The Bus, Do You Get It?

• 22-01-2009 10:41PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Whats above, out of the boardsies who of you uses the bus. Got if for my 1st time in about 4 years there last week, ah yes the good auld 27.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,586 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

i have recently moved office from harolds cross to wood quay so i now get the 140 every morning. its actually grand, i used to drive my bike every morning but now the bus and im in work less stressed (from trying to dodge crazy mofos in their cars trying to hit me) and can now get a good 45 mins of tiesto into me on the journey in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

hate the bus, rude ignorent drivers, **** routes and never on time. i use the luas for 95% of my public transport and the train now and then. no wonder dublin bus are €9million down, they are a shower of c*nts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭ChewChew

I hate getting buses. partly because they are smelly. mostly because they are cold :o trains ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Whats above, out of the boardsies who of you uses the bus. Got if for my 1st time in about 4 years there last week, ah yes the good auld 27.

The bus is normally full of skangers... but could be worse... in a taxi they'ld be driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

No,im not poor

I like getting the bus
    I get it to and from work every day, I am not near a luas or train line

I don't see anything wrong with it as long as it's not late at night with scary drunk people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Thought this was the punch line to a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Mingey

I wish more people would so it would leave the roads traffic free for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,372 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

YDMHSSB wrote: »
    i use the luas for 95% of my public transport and the train now and then.

How ironic, the Luas isn't practical for 95% of the population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

****ing 27...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Not if I can help it prefer to walk or get the train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

doonothing wrote: »
    ****ing 27...

Aye! I wont have a bad word said about my beloved 27.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Yes even though i have a car i drive in these days to work. Handier. Its been a long time since i got the bus but its grand.

Can get 19/11/13/13a etc but usually wait for a No 4.

New route afaik and newer buses. I havent come across any rude drivers either and they are so much more regular than when i used to get the bus.

SUppose that will all change when they take some of the buses off though :(

I use them all the time:

3/11/13/13A/16/16A/41/746/78A/79/79A being the most common.

Only ever came across one snotty driver, one of the 78A ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

I only use buses to get into the city center for shopping or nights out

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Forky wrote: »
    Thought this was the punch line to a joke.

It's inscribed as the publicity capaign for Dublin Bus on the back and side of Double Deckers...

I certainly do use it considerably and I have the Luas a 10 minute walk away. The Luas is colder, more dangerous, slower and a glorified sardine tin. I have no need to drive so I let my Provisional Licence run out without a single lesson to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Aye! I wont have a bad word said about my beloved 27.

It's frequent... Not much else going for it!

Who'm I kidding, I wouldn't change it for the world! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

It is award winning*, on time*, friendly drivers* and gets me to and work from every day*.

* it is not Dublin Bus or Bus Eireann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭Kensington

I get it, every day :(. Why do they always run single deckers at peak times on the 150? Why I ask you?

And I wonder how much they paid someone to come up with that absolutely genious advertising slogan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭ladyella

I'd only need to get the bus the odd time now - I dont mind it all though... apart from when its raining and the windows are all closed and steamy and it gets smelly and hot.... then comes the dirty looks when you try to open one to get a breath of fresh(er) air grrrrrrrrrrrr:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I get it to/from work

I don't mind it that much, even though I/anyone could easily rant about bus eireann 'til the cows come home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 446 ✭✭phenomenon

Be careful about sitting at the back seats on the top deck. I've heard stories of skangers leaving used heroin needles behind them, sticking up from under the cushion. Catching AIDs isn't fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Get the 145 twice a day when I'm in college.

Very nice on the way in. Double deckers, usually empty when it gets my way and they're usually the new ones so they're really comfy.

It's a pain in the arse to get home. It's full of tards who get off before Foxrock church and could have got the 46A/46C/10. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Gator

Full of knackers...public transport...tut tut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Yes get buses to different towns(no train service) and not impressed with the bi-annual increases!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I've a bus stop 20 metres from the house and I use it rarely. Maybe if I'm off to town for the night or if I'm heading to Croker for a game. But I tend to use the car most of the time unless I'm heading out for a session - then the bus gets consideration.

That said I've often intended to get the bus but in sh!t weather I'll usually stick my arm out for a taxi if one comes by. Waiting on the 54A is like watching paint dry..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I can't believe no-ones' replied with

"Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahaahah............no."

Too obscure eh?

Well on topic, I do get em. And every day I'm getting that bit closer to going postal as result. Also fuels my misanthropic ways. Grrrrr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

chin_grin wrote: »
    And every day I'm getting that bit closer to going postal as result. Also fuels my misanthropic ways. Grrrrr.
    What bus do you get?