Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

And on-one even said Yossi smells.
    It's almost unreal TBH. Rafa comes out on national television and say's "no i will not resign" and yet the media totally ignores this and continues with the whole "Rafa will not commit to LFC" story...? Am i dreaming he said that.

RTE news wrote the script then they got some VT, and didn't bother to check if it contradicted thier script. Typical RTE I'd say.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,580 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Great result tonight.

It seems like only yesterday we were scrapping for 4th in the league, and sh1tting ourselves coming up against the likes of Auxerre or Marseille in the UEFA Cup.
    Now a victory over Real Madrid on their turf is greeted with little more than a fist thump in the air, "like, what else did you expect? This is Benitez's Liverpool.".

So many top scalps in Europe, he has now firmly restored us to our place at the head of Europe's dining table, amazing, just amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

its a great feeling when we are in europe now.I genuinely dont think there is a team that i feel we couldnt beat over two legs.Im not saying we are the worlds best team or being arroagant just when Rafa sets his team up in europe im super confident.

English football really on a bit of a wave this week,Platini must be happy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭joe123

Great result. And as Spockety said it really shows how far we have come under Benitez when a 1-0 win away to Real Madrid is more expected than anything else. Even if Madrid arent the best at the minute.

Yossi was good tonight but he needs to take more shots when he makes space for himself. Kuyt did well tonight aswell. Reinas kicking at times was shocking though!

Good result but as Giles and Co said Liverpool will play the exact same style against Middlesboro at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

It is not so much what the lads on RTE say that annoy me. It is what they use to back up there statements. They literally make stuff up as they go along. They don't seem to feel the need to research anything at all. Shame we are paying for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

Watching RTEs coverage - can anyone remember when Ronnie Whelan last had a good thing to say about LFC ? I must admit that I don't particularly like him but do agree with some of what he was saying this evening (about not being the best team to watch and Rafa not willing to take the risk of sacrificing a defensive player for a more attacking minded one to try and get the 3 points in some games). But this isn't just about this evening - I honestly cannot remember the last time I heard him say anything positive about LFC. He's as entitled to an opinion as anyone but given the constant negative comments from him you get the impression he has a bit of a chip on his shoulder regarding the club. Or maybe I'm making something out of nothing.

Note: Maybe this is/was mentioned in the match thread but I tend to avoid them as they typically all end up the same but the above comment isn't about tonights game so doesn't really belong in there anyway. Also - this is purely about Whelan - not the others on the RTE panel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

joe123 wrote: »
    Great result. And as Spockety said it really shows how far we have come under Benitez when a 1-0 win away to Real Madrid is more expected than anything else. Even if Madrid arent the best at the minute.
    Yossi was good tonight but he needs to take more shots when he makes space for himself. Kuyt did well tonight aswell. Reinas kicking at times was shocking though!

Good result but as Giles and Co said Liverpool will play the exact same style against Middlesboro at the weekend.

all week the build up was the real madrid run of games, they were according to yesterdays press as good as ever but tommorrow they will be a nothing team. we never get the praise we deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

the thing with Whelan and certain other ex pool players is that they just dont like Rafa.Anyone who has been to a legends night with some of these types knows what i mean.

Houghton is just as bad.They seem so Bitter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Could it be to do with the fact that he's not from the "golden generation" of Liverpool players?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You might think only Tommo could have an axe to grind having lost his job when Rafa took over but he's onside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

The times was reporting that daglish would be stepping in if rafa walked but according to them kenny is on our side too :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,442 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

spockety wrote: »
    Great result tonight.

It seems like only yesterday we were scrapping for 4th in the league, and sh1tting ourselves coming up against the likes of Auxerre or Marseille in the UEFA Cup.
    Now a victory over Real Madrid on their turf is greeted with little more than a fist thump in the air, "like, what else did you expect? This is Benitez's Liverpool.".

