Get ready for traffic chaos, all out Dublin Bus strike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭wyndham

Des wrote: »
    Fúck the unions.

But people.

How many of you actually work on a Sunday?

The 1st March is a Sunday.

They are striking on a Sunday.

Big-fúcking-whoop, I'll just stay in bed.

Still though, Unions are bastards.

They are going all-out, commencing on the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

So in your opinion everyone should just sit tight on their a*se and be happy and bow with a hat in their hand to the powers that be how fabulous everything is that yez don't have to eat grass yet and go back to living in mud huts yet :confused:

Wake up people. If it's going to get worse, are yez using your civil rights to protest against the unfairness?

Why should everyone just sit tight and accept that this is the way it's going to be now? Better late than never I say.

I think everyone should go out and protest and stand a vigil outside the Dail, it's their fault... so why should everyone just be silent?

I think your sentiment is right, we should all be out protesting, but not about this. This is an unfortunate reality, and as nice as it would be for every single one of us to keep our jobs and our pensions, there is not the capacity to do so in the current economic climate. It's harsh I know, but it's the reality of the situation. There are a few lean years ahead and cutbacks are being made in every single industry, and the public sector should be no different. After all the money just isn't there to pay all that staff.

In relation to what we should be protesting about, well the whole country should be up in arms about the government and the way they have handled the economy. We should also be out demanding criminal charges are brought against the bank officials who got us into this mess and that the gross salaries and pensions of government officials and high ranking civil servants are slashed in line with the rest of us. We should be demanding that our country is run as a much tighter ship, by people with economic knowledge, not some idiot voted in by his constituants and who doesn't have a clue about economics etc. A fish rots from the head down and heads should roll for this mess. It's up to the people to demand as much and to expect much more from future governments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭RaverRo808

Dozens of workers are getting fired purely because their company which is a state body is being run poorly,thats no solace to their families who are now on the breadline,so their colleagues are striking in solidarity,showing a message that they are not happy seeing their work mates being fired out of the blue,and they are going to cause abit of difficulty to prove their point,we should support blue-collar workers like bus drivers who make life easier for us,by taking us to our jobs day in and day out,if the only thing you can worry about is you being abit late for because of it,up yours!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

RaverRo808 wrote: »
    Dozens of workers are getting fired purely because their company which is a state body is being run poorly,thats no solace to their families who are now on the breadline,so their colleagues are striking in solidarity,showing a message that they are not happy seeing their work mates being fired out of the blue,and they are going to cause abit of difficulty to prove their point,we should support blue-collar workers like bus drivers who make life easier for us,by taking us to our jobs day in and day out,if the only thing you can worry about is you being abit late for because of it,up yours!

tbh, fúck them, fúck them all.

People are losing jobs all over the country, why should the public sector be immune to it.

They are, quite simply, holding this country to ransom. Everyone has to chip in to help in this climate.

Teachers - fúck 'em

Gardaí - fúck 'em

Bus Drivers - fúck 'em

Nurses - fúck 'em

THERE IS NO MONEY THERE.

NONE.

Stop looking for blood from a stone.

Stop holding me, a taxpayer, to ransom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

But maybe there are ways of sticking it to "the man" without seriously messing things up for people and businesses who are also struggling to make ends meet at the moment.

When the toll bridge staff went on strike a few years ago, they just refused to take money and gave everyone who drove through a flier to tell them what they were striking about. The Dublin bus people could do the same. If things are really as bad as they are saying, then surely the risk of being fired is no greater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭beth-lou

They are being made redundant because there isn't the money to run the company and pay that many staff. Hell, companies that are being run incredibly well and were in profit for the last few years are having to do the same if not worse. Sasha closed it doors yesterday, the liquidator came in and within 15 mins the doors were closed. It is happening all over. They are keeping Dublin Bus going, but have to cut back. Only a fool would try to continue, it's actually not feasable to do so. It is terrible, I agree. But the strike is futile, and they are dreaming if they think they have a valid point to make. Welcome to the recession!

beth-lou wrote: »
    Welcome to the recession!

Welcome indeed.

Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

LOL, the company that i work for posted some pretty ****ing fantastic profits last year and are having to cut staff in order to keep operational costs at a point where they are competitive to stay in the market.

If Dublin Bus had some competition, as oppossed to being continuously protect and supported with tax payers money, then maybe the would not be in their current "poorly managed" condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭Iago

so let me get this straight...

Dublin Bus are letting staff go because they're losing money right?

The unions are pi$$ed and the solution they've come up with is to on strike.

So their solution to the company not making enough revenue is to reduce that revenue by X number of days this year that they're on strike, and reduce the overall revenue as a result of the number of people that will realise they can cycle/walk/skip gaily down the road to work.

Meaning that more job cuts are required because Dublin Bus is losing more money as a result.

brafcukingvo

Iago wrote: »
    skip gaily

What you get up to on your time is your own business tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Myth wrote: »
    Sweet! More room in the cyclebus lane so.

I heard Dempsey say Dublin Bus will crack any minute purple monkey dishwasher.

