Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,310 ✭✭✭✭noodler

So? He clearly isn't injured-thats the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

kida wrote: »
    Just saw spanish squad - shocked that Torres is in it. what was point of not playing him last weekend then?

He was on a break :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Just saw spanish squad - shocked that Torres is in it. what was point of not playing him last weekend then?
    Wait - let me get this clear - are we bashing Rafa for protecting/resting Torres again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

PiE wrote: »
    Wait - let me get this clear - are we bashing Rafa for protecting/resting Torres again?

It's fine to rest Torres, if your going to do that though why sell Keane?
    We end up playing Ngog instead who has been septic anytime i've seen him this year, I would actually take back Voronin to play instead of him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Calm down, I imagine he'll get a late run about for 20-25 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

colly10 wrote: »
    It's fine to rest Torres, if your going to do that though why sell Keane?
    We end up playing Ngog instead who has been septic anytime i've seen him this year, I would actually take back Voronin to play instead of him

And round and round we go..............

In Ngog's defense, I thought he had a decent game on Sat considering it was his first start. Wasn't fed an awful lot, but he got stuck in and tried to play some ball when he could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭daithijjj

mike65 wrote: »
    Calm down, I imagine he'll get a late run about for 20-25 mins.

According to bbc sport he is starting the game.......

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/7874902.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,310 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Good. Hopefully he will get even sharper and build more match fitness.

john47832 wrote: »
    No, I’m talking about those nasty Rafa bashers who are just so plain boring, boring, boring..

Someone doesn't agree with you, so is obviously boring, I find your rant and the whole in rafa we trust thing boring but that's irrelevant
    The headlines told us how on Keanes return to Tottenham he ‘stuck the boot in’. The strongest term he used was that it was ‘baffling’. Another cheap headline to grab attention, and another distortion of the truth.

Thats the papers, they write ****, if ye read tabloids looking for opinions then thats what your going to get. This is not the opinion of any fan

Fans can be gullible and when they hear an ex-favourite such as Rushie speak they are going to listen – even when he is talking tripe. So let’s analyse what Rushie told us. When it came to team selection he told us that when he was in Italy he played in a game where he scored four goals. He was then taken off when he felt if he had stayed on he would have scored a couple more.

Noone said anything about Rush, I along with others base my opinion on what I see, not what I hear from the tabloids, the commentators etc.. Just because you don't agree with me doesn't mean that my opinion is any less valid or that I got it from reading the papers.
    You get alot of fans who back Rafa and believe they know it all, this is bull**** imo, from my perspective some of them are looking with Rose tinted glasses, but I still don't look at their opinions as less valid than my own (although many of them would look at mine as invalid)
    Keane was sold for economic reasons – that’s the way life is at Anfield.

True, so I assume that you can see that selling him is a gamble which may or may not pay off and can understand why some fans think it was a bad decision?
    as long as the Reds have the great man at the helm, they have hope.
    Benitez, take a bow. And shame on you who run from the truth of his greatness

This is the sensationalist bul**** that you accuse others of, you put the success down to the manager, I put it down to the players and feel we are doing well in spite of the manager, again its opinion but unlike you I don't confuse mine with being a fact

re Torres

Oh dear, not too happy about that. The ref better be paying attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,818 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Really, there isn't much point in worrying about an individual game because 'zomg he could get hurt'. If he is fully fit at the moment it is correct for him to be selected for his country. There is no reason to believe that he is more likely to get a knock or injury in this game than any run of the mill premiership game. He'll be grand.

mike65 wrote: »
    re Torres

Oh dear, not too happy about that. The ref better be paying attention.

Well i hope his eyes are on ferdinand at least..;)........you never know what demons could shine through in his treatment of torres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

genuinely do think ferdinand will try do him later on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

colly10 wrote: »
    1. Someone doesn't agree with you, so is obviously boring, I find your rant and the whole in rafa we trust thing boring but that's irrelevant

2. Thats the papers, they write ****, if ye read tabloids looking for opinions then thats what your going to get. This is not the opinion of any fan

3. Noone said anything about Rush

4. True, so I assume that you can see that selling him is a gamble which may or may not pay off and can understand why some fans think it was a bad decision?

5. This is the sensationalist bul**** that you accuse others of, you put the success down to the manager, I put it down to the players and feel we are doing well in spite of the manager, again its opinion but unlike you I don't confuse mine with being a fact

Youve completely lost me here :confused: a bit like trying to guess what Rafa will do next
    This article was written by Pat Dolan which I totally disagree with and made that point.