So many top scalps in Europe, he has now firmly restored us to our place at the head of Europe's dining table, amazing, just amazing.

don't remind me, going further back remember not even registering a shot on target against mighty brondby in the uefa or getting whacked 3-0 by even mightier strasbourg the next year :(

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/premier_league/liverpool/article5805430.ece

Rafael Benítez still undermined by contract problems
    Tony Evans, Football Editor, Madrid

Have there been many better homecomings? Rafael Benítez stood under the steep stands of the Bernabéu Stadium last night while the Madridistas gasped in shock after Yossi Benayoun gave Liverpool the lead in the first leg of the Champions League first knockout round. Yet, far from smugness, Benítez must have felt the weight of the world upon him. This should have been a triumphant night for the Madrid-born manager but, instead, it was another unpleasant day in the life of Liverpool Football Club.

From early morning, rumours circulated that the Spaniard was about to be dismissed, or resign, depending on the source. Benítez is indeed at the end of his tether — the tortuous politics of Anfield would depress the most upbeat of managers — but this remains a man committed to his task. Back at the Bernabéu, where he began his career as a coach with Real Madrid’s youth teams in 1986, it should have been a night to savour.

Instead, bookmakers suspended betting on whether the Spaniard would wake up this morning in charge of Liverpool and wild rumours suggested that Kenny Dalglish would take over and fill the void left by Benítez, if only on a temporary basis.

The reality is different. Benítez, a man who has a European Cup on his CV, is angry. He feels that the leadership at Anfield — and that means Rick Parry, the chief executive, rather than the actual owners, has let him down badly. There is massive dissension between the Americans — Tom Hicks and George Gillett Jr are barely on speaking terms — but the Spaniard’s difficulties have been at a local level. Until there is a resolution in the conflict between manager and chief executive, Benítez will struggle to create a team that he believes in.

The Hicks camp responded with annoyance yesterday to suggestions that Benítez would leave the club, but Gillett would gladly see the back of the man who orchestrated the miracle of Istanbul in 2005. Benítez agreed to sign a new contract at Anfield before Christmas but has not put his signature on a long-term agreement. Each time the Liverpool owners make a verbal commitment to the manager, the written document comes back without the assurances that the manager had been looking for.

Gillett would be rid of Benítez in a moment — he has even questioned his emotional stability. But, once again, the Liverpool manager has proved that he is a serious player on the big stage. There will be a vacancy at the Bernabéu in the summer. Even if Benítez is not appreciated at Anfield, the bigwigs in Madrid know a world-class manager when they see one.

After suspending the market on the next Barclays Premier League manager to leave their club in the wake of a raft of bets on Rafael Benítez yesterday, William Hill quote the Spaniard at 8-11 to be gone by the start of next season and evens that he will still be at Anfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭Ardent

I didn't see/hear the comments coming from RTE tonight but I imagine it was along the lines of Liverpool=nothing special, Madrid=v poor. If that's the case, that's how I saw it too. Madrid were shocking tbh.

Credit to Benitez re: setting up a team for European competition. There are few better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

rossie1977 wrote: »
    don't remind me, going further back remember not even registering a shot on target against mighty brondby in the uefa or getting whacked 3-0 by even mightier strasbourg the next year :(

Don't forget the mighty Genoa.

Some thought we'd be beat 3-0 tonight by mighty Real.

Benitez is second to none in Europe. With Liverpool he has beaten Fergie, Mourinho, Wenger and O'Neill.

Beaten Barca, Real, Chelsea, Arsenal, Roma, Juve etc.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Ronnie Whelen has earned the right to say what he likes about Liverpool's current style of play(good or bad), as have a lot of the other ex-Players who are mouthing off at the minute and anyone who says he/they have'nt, really dont have an opnion worth hearing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

elshambo wrote: »
    Ronnie Whelen has earned the right to say what he likes about Liverpool's current style of play(good or bad), as have a lot of the other ex-Players who are mouthing off at the minute and anyone who says he/they have'nt, really dont have an opnion worth hearing!

True, how many EC Medals has he?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Ardent wrote: »
    Credit to Benitez re: setting up a team for European competition. There are few better.