We'll show him, especially for that "purple monkey dishwasher" remark!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

markpb wrote: »
    That's an idiotic comment. Apart from any support they receive from their union, their strike day will be unpaid.

what is idiotic is stupid people not realising there is no money to pay wages, people have to be let go end of

And the fact that if bus actually turned up, people might use them more and there wouldnt be a need for the redundancies but the last time Dublin Bus tried to improve a route and put on an extra bus, they went out on strike for a week - seriously, they can all go and f.cuk themselves
    Hold on,
    Why all these negative reactions??
    What has the recession to do with Dublin bus? At all... AT ALL????
    They increased fares, they "invested" in new buses (can anyone see the difference??) People- CAR POOL is a word that's well known in other parts of Europe, I've used it here as well to the confusion of my co-workers at the time. So no, it's not something exotic.

GO Dublin bus drivers!!! :):):)

yeah, i can see a difference at least 3 times a week my bus doesnt turn up and i have left with a choice of waiting another 1.20 mins for the next bus or walking twenty mins to the next stop.

i also noticed they cancelled the 7am monday - friday, so the first bus is at 9am but i also notice they put the missing 7am bus on, on saturdays!!!!!!!!

i car pool but i hate driving in the city centre, i should be able to use public transport to get to work, well, it gets me part-way to work, it only goes as far as Parnell Street and i have to walk across to merrion square

dublin bus is a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭big syke

I wonder what would happen if every person that faced a job loss/redundency or their company faced cuts striked? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭markpb

And the fact that if bus actually turned up, people might use them more and there wouldnt be a need for the redundancies but the last time Dublin Bus tried to improve a route and put on an extra bus, they went out on strike for a week - seriously, they can all go and f.cuk themselves

The government asked Deloitte to prepare a report on how inefficient DB are. Deloitte came back and said DB and BE were *as efficient as any comparable operator in Europe* but their routes and tickets could do with some shaking up. Who controls those things? The government do!

A better way to save money would be the make DB *better*, use the money they have more wisely - not rip out routes and fire drivers making it worse for everyone. If your bus route is curtailed or cancelled and you drive, you make all the other buses slower and make them lose more money so more drivers have to be fired. How does that make sense?
    i also noticed they cancelled the 7am monday - friday, so the first bus is at 9am but i also notice they put the missing 7am bus on, on saturdays!!!!!!!!

Where on earth do you live?! What Dublin bus do you get that doesn't start till 9am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Dublin Bus is projected to haemorrhage 30 million this year of Taxpayers Money for a ****e service that you cannot cross the city without going into the city centre first.

Todays Indo states "There will be a reduction of 290 staff across all grades, including 160 temporary drivers, executive, clerical, operations and maintenance staff."

To me the cuts are regrettable but sound fair.

The fecking unions need to wake up.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

markpb wrote: »

Where on earth do you live?! What Dublin bus do you get that doesn't start till 9am?

i live in Dublin 11 - FFS - it is a ****ing disgraceful service.

They cancelled my 6.10pm last week because another bus was late. when i point out to the Inspector that it was very unfair, as my next bus wasnt until 7.20pm but said "sure just take other bus and walk"

why bother paying to use dublin bus and just walk everywhere - which appears to be the official dublin bus line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Will I get a partial refund for a monthly ticket?

i live in Dublin 11 - FFS - it is a ****ing disgraceful service.

What bus in D11 doesn't start till 9am? that sounds like the crappiest bus service in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

mathie wrote: »
    Will I get a partial refund for a monthly ticket?

I don't think you are getting the picture, this is about screwing as much money out of you as possible for inept and downright ridiculus service, why the hell would they want to give you any back?

It's all well and good saying that they have the right to protest! They do! What they don't have the right to do is jeopardize mine and others jobs in doing so! Fortunately I have a fairly reasonable employer and am lucky as such, others may not be as lucky. The other point as I see it is that this strike will cost the economy and as such the taxpayers millions in lost revenue as a result. Not only lost manhours of employment, but lost trade to retail due to reduced footfall. The logic of this massively selfish attitude escapes me entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

On your bikes lads - you will never go back to the bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Madou wrote: »
    15 mins from Templeogue on a bike into town evry morning; 40 mins on the bus - just sayin....

Strike = bike :)

What route? Plus you have to deal with rain, snow, coldness:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Is it just for the Sunday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dublin Bus should head down to Limerick and take their pick of the poor b*stards chucked out on their arse by Dell. They'll be happy of the work and won't be dicking around like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

SantryRed wrote: »
    Is it just for the Sunday?

Just the days ending in Y

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

bobbiw wrote: »
    Who is supposed to keep funding Dublin Bus, the tax payer?,

Is the taxpayer funding public transport that outrageous an idea?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

skywalker wrote: »
    Is the taxpayer funding public transport that outrageous an idea?
    Not at all - but if we are, we should have some insight into how our money is being spent. In the case of DB it would not very effectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Id absolutely agree with you there too. & to be fair we should be getting a much better service for our money.

But I never got where the idea came from that public transport companies had to be profitable, they exist to provide public transport, not make a profit. In any case, this is OT. Just something that irks me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

skywalker wrote: »
    Id absolutely agree with you there too. & to be fair we should be getting a much better service for our money.

But I never got where the idea came from that public transport companies had to be profitable, they exist to provide public transport, not make a profit. In any case, this is OT. Just something that irks me.

They don't necessarily need to make a profit, they should however be self sufficient!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

They don't necessarily need to make a profit, they should however be self sufficient!

YEP.

Anyway, Slow Motion and a Dublin Bus thread. :p

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Why? Public transport in most cities (except Edinburagh AFAIK) cost the taxpayer something. In most cases they cost more than Dublin Bus.