Civil & Public Service Stories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

dny123456 wrote: »
    Would it be the money?

no love. Why do I bother breakin my boll*x for patients when tney clearly DO NOT appreciate what I do!

A consultant wouldn't get out of bed for what I earn. he'd probably have earned it by his 10am tea break on a monday morning!!
    The Master wrote: »
    Exactly
    Civil servant or in the public sector? I'm clerical in a hospital!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

RATM wrote: »
    There must be tons of them, like you know the stories about how some in the civil and public service get away with 45 minute tea breaks, run sideline businesses from their desks etc.

did you just make up all that stuff on your sofa with a cuppa tea in your hand.

i get no where near a 45 min tea break! i get 15 mins at 10.30 for breakie and 30 mins at 1.30 for lunch!

you really need to think before you talk.

all this Public Service bashing is beginning to get boring!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Trinity wrote: »
    Actually come to think of it, i dont take a tea break either, i eat at my desk as well! I run down for a quick smoke and then straight back into it. :mad:

This is why i never reply to these types of threads !

Same here. I would love to know who all these Civil Servents are taking long tea breaks :P . I have a cup of tea at my desk in the morning but I am still working. My colleagues are the same. I love these urban legends about the 45 minutes tea breaks. Its up there with the free cars that refugess that came here get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭321654

My sons football team went to Blackpool for the weekend last year and the year before. 4 teachers went with them to look after them.

Wouldnt take a penny.

Some of the teachers take the football team after school twice a week. They also take them to matches at the weekends. Others chess teams etc. They dont take any money.

Some of them do a breakfast club before school and a homework club after school for kids with problems at home.

Much respect from me.

gazzer wrote: »
    Same here. I would love to know who all these Civil Servents are taking long tea breaks :P . I have a cup of tea at my desk in the morning but I am still working. My colleagues are the same. I love these urban legends about the 45 minutes tea breaks. Its up there with the free cars that refugess that came here get.

thats the thing. there is probably one person that get away with being a lzy sod and then thole employee force are tarred with the same brush!

kceire wrote: »
    did you just make up all that stuff on your sofa with a cuppa tea in your hand.

i get no where near a 45 min tea break! i get 15 mins at 10.30 for breakie and 30 mins at 1.30 for lunch!

you really need to think before you talk.

all this Public Service bashing is beginning to get boring!

I get 1 hour whenever i want And can take short breaks throughout the day whenever i feel like it.

I can take a 45 minute tea break if i feel like it. Nobody says a word. If i want to go stay in bed and dial in from home. no problem.

I get 28 days holidays a year and work a 35 hour week.

Life is great. Ive earned it over the years.

Oh yeah. I work in the private sector.

And there are people i work with who spend at least 3 out of 5 days solid on the internet.

A report landed on my desk a couple of weeks ago with the websites they've been visiting. They are heavy posters on boards. So i got someone to match the urls in the report with names and posts on boards. Very interesting reading i can tell you :)

Now myself and the other guys have a list of Usernames against staff and laugh at it every day. I have to talk to these people but i cant yet as i will just burst out laughing at them.

321654 wrote: »
    I get 1 hour whenever i want And can take short breaks throughout the day whenever i feel like it.

I can take a 45 minute tea break if i feel like it. Nobody says a word. If i want to go stay in bed and dial in from home. no problem.

I get 28 days holidays a year and work a 35 hour week.

Life is great. Ive earned it over the years.

maybe your still in bed now dreaming of your dream job!
    but on the other hand, if you've earned it and make the effort, fair play then.

kceire wrote: »
    maybe your still in bed now dreaming of your dream job!
    but on the other hand, if you've earned it and make the effort, fair play then.

dont feed the troll!!! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

ChewChew wrote: »
    We are clearly are the only 2 mugs in the public sector in that case!!! ppffftttt! :rolleyes:

COme to think of it, all of my colleagues eat at the desk for the most part. It really is a busy job!

And, and and the public fcuking know this cos the phone is always hopping at lunch time esp between 1 and 2 :D

Must be the OP trying to catch us out :p

Trinity wrote: »
    COme to think of it, all of my colleagues eat at the desk for the most part. It really is a busy job!