This is where you throw me off... I appreciate that you are not a massive fan of Rafa and don't feel he will win the league. There are two major tournaments that all clubs want to compete in and win, i.e. their domestic league and the Champions League.

Since both the PL's and CL's inception, no English based manager has managed to master both.

AF has come closest to doing so but I feel he is still falls slightly short in terms of the CL. If United continue on from last seasons success and start reaching semi-finals and finals for another two or three seasons then it is obvious that he has mastered that also. He obviously knows exactly what he is doing in terms of the PL.

Rafa has obviously struggled with the PL and for the moment, this season is just a one off. It will take another 2 or 3 seasons of beating the likes of United and Chelsea and genuinely challenging for the league before you can genuinely say that he has the PL down to a tee. With regard the CL, there is no one better out there at the moment.

Wenger understood the PL but you would wonder whether his ability here has slipped back somewhat or whether this season is just a one off. In terms of the CL, he has done ok but nothing too spectacular besides a well earned final.

So it is really only AF that comes close to having both down. Considering he is the most experienced, longest serving and most successful manager in recent history, it doesn't really come as a surprise.

Considering the fact that Rafa is so proficient when it comes to the CL (the club would be really struggling only for our success in my opinion), looks to be making slow but steady progress in the PL, is continually developing a young and stronger squad with an average net spend of less than 20million a season and is doing all this while the club is in complete meltdown; I don't understand why you are so staunch in your views on him. I could understand you being slightly dissatisfied and having reservations as there is plenty to be confused or doubtful about but I just don't understand fans being so resolute in opposition to him when there is plenty to be positive about.

Apologies about taking so long to reply to this response to my post.
    This is ****ing hilarious...

Rijkard is better than Rafa despite having an identical record in top competitions and managing a club with a virtually unlimited budget and talent.

O'Neill is better than Rafa despite having won nothing that can be compared to Rafa's record but because he has achieved relatively decent success at small clubs, could easily do a better job than Rafa...

It is dumbfounding..
    event wrote: »
    this is exactly the reason why you cannot have a discussion about anything in here

find a quote where i said rijkaard is better than rafa?

i didnt, because i dont think so. however, the question was that if rafa leaves, who could take over from him

i mentioned some coaches who i believe would be able to do so.

but as usual, anything that can be in anyway interpretted (sp) as negative towards rafa is jumped on.

i assumed anyone with a bit of cop on could see what i was saying, but i seem to be mistaken

you're right, it IS ****ing hilarious

I wasn't necessarily saying that you were making the assertions about O'Neill or Rijkard.

It was an attempt to point out the contrasting/contradictive nature of the statements being made about Rafa and possible alternatives.

Both of the points I made about O'Neill and Rijkard in respect to Rafa have been posted here in one or another in recent days/weeks.

My point is that Rafa can't really win no matter what he does. Quite a large portion of the media, oppossing fans on here and god knows who else have their minds made up and there are no real concrete or consistant reasons for it. The reasons are often contradictory.

Just to add. I think that the discussions of possible replacements is completely unwarranted.
    eZe^ wrote: »
    What's hilarious is when your response to a ridiculous statement is something just as fcuking ridiculous. Unlimited budget and talent? When Rijkaard came in Barcelona had finished the season 4th. That Barcelona team was absolutely rubbish, riddled with aging and terrible quality players in many positions. Himself and Joan Laporta took over from Gaspart's absolutely shambolic campaign. He then went on to bring the team to 2nd, 1st, 1st, 2nd, 3rd.

Rijkaard took them from being very much a sleeping giant into being a European heavyweight again, winning the the 2nd CL in the clubs history. If it wasn't for Rijkaard and Laporta changing the fortunes of Barcelona (largely thanks to the acquisition of Ronaldinho) they would probably be struggling every season to qualify for the CL. Rijkaard and Laporta RAISED those 'unlimited funds' by changing the fortunes of the club and making it a marketable giant. It's not like Rijkaard was given 500 million in one season and was allowed to spend on whoever he wanted.

