevent and no one cares, will of course you don't care, why would you? Its a local Cork dispute, not a country wide one.

Orizio wrote: »

Yes,it does!

How exactly?

deise59 wrote: »
    How exactly?

I wouldn't bother, not worth the debate.

TBH I fail to see how people's opinions could have gone further against the players over the last week or so. The CCB has been back-peddling ever since Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭smackbunnybaby

I have to disagree.

I talked to a number of people from other counties this week who had been opposed to the players before - but in light of recent TV appearances have changed their mind.
    They never realised the extent of power the CCB had and one man in particular, they thought it was all myth.

They have now changed their minds and back the players.
    To quote one of them - "i just assumed it was Cork people kicking up a fuss for no reason, but now I see they have every reason to"

Gerald McCarthy doing himself proud in the post-match interview, again insinuating that anyone who didn't go to the game today wasn't a 'genuine' fan and refusing to answers questions from a particular reporter because the reporter wouldn't say where he was from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

less than 500 people have nothing better to do than watch cork "SENIOR" hurlers get hammered again...........................sadly its laughble

frank out

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 36,940 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

What will he say when only a thousand or two ' genuine fans' turn up to get destroyed in the championship? Ridiculous, smell the coffee Ger move to one side .

• Site Banned Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Great to see the 09 hurling team slaughtered today..its good for the CCB and Gerald.....ffs the Lads shudnt bother lining out any more. Shameful!

CCB should be ashamed of what they are doing to Cork GAA. They will be war in the county if this is left to continue.

On another note I wonder why the Cork/Galway game was not shown on RTE 2 last nite?

I wouldnt be surprised if the CCB asked RTE not to show the game as the result ended in a massacre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 380 ✭✭future_plans

I'm sure O2 are delighted to see Cork are not even getting TV coverage now...its a farce.

its a complete farce at this stage - Gerald do the decent thing and step aside!

deise59 wrote: »
    How exactly?

It matters because any campaign like this requires public support to feed it due to its longevity. But public support outside Cork has diminished massively.
    Here’s were you say ’it’s nothing to do with the rest of the country’. But the truth is both sides of any campaign require good public relations (hence press releases and press conferences from both sides) and the players campaign is not going well at present.

It matters because any campaign like this requires public support to feed it due to its longevity. But public support outside Cork has diminished massively.
    Here’s were you say ’it’s nothing to do with the rest of the country’. But the truth is both sides of any campaign require good public relations (hence press releases and press conferences from both sides) and the players campaign is not going well at present.

I disagree. I haven't been talking to many people outside of the county so I can't say anything from that point of view but it seems to be that the national media have been coming out in favour of the players. In the past week alone there have been articles by Liam Griffin and Tom Humphries supporting the players action.

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2008/nov/23/liam-griffin-hurling-analyst-from-evolution-to-rev/

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0223/1224241666170.html

I'm open to correction here but I haven't seen a whole lot of people supporting the County Boards actions since the full details have come out into the open. From where exactly are you getting the impression that the players campaign is not going well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Somebody was saying the other day that Gerald McCarthy is forever on boards.ie, so I just want to say fair play to you Ger if you're reading this.

Those young hurlers will come through in the league next season in a lower division. Will be a great learning curve for them. I hope the Cork footballers go on strike too. A bunch of Stephen Irelands the lot of them.

spillcoe wrote: »
    I disagree. I haven't been talking to many people outside of the county so I can't say anything from that point of view but it seems to be that the national media have been coming out in favour of the players. In the past week alone there have been articles by Liam Griffin and Tom Humphries supporting the players action.

http://www.tribune.ie/article/2008/nov/23/liam-griffin-hurling-analyst-from-evolution-to-rev/

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0223/1224241666170.html

I'm open to correction here but I haven't seen a whole lot of people supporting the County Boards actions since the full details have come out into the open. From where exactly are you getting the impression that the players campaign is not going well?

Anyone I've spoke to about this in GAA clubs and outside. I’ve come across very few people that support the Players. (None of these people are from Cork admittedly, but from various counties) The comment I get most is ‘it’s gone on too long’. ‘Bring it to a head quickly or let it go’.

Somebody was saying the other day that Gerald McCarthy is forever on boards.ie, so I just want to say fair play to you Ger if you're reading this.

Those young hurlers will come through in the league next season in a lower division. Will be a great learning curve for them. I hope the Cork footballers go on strike too. A bunch of Stephen Irelands the lot of them.

Comparing the striking Cork players to Stephen Ireland is just ridiculous. Their reasons for not playing are poles apart and if you really believe that they are similar then you have no idea what the strike is all about.

And if Gerald does indeed frequent these pages he might answer the question of why he broke his promise to the players that he would only continue as manager while the players wanted him. Any interviewers seem to be afraid of asking that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Banker

Another protest is planned for next Sunday. Assemble in Kennedy Park at 1:30 - 2:00 and then march to the ground for the Cork V Fermanagh football game and enter via uncovered stand.

Support the footballers, but at half time and full time call for the heads of the CCB Executive (especially and specfically Frank). Bring white hankerchief to wave ala Real Madrid.

The_Banker wrote: »
    Another protest is planned for next Sunday. Assemble in Kennedy Park at 1:30 - 2:00 and then march to the ground for the Cork V Fermanagh football game and enter via uncovered stand.

Support the footballers, but at half time and full time call for the heads of the CCB Executive (especially and specfically Frank). Bring white hankerchief to wave ala Real Madrid.

I was reading about that on PROC actually. Well...I was up until I decided to never visit the site again. Some of the comments about Gerald McCarthy on that place are absolutely dispicable.

o2 will pull the plug soon.

Nemo voted 185-0 in favour of the players apparently. Agrideen and Valley Rovers voted in favour of the players in large majorities as well. Thats the biggest football club in Cork pro-player, big statement.

Also the Cloyne executive has decided not to have an EGM, unless 12 members demand it. Wonder what they are scared of?