Do You Drive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Drive: yes.

Full license: yes.

Insurance: no idea, nice re-newal lady says less than last year.

Petrol: Circa Š60

Servicing/parts: Daddy make problem go away.

Not having to use public transport: Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

cson wrote: »
    I got me thinking; is this how dependent we've become on cars due to our shambles of a transport system? I'd be inclined to view it this way.

Nah, the transport system was fecking worse 10 years ago and students where not dependent on cars then.

I think they are just more spoilt and think a car is essential now.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

Got a full licence. Nice shiney new car outside. I don't own it though. The company do. Scratched it already :pac:

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Yeah I got my full licence in October. Passed my test on my first go. I have my own car, which my parents bought me. It's a '97 Honda Civic. Not a knackery one though, just a plain old grey/silver small one with a big dent in the side. It cost €900. So My insurance was more than twice as expensive as my car.

I'm a full-time student though so I don't use it a lot. I'd use it a few times on the weekend going to a friends house or something, so I don't have to plan my day based on the infrequent bus services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Can't drive, don't know how, don't want too. The Public transport isn't as bad as people say, I know, because I use it, people who don't use it are the ones who say it's sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,050 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

funk-you wrote: »
    Got a full licence. Nice shiney new car outside. I don't own it though. The company do. Scratched it already :pac:

-Funk
    I finally put a noticeable dent in mine coming out of a car park, I haven't washed it in a few months so you can't really see it. :(

It's had a few tips but luckily there's allot of plastic body work so there's no evidence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

25, don't drive yet but intending to get a start on it. It takes a special kind of self loathing to be as reliant on public transport as I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

cson wrote: »
    One of a kind! Almost everyone I know in College is driving. That could be down to my culchie background but still, I can't understand how they allow their parents pay for everything in full time education.

FYP

• Moderators Posts: 52,294 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Can't drive, don't know how, don't want too. The Public transport isn't as bad as people say, I know, because I use it, people who don't use it are the ones who say it's sh1te.
    It was the reason I started driving. Couldn't get home from Limerick on a Friday after work. Neither train or bus could get me home. There is a train service now but it adds a minimum of 90mins extra onto travel time. And 1 hour of that is waiting around for a connection:eek:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I'm 29 and I've only been driving 3 years...if I had stayed in Dublin I wouldn't even have bothered learning as I could get the bus everywhere but moving down the country made a car a necessity.

I had to wait a year for a test but passed first time.

I have to say it amazes me the amount of college students with their own cars. I wonder will that change with the recession?

driving 5 months. crap car but paid for myself and under my own insurance.

self sustainance ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

I don't drive myself. Was going to learn but decided to leave the country instead. I think that's a better use of my savings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Yeah, but I learned to drive pretty late.

My mate works in a well-known college in Dublin, and he is flabbergasted at the amount of students that drive. When I was in Uni - late 80s/early 90s - I didn't know many students with their own cars, even though the majority of them were from comfortable, middle-class backgrounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I don't drive and I hope I don't have to in the near future
    I live within walking distance of the town and college, so no need. If a job was further out I get the bus.

It hardly seems worth getting a car, lot of effort to get the licence (but its understandably necessary), expensive when total cost is taken into account and there are too many cars on the road. Galway traffic is getting worse each day (although its no where near Dublin).

I know a bloke in college, he lives 5mins away but his parents still bought him a car to go to college. The ****er doesn't even work :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Drivings great, good fun if your just going for a spin and very convenient for getting where ya need to go without having to get a million busses with extortionate prices...

Only problem I have with it is the increasing number of female drivers that haven't a clue how to drive a car. I know its a cliche but seriously in the last few weeks its gotten noticeably more dangerous.

For example last night while driving out to our studio there was 2 lanes, one going left and one going right. I was heading left when some crazy lady decides to try to change into the lane I was in without waiting for a space for her car and without indicating. I nearly shat myself as she was about 3cm from demolishing the side of my car. Didn't even look! Its not the first time its happened at that junction either and every time it was a women...

Especially on the motorway, its incredible, your joining onto the motorway from the on ramp, your looking to get into another lane as the ramp lane ends in about 10 meters, all your left with is a ditch and a wall and almost every time a women will either stay level with you trying to force you into a ditch or if there is room to join on they will accelerate and try to cut you off, again trying to force you into a ditch.

Its terrifying to think that a lot of women on the roads are actually out for blood...

I could go on forever but I think this rant has offended just the right amount of people so I'll leave it at that :)

I love you all really but please do the world a favor and throw your licence in the nearest shredder and don't forget to recycle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

stovelid wrote: »
    Yeah, but I learned to drive pretty late.

My mate works in a well-known college in Dublin, and he is flabbergasted at the amount of students that drive. When I was in Uni - late 80s/early 90s - I didn't know many students with their own cars, even though the majority of them were from comfortable, middle-class backgrounds.

Many households have more than one car anyway. They're probably just using the family car, or a spare one. This is the spare one sitting in my garage:

ford_fiesta_2.jpg

It will be known as the Gashwagon.
    Only problem I have with it is the increasing number of female drivers that haven't a clue how to drive a car. I know its a cliche but seriously in the last few weeks its gotten noticeably more dangerous.

Oh dear...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Zangetsu wrote: »
    Drivings great, good fun if your just going for a spin and very convenient for getting where ya need to go without having to get a million busses with extortionate prices...