Also, if you're going to say something about the talent Barcelona got from the youth set up and bought over the past 5 years, don't ****ing forget to mention the amazing Valencia team that Benitez inherited from Hector Cuper. A manager who brought them to two consecutive CL finals. He inherited Santiago Cañizares, Roberto Ayala, Rubén Baraja, David Albelda and Pablo Aimar and they provided the backbone of Benitez's Valencia team, hardly a bunch of duffers.

The way you talk you'd swear Valencia CF were fcuking Tenerife before Benitez arrived and Barcelona were winning league after league before Rijkaard joined. When the reality is both managers did an excellent job in their respective positions and were both funded quite well. What is it with the belittling that's going on in this forum these days. F*cking sick of it tbh.

Ah come on now. You are taking my post a little too seriously. Barca were a sleeping giant when he arrived and while you can obviously credit their success to him, he had some of the best talent in the world at his disposal and then added more to it. It wasn't an attempt to belittle Rijkard. It was an attempt to rebuke suggestions that he should take over from Rafa and suggestions that he could offer alot more.

I am not saying that he is a bad manager, I juat don't see what he has done to distinguish himself from Benitez. Taking over at Barca and winning the league with them twice is a slightly different thing to taking over at Valencia and winning. One is expected while the other was beyond realistic expectations.

No doubt you will find plenty in that to disagree with..

Completely OT. Just noticed that English, Spanish and Italian clubs have all won the European Cup/Champions League 11 times.

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4973874,00.html
    BENITEZ BAFFLED BY QUIT RUMOURS

Rafael Benitez moved to end speculation over his future as manager of Liverpool.

The Reds boss was speaking in the aftermath of his side's impressive 1-0 win over Real Madrid in the first leg of their Champions League last-16 tie at the Bernabeu.

The matchday build up was however overshadowed by rumours that Benitez was set about to walk away from the club due to the ongoing stalemate over a new contract between the Spaniard and Liverpool's American owners.

"My lawyers and advisors have been talking to the club's owners today about the contract and I believe that problems we have can be overcome," said Benitez.

"I was very surprised today to hear rumours from Liverpool that I was going to resign.

"I can assure you that I have not been considering such a move, and it was a shock to hear such suggestions."

Benitez has been locked in talks over a new four-year deal for several weeks, and it is believed owners George Gillett and Tom Hicks have balked at some of the Spaniard's demand.

But Benitez remains certain an agreement will eventually be reached.
    "I expect talks to continue between my lawyers, my advisors, myself and the owners," he continued.

"I am really pleased with my position at the club, I have not been thinking about resigning.

"My aim is to win every game possible for this club, and my advisors will continue to talk. We will see what happens then.

"We are still talking, so we will see what happens in the future. Sometimes when something gets said (by fans) and it gets repeated and repeated it seems that people think it is true. But it wasn't true, I can assure you of that.

"I was not thinking about resigning, obviously I cannot control other things, that I could be fired, but I was just concentrating on the game.

"The fans need to know that I was not thinking of resigning. The club has made it clear this rumour was not true. That is important for everyone.

"Stability is the key if you want to be successful "And the players were able to do their talking on the pitch, not beforehand."

Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher also dismissed the speculation about the Spaniard.

Carragher told Sky Sports: "I got a text message about it but Liverpool have created a lot of rumours over the years and that's another one. It was a rumour and there's nothing in it."

Earlier on Wednesday, Liverpool sources felt moved to respond to claims that bookmakers have suspended betting on Benitez's future.
    A source close to the club said: "Rafa is not going to be sacked, such suggestions are ridiculous.

"We are aware of the rumours and speculation that has been buzzing around in Madrid but it is just not true."

Support for this view, enflamed by on-going contract negotiations, has come from one of Benitez's closest confidants.

Leading Spanish journalist Guillem Balague is a personal friend of Benitez and has dismissed claims the Liverpool boss is about to be axed.

