Goodbye!!

• 06-02-2009 05:51PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

:(Today a very small vilage near me said goodbye to thirteen young people(two from one family).All heading to OZ and NewZeland,we are loosing our young again.My son is in Iraq and not likely to be home again for a long time now.Thank god he has a good job and likes it but he would love to be home working here.The eightys all over again.
    Do many of you know people who have imigrated?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Is immigrating even a big deal anymore?
    With the interbuttz and webcams and all that you can see/talk to each other every day if you want.

Meh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's different from the 80s in that it's probably just as bad over there. At least in Ireland they're less likely to end up on the street, because they have their family there to back them up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I know 5 or 6 that have gone to Oz recently, but only for the 1/2 year WHV.

And I'm heading there myself after college, hopefully, along with 4 mates!

Those visas are gonna start being restricted shortly, so gonna have to apply pronto...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

I used to, but then they emigrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

I agree,but its not the same as having your kids close by,as thats what my lad would prefer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭carlowguy32

i heard last year from a builder that oz is the place to go, there crying out for workers there but is this actually true, is this a global thing? im sure when america starts to pick up it should have an effect on the rest of the world, maybe iraq is the only place on earth where its picking up because it cant be getting any worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Irish Independent
    Friday February 06 2009

Australia is in recession too. Not as deeply as Ireland, but yes, jobs are hard to come by (Letters, February 4).

As more Australians are getting laid off and having trouble finding new jobs, I am hearing 'Australian jobs for Australians' rhetoric in the media.

This is bad news for any Irish emigrant as more and more employers overlook people on the working holiday visas and employ those with no working restrictions, ie Aussies.

In better times, Irish people could work for a company here and when their six months was up (we are only allowed work for one employer for that period) they could realistically hope to be sponsored by their employer for up to four years. This is no longer the case.

Like in Ireland, companies are cutting costs, shedding and not replacing people.

Unemployed Australians have the safety net of social welfare. Irish people do not.

Those of us who have worked here are holding on tight, knowing that the prospect of getting a new job is diminishing all the time.

Unless you have a specific sought-after skill, I wouldn't advise any Irish person to come here right now.

At least at home you can get the dole.

Patrick Doyle
    Sydney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

holly1 wrote: »
    :(Today a very small vilage near me said goodbye to thirteen young people(two from one family).All heading to OZ and NewZeland,we are loosing our young again.My son is in Iraq and not likely to be home again for a long time now.Thank god he has a good job and likes it but he would love to be home working here.The eightys all over again.

Does your son sell cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Pigman III

Your son's in Iraq!?

Tell them to be careful on those coffin ships.They don't wanna catch Cholera.

Does your son sell cars?

Why does that sound familiar?Was there a thread about that lately?

Tell them to be careful on those coffin ships.They don't wanna catch Cholera.
    LOL! +1

Why would they go to Oz? read the indo, it's a baaaad idea

If you're coloured, DON'T!!! They have a product called "Coon Cheese"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I have family abroad and at least one friend currently giving serious consideration to it at the moment (having returned in 2005).

It is not as bad as it was in the 80's yet.

I think it is going to be a major shock to those who werent around for it last time. Whole areas with 70% unemployment (ie tallaght in the early 90's) is going to be a shock to the system for some. Menial jobs advertising for degrees only (ie for warehouse stocking shelves type work). Job ads that get 4 and 500 responses and so on - I think we are not there yet & hopefully things may not get quite that bad.

Does your son sell cars?

Yes,he went out a year and a half ago,and doing quiet well:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Your son is in Iraq? Fair play to the travel agent who sold that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Why are people emigrating to the furthest away countries possible when they are not even guaranteed work and by the sounds of it, it's not too good down under either :confused:

There are plenty of jobs around Europe, you don't need a work visa and you are covered by the European health insurance card in the beginning until you would be sorted out, plus you are never more than 2 hours away on a flight for the equivalent price of a train from Cork to Dublin.

Hey lady! Don't you think WHERE he's selling them is a bit in the dangerous side!?

Archimedes wrote: »
    Your son is in Iraq? Fair play to the travel agent who sold that one...

The company brought him out:),and pay for him to come home.
    But I realy miss him:(.

Really?.. are his initials JK?

Pigman III wrote: »
    Hey lady! Don't you think WHERE he's selling them is a bit in the dangerous side!?

He assures me he is very safe,probly safer than on a night out in Dublin!!
    He lives on a military base.

Really?.. are his initials JK?

No,do you know someone working there?

Ah, damn :P. Yeh I used to work with someone who works there now.

How is he getting on,They al know each other I must ask him if he knows anyone with initals JK, LOL
    When did he go,my fella went last Sep twelve months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Australia is now in recession too. It survived up until now because of the commodities boom/bubble. Western Australia, around Perth was where the jobs were but from what i have read on the Aussie and international news it is simply one year behind the US and Europe.

I think there may be work for those on the student visas working for a year and traveling but unfortunately the Aussies will stop issuing visas for those looking for low skilled/casual labour as they find themselves flooded with people from the UK and Ireland.

It is a damn shame that people have to emigrate to find a better life than what they have in Ireland. The "Republic" of Ireland is a failed state imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭IHATELIBERTAS

jester77 wrote: »
    Why are people emigrating to the furthest away countries possible when they are not even guaranteed work and by the sounds of it, it's not too good down under either :confused:

There are plenty of jobs around Europe, you don't need a work visa and you are covered by the European health insurance card in the beginning until you would be sorted out, plus you are never more than 2 hours away on a flight for the equivalent price of a train from Cork to Dublin.

+!

these people know no better. they are like lemmings. ok other eu countries have high unemployment as well but still

How is he getting on,They al know each other I must ask him if he knows anyone with initals JK, LOL
    When did he go,my fella went last Sep twelve months.

He probably went around the same time too. He's grand, he came back to Dublin to go for a few pints with his ex-work colleagues. Having great craic over there :D.

Its good for the liver,and the moneys not bad either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Why the hell is your son in Iraq ? What company brought him out there :confused:

Pigman III wrote: »
    If you're coloured, DON'T!!! They have a product called "Coon Cheese"!

We have "sambos" which outside Ireland is a racial slur. Your point is void.

I know one friend planning/talking about going to Austrailia - crazy bastard I think. He'll burn and burn bad. It's got serious fair skin.

My brother's talking/planning too, good luck to all of ye I say. You'll need it