Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Little difference really.

All it means is that we'd be swapping Adebayor or van Persie for Song and we'd end up passing the ball sideways in midfield all day because we'd have shag all movement in attack. Cesc needs players to pass forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,476 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Did you not watch the game yesterday? Adebayor spent about 90% of it 40 yards out passing the ball sideways. It's been a criticism ever since Ian Wright left, but it's true. Arsenal really don't get enough players in the box. Look at Adebayor's goal yesterday. He's big, and strong and can win headers. Ok he can't always direct them but he's always in with a decent shout of a goal if the ball's crossed in, he's never in the 6 yard box though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Where do you get these stats?

Mé fein (I wrote a program), cén fath?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Did you not watch the game yesterday? Adebayor spent about 90% of it 40 yards out passing the ball sideways. It's been a criticism ever since Ian Wright left, but it's true. Arsenal really don't get enough players in the box. Look at Adebayor's goal yesterday. He's big, and strong and can win headers. Ok he can't always direct them but he's always in with a decent shout of a goal if the ball's crossed in, he's never in the 6 yard box though.

I am of the opinion that if Van Persie is on the pitch Ade will look to pass rather than shoot. 40 odd goals last season and shag all this season kind of backs my theory....but I am no Ian St John so I stand to be corrected.

My theory is that he thinks he's a lot better than he actually is. He was comparing himself to Thierry Henry last summer when he was looking for more money, and I think he actually believes that comparison.

He should concentrate on the end product really and leave most of the intricate passing to the more creative players. Although fair enough, the only creative players on show yesterday were Nasri and Van Persie. But he was just dropping far too deep yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Where do you get these stats?

I also really want to know where you got those stats, I've looked for them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Jaysus lads just reading back the last couple of pages of this thread and some of the post are a bit redic tbh, Wenger has been accused of not having he's priorities right and by the looks of things its contagious, there is feck all wrong with Arsenals front players the problems are whats behind them we have scored as many goals as anyone its just that we cant keep a clean sheet, as much as it pains me to say it Utd are going to win the league and they have one striker, a lazy git who strops around the field most of the time

PHB wrote: »
    I also really want to know where you got those stats, I've looked for them before.

See here, I just did it for Arsenal as they're the only team I'm interested in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Anyone else find Arseshavings face annoying? I wanna punch him for no good reason

andrei-arshavin_972740.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

Anyone else find Arseshavings face annoying? I wanna punch him for no good reason

And the constructive comment of the day award goes to ..................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Jthere is feck all wrong with Arsenals front players the problems are whats behind them we have scored as many goals as anyone its just that we cant keep a clean sheet

I keep saying this. Very few listen :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    And the constructive comment of the day award goes to ..................

Good one, Clown.

Back on topic..

I thought Wenger said Arsenal needed to sell a player every year in order to afford the Emirates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

I agree, I can't for the life of me understand why he's going for another attacking midfielder/striker. Anyone can see that we need a world-class No.1 and two centre-halves.

Another thing, Wenger never spoke about potential transfer targets before, why now?

I also believe he should play Nasri centrally and give Vela a chance on the wing. Eboue can .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,151 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I Haven't checked this thread in a while so apologies if this has been discussed but does anyone else think that Nigel Reo-Coker would be the ideal signing for us. He is defensive, can play in lots of different positions so should suit Wenger's ideas of playing CM on the wings, and he is English. I heard that the spuds were after him and was surprised because I thought if he was available he'd be perfect for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,579 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

I thought Wenger said Arsenal needed to sell a player every year in order to afford the Emirates?

I don't ever remember this.
    Roaster wrote: »
    Anyone can see that we need a world-class No.1 and two centre-halves.

I don't see what people have against Almunia. He's a great shot stopper and he's playing better than VDS this season.

We don't need two CB's either Gallas, Toure, Djourou are already there.

Gallas is world class, he has been a bit off this season though.
    Toure needs to find his form again, and since he'll get a run of games with Gallas out hopefully we'll see this.
    Djourour is going to continie getting better, I really rate him.

Nordveit is one for the future aswell

I Haven't checked this thread in a while so apologies if this has been discussed but does anyone else think that Nigel Reo-Coker would be the ideal signing for us. He is defensive, can play in lots of different positions so should suit Wenger's ideas of playing CM on the wings, and he is English. I heard that the spuds were after him and was surprised because I thought if he was available he'd be perfect for us.

Nigel Mediocre is definitely not the answer to our problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,151 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Frisbee wrote: »
    Nigel Mediocre is definitely not the answer to our problems
    He is a better player than Song and/or Diaby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Reo-Cockup is not better than Diaby IMO. He's an above average player in a poor team.

He is a better player than Song and/or Diaby.

Nigel Mediocre is nowhere near as good as Diaby. Nowhere near.