On his website, Balague wrote: "There are reports that betting has been suspended on this particular market and the rumour that Benitez will be gone has spread like wildfire around the Liverpool supporters out here in Madrid and on the internet.

"If I am honest, I am not entirely comfortable indulging in these stories at the moment as there is so much misinformation being spread around that it is impossible to respond accurately to every single report or rumour.

"However, because of the number of people who are getting in touch with us, I feel I should respond.

"I can say with absolute certainty, categorically, that Rafa Benitez will not be sacked as manager of Liverpool this evening and that these rumours are not true.

"At the moment, the situation is delicate, and there have been developments with regard to the ongoing contractual negotiations at Anfield, and this is something that we will discuss later."

http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4972897,00.html
    RAFA RUMOURS `RIDICULOUS` - LIVERPOOL

Liverpool are not about to sack manager Rafael Benitez on the brink of their Champions League clash with Real Madrid.

The club have been concerned by speculation that their Spanish manager is about to leave, and sources at Anfield insist that the 48 year-old's position is safe.

Liverpool sources have felt moved to respond to claims that bookmakers have suspended betting on Benitez's future.

A source close to the club said: "Rafa is not going to be sacked, such suggestions are ridiculous.

"We are aware of the rumours and speculation that has been buzzing around in Madrid but it is just not true."

Liverpool are also annoyed that the story has blown up on the brink of the crucial Champions League clash with Real Madrid.

The source added: "This has not bothered the manager or the team. Everything we have done since we arrived in Madrid has been spot on.

"Nobody has even mentioned this and we are surprised that such suggestions have been raised. Rafa Benitez is not about to be sacked by Liverpool."

Support for this view, enflamed by on-going contract negotiations, has come from one of Benitez's closest confidants.

Leading Spanish journalist Guillem Balague is a personal friend of Benitez and has dismissed claims the Liverpool boss is about to be axed.

On his website, Balague wrote: "There are reports that betting has been suspended on this particular market and the rumour that Benitez will be gone has spread like wildfire around the Liverpool supporters out here in Madrid and on the internet.

"If I am honest, I am not entirely comfortable indulging in these stories at the moment as there is so much misinformation being spread around that it is impossible to respond accurately to every single report or rumour.
    "However, because of the number of people who are getting in touch with us, I feel I should respond.

"I can say with absolute certainty, categorically, that Rafa Benitez will not be sacked as manager of Liverpool this evening and that these rumours are not true.

"At the moment, the situation is delicate, and there have been developments with regard to the ongoing contractual negotiations at Anfield, and this is something that we will discuss later."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

Delighted with the win, couldn't care less what anyone else thinks, great game, great night, bring on the second leg and hopefully the quarter/semi/final afterwards.

Woooooooooooooot!!

http://www.goal.com/en-us/news/174/uefa-champions-league/2009/02/26/1127781/exclusive-pepe-adamant-madrid-will-overcome-liverpool
    Exclusive: Pepe Adamant Madrid Will Overcome Liverpool

Goal.com’s Spanish correspondent at the Bernabeu spoke exclusively to a disappointed but determined Pepe after his side’s loss to Liverpool.

Feb 25, 2009 8:07:03 PM

Real Madrid suffered yet another Champions League blow at the round of 16 when they were stung 1-0 at home by Liverpool overnight.

Despite controlling the majority of the game and creating countless openings, Los Blancos failed to break down the Reds defence and a tiny error proved fatal in the end as they allowed Yossi Benayoun to score an 80th minute winner.

Madrid defender, Pepe was upset with the childish blunder but he also lamented the bigger mistake that his side made.

“Logically, we are disappointed with this result as we let the match slip away because of a silly error from a set-piece,” he said.

“But throughout the entire game, the big mistake that we all made was that we couldn’t break down Liverpool’s defensive system.

“They had two lines of four in front of their goalkeeper at all times and that made it impossible for us,” he elaborated.

But the Portuguese center-back believes that the contest is far from over, even though they will require an outright win against a Liverpool side who have not lost at home in any competition since February 16, 2008.