1. I didnt write the article, took it from an earlier post
    2. I made that point - its a point from a "second rate manager"
    3. Read again...
    4. I believe in gambling, this is not a gamble, selling any proven goalscorer when we are second in league is insanity, add that to the fact we only have 1 real goalscorer... more stubborn I reckon
    5. Again - I didnt write the article, was rather commenting on the rubbish that was in it... Partly my fault for not indicating sufficiently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Iang87 wrote: »
    genuinely do think ferdinand will try do him later on

correct me if I am wrong but are all Torres injuries in the last few years self inflicted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

correct me if I am wrong but are all Torres injuries in the last few years self inflicted

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭shotamoose

everyone else who has spent 20 million on a striker would play him every game

No they wouldn't. And they don't. I don't know why that's so hard to understand.

Youve completely lost me here :confused: a bit like trying to guess what Rafa will do next
    This article was written by Pat Dolan which I totally disagree with and made that point.

1. I didnt write the article, took it from an earlier post
    2. I made that point - its a point from a "second rate manager"
    3. Read again...
    4. I believe in gambling, this is not a gamble, selling any proven goalscorer when we are second in league is insanity, add that to the fact we only have 1 real goalscorer... more stubborn I reckon
    5. Again - I didnt write the article, was rather commenting on the rubbish that was in it... Partly my fault for not indicating sufficiently

Sorry, I took everything I quoted to be your opinion, didn't realise you were quoting someone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

shotamoose wrote: »
    No they wouldn't. And they don't. I don't know why that's so hard to understand.

Well he would play 90% of the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I am concerned about Ferdinand on Torres. It may be cynical, it may be childish but I don't care. I don't trust him to play a fair game against Torres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Ah lads I don't remember Ferdinand ever making a cynical tackle. With Aston Villa up your holes maybe you should be worried about Barry taking out Alonso, or Torres.

Cancel teh game!

Ah lads I don't remember Ferdinand ever making a cynical tackle. With Aston Villa up your holes maybe you should be worried about Barry taking out Alonso, or Torres.

i think we are just a little bit overly worried about the thought of dirk on his own up there..:D

and why would barry injure one of his teamates for 09/10 season?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,713 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

why would he take out his future team mates?? :pac:

ferdinand is filthy, dont trust him :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

daithijjj wrote: »
    and why would barry injure one of his teamates for 09/10 season?:P
    Cyrus wrote: »
    why would he take out his future team mates?? :pac:

Lads, the Villa fans are starting to get a bit cocky as it is. Don't make it so easy for them, cos you just know one of them would come in saying "well you can't blame Torres for wanting to join Villa. He wants to win things!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

They can be as cocky as they want.

They will win nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,143 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Wow over 11,000 posts. Cliff note time.

How will we do in the league
    The signing of Robbie Keane was a masterstroke by Benitez, perfect partner for Torres.
    We will do better this season.
    Hubba Hubba we are off to a great start.
    Benitez is the king.
    Hope them American gits sell the club soon.
    New stadium officially off.
    Rafa is not a good manager
    Rafa hasn't signed a new contract yet
    How have you the cheek to say that
    Gerard did nothing, I wasn't there but I know he did nothing.
    Rafa made that tv appearance to take the heat off of Gerard
    Rafa still hasn't signed a new contract
    All these draws are wreckin' my head
    Rafa is a terrible manager
    No he's not
    Yes he is
    Rafa still hasn't signed a contract
    No he's not
    Yes he is
    Keane had to go, Rafa never wanted him anyways
    Rafa proves he is the king again.
    Rafa still hasn't signed a new contract.

I think that covers most of it.

It dwarfs the United thread with a meezly 6.2k posts so far.

What do Liverpool fans expect for the rest of the season?
    What would you be satisfied with as a minimum at the end of the season?

monkey9 wrote: »
    Lads, the Villa fans are starting to get a bit cocky as it is. Don't make it so easy for them, cos you just know one of them would come in saying "well you can't blame Torres for wanting to join Villa. He wants to win things!!!

MONKEY9..........twas just a playfull comment.........o'neill has 6 players in the squad, hes defo no ferguson when it comes to pulling players out of squads due to 'picking up knocks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

eagle eye wrote: »
    [ .... ]
    Another 11,000 posts in here
    Maybe 10,000 more posts

:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

eagle eye wrote: »

i expect Liverpool to win ten of the last 13 games and to beat Madrid.

I was hoping to be there or thereabouts at the start of the season and to have a decent champions league run.

Im the odd one out here,a fairly contented Liverpool fan:D