And, and and the public fcuking know this cos the phone is always hopping at lunch time esp between 1 and 2 :D

Must be the OP trying to catch us out :p

I rarely get to leave my desk. even for a píss. I work in an office that is freezing cold because we have no heating in it. We have other issues which I care not to speak of on the interweb. lol. but I have to deal with these conditions in order to do my job.

I work on flexi time. fine, it sounds nice but when I work over my allowance i lose hours that i have worked and dont get paid for. I dont get to take my extra days off because we are seriously under staffed! so this subject just really makes my blood boil because to be quiet frank, we burst our balls for the big shots to get the credit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

no love. Why do I bother breakin my boll*x for patients when tney clearly DO NOT appreciate what I do!
    Sounds a bit moaney to me. We all "break our boll*x", public and private sector... and most of us would prefer it if we didn't have to. I did the lotto last weekend! Point is we _all_ have to, because we need the money. Difference with the public sector is the incompetents can't be cleared out and so give everyone a bad name. I've no doubt there are plenty of very hard working individuals in the public sector. But there's a right shower of chancers. I lived for 4 years with a girl working in the corporation (This is first hand experience, not someone I heard about). The numbers of 'sickies' I could not believe. I would say about two or three every month. Then she got 'depressed' and took the guts of a year off, on full pay. She said she had 'ME'. Returned to the service got pay rise, by virtue of years of service. Sickening.

A consultant wouldn't get out of bed for what I earn. he'd probably have earned it by his 10am tea break on a monday morning!!
    I think this is indicative of the problem in the health service. People comparing themselves to consultants/doctors, who are living in another world and are grossly overpaid, even by international standards. Don't compare your situation to theirs, their levels of pay are crazy compared to anyone.

BTW, private sector contractor here. Havent had a holiday since 2003, apart from 4 days off each Christmas/New year. Have to keep working to pay mortgage. Work from 8:30 to about 6:30 everyday, no overtime, no time in lieu, no coffee breaks. Have an hour at desk for lunch. Can be made redundant with 1 weeks notice at any time. This is normal in our company.

I work on flexi time. fine, it sounds nice but when I work over my allowance i lose hours that i have worked and dont get paid for. I dont get to take my extra days off because we are seriously under staffed!

It makes my blood boil to hear that you think 'lose' hours that you have worked. Every private sector company I have ever worked for, people are expected to put in extra hours. No one gets paid for it, no one gets time off in lieu. Your post reminds me of the FAS interview, where the MD, was arguing his 'entitlement' to first class travel. Couldn't see any problem with his swapping first first class ticket for two tickets so that his wife could come, because he was 'entitled' to it. This twisted sense of entitlement seems to be prevalent.

Sounds a bit moaney to me. We all "break our boll*x", public and private sector... and most of us would prefer it if we didn't have to. I did the lotto last weekend! Point is we _all_ have to, because we need the money. Difference with the public sector is the incompetents can't be cleared out and so give everyone a bad name. I've no doubt there are plenty of very hard working individuals in the public sector. But there's a right shower of chancers. I lived for 4 years with a girl working in the corporation (This is first hand experience, not someone I heard about). The numbers of 'sickies' I could not believe. I would say about two or three every month. Then she got 'depressed' and took the guts of a year off, on full pay. She said she had 'ME'. Returned to the service got pay rise, by virtue of years of service. Sickening.
    For some reason I think you are clearly missing my point. I dont work my ass off and then moan about it. I work my ass off because I love my job. I love dealing with the public and trying to make their lives that little bit better. I make the sacrifices of eating my breakfast or lunch at my desk so I can continue to work away. why should the public patients have to suffer just because there are budget cuts, staff shortages, incompentant chiefs and not enough indians? I work in the HSE because I want to help. all my patients didn't ask to get sick. now do ya get my point?