As for Song, I'd probably rate them the same, maybe Reo Coker edging because of his experience.
    However if we're looking for a decent defensive midfield player we should be looking for someone much better than Reo Coker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

I don't see what people have against Almunia. He's a great shot stopper and he's playing better than VDS this season.

Toure needs to find his form again, and since he'll get a run of games with Gallas out hopefully we'll see this.

Did you see the game against the Spuds? I agree he's a good shot stopper but he's so indecisive at times and he has no presence. You will rarely see him shout at one of our players.

I hope you're right about Toure as he's been our best servant for years but Gallas is not world class. On his day he's good but he's had to many off days lately. If you don't think we need CBs have a look at our GA column in the table, 24 compared to ManUre's 10, Liverpool's 13. Even Wigan have conceded one less then us and they have Titus Bramble ffs.

Roaster wrote: »
    Did you see the game against the Spuds? I agree he's a good shot stopper but he's so indecisive at times and he has no presence. You will rarely see him shout at one of our players.

I hope you're right about Toure as he's been our best servant for years but Gallas is not world class. On his day he's good but he's had to many off days lately. If you don't think we need CBs have a look at our GA column in the table, 24 compared to ManUre's 10, Liverpool's 13. Even Wigan have conceded one less then us and they have Titus Bramble ffs.

Gallas is world class. As I said though, he's not having the best of times this season.
    The CM needs to be sorted before anything.
    A decent DM that can shield the defence and we'll see a rapid decline in the amount of goals we concede.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

I think Almunia is a good shot stopper. My main problem with him, and not sure if anyone agrees...is that hes stuck to the line. sometimes there are times when he needs to come out more and clear balls and take pressure of defense..he rarley does..and Clichy must have gotten dumped by the misses, they way hes playing at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Once again the reason Arshavin is not a bad signing is because it will keep Eboue/Diaby/Denilson/Ramsey/Bendtner off the wings a lot more. Simple as that. The difference between the likes of Eboue and Arshavin is huge, surely people can see this? Then when Theo comes back we'll actually have options on the wings.

We all know that a defensive midfielder could possibly add a lot more to the team before signing an AM, unfortunately the market for them at the moment isn't exactly great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭DenMan

It wasn't too long ago when we all said that Theo's best position is playing behind a lone striker than being out wide. He is hugely effective when in front/running towards goal.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Arshavin would also be a good signing because he is a better player than Nasri, Walcott and Rosicky.

Really??? :confused:

Yeah I wouldn't be sold on Arshavin either. He's yet to prove himself in a big league, and could easily be a flop. Probably not though, but I'd wait to see how we does in the Premier League before declaring him better than Walcott, Nasri and (a fit) Rosicky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

If Arshavin costs 15 million, it still sounds like a better investment than 15 million for Craig Bellamy! Bellamy's a good player but far more trouble than he's worth, and he's not worth 15 million.

I'd take the risk of 15 mill for Arshavin over journeymen like Bellamy every time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

19/01/2009 17:12
    William Gallas To Run Down Arsenal Contract?

According to some sources the Gunners' former captain is ready to run down his current contract in order to become a free agent...

When Arsene Wenger stripped William Gallas of the captain's armband and handed it to Cesc Fabregas there was much speculation that hinted that it could spell the beginning of the end of the French defender's career at the north London club.

Those calls seemed premature as Gallas seemed committed to the Gunners despite his demotion.

However, Sky Sports are reporting that the French international, 31, will allow his two year contract to run down so he can leave the club on a free transfer.

The former Chelsea stopper is reported to have said: "I am concentrating on my future, finishing my contract with Arsenal and seeing where I'll go in two years."

The quotes provided though indicate that Gallas is merely assessing his options, as opposed to giving the adamant stance that Sky Sports suggest.

Gallas won the Premier League twice as a Blue, but left the Stamford Bridge side amidst controversy after allegedly forcing his exit by stating that if he was fielded for Chelsea, he would score an own goal.

Prior to Wenger stripping him of his captaincy, he also spoke publicly about fractions in the Arsenal dressing room.

Paris St Germain are just one of the Ligue 1 sides who have expressed an interest in Gallas in the past few weeks. AC Milan were also keen.

http://www.goal.com/en/news/1712/arsenal/2009/01/19/1068178/william-gallas-to-run-down-arsenal-contract

redout wrote: »
    The former Chelsea stopper is reported to have said: "I am concentrating on my future, finishing my contract with Arsenal and seeing where I'll go in two years."

Saying he is looking to honour his contract at Arsenal doesn't mean this:
    redout wrote: »
    However, Sky Sports are reporting that the French international, 31, will allow his two year contract to run down so he can leave the club on a free transfer.

Sensationalist Media FTW!