“We will go to Anfield with the mentality that we can overturn this tie. We are going there with the kind of winning spirit that has always characterized Real Madrid.

“It’s very unpleasant to take a 1-0 deficit there but we are going to do everything to make it up to our fans. It is necessary to have faith that we can achieve it,” he concluded.

Before the return leg clash in Liverpool, Madrid will shift their focus back to the Primera Division where they travel to Espanyol this weekend and host Atletico Madrid next week.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

He's saying pretty much all the right thing's Pepe, and just having a whine about us not going to the Bernabau and playing a systeam like Betis at the weekend.
    While I don't think Liverpool are even close to home dry, I do think he's in for a fairly rude awakening in Anfield, I have a feeling the place will be fairly rockin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Super result last night...although let's just hope we can produce a repeat performance at Anfield.

I have to agree...it does show how far we have come under Rafa when this result is expected more so than "wouldn't it be great if we could get a result against Madrid". Rafa really does have the CL mastered...and as for all those Madrid players (and Ramos) saying they expect to win 3-0 etc etc...:D...especially Robben - is it just me or is he an annoying dic!

I didn't see the RTE coverage last night but I suspect from what I have been reading here that they were criticising Liverpool's tactics in the league...well against the so called smaller clubs anyway. I have to agree, Rafa needs to deploy a more expansive and attack minded game plan in PL - something along the lines of how we play when we fall behind in games.

In saying that I think Rafa is a very clever man and takes something from every game. There is no doubt we have improved year in year out in PL under Rafa, so who's to say the trend won't continue. We won't win it this year but next year will surely be our year!!!!!!!!!

I think Rafa deserves at least another few years in charge (that's if he doesn't walk out himself) to see if he can bring PL glory. I really think he will learn a lot from this season, I'm just hoping that so too will the owners (unlikely though). Let Rafa buy the players FFS and Rafa - please buy a right winger!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

SWAR wrote: »
    I didn't see the RTE coverage last night but I suspect from what I have been reading here that they were criticising Liverpool's tactics in the league...well against the so called smaller clubs anyway. I have to agree, Rafa needs to deploy a more expansive and attack minded game plan in PL - something along the lines of how we play when we fall behind in games.

I know it's RTE but I was completely shocked, here we have a CL last 16 and even if they have a point about Liverpool's PL form it had no place in the analysis of this game.
    He called Rafa a cancer on the game, started blaming him for kids coming throught not playing good football or some ****e.

Just a little OT, but I defy anyone to show me that any young kids in Ireland or Britain have really been thought proper "total" football. We've never been thought it like the dutch from grassroots, and then to come and label Benitez a cancer? It's very very tabloid tbh but that's what you expect with a drunk egotistical maniac like Guntphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

raven136 wrote: »
    the thing with Whelan and certain other ex pool players is that they just dont like Rafa.Anyone who has been to a legends night with some of these types knows what i mean.

Houghton is just as bad.They seem so Bitter.
    I was at a questions and answers night with Whelan and other ex liverpool players around 2 years ago and even then you could hear the hatred in his voice directed at Rafa. One or two supporters including myself pulled him up on it and he actually admited he did'nt disrespect him as a man but as a manager could'nt stand him. Only for the fact it was a charity night i would have demanded my money back.

Unfortunatley Rafa coming out and telling everyone their is no truth in the quitting rumours will make little or no difference. The press by and large as well as a small minority of our "fans" have it in for Rafa and will not rest until he walks or is sacked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

It goes without saying that Dunphy just says these things to shock and provoke, but it annoys me that the pundits don't seem to have noticed what I think is a more attractive style from Liverpool this season. At times (okay, not last night) the football has been really good, the Newcastle game being a good example.

shotamoose wrote: »
    It goes without saying that Dunphy just says these things to shock and provoke, but it annoys me that the pundits don't seem to have noticed what I think is a more attractive style from Liverpool this season. At times (okay, not last night) the football has been really good, the Newcastle game being a good example.
    They choose to ignore those points because it does'nt fit their agenda.