I think this is indicative of the problem in the health service. People comparing themselves to consultants/doctors, who are living in another world and are grossly overpaid, even by international standards. Don't compare your situation to theirs, their levels of pay are crazy compared to anyone.
    I'm not making a comparison. i'm saying I am left to pick up the pieces that these people who are in such high paying jobs neglect. they are the ones that dont get the ear bashing, but i am the one that is more than happy to help the patient, thats why I do what I do! If I wanted to be a consultant, I bloody well would be!
    BTW, private sector contractor here. Havent had a holiday since 2003, apart from 4 days off each Christmas/New year. Have to keep working to pay mortgage. Work from 8:30 to about 6:30 everyday, no overtime, no time in lieu, no coffee breaks. Have an hour at desk for lunch. Can be made redundant with 1 weeks notice at any time. This is normal in our company.
    Are you a dosser? by the sounds of it, I really dont think so. so thats where we are alike.
    It makes my blood boil to hear that you think 'lose' hours that you have worked. Every private sector company I have ever worked for, people are expected to put in extra hours. No one gets paid for it, no one gets time off in lieu. Your post reminds me of the FAS interview, where the MD, was arguing his 'entitlement' to first class travel. Couldn't see any problem with his swapping first first class ticket for two tickets so that his wife could come, because he was 'entitled' to it. This twisted sense of entitlement seems to be prevalent.
    dear god you really are in a bit of strop there! and AGAIN are missing my point. I signed a contract to work a certain amounts of hours per week. I SIGNED A CONTRACT. I work way over that, but I dont come out every day bítching and moaning about it. thats my point. which you are clearly missing! I do not mind making these sacrifices in order to do right by my patients. and then to have the píss taken out of my colleagues and I for taking a 45 minute tea break really makes my blood boil!!! so buddy, get off your high horse. re-think your comparing me to some mother fúckin MD because even you know that that is out of order! re-read my posts, do what ya want, but just sit back and realise that you are contradicting me on this issue when I am clearly stating that I do NOT take the píss out of YOUR health service!

"re-think your comparing me to some mother fúckin MD because even you know that that is out of order"
    I didn't compare you to a MD, you did.

"come out every day bítching and moaning about it"
    Just today then?

"I SIGNED A CONTRACT" == I am entitled to

"re-think your comparing me to some mother fúckin MD because even you know that that is out of order"
    I didn't compare you to a MD, you did.
    you compared my situation his. (pardon my confusion:rolleyes:) I am not entitled to first class travel or a €400 hair do, why? because its not in my contract, like I doubt it was in theirs. . . ya get me now?
    "come out every day bítching and moaning about it"
    Just today then?
    no love. . . this is debating. not bítching or moaning. difference.
    "I SIGNED A CONTRACT" == I am entitled to
    I did sign a contract. If I signed my contract to earn €100k PA does that not mean I am entitled to it? I am entitled to my annual leave like everyone else because its in my contract. it is NOT in my contract to get first class travel etc. but I already stated that.

but AGAIN :rolleyes: you've missed my point. I dont mind missing out on the days, or losing a few hours because I know I am working my ass off to make sure I do my job right, and to the best of my ability and then to be called a lazy so and so who takes a 45 minute tea break when this is not true.

Now dear god please tell you understand me this time!!! please!

every private company i have worked in i got overtime or time off for my extra hours. in the PS i lose them as stated in an earlier post.

No love! .... but I am beginning to see why Mary is hitting a brick wall!

I'm off to bed, early start!

No love! .... but I am beginning to see why Mary is hitting a brick wall!

I'm off to bed, early start!

fail. epic, epic fail. :rolleyes:

Absolutely, you win. Well done.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I worked in the public sector for 3 years before leaving Eire.
    We didn't get any internet access.
    Had to pay for our own tea/coffee.
    Had to pay for our own Xmas parties, or any social events.
    I had to work my arse off and learn new technologies on the job with no training as they couldn't afford training.
    Working in private sector now and I spend hours and hours doing nothing but surfing the web, as I'm doing right now at work, and I get paid a lot more.
    So give them a break, where were these threads when you were all rolling in it during the boom? Maybe you should have joined the public sector!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,983 ✭✭✭445279.ie

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    So give them a break, where were these threads when you were all rolling in it during the boom? Maybe you should have joined the public sector!

Great point.

We're being bashed by the press and everyone else if joining in on the bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

I work in the private sector in an engineering firm for the last 10 years. Prior to that I worked in a local aurthority for one year. Truth be told I got out because the place was depressing. From what I saw the guys at the higher level were the busier. A lot of the guys at the lower levels were just waiting to retire. Yes the clock was always running but the amount of work that was being done was shocking. Plenty of wandering around hallways chatting. Out on site with the men on the ground was worse. The guys I worked with spent literally half their day travelling to and from tea breaks. All in all 4 hours actual work was done in any given day.

