Cops & Robbers - ANGLO RAIDED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,647 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Fraud squad officers and white-collar crime investigators

Fashion Police! :eek:

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Call me cynical but I imagine this is just a response to pacify people for the moment. Just like the round ups that were done after Jack the Ripper struck, although they had no idea who he was, the Police just arrested people to keep the public happy and create the impression that something was being done.

Yawn...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Call me cynical but I imagine this is just a response to pacify people for the moment. Just like the round ups that were done after Jack the Ripper struck, although they had no idea who he was, the Police just arrested people to keep the public happy and create the impression that something was being done.

Yawn...

You're cynical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

i think people have to go to jail at this stage its the only thing that will calm the public

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I bet the lads in Anglo were frantically translating everything into Polish recently in a bid to confuse the Gardai when they turned up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

id say they have long destroyed any kind of incriminating evidence!!! :pac:

im sure this will do Irelands standing in the worlds money markets a world of good the 3rd biggest bank in the country getting turned over by the fraud squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Damn, I thought we were all going outside to play Cops and Robbers.

I'm sad now :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

id say they have long destroyed any kind of incriminating evidence!!! :pac:

Aye. Way, way too late to go searching.
    I wonder was this on purpose too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

the fraud squad? should have sent in the ERU :mad:

I heard if they find any clues they've to bring them directly to biffo because he doesnt have one himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,034 ✭✭✭deadhead13

im sure this will do Irelands standing in the worlds money markets a world of good the 3rd biggest bank in the country getting turned over by the fraud squad

Irelands 3rd biggest bank not been turned over would have a far worse effect on our standing in the money markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

lol i used to work in the IT dept here, say it would've been some craic there today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

About bloody time.

Hope they hit the Dail next.

any legal eagles here know if convicted how long these clever people would serve in the Joy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

i think people have to go to jail at this stage its the only thing that will calm the public

People in general or anyone in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

So lets see- story breaks in September- raids come in Fenuary.
    I can imagine the conversation.

"We'll be in fist thing Monday, right"

"AH here hang on-one of the lads phoned in sick after the match yesterday- we're still shredding- is tuesday okay?"

"No- bother see you Tuesday so"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Darragh29 wrote: »

Yawn...

I can't help but feel the exact same.

Mizu_Ger wrote: »

anyone involved in defrauding the taxpayer on a massive scale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Mizu_Ger wrote: »

Sean Fitzpatrick for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I've a good mate of mine working in the Lending dept as an assistant manager in Anglo HO, so he's probably getting the latex glove treatment right now!! :pac:

I have his work email. Seriously contemplating sending him an email:

"Hey <xxxx>, how are things bud? When you getting down for a few beers again?

We're hitting Galway this weekend if your interested......let me know! Should be a good one!

P.S. Thanks a lot for writing off that 200k loan buddy. You're a true friend! Got me out of a real big hole there!

Talk soon,

Fizman

Myself and a few other mates are currently gmailing each other saying that we should all send one off to him! LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

LOL at raiding them now after they've had ages to cover up any crimes. This should've happened ages ago. I suppose FF had to wait until they were sure what would be 'discovered' in this raid before letting it go ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

any legal eagles here know if convicted how long these clever people would serve in the Joy?

They'll be tagged for life, but it'll be a special electronic tag that looks like a rolex watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Well if they've been spending the last few weeks covering their tracks, they haven't done a very good job so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Fizman wrote: »
    I've a good mate of mine working in the Lending dept as an assistant manager in Anglo HO, so he's probably getting the latex glove treatment right now!! :pac:

I have his work email. Seriously contemplating sending him an email:

"Hey <xxxx>, how are things bud? When you getting down for a few beers again?

We're hitting Galway this weekend if your interested......let me know! Should be a good one!

P.S. Thanks a lot for writing off that 200k loan buddy. You're a true friend! Got me out of a real big hole there!

Talk soon,

Fizman

Myself and a few other mates are currently gmailing each other saying that we should all send one off to him! LOL

The way the Anglo thing is going, you might want to add a few zeros on that 200,000 to get it noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭zesman

Not one day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭dh2007

I can already get a whiff of a massive, money wasting tribunal coming down the pipeline.

How much'll that cost the taxpayer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

lets be clear:
    this was a pure PR exercise nothing more,
    No one will ever go to jail over this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭kf1920

The only chance people will go to jail is when it gets to the point that people want Biffo and Lenihan to resign will they prosecute someone. This is more than likely for show, as will the scapegoat when that time comes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Pebkac

Course they won't go to jail, they'd have to implicate people! Namely government officials and other high profile people. I mean, why would we let these people go to jail, they are only robbing out of everyone's pockets?!!!!

skelliser wrote: »
    lets be clear:
    this was a pure PR exercise nothing more,
    No one will ever go to jail over this.
    So was everyone in the fraud unit told, "this isn't real, just make it look good?"