For example last night while driving out to our studio there was 2 lanes, one going left and one going right. I was heading left when some crazy lady decides to try to change into the lane I was in without waiting for a space for her car and without indicating. I nearly shat myself as she was about 3cm from demolishing the side of my car. Didn't even look! Its not the first time its happened at that junction either and every time it was a women...

Especially on the motorway, its incredible, your joining onto the motorway from the on ramp, your looking to get into another lane as the ramp lane ends in about 10 meters, all your left with is a ditch and a wall and almost every time a women will either stay level with you trying to force you into a ditch or if there is room to join on they will accelerate and try to cut you off, again trying to force you into a ditch.

Its terrifying to think that a lot of women on the roads are actually out for blood...

I could go on forever but I think this rant has offended just the right amount of people so I'll leave it at that :)

I love you all really but please do the world a favor and throw your licence in the nearest shredder and don't forget to recycle!

While I agree to some extent with you, I wouldnt agree that all women drivers are the same. I drive and Im careful and considerate on the road. Ive seen any number of men driving aggressivly/dangerously. You will always come across people that cant/shouldnt drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

Puddleduck wrote: »
    While I agree to some extent with you, I wouldnt agree that all women drivers are the same.

I wouldn't say all either but the ratio is definitely pointing in that direction!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭corkhero

Yup. Driving just over a year now and have my full since august.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Puddleduck

Zangetsu wrote: »
    I wouldn't say all either but the ratio is definitely pointing in that direction!

To you it is, perhaps you are just unlucky, Id have to see road accidents/ reports that women cause the majority of accidents to agree with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Learning to drive has caused me so much stress, it looks easy. Every day I see little old ladies driving around, no bother to them and I get fustrated because I find it difficult.

I bought a car last year but I live in the city so haven't used it as much as someone out the country would because I walk most places. It's my one aim this year to pass my driving test. The waiting times have gone way up again and I can't really afford the lessons anymore. So yes it's an expensive hobby.
    Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    No. I had six lessons once. Only on the fifth was I alloweed out of the housing estate. On the sixth, I crashed a dual control car.

A man should know when he is crap at something.

Thank you for sharing that, I'm tired of people talking about how easy it is.
    Plug wrote: »
    Im the only mechanic in this country who can't drive:pac:

Why don't you learn? It must make you job awkward, don't you need to move cars around?
    -Phuqer- wrote: »
    Sorry have to totally disagree with you there. I get four buses a day to work and have done for years and I can tell you public transport is shite

I'm ok with public transport but it does depend on wher you live and where you are going.

I have to say it amazes me the amount of college students with their own cars. I wonder will that change with the recession?
    More and more things have gone on the essential list (could be a good topic for another thread). A few yers ago nobody had a laptop in college now they are as commonplace as mobile phones.
    Krieg wrote: »
    It hardly seems worth getting a car, lot of effort to get the licence (but its understandably necessary), expensive when total cost is taken into account and there are too many cars on the road. Galway traffic is getting worse each day (although its no where near Dublin).

Yes it's a lot of effort but it's a worthwhile skill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Was driving tractors on public roads well before 17, I realy doubt that was legal :o

Learned to drive cars at 17, failed my driving test in style but passed ok 4 years later on a second attempt

Didn't have a car in college and had a long Galway to Limerick trek on Bus Eireann and then another hours on Limerick- Dublin bus.
    90 minutes drive from college but public transport took 4 hours!
    I could have done with a car in colledge for sure. Tbh, the only students with cars in my class all lived at home and had no rent or bills

Passed my motorbike in 2007 and my two year restriction is up next week, great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭shaner

Have two motorbikes (one I'm doing up) and just sold the car there before christmas.

In some ways glad I got rid of the car but shopping with a backpack gets tedious after a while...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Started driving when I was 17 and passed my driving test the 2nd time when I was 18.
    It was great driving around when you are on your lunch break from school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Jigsaw wrote: »
    I I still believe to this day that I could drive perfectly well until perhaps 8 pints
    Regardless of what you "believe", All research has proven that after 8 pints you are in no way capable of driving safely.

You'll probably continue to "believe" that till you put your car into a wall or worse, another car.

Back on topic, I didnt learn to drive till i was in my 30's but i do remember a lot of people driving their parents/own cars in college so im not sure its a new phenomenom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

I spent my 20's in dublin so i never needed to drive, so i never learned. I never considered myself the driving type, but when i moved back home 2 years ago a car was essential so i bought my first car (which i still own) for 1800 squid and set myself a goal: i would have my full licence within a year.

12 months later i passed my test first time, and i have to say i wish i had learned sooner. i love to drive.....BUT i now realise how many absolute self absorbed idiots (of both gender) there are on irish roads....would it hurt them to be a little bit more observant? AND TO USE THEIR INDICATORS????

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

I drive. Badly. I've been informed that I am not welcome at the Garda course until my swing improves. :D

Seriously though- 34, I've been driving tractors since about age 9, and got my full licence at 17. I've no penalty points, and drive a Volvo- its a comfortable car, and with the sports tuning and suspension- lovely to drive, but god help you if you hit a pothole or a speedbump....... Its the last time I'm getting something with a hardened suspension- but the heated seats and leather upholstery are incredibly comfy. Can't recommend Volvo highly enough......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

sunnyside wrote: »

More and more things have gone on the essential list (could be a good topic for another thread). A few yers ago nobody had a laptop in college now they are as commonplace as mobile phones

In fairness, with everything in college now being done on computers, laptops are fairly necessary. However, you don't need a car to get to college (well not in Dublin anyway).