I still see this happening with people I deal with on a day to day basis in other local authorities at present. Our office is close to a number of golf courses and during the summer months 4:00pm meetings often end up with a request to bring them forward to 2:00pm and they end quickly. So do not tell me that these people do not exist in the public service.

I know there are lots of very intelligent and hardworking talented people working in the public services. And we have had a few wasters in our organisation over the years. They have not lasted very long however.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    I worked in the public sector for 3 years before leaving Eire.
    We didn't get any internet access.
    Had to pay for our own tea/coffee.
    Had to pay for our own Xmas parties, or any social events.
    I had to work my arse off and learn new technologies on the job with no training as they couldn't afford training.
    Working in private sector now and I spend hours and hours doing nothing but surfing the web, as I'm doing right now at work, and I get paid a lot more.
    yeah thats so true! there's not alot of perks of the job. I've been in and out of the hospital I work in for various different reasons and I get billed so its not like we even get that. not that I'd want it tbh. I pay my tax like everyone else, so why shouldn't I get a bill!
    DCC160 wrote: »
    Great point.

We're being bashed by the press and everyone else if joining in on the bandwagon.
    yup. but the thing is, no matter what, we will always be bashed. regardless of our area's or departments.

Originally Posted by dny123456 viewpost.gif

A lot of people bashing the public sector in this thread dont have the first clue about the public sector. Ive been in both public and private and i can tell you there is not much difference.

There are wasters in both areas.

Look at yer man on here talking about being a contractor in private sector, having no tea breaks etc.

If he was any good he wouldnt have had to take that, especially over the last few years. Improve your worth man. Stop taking it and make sure you are good enough at your job so that you dont have to be a slave as you describe. Any place ive ever worked there are clear terms of employment in the private sector. And when ive been a private contractor i make damned sure i get paid for every hour i work.

By all means, work overtime and dont get paid for if you want, but at the end of the day its your choice if you want to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

RATM wrote: »
    There must be tons of them, like you know the stories about how some in the civil and public service get away with 45 minute tea breaks, run sideline businesses from their desks etc.

As much as I love public sector bashing this is also true of some private sector.

In a job I worked in before, a number of teams were merged into a new department, which was then split into 2 sections ... only problem was there was 3 managers ... so 1 manager had no team to manage. He was there years and the union was pretty strong so he got to sit around his office, running his other businesses from the comfort of a nice well paid job where he didnt have any work to do. He pretty much just used the company as office space for his other empire. He even had a PA as he was a "manager" so the only person to report directly to him was his PA.

But back to the Public Sector bashing.

MY mate is a CO and he still gets to leave work an hour early on pay day for "Banking Time", even though he gets paid direct to his bank account.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    But back to the Public Sector bashing.

MY mate is a CO and he still gets to leave work an hour early on pay day for "Banking Time", even though he gets paid direct to his bank account.

Thats not true, the max time given for bank time is 30 minutes and you don't get to leave early. Its added to your clock. New entrants to the PS/CS do not get this anymore either!!

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Thats not true, the max time given for bank time is 30 minutes and you don't get to leave early. Its added to your clock. New entrants to the PS/CS do not get this anymore either!!

Oh, didnt know that, thats just what he told me.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Saint_Mel wrote: »
    Oh, didnt know that, thats just what he told me.

If you look at the tonnes of PS/CS threads on here you will see that alot of PS/CS's seem to bluff about what they do. Like the HEO making huge amounts on Overtime (There isn't a hope because you are only allowed do 16 hours OT a week from what I remember).
    I have heard CO's claim they are on €60,000+ a year. The max on the CO scale is somewhere around the : €40,000 mark and I think I am even over on that.

jonny24ie wrote: »
    If you look at the tonnes of PS/CS threads on here you will see that alot of PS/CS's seem to bluff about what they do. Like the HEO making huge amounts on Overtime (There isn't a hope because you are only allowed do 16 hours OT a week from what I remember).
    I have heard CO's claim they are on €60,000+ a year. The max on the CO scale is somewhere around the : €40,000 mark and I think I am even over on that.

Yeah, I know (or should I say was told) overtime was cut or its on an approved need to do basis so its not just a matter of staying back and racking up the hours.

My mate does seriously take the píssthough with sick days, Fridays are fairly non existant when he's been out for a few pints on a Thursday. Dunno how he gets/got away with it.