Sex Ed in Irish schools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Goin by your name i assume waterford.
    What school? :confused:

I remember a girl telling me something very similar to that story, out of presentation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ebmma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

c - 13 wrote: »
    I remember a girl telling me something very similar to that story, out of presentation.
    Ah 1 of my exs went there................actually that suddenly explains a lot:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Who the hell is Sex Ed, and what's he doing in our schools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Smart Bug wrote: »
    Who the hell is Sex Ed, and what's he doing in our schools?
    Apparently he's only doin some of the nations children
    Picky cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Apparently he's only doin some of the nations children
    Picky cnut

Ah, he'll be Sex Reg before too long then.

I was in a catholic school (not by choice I might add) and also got sex ed in 6th year.. which made absoloutley no since to any of us.. since as youve said the majority had had sex well before this talk..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Have to say I find this a bit bizarre, and your principal's attitude is shocking. I got sex ed in 6th class, during biology classes in secondary school and a talk about contraception, abortion, rape, etc. in 6th Year. Granted, I practically knew everything by about fifth class ( and most people in my year were more than likely already sexually active in secondary school), but still, it sounds a hell of a lot better than what your school offers.

I feel like I'm back in the Eighties right now- ****e weather, recession and teaching school girls that contraception other than the rythmn method will make you infertile. :rolleyes: Hell, it's more like the Fifities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

Shocking......the earlier people are informed about sex these days the better in my opinion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Back when I was in school condoms were banned here, you had to smuggle them in from across the border. I can't believe they're still pushing the
    Rhythm method, I suppose it's one way of ensuring more catholics are born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

deisebabe wrote: »
    We even had to watch abortion videos. It was horrific.
    We had sex ed in 1st year (~1994, separate from the girls, and I can't remember what they talked about) and then think we were made watch the abortion video in 5th/6th year, I remember it boring me to tears almost and only watching when the tone was played (the signal that they were about to show the "horror" of an aborted foetus)

My parents were very good and did the whole "talk" with me which was for the best, too many nuns in our school to rely on the education system.
    Back when I was in school condoms were banned here
    I remember when Virgin (wasn't it?) started selling them when I was younger and half the country up in arms over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I attended a convent primary and secondary school.

In 6th class, a girl asked a teacher something about sex (I think it was something to do with orgasms or something, can't quite remember). That evening, the nun, who was the Principal asked that all 6th classes be brought into one classroom as she needed to speak with us. She told us all (we were all so red-faced and embarassed) that it was 'a very important and special time' for us as females, that our bodies were going to be changing and that we were going to become women. Thing was she never told us what 'was going to be changing'. NExt day a note went home, inviting parents and children to a 'talk' about a week later in the school hall. It was a nurse who gave the talk - we were so embarassed with our parents.

In 1st year, secondary school, we got another sex education talk. Strangely enough most of this talk focused on periods. Seeing as most of us had started our periods by then, it was a bit useless, spending an hour shoulding a massive, blown up diagram, projected onto the wall of how to insert and then remove a tampon. We were then given free samples. I always remember our class teacher telling us 'if ye don't want to use them, you can always give them to your Mother or sister for a present'. In our CSPE class after the 'talk' we were to discuss what went on in the 'talk. This was even more embarassing as our class teacher, who was to take us for CSPE was involved in examining the oral examinations for French and was out of school, so the German exchange teacher who was in our class decided she'd take it upon herself to discuss the talk with us: went into every detail of when 'she started her period' etc. It was cringeworthy and I was sitting at the top of the class that day and she was looking right at me.

Later on in 5th/6th year we had a talk on HIV/AIDS and STIs and also a talk from Americans who had either sworn to celibacy until marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Guess we were lucky. Got talks in 1st, 3rd and 5th year, and in TY there was a group thingy (no, not an orgy) outside school organised (we got the day off to attend).

TBH, Put Talliesin in charge of Sex Ed in schools. 'Nuff said! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

TBH, Put Talliesin in charge of Sex Ed in schools. 'Nuff said! :D

Ahem...

HouseHippo sounds like you got the same 'education' on the topic as I did
    and I left secondary school 16 years ago.

The uk has several really good sex education sites for teens like this one.
    http://www.teensource.org/ prolly no harm to pass that about quietly in school.

Just don't get into trouble by after last class going and writing it on every blackboard
    in the school so that it can be read the next morning before the teachers come for first class....
    cos me doing that with the womens information network number had the school in lock down
    for the day while they tried to find out who did it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I went to a catholic primary and secondary school and i have to say the sex ed was grand. Got the usual menstrual cycle stuff in 4th/5th class and another in 1st year. A talk on stds and hiv by a woman living with hiv in 1st year and a talk on contraception. Another contraception talk in 4th year.

househippo did you say your school wasn't catholic? A lot of people seem to be blaming a catholic agenda here for the dodgey sex ed, is that the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

LolaDub wrote: »
    househippo did you say your school wasn't catholic? A lot of people seem to be blaming a catholic agenda here for the dodgey sex ed, is that the case?
    She did say it was multi-denominational but just because it isn't Catholic does not mean it can't have a Catholic agenda, if the school is run by some one who "believes" then they will not support activities which clash with their beliefs.

