Sh*t to hit the fan at 4Pm today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sitting back and watching yiz all squirm!! Pity I can listen in fom abroad...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭crackity_jones

Cutbacks are coming, that much we know. We probably know what those same cuts will amount to as they've been discussed and eased into the public mind in previous weeks.

Yes, the public sector wage bill is too high. And yet it was this very same goverment that allowed the public sector to grow to its present bloated state and allowed those very same high wage levels to materialise thanks to 'Social Partnership'.

Public spending has to be cut. That's a given but where is the public outrage over the mismanagement of our economy? Those very same people that you see in government now asking us to take one for the team are the very same people who put all our eggs into the one basket (housing), allowed the banks to do whatever they pleased (Anglo), and now blame the whole thing on 'what happened in the U.S.'.

And what will you do? Vote them back into government, that's what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I think he is going to announce that after revving up the BENCHMARKING GT through all five forward gears ..... he has hit the brakes, and has now found the reverse gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Bertie bastard caused the problems and Biffo has to clean up the sh!t now.
    Bertie gave too much money to the public service with the benchmarking. He was handing money out left right and centre. They should have been given a ONE OFF bonus and not permanent benchmarking.

Wasn't Biffo minister for Finance when all this was going on....?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Excellent post.

However we have seen the last of this lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Outdoor pyjama wearing tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

its on rte 1 now... cant wait to hear what enda k says after ha ha:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

minxie wrote: »
    its on rte 1 now... cant wait to hear what enda k says after ha ha:)

Of course he will say "none of this bollix would have happened if WE were in power he he he";)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Rumours are that the Early Childcare Supplement is being cut or means tested...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

/me gets the popcorn ready.

This had better be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

They might save alot of money but what good is that when theres no jobs? Next there'll be taxation on prostitution.

Of course he will say "none of this bollix would have happened if WE were in power he he he";)
    my very thoughts ;)

Rumours are that the Early Childcare Supplement is being cut or means tested...

Thats a deffo gettin' the chop.They will argue that creche's around the country are closing down so people don't need it.Nothing to do will the fact they cost 1200 euro per month and people are not puttin' up with that sh!te anymore:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Yes but I don't hear people baying for Lenihan's blood now. The buck stops with the leader,in this case Bertie, who got us into this mess. Having said that, Cowen is some idiot to have taken the job in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭hblock21

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Look's like the sh*t will finally hit the fan today when Biffo will announce 2,000,000,000 Euro worth of cutbacks in state spending.

If anyone fancies a protest at 4:10PM today, follow me!!!

Why on gods earth would we be protesting?!?!?!!?

The cutbacks have to happen ASAP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭crackity_jones

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Indeed he was. Some of the Fianna Fáil lifers would have you know that Cowen only walked in the door 12 months ago.

Cowen was second only to Bertie in terms of influence and power. He was his anointed successor from an early stage. Trying to tell us that none of this is any way down to him is really just taking the mick.

Remember people, this is YOUR money they're throwing around. And it was your money that they squandered (to a large part) during the 'good' years.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

It must be bad, he's speaking in Irish :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

He's going to tax the worker. Yes the worker, the one poor bastard left with a job.
    He's going to have to pay for everyone and everything.

The ugly gimp is on now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭manc

this should have been done weeks ago and not try the Bertie roll of pandering to the Public sector unions......they were not elected to run the country.

Wait until next year when they have to find €4,000,000,000 MORE.

my guess....
    Small tax increases indirect or direct
    Public sector pension levy possibly even a pay cut
    Changes to the social welfare ie, following up on payment fraud
    Cut in minimum wage by €1

next year will be large increase in tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

OP work in public sector perhaps?

theres far too many people in the public sector getting paid massive amounts doing f*ck all.

however, i think not and its the ordinary decent folk like us that will get screwed.

dont they all look very well fed :rolleyes:

he is so full of crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I'm a single bloke working in the private sector. I should probably just drop the kek's and bend over now :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭eightcell

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Outdoor pyjama wearing tax?

Damn idiots wearing bed clothes in public!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Oh god. I just switched on RTE and there's poo flying around the place.

Bambi wrote: »
    I'm a single bloke working in the private sector. I should probably just drop the kek's and bend over now :mad:

some KY aswell ,oh yeah your getin' it.Oh yeah thats me too ,except for the single bit!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

minxie wrote: »
    a happy tax!!! anyone caught smiling in any way
    will be obliged to pay a weekly rate of 5% :(
    Im safe then :D ......awww crap :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

theres far too many people in the public sector getting paid massive amounts doing f*ck all

the majority of people in the public sector are on crappy wages

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Bambi wrote: »

In the same boat as you my friend
    I've never been raped before I hope he's a bit gentle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Lenihan two hours earlier:

"A internet licence taoiseach, everyones using that yoke nowadays! the f***kers!they;re sneaking off onto this internet yoke for their news and entertainment without giving us a cut! they even use it to have a go at the govt I heard"

cowon: "jays yur right Brian! de hoors! I'll give dem freedom of speech"