Accepting lifts with strangers.

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Overheal wrote: »
    Julep walked back from the Spire? Nekkid?
    Terry's a mishmash of both man/child. This i will allow in my car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

I was hitching with a buddy around the country once, and we were broke, we were heading back to Limerick from Galway, got picked up by an Old guy, actually a Cork man too,...He was a true gentleman, who restored my faith in Humanity!!!!

So fcuk everyone that says people are not nice anymore!!!
    lets hope he has heirs
    liah wrote: »
    Because the crime rate in general is quite a lot higher than it is back home. In my area there just plain wasn't crime. It just didn't happen. No one worried about anything. I always felt safe, everyone did, and everyone was. Simple as.

And rape is generally not committed out in the middle of a road in the middle of the night, it's generally committed by someone you know in place familiar to you such as your home. Really not a reason to be worrying about walking around outside at night. Plus it's not something I'm particularly frightened of-- Been there, done that. Survived, life goes on. I have a funny attitude about things.
    Depends on what areas of Ireland and what areas of Canada we're talking about. Most of this country is not a crime trap.
    Caoimhín wrote: »
    I was always hitching lifts from strangers as a young fellow. Though that was a different time. I wouldnt do it now, way too many weirdos out there.

Is there any reliable proof that these days are more dangerous for hitching? I think the only difference is that people are more afraid of other people. Wierdos with cars have existed for as long as cars have. Pathetic really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭Valmont

I would never have even considered hitch-hiking here but I did a J-1 in Alaska last summer and because there was no bus service or even a taxi company where I was, I often had long swathes of highway to cover when moving about. I hitched dozens of times, often with Alaskan yokel types who usually had pick-ups full of guns and dead animals. I had no problems at all and had some very interesting conversations.

Hitch-hiking ftw!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Rsaeire

Biggins wrote: »
    This sounds daft but I have offered to give females a lift before - on one condition though.
    Before they get in the car - I hand them my phone (if they not got one) and tell them to ring home/a friend of theirs, etc, and I ask them to give my car reg number and my name/address (I show genuine i.d.) to the person at the other end.
    Most also mention what route they are taking and how long they will be if possible.

This relaxes them hopefully and they can hang on to my phone till they get out.

(I do charity/volunteer work for the Rape Crises Centre in Dublin so I know the horror stories sadly)
    I must say Biggins, that's a very good way to put someone at ease, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭emollett

c - 13 wrote: »
    I would never, never pick up a woman either alone or in a group, too easy for them to cry a false rape, seems to happen a bit. Then thats your life ruined.

It doesn't happen quite a bit, the rate of false reportage for rape is around 3%, the same as any other crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,774 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

My brother in law offered two guys a life in the Curragh about three years ago and one sat in the back and held a knife to his throat and told him to drive and directed him where. Turns out they were planning on robbing the post office in Newbridge and were planning on using my brother in law as a getaway driver. He was held at knifepoint outside the post office whilst one went in. He then had to drive off at high speed and shortly, before he even reached Naas the guards were up behind him. He eventually had to pull over and the two lads ran and were caught. He said he was absolutely bricking it at the time but it wouldn't change his mind about offering lifts because he used to depend on lifts years ago for getting to and from work.

I've a friend, who used to work with my brother in law years ago and they used to hitch home from where they were dropped off (about 7 miles). One of the days they were doing this a car stopped and picked them up, they all ran to the front seat, my friend made it so my brother in law and another guy had to sit in the back. As they were on their way home the driver went to overtake a tractor but the tractor was also just about to overtake a parked car and ended up shoving the car into the ditch. Long story short my mate ended up with a high break on his spine and is now paraplegic with very limited use of his hands. He says its weird but it could've been any of them that made that front seat and it was unusual that he was allowed in it as he was the youngest at 17. That was 13 years ago.

Two stories of hitching that went very wrong but both my mate and my brother in law both still encourage it as neither blame hitching as the problem and blame circumstances.