Thaedydal seems to be suggesting something .... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I got full on sex-ed in 5th and 6th class....have yet to receive it in Secondary school so far though!!!:confused:
    oh but we did get shown a dvd sorry video from that Nun...judging by the clothes and styles etc. it looks from about 1987 ''Women have a vagina,but you probably dont know its there,so dont worry about it''
    i kid you not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I remember sex education in 6th class.

It was mostly about developing ourselves as people, our diet and pictures of sprem penetrating an egg. Then we had one in 2nd year I think and that was even less informative.

I don't think it's really the school's job though. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Twinkle-star15

We got something about chickens and eggs in third class, and a video of a bunch of girls sitting around talking about periods in 6th class (bit late by then for most of us :P).

We have drugs days and stuff in my school now, it's basically a bunch of paramedics showing gross pictures of STDs, and telling us stories of how people die from yokes. Fun times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,382 ✭✭✭Motley Crue

HouseHippo wrote: »
    Then you could imagine my surprise when I was told that the rhythm method is the best form of contraception :eek::eek::eek:

Im 23 and I have never heard of the rhythm method....?? Is that just another word for the missionary position? I think teaching 17yr old girls about sex is both an insult to the teachers, because they know the girls know far more than they are letting on and its just wasting time, and an insult to the girls because they should know how their body works at that age....doesnt mean they should have sex, thats their choice, they should just know about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Im 23 and I have never heard of the rhythm method....?? Is that just another word for the missionary position? I think teaching 17yr old girls about sex is both an insult to the teachers, because they know the girls know far more than they are letting on and its just wasting time, and an insult to the girls because they should know how their body works at that age....doesnt mean they should have sex, thats their choice, they should just know about it

The rhythm method is based around the idea that if a womans menstrual cycle is 28 days long there are X number of days around the middle where you can bang her stupid and she can't get pregnant because your sperm will be long dead before she ovulates.

This is, of course, biologically unsound but hey, it was invented by an organisation that is run by people that are celibate, what do you expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

I got the period talk at the end of 2nd year, so was just going on 15 :P very helpful, yep.

Around the same time we got to watch a video of a man and a woman in spandex with arrows showing their "changes" and a video of a baby being born. Then quickly told that only happens after you're married, so you don't need to worry about contraception. :mad:

TY got a talk from Americans about saving yourself for marriage which went down like a lead balloon, but some teachers applauded them. :rolleyes: My lovely biology teacher went into detail about different contraceptive methods in 6th year, which was probably too late, but hey, she tried, and was frank and scientific about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

HouseHippo wrote: »
    We have the stages of sexual arousal,what is an orgasam etc in our biology book but despite it being on the syllabus our teacher skipped over it and told us to do ti at home.
    FFS!

Some schools are quite good, some are dreadful.

Tbh, it doesn't always follow the "Catholic" vs "other" divide ... it often comes down to the attitude of the Principal / Deputy / senior teachers, or indeed to that of the individual class teacher who may go against the grain ... in either direction.

In truth, school isn't the best environment for sex ed., but the basics should be covered there in case it isn't covered properly at home or elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

We never got sex ed. Not in primary not in secondary.. None

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

We didn't have any sex ed classes either, but I think most people knew everything anyway (mixed, non-denominational school). We did however have a talk from the YHS (Youth Health Service in Cork). They do stuff like free pregnancy testing and teach fellas how to put on condoms (we didn't get any demonstrations that day though)

In 6th year Biology we had a substitute teacher for a while who was very young and she was surprised that we never had any proper sex ed. so she gave us a little talk about condoms, STD's etc. The only thing I learned from that class that I hadn't previously known was that some people use crisp packets as condoms to save money.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Who's Sex Ed?

The only thing I learned from that class that I hadn't previously known was that some people use crisp packets as condoms to save money.
    Salt and vinegar?! :eek:

Ouch! >.<

I think that might qualify as a (fairly Irish) urban myth, squigloo! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Salt and vinegar?! :eek:

Ouch! >.<

Yeah that was my reaction too. Ugh *shudders*

I think that might qualify as a (fairly Irish) urban myth, squigloo! :D

But I was told it in school so it has to be true! :pac:

Were you told the one about how you couldn't get her pregnant if you were standing up* too?! :P

* on your feet, I mean!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

In my school they don't even really teach sex ed, we're basically told "If you have sex, you WILL die."

I don't know why they get the nun to